Here is the review of the oil dispenser which I done recently with a hand valve mounted on the handle bar to control the on/off of oil drip.

There is a flaw, the oil will continue to drip for a while even after the valve is off. Because when the hand valve is turn on air will enter the air tight syringe, there will be air trap in the long tubing from the handle bar to the syringe even when the hand valve is turn off.

The drip will continue until when air is fully drawn out from the syringe and vacuum is created to hold back the oil.

I'm going to remove this set up and put the hand valve below the syringe and behind the regulator.

Initial set up

Hand valve =>> Air tubing =>>Syringe =>> regulator =>> oil tubing =>> applicator

Advantage: Can control on/off remotely

Disadvantage: small puddle of oil under the chain the next day.

Next set up

Air tubing =>>Syringe =>> hand valve=>> regulator =>> oil tubing =>> applicator

Advantage: On/off is immediate

Disadvantage: Cumbersome, remote control not possible unless on/off valve change to pneumatic control or electrical whereby higher cost will be incurred.

Current Ride - 2004 Kawasaki Z750

http://www.motorvoordelig.nl/images/laser/pics_hot_kaw_z750_04-.jpg

My Z750 DIY Page

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/showthread.php/361701-2004-Kawasaki-Z750-DIY-Guide

04 Z750 Specification

http://jarlef.no/Kawasaki/PDF/2004/PDFfiles/z750PDF04.pdf

• Replies 395

Originally posted by Limsteel@Dec 28 2005, 03:56 PM

Dude, I started this thread to allow other to compare and use the idea here to DIY their own oiler. :cheeky:

So give it a try, Hands-on is about putting in your effort (that why it is call DUY)and saving $$$ :cheer:

dude.. not everyone has the technical knowledge of doing DIY.. :confused:

if everyone did, everyone in the technical line, be it engineers, mechs, even inventors will have no rice bowl..

here is where consumers come in.. :cheeky:

My oiler is currently using a regulator n a on/off switch like s750wp has written on top.

If the delivery oil tube is fitted wif oil and the end of the tube is fitted wif cable ties tip to direct it to the sprocket, the oil will slowly drip out of the tube until no oil is inside.The only way for it not to drip when there is nothing at the end of the tube. meaning the end of the tube is juz hanging there... but this way causes alot of flings.

I will try to show u guy my concept asap as it is raining these day n lazy to take picture.

S750wp - those regulators are tough materials at high speed they can damage ur chain so on maybe u 1 2 consider putting the dual-dripper further away from the sprocket? juz a suggestion.

Life Is Never Fair.

Some pple slog for the paper in their wallet.

Some slog to feed the paper to the pple w/o the wallet.

Originally posted by lindavw@Dec 29 2005, 04:12 PM

My oiler is currently using a regulator n a on/off switch like s750wp has written on top.

If the delivery oil tube is fitted wif oil and the end of the tube is fitted wif cable ties tip to direct it to the sprocket, the oil will slowly drip out of the tube until no oil is inside.The only way for it not to drip when there is nothing at the end of the tube. meaning the end of the tube is juz hanging there... but this way causes alot of flings.

I will try to show u guy my concept asap as it is raining these day n lazy to take picture.

S750wp - those regulators are tough materials at high speed they can damage ur chain so on maybe u 1 2 consider putting the dual-dripper further away from the sprocket? juz a suggestion.

I checked my DIY chain oiler, its working, the small oil puddle which is on the floor is caused by the residue oil on the cable tie and the sprocket.

To solve the problem either I will have to use scott oiler type of dripper, because the dripper distance is closer to the chain as compare to my current dual applicator. Or I can off the oiler earlier.

I chose the later because I like the current applicator as it oil both side of the chain, and there is minum oil flings, even at high speed, because oil is migrate from the sprocets to the chain by centrifugal force.

Set up

On/off hand valve =>> Air tubing =>> Syringe =>> Regulator =>> Oil tubing=>> Applicator

Legend

On/off hand valve mounted on left switch

Air tubing is 6mm O.D clear tubing

Syringe is air tight to hold engine oil to lube chain

Oil tubing is 4mm O.D clear tubing

Regulator, 4mm ID, to regulate oil to the applicator

Applicator is Union, 4mm ID with cable tie at both end to bring engine oil to the sprockets

Thoery of operation

Hand valve close ==> oil in air tight syringe will not flow

Hand valve open ==> oil will flow as syringe is no longer air tight.

Advantage

Oil flow can be on/off with remote hand valve.

P/S: The dual dripper is not regulator and its on the bike for almost 2 years without any problem. And the oil will not drip till the oil delivery tube is empty, in fact the oil stay in the tubing just like scott oiler.

