• Replies 148

haha hard to dont own. when taking bike lessons canot wear full face leh

Throw the open face helmet away. Seriously, I cannot understand why people sayang their bikes so much, but give scant regard to their own safety.

I have only owned and worn full face for the past 15 years. Those who say wearing full face is hot and blocks side vision, I say bullshit.

Past: KDX200, LC4 400, LC4 620, GSXR750WR

Present: CBR900RRY, Gas Gas EC250, XR250L, XR250RV, XR400 (motard-ed), NX650 Dominator

Throw the open face helmet away. Seriously, I cannot understand why people sayang their bikes so much, but give scant regard to their own safety.

I have only owned and worn full face for the past 15 years. Those who say wearing full face is hot and blocks side vision, I say bullshit.

Second you.

Well, riders just ask yourself 1 honest question: When you crash, do you prefer to in a shoei full face or a crap ass half face?

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Image:Motorcycle_helmet_crashed_chin_bar.jpg

what if the bottom scrapped part of the helmet happens to be your bare chin?

come to think of it. when you need to ride while working, open face seems much more convenient. cos you're on the bike almost all the times. and you need to keep wearing on/off your helmet during the day. seriously, full face is very inconvenient for a mac rider. my open face will always be for working. full face too inconvenient.

On the bike almost all the time... even more exposure time.

Which is more inconvenient, putting on a full face helmet or looking at the facial scars for the rest of your life?

Time to think further than today lah.

It's all about the riding habits. Even with wearing a ff helmet, if a rider rides crazily, it is still no point. But of course it will protect more than a hf helmet. So ff or hf helmets you are gonna wear, just be careful on the road and ride safely. But make sure it's an approved one. IMHO, try to wear a ff if you are riding long distance eg. malaysia and beyond.

http://i704.photobucket.com/albums/ww45/blackpiper/YNWA2.jpg

To work = Shoei X-11

Out on weekends/up north = Another Shoei X-11..

Way back in 1994.. along with a few other bikers.. we were petitioning to have the full face helmet ban lifted, which they finally did after they said that they had done an indepth study and with the report that the State Pathologist prepared which supported the fact that a full face helmet would provide better protection for the rider.

And that was after quite a few riders had spilled their brains on the roads, plastered their faces, noses and chins on the roads. Not forgetting the numbers of healthy white enamel teeth that were scattered in the streets of Singapore.

Full face helmets were banned because some people used it to hide their identity in bank robberies. Yep, those days and up till today... money is more important than life in Singapore.

And yet people still want to wear open face helmets when they can have better protection instead... all in the name of comfort and preference.

This part I cannot understand. :?

If the authorities really care about the safety of motorcyclists.. they should ban the open face helmets. But no... they care about something else.... and unfortunately alot of open face helmet motorcyclists will pay the painful price.

On the bike almost all the time... even more exposure time.

Which is more inconvenient, putting on a full face helmet or looking at the facial scars for the rest of your life?

Time to think further than today lah.

bro, you should try working and riding a whole day just wearing half face. wearing half face already can sweat face all over. especially under the midday hot sun. i wonder if wear full face can become face sauna. :lol:

IMO, they should start to place a ban on those cap like helmets to begin with. Totally no protection at all.

that's a govt conspiracy to make riders think twice about riding when they see/hear all those gory accidents. and hence, hopefully, no more motorcyclist on the road one fine day.

I started riding 26 years ago when full face helmets were not allowed in Singapore.

One of our riding kaki who lost control and entered the Yio chu kang canal was given a new face by surgeons at Tan Tock Seng due to reconstruction of the jaw area.

Had he been wearing a full face, there would probably be no facial injury. He had no other serious body injuries excepy some light abrasions.

So, now that we are allowed to wear full face helmets, please do so always when you get on a bike, even if to ride for a short distance.

Make it easy for yourself, DON't OWN an open face helmet, so you don't have a choice.

kekekeee.. didnt know you have been around for so long.... You sure dont look that old.

26 years ago I was still learning how to walk...

Bought my flip up after I saw a report which says that the highest percentage of injuries on the head is at the chin area....

Bought a Nolan Flip up immediately...

When sufficient information is already presented, and one chose not to believe in it, there is nothing else to do or say.. Just let it be...

Bought my flip up after I saw a report which says that the highest percentage of injuries on the head is at the chin area....

Bought a Nolan Flip up immediately...

When sufficient information is already presented, and one chose not to believe in it, there is nothing else to do or say.. Just let it be...

Just take note though.... the chin guard is only as strong as the locking device that is holding it down.

To resist the temptation of flipping up the chin guard (which makes it an open face helmet then) it is best to buy a full face.

