hi guys, im very new n need some advise here. i just started my 2B practical 1st lesson 1.01 a few days again... n i failed. i had not touch motorbike n i just cannot balance on the bike. when i try to balance, i lose control of my hand clutch n throttle n braking. when i try to do my clutch n throttle for braking, i lose balance. damn i feel so paisay during that lesson. i feel sure a failure now... i can ride on a bicycle, but i have to admit that im not good at it. i feel so dishearted now, i duno if i still have the courage to go back anymore. anyone of u rider started the same way as me? pls let me know im not the only 1, im really feeling like pluto now that im no longer consider a planet. lastly, any advise for me? or anywhere there is undertable private 1-1 coaching? or is there anything that i can practice on my own maybe on a bicycle to help improve my bal in a motorbike? just to add, im not a young chap, coming 30 n that is x2 the humiliation.... :(

• Replies 31

hi guys, im very new n need some advise here. i just started my 2B practical 1st lesson 1.01 a few days again... n i failed. i had not touch motorbike n i just cannot balance on the bike. when i try to balance, i lose control of my hand clutch n throttle n braking. when i try to do my clutch n throttle for braking, i lose balance. damn i feel so paisay during that lesson. i feel sure a failure now... i can ride on a bicycle, but i have to admit that im not good at it. i feel so dishearted now, i duno if i still have the courage to go back anymore. anyone of u rider started the same way as me? pls let me know im not the only 1, im really feeling like pluto now that im no longer consider a planet. lastly, any advise for me? or anywhere there is undertable private 1-1 coaching? or is there anything that i can practice on my own maybe on a bicycle to help improve my bal in a motorbike? just to add, im not a young chap, coming 30 n that is x2 the humiliation.... :(

Hey dude, congrats to you! (not on failing ya prac) but to you for registering and picking up riding. Just to share with you... I've got frenz whose in their late 20s and also in their 30s whose picking up riding as well. There's nothing to be paiseh about, practice riding on bicycle and go for the practicals again. Follow your heart, if ya got the passion to ride. you will soon be riding. Just for your info.. some of the people i know fail the tests numerous times but after now they are seen riding big bikes. Good luck to you. :thumb:

Past Records

2002-2003: Yamaha WR200 F* 1036*

2003 : Honda S4 version R F* 3305*

2003-2004: Yamaha WR400 F* 75*

2004-2005: Yamaha X1 F* 75*

2005-2006: Suzuki GSXR600 F* 75*

2007: Piaggio Vespa PX200E F* 9518*

2007-2008: Yamaha Spark T135 LE F* 75*

2008-Current:

I've seen people who need to take time with first lesson. Half-clutch is a problem for most people who never ride bike or drive car before. Since it's first lesson, try to balance with your left leg down (instead of at foot rest) first for better balance. If you can do that, then try to bring the leg up.

Yo, that is about how everyone of us here went through lesson 1 for 2B...look my friend don't feel dis hearted because of your age but feel proud because you are still trying to learn:thumb: ....If you can't do it well on a bicycle it is sure you will have balancing problems furthermore when riding a motorbike you need to co ordinate a lot of things together in order to ride correctly...so keep practicing on a bicycle when you are free and go for the riding lesson just as you would...practice makes perfect remember...don't give up or else you will really be a sure failure...I can't say that no one ever passed lesson 1 in the first attempt but remember everyone was new and most never touched a bike before so don't blame yourself for not passing after several attempts...I had a friend who is a girl took her riding lesson at SSDC...it took her 13 attempts to pass her lesson 1...but now she already got her license...keep going my friend...all the best!!!!

http://i665.photobucket.com/albums/vv15/Davin_Tan/SNC00998.jpg

Honda CBR 1000RR '07

Power Commander III

HRC Velocity Stacks

HRC Air Filter Element

Venhill Brake & Clutch Lines

Hey friend don't give up! If you want to learn to balance you can try bicycle first, but motor is easier coz you dont have to pedal so you can focus on the road ahead. Learning from CDC might be a bit ex, coz 21 $ for 80 min, but the instructers are good. Learning from a friend's bike is free, provided you don't whack his modded shiny phantom, :faint: HaHaHa. As for failing dun worry. It took 1 whole day to realise the purpose of clutch (father's bike)o_O . Try not to stare at the tyre, focus on the road ahead instead. Good Luck and good ridding:thumb:

I just love the looks, feel and sound of an old good Guzzi, though it has been around since the time of my Grandfather. I guess "they" don't do things like that anymore! Well it's not true.

"They" still do URALS

don't worry more practise and you will be ok.

learn bike cheaper than learning car! so endure and you will make it. :faint:

go for more lesson u will really learn better den thye jus pass u den on road u ... ma.don worry 1st lesson surely fail one mostly.ppl take average 3 lesson to pass..tat one is veri last time la lolz

Before you succeed you have to fall..Get up..Don't give up..If it makes you feel any better..I took my licence in my mid 20's..