For my case the oil will hold at the 2 opening at the applicator when I off the hand valve, but oil on the cable tie and sprockets will continue to flow down.

I will post the pic soon.

My Z750 DIY Page

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/showthread.php/361701-2004-Kawasaki-Z750-DIY-Guide

04 Z750 Specification

ya i got what u mean.

i was trying to say if at high speed the dual dripper touches ur chain it may damage ur chain n end up ...........

my oiler is using on/off switch but from what i experience, if ur opening of the dripper got things that attach to the inner tube, when u off, still got oil will drip out.

Life Is Never Fair.

A new set of sprokets and chain costs $100-$200 depending upon bike and quality of

chains/sprokets used.

The oiler makes these last maybe 4 times longer than usual.

The oiler can recycle the old engine oil, and does not use aerosols

Aerosols use gas that are harmful to the environmenrt.

The DIY oiler (made from recycled bits and pieces) for less than $20 is definitly environmentally friendly.

Some people like to DIY, even if the same thing can be bought.

So Moderators, could you make this a Sticky.

Current FAZER600-Naked

Final Set up

Regulator =>> On/off hand valve =>> Air tubing =>> Syringe =>> Oil tubing=>> Applicator

The design of the pneumatic regulator is such that when its regulating, there will be air leaking through it, causing the oil to continue to drip even I close the hand valve.

I locate the regulator before the hand valve, to regulate the air into the air tight syringe to control the oil drip. So when I off the on/off valve the oil drip will stop immediately.

My Z750 DIY Page

04 Z750 Specification

maybe u can show us ur syringe thingy???

cos my oil reservoir is oso air-tight but when i off the valve will still drip. so my style is like rabbit oil, but got on/off switch. on for 2-10 mins then off it ride off...

Life Is Never Fair.

S750WP, got pix? Only have the pix of the applicator. Can post more pix ofthe various parts?

I will take it your final setup have both the regulator and on/off valve at the left handle bar?

Cos I am trying hard to imagine....

And where can i get the pneumatic type of regulator and on/off valve?

Regulator =>> On/Off HandValve =>> AirTubing =>> Syringe =>> OilTubing=>> DualApplicator

Originally posted by paiseh@Dec 28 2005, 04:58 PM

i got the whole idea from u :smile: DIY :cheer:

May I know where you park your bike in NTU ? i wish to take a look.

I am learning how to DIY chain oiler

Thks.

Originally posted by Abacus@Jan 6 2006, 11:37 AM

May I know where you park your bike in NTU ? i wish to take a look.

I am learning how to DIY chain oiler

Thks.

i often change carparks to park. most of the time nanyang audit or N3

i park at N3...but thissem i on IA so wun be there but tomolo going back for briefing... still park at n3

Life Is Never Fair.

been using the DIY oiler for a few mths.

result is pretty gd. chain is still wet.

but onli grouse is tt it will leak frm the cable tie which i secure the tube on my swingarm. so it will result on stains on the flr. this is the case even when i switch off the valve.

anione has the same prob? how did u rectify it?

FOR SALE (PM for more details)

-inline hockey guards,stick, gloves,pants

-ipod shuffle, 1GB, red, limited edition

How did you secure it? I don't have that problem. I point my outlet to the chain... so after switching off, a few more drops will drip onto the chain and then it will stop...

Only when times I forgot to off the tap, I will have a pool of oil :cry:

Now experimenting with Dual Oiler using Aquarium AirPump Y joint and Wd40 applicator... Will pose once successfully done...

91-92: 84 Yam LC125

95-97: 88 Suz GSX400R & 88 GSX400FW

97-01: 95 Suz Bandit400

01-04: 96 Suz DR650SE

04-11: 99 Suz SV650S

05-05: 94 Suz DR200SE

06-16: 06 Kia Rio 1.4(M) Sedan

11-12: 02 BMW F650GS

12-16 01 BMW R1150GS

When- Burgman Tmax ??

the valve is on my bikeframe, juz below the lefside of the seat. almost vertical position.

den the tube leads along the swingarm den to the sprocket.

hmm.. unless the valve itself is leaking.

FOR SALE (PM for more details)

-inline hockey guards,stick, gloves,pants

-ipod shuffle, 1GB, red, limited edition

Maybe it just might be your flow rate... I use to have this problem when my oil flow is too high....

More oil will fling off the front sprocks and later drip down from the sprockets guard. reduce your flow further... (since you mentioned that your sprocks are wet) Previously, I can even see oil dripping off my Chain guard. After I reduced oil flow via Dual valve setup, oil dripping is rare maybe occassionally...

12-16 01 BMW R1150GS

When- Burgman Tmax ??