And you know Murphy's Law.... **** is going to happen when you have the chin guard up.

Whoever wants to use half face, full face or no face, it's their damn bloody business. He or she can think better for themselves. And whatever the consequences might be in the end, it's their life. So just take care of your own safety and beliefs......... Period.

http://i704.photobucket.com/albums/ww45/blackpiper/YNWA2.jpg

Whoever wants to use half face, full face or no face, it's their damn bloody business. He or she can think better for themselves. And whatever the consequences might be in the end, it's their life. So just take care of your own safety and beliefs......... Period.

Agreed, but it has to be an informed decision and the rider fully understands the consequences if he chooses to wear an open face or unapproved helmet.

Funnily enough there are debates in US motorcycle forums on whether helmets should be worn in the first place. Some states don't require motorcyclists to wear helmets on the road.

I think that it doesn't matter whether you wear an FF or OF if you don't strap it on in the first place. If it isn't strapped on it isn't protecting. Double D-rings are the MOST effective and failure-proof retention systems today. Note that for Snell approval, helmets have to have double D-rings, because its secure, micro-adjustable and most people know how to operate such a system in the event of an accident.

But ultimately its how you ride that factors on whether one might get seriously injured in an accident. Wearing a Full-Face and armour minimises injuries but it IN NO WAY MAKES YOU INVINCIBLE. There are numerous other ways to die other than head injuries.

Use your brain which the helmet is designed to protect to avoid an accident in the first place. Riders do not buy helmets with the intent of crashing with it.

If all you can afford is a PSB approved LAB helmet, so be it, but wear it properly, do not speed, be aware of the traffic situation and if it helps say a little prayer to get you safely to your destination.

In Soviet Russia, motorcycle rides you!

Just take note though.... the chin guard is only as strong as the locking device that is holding it down.

To resist the temptation of flipping up the chin guard (which makes it an open face helmet then) it is best to buy a full face.

And you know Murphy's Law.... **** is going to happen when you have the chin guard up.

Yeah.. I was told of that..

Just upgrade to a AGV FF.

Eliminated Murphy's Law.. hahaa

Yeah.. I was told of that..

Just upgrade to a AGV FF.

Eliminated Murphy's Law.. hahaa

you can never eliminate murphy's law. what if your full face happen to be loose and you hit the tarmac chin first pushing the full face away. and that's murphy's law. :sweat:

Agreed, but it has to be an informed decision and the rider fully understands the consequences if he chooses to wear an open face or unapproved helmet.

Funnily enough there are debates in US motorcycle forums on whether helmets should be worn in the first place. Some states don't require motorcyclists to wear helmets on the road.

I think that it doesn't matter whether you wear an FF or OF if you don't strap it on in the first place. If it isn't strapped on it isn't protecting. Double D-rings are the MOST effective and failure-proof retention systems today. Note that for Snell approval, helmets have to have double D-rings, because its secure, micro-adjustable and most people know how to operate such a system in the event of an accident.

But ultimately its how you ride that factors on whether one might get seriously injured in an accident. Wearing a Full-Face and armour minimises injuries but it IN NO WAY MAKES YOU INVINCIBLE. There are numerous other ways to die other than head injuries.

Use your brain which the helmet is designed to protect to avoid an accident in the first place. Riders do not buy helmets with the intent of crashing with it.

If all you can afford is a PSB approved LAB helmet, so be it, but wear it properly, do not speed, be aware of the traffic situation and if it helps say a little prayer to get you safely to your destination.

also, to add on, you still need good riding skills and be less kanchiong in sudden incidents with other vehicles to avoid getting into accidents in the first place. once you jam the brake to avoid a vehicle, can self skid already. once you buang the bike when bike fishtails or drift, accident already. even so, full face still good!! survive 2 accidents with my full face and it's still good with minor scratches. :angel:

Any idea where to take a look at those Schubert helmets in Sg?

U can find them at Chiap Lee. There's one opposite LAB at Jalan Besar and one along serangoon road. Check advertiser's board if u need more details. Personally i find them kinda heavy though. Compare it with the Arai's and Shoei's. Schubert doesn't come cheap anyway. Last i checked, it was retailing around $700+ or so.:sian:

P-plate should be an attitude to safety and riding. There's always more to learn.

10417710_10152885054228332_2597706433133321618_n.jpg?oh=a3e4c65165b15e5d659161c304211563&oe=54FB0965

As the name aptly implies, a half face means you are left with half a face on a face-on impact.

Anyway, anyway, anyway, if someone wants to ride with half face, t-shirt and slipper clutch(Slipper+clutch), it's their choice lah. :D