It will really help if you ride a bicycle during your free time..As you've mention that you're not good even with balancin on a bicycle..Make it second nature..Once you can balance on a bicycle w/out even thinkin of it..You can pretty much balance on any two wheelers w/out even tryin..But first you must put in the effort and never have an option to give up..

practise makes perfect dude, don't fret. everyone starts from scratch... and some just need longer time to get used to it.. chill. one step at a time.. slowly u'll get the hang of it

Thrash? Don't mind if i do.

http://userserve-ak.last.fm/serve/126/59442677.gif

hey u ..releks la.. pls.. most of us got no riding experience before startin our 2b & some may not even hav riding a bicycle experience.. so its hard initially.. Dun worry u r not d only 1.. U noe.. u really have to have the "NEVER SAY DIE" attitude to get a 2b.. dUN COmpare urself with others who got previous illegal riding experience and hence can pass each practical at 1st attempt. They play cheat. Haha.

my advice is to forget the balance, there wont be balance without throttle, unless your feet is on the ground so focus on the throttle.

1: Clutch in fully.

2: left feet kick down on the gear lever to change to gear 1

3: left feet down on the ground, right foot up.

3:twist the throttle SLIGHTLY(vrr vrr vrr vrr)and MAINTAIN it. do not let go or twist further.

4:while maintaining throttle, release clutch very slowly until u feel the bike start to move forward, maintain both clutch and throttle.

fyi dont be afraid to drop the bike, lol... if u think u are falling, dont hold on to the handlebar or the body, just let it drop. better the bike get hurt than u..

thks guys for all ur advise. i will still carry on with my 2b but before that i think i really need to go polish up my bicycle skill n balance. so weekend now will be bicycle bicycle and bicycle. thks again :thumb:

I strongly recommend you to switch to Ubi Comfort Driving Centre (CDC) as the riding instructors over there are more passionate in teaching the best that they can teach. So, act now !

hey dude... no worries man.. last time.. i ahve 40+ old guys as classmates too... take lesson as a fun thing...go with an open mind man...

i could still rem on my first few lesson, i couldnt coordinate well... but ssdc's instructor is cool abt it.. (perhaps plus im a female too). i even skid so many times during my lesson 3 emergency braking... but hey look.. i got over it...

well.. for many rider-wanna-be, first few elsson foundation lesson are always the hardest... and soon enough you will be taking your TP in months time man...

no worries ya!? i even have frens who don even cycle able to ride a bike!

most impt is don be afraid of falling! its better to fall now and dono now than going out on roads..... moreover i fall so many times... it didnt even hurt much man!

http://i13.photobucket.com/albums/a273/the80schihuahua/bikesmall.jpghttp://i13.photobucket.com/albums/a273/the80schihuahua/Image006-1-1.jpg

Flaws Imperfects My Perfection

Don't worry, you don't take it as fail, the program are in such a way that in the 1st lesson, they teach you the basic on how to handle the bike and some basic knowledge about the bike, and that is what you have to learn, and after they teach and you learn, you must remember, and than come to practice, sometimes, by telling you once and you can remember, and sometime have to repeating telling you with reminder,that also apply to practical, after telling what is all about, you have to go through it with sight, touch them feel them, and than need to practic a few time to be familiar, it is normal for someonw who never ride a bike before to go through few practic, no one will laught at you and you do not have to feel paisay at all, because you are there to learn, other learner they may had learn before and drop out and retake again, or they may have someone teach them somewhere before the lesson..

The lesson in the school are design in such that, after they teach you, and you practic for a short period of time, and than they will see and evaluate your skill to make sure that you are ready to go for the next step, so don't take it as pass or fail, it's actually you are ready or not to go for the next higher lesson. it's better to have a few more practice in an control envirolment ( riding training school ) than riding on the road and face situation where you are not sure what to do, at that time you have got no time for you to think, and what ever paisay are no use. so cheer up, the licence are there waiting to collect once you are ready. be happy and enjoy every lesson, learn as much as you can since you had paid for it, and don't be in the hurry to get out of the lesson, especially when you are not ready.:)

Totally agree with ausa: if you cannot meet the requirements, it is better to practice more instead of going to next level. Basics are important.

I felt that class 2b lesson 1 has always been the hardest. Reasons?

It is the first time you manevuere a bike and there are so many things you need to control.

-balancing bike

-left hand on clutch

-left leg change gear

-right leg rear brake

-right hand front brake

As you can see, there are so many things to concentrate on. I suggest you try to find the "biting point" first. I believe you would have heard of this from your lessons.