Anyone mind doing the oiler for me???I'll pay.My DIY skills sucks.I really need an oiler.Chris525 is away.Please msg me if anyone is willing to help

http://i85.photobucket.com/albums/k74/waklabib/esso.jpg

I just broke my record for JB-KL timing

Originally posted by S750WP@Dec 22 2005, 09:42 PM

My dual applicator touches each side of the sprocket, Loobman concept, the oil glide from the applicator to the sprocket and the oil migrate to the chain by C-force. The applicator is on my bike for more than a year and it never fling off.

Also there is minimum oil fling to the rim.

http://www.bikepics.com/pics/pics/suzuki-bandit400-93-bikepics-206402.jpg

Hi, S750WP

where can i buy the applicator as shown in the diagram? Thanks.

http://img93.imageshack.us/img93/9105/regulator7ly.jpg

Currently doing a Dual oiler... Using a Y connector (fish tank stuff again) and a WD40 tube, I put them togther and seal them with Epoxy. (as show in pic)

Later I will cut the mid section and using a solder iron form a nice angle inwards... that's where the sprockets will go.

/ \ Tube bent inwards

Y the oil line Y Splitter...

Next using the Cloth Hanger that I have cut, I will bend something out like S750WP oiler to secure at Swing Arm...

Standby for more pic next few days... busy will DIY Knight Rider Chase light... :cheeky:

12-16 01 BMW R1150GS

When- Burgman Tmax ??

Originally posted by victor_03@Feb 7 2006, 11:31 PM

Hi, S750WP

where can i buy the applicator as shown in the diagram? Thanks.

http://img93.imageshack.us/img93/9105/regulator7ly.jpg

The connector can be bought at the shop opp. the screw shop behind Lim Ah Boy.

My Z750 DIY Page

04 Z750 Specification

I had a problem in my oiler. Not sure if u guys face it too.

For example:

Let name the tube/hose before the regulator(those green valve for air in fish tank) as Tube A, and the tube after the regulator as Tube B.

After I have squeeze the oil from the bottle, it take a long time to transfer the oil from Tube A to Tube B. I guess that the regulator affect the transfer rate from A to B, and the dripping rate at the applicator too.

How do u guys solve it? Is it possible to start the dripping at applicator once we squeeze the bottle? Thanks.

First, what kind of oiler you doing? Mine is gravity no need to pless bottle... Is your's similar to Paiseh's?

Anyway the regular (fishy thing) you can loosen a tiny bit inorder for the oil to flow faster. (a small action on the knob will have big oily effect... So tiny action will do!)

12-16 01 BMW R1150GS

When- Burgman Tmax ??

Originally posted by Limsteel@Feb 8 2006, 02:37 PM

First, what kind of oiler you doing? Mine is gravity no need to pless bottle... Is your's similar to Paiseh's?

Anyway the regular (fishy thing) you can loosen a tiny bit inorder for the oil to flow faster. (a small action on the knob will have big oily effect... So tiny action will do!)

mine is something like rabbit oiler. That means there is no oil in the tube before regulator, only when the bottle is squeezed, the oil will flow to the tube.

Let me list the differences, see if i am correct

Rabbit oiler

1. Squeeze the bottle, then oil will start to flow through the tube

2. No need to adjust the valve

Limsteel Gravity oiler

1. There is always oil in the tube before regulator

2. No need to squeeze, just on the valve to start oiling

I think Limsteel method faster, as there is no need to wait for the oil to flow from bottle to regulator. But if forget to off the valve, :help:

hope my understanding is correct. :smile:

ani new pic?? btw the tube bought at fish shop is too big liao ani wher sellin smaller one???

http://s76.photobucket.com/albums/j5/william_aks/th_bike_nitemode.jpghttp://s76.photobucket.com/albums/j5/william_aks/th_yoshi1.jpg

http://s76.photobucket.com/albums/j5/william_aks/th_whole_bike.jpghttp://s76.photobucket.com/albums/j5/william_aks/th_mi_meter.jpg

YaMaHa TzR 125cc............ 2002-2004

hOnDa WAvE 125cc........... 2004-2005

HoNdA HyPeR V-TeC1 CB 400..... 2005-?????

Originally posted by P-Plate TZR@Feb 18 2006, 01:32 AM

ani new pic?? btw the tube bought at fish shop is too big liao ani wher sellin smaller one???

if you get smaller tube, then everything else have to be smaller to. You will have more problem finding these stuff...

Fish stuff is readily available at Fish Shop and cost really low... Valves, connector, cost 10c, 50c... smaller ones will cost?

12-16 01 BMW R1150GS

When- Burgman Tmax ??