At stationery, slowly release your clutch at gear 1. And i mean slow and little release. At one point, you will find that you bike will move forward (very slowly) in front. That is the biting point.

Repeat every thing again except that you turn a bit of throttle before slowly releasing clutch. Good luck and have fun!

come one~~ Lesson 1 is always e hardest... when u r new to something is always like this.. practice make perfect.. and few more lesson u will sure get e fun out of it.. riding is definetly more fun than driving.. good luck~~

try rear brake hold onto, but not to the max when u open throttle.. works for me in cdc.

but dun worry, i took 8 times prac 1. LOL

in fact my 1.01 took say.. 6 times?

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v601/juvenawu/13112006106.jpg

Dun be an idiot. You live your life and I live mine.

lesson 1 would be just as hard. just like a baby learning to walk, we used to crawl. did we give up trying to stand on our most delicately fragile new born legs?.

no, we picked ourselves up and kept trying and trying. and now, we can run, and do all kinds of nonsense with our body.

make the bike a part of your body. as an external body part. one mind together. hands,eye and foot coordination would be the key.hands(clutch,front brakes) eye(eye point, is the place where you look, your eye point should be far and ahead and not on the ground looking at clutch and gear levers. And also, never look on the curb, the more you look at it, the more your bike will move and hit the curb.) and foot(rear brakes,stationary posture or balance).

it's not easy at first, but hey, the first would somehow be the hardest..

start playing with the throttle maybe ( listen to the sound, the more you apply on throttle, sound changes.)

apply clutch and down on gear 1 if you're in neutral.

while your left leg on the ground, use your right leg to step on the brakes quite firmly.

apply throttle, further increase throttle and at the same time, release the clutch slowly. listen to the sound. (this would be trying to find the biting point).

maintain on that half clutch and try to depress your rear brakes with your right foot gently, and your bike would be moving.

increase throttle whilst still mantaining in the half-clutch to have the momentum going. (if you feel that your engine sounds too revved up, you should further release the clutch).

you should pick up more speed to further gain balance control. check your speedo, if you're going about 10-20 km/h, you should change to gear 2. *i might be wrong at this* but just listen for the sound and you would roughly

know when to change gear at the right sped without glancing at the speedo within a few tries.

if you felt like losing balance, just tap your feet on the floor. or if you are confident enough, try to throttle more. braking might not be an option, as you might be having both feet on the foot rest and you might jam brake in panic which might make you fall, skid, or stall the bike (which is normal for us learners).

i hope prac 1 would not be as demoralising as it seems, age is not a factor in learning. learning is for the young and old. people are constantly upgrading to increase their standard of living, and learning how to ride a bike makes no exception.

hope my personal tips comes in handy. be optimistic and learn from mistakes. never give up.

ALL THE BEST !

For every 7 pounds you lose, you gain one horsepower.

I failed alot of times during prac1 as well, but guess what, it helped in the end. Becoz in prac2, I still noticed a number of people stalling/wobbling/right footed while riding while I didn't had any of those problems as I managed to remedy them in prac1. So failing doesn't mean its bad (except cost alot of $$, haha)

Sidestory a little bit, I know this guy riding a R1 now, he failed his prac1 closed to 9 times already but now he's ripping good timing @ sepang.. some people start slow, but catch up very fast.. who knows, dat person might be you!

Hi, I dun even know how to ride a bicycle when I first sit on a motorcycle. To me, it doesn't matter whether u passed or failed the lesson. What matters is have u improve ur riding skills after the lesson? have u learnt something after the lesson ended?

If u accomplished the 2 objectives stated above, your money is well spent. With every lesson you attended, your riding technique and skill will improve. This is what I tell myself when the other students progressed to the next lesson while I have to retake the lesson.. The 1st lesson u r expected to go for a few times coz the clutch-throttle techquie is veri important in the later stages of the course..

Certainly, learning riding is not easy coz u r on 2 wheels.. But when u get your licence, u'll feel tat all the effort u put is worth it..

Feb 06 till Present - Phantom TA200 Custom 4

Sometimes Results may be Disappointing, but it's never Discouraging..

first u must relax.. tell urself u can do it.. i olso like that ma.. whaha now i pract 2 only just fail my slope last week.. very sad, not cos of anyy thing but cos of $$.. last week i whole week eat maggi mee... whaha my pract 1 i olso fail b4 dun worry..slowly la... i took at SSDC =)

wat TechIII say is correct.. i olso fail liao ask my brother la ask my fren la ard me y i keep cannot catch the biting point while i'm at slope.. my engine keep die while i starting to move off from the mid of the slope..

**jia you..

Yamaha 125z July 2008 - June 2012

Honda Wave 125r Sept 2012 - Nov 2015

Yamaha RXZ 135 Nov 2015 - present :thumb: