Is PGM4 a Problem bike??!?!  

272 members have voted

1. 1. Is PGM4 a Problem bike??!?!

Originally posted by Nick_li@Jun 18 2006, 11:58 PM

anyone noe the FC pf RS250 AMD pgm4??

mine can last 250 + - km b4 reserve.. reserve i onli try till 27km.. but when i pump inside still got petrol..

http://www.dreamgate.ne.jp/nsr/Gallery/repsol%20and%20regular250.jpg
  • Replies 195

Originally posted by honam24@Jun 19 2006, 12:30 AM

Mm.... i got one friend bought pgm 3 and install dry clutch...

Any difference between wet and dry...

dry clutch r more responsive.. coz oil r heavier.. but of coz it wear faster..

so far mine last me 15000km n im still using it.. bought a new set but lazy 2 change.. :sweat:

http://www.dreamgate.ne.jp/nsr/Gallery/repsol%20and%20regular250.jpg

Hi guys im a Pgm rider n i feel yes for certain parts of this bike is expensive but consider this....the market demand for the parts is low compared to mayb CBR RVF etc.... tat wld firstly explains y the crank is ard 1k, y the CDI is oso 1k etc....but consider this if u hav the cash....buy pgm....Best redo the whole engine seals,clutch system, pistons, cranks etc includes harness..... hey the total costs u ard 3k provided if your cdi is still ok....im sure it will last you ard 1.5 years or 2 w/o major problems......

Personally for RS the weakness is in the parts from italy is not lasting....my frend bought less than 6 mths n had 2 change the GEARBOX.....n it will hurt in long run.....i like RS oso but tat kind of wear n tear is scary... bcos u will not b able to enjoy at all......

Last of all, to anybody who wants to buy a 2 stroke.....Pls do some readups or gain experience from reliable sources cos its not good to jus hear bikeshops....they oni talk wat they know at a limited level......... I believe most shops I encountered dun knw hw to handle 2strokes properly.....Im not going to name any.....

Buy 2stroke oni if u hav the passion for it! Otherwise stick to 4stroke cos its never bout oni glamour... its bout the the love for 2 stroke...... Thks for everybody's time....

"Ride at best when my spirit is free"

"what doesnt die off gets better"

"Passions are energy"

Originally posted by DESMOSEDICI@Jun 19 2006, 04:55 AM

dry clutch r more responsive.. coz oil r heavier.. but of coz it wear faster..

so far mine last me 15000km n im still using it.. bought a new set but lazy 2 change.. :sweat:

oi c.. thank pal..

2002 - 2003 Yahama Tzr 125 (FH1687Z)

2003 - 2005 Honda Sp 150 (FR9672K)

2005 - 2007 Honda Cbr FireBlade 400 (FN543E)

2007 - 2010 Suzuki Gsx-R K7 1000 (AU222D)

2010 - 2011 Honda Civic FD2 (S*******)

http://i80.photobucket.com/albums/j165/honam24/Bikini%20Bike%20Wash/My%20Bike/IMG_2304copy.jpg

All the way across the board with no limitation

Originally posted by jerkeel@Jun 20 2006, 06:14 PM

Hi guys im a Pgm rider n i feel yes for certain parts of this bike is expensive but consider this....the market demand for the parts is low compared to mayb CBR RVF etc.... tat wld firstly explains y the crank is ard 1k, y the CDI is oso 1k etc....but consider this if u hav the cash....buy pgm....Best redo the whole engine seals,clutch system, pistons, cranks etc includes harness..... hey the total costs u ard 3k provided if your cdi is still ok....im sure it will last you ard 1.5 years or 2 w/o major problems......

Personally for RS the weakness is in the parts from italy is not lasting....my frend bought less than 6 mths n had 2 change the GEARBOX.....n it will hurt in long run.....i like RS oso but tat kind of wear n tear is scary... bcos u will not b able to enjoy at all......

Last of all, to anybody who wants to buy a 2 stroke.....Pls do some readups or gain experience from reliable sources cos its not good to jus hear bikeshops....they oni talk wat they know at a limited level......... I believe most shops I encountered dun knw hw to handle 2strokes properly.....Im not going to name any.....

Buy 2stroke oni if u hav the passion for it! Otherwise stick to 4stroke cos its never bout oni glamour... its bout the the love for 2 stroke...... Thks for everybody's time....

Heard that the gear box of Rs is plastic, tat y it wears off fast.

2002 - 2003 Yahama Tzr 125 (FH1687Z)

2003 - 2005 Honda Sp 150 (FR9672K)

2005 - 2007 Honda Cbr FireBlade 400 (FN543E)

2007 - 2010 Suzuki Gsx-R K7 1000 (AU222D)

2010 - 2011 Honda Civic FD2 (S*******)

http://i80.photobucket.com/albums/j165/honam24/Bikini%20Bike%20Wash/My%20Bike/IMG_2304copy.jpg

All the way across the board with no limitation

If u know how to maintain the bike, there will not be any problem.

But if thinking of upgrading again dnt buy PGM.

So far i have came across pple who buy PGM and sell them off after 1 - 3mths.

All complain abt problem here n there. Best part is they have no $$$ to repair not that parts are EX is only they buy because they think PGM is nice. They nvr thought of riding the bike for long...

All i can say is if u really like the bike...u will nvr mind the maintence, fuel consumption...juz my 2 cents...

plz note... RS engine is actually a suzuki unit...

http://photos.friendster.com/photos/12/46/4746421/125249541l.jpg

i'm not a racer, just an ILLEGALLY FAST RIDER...

Nov 2002 - Nov 2004 aprilia rs 125 (Suppu)

Nov 2004 - Jun 2006 chauffered by TIBS, SBS n SMRT drivers

Jun 2006 - May 2007 suzuki gsxr 400 (Benny)

Jun 2007 - ??? suzuki gsxr 1000 k1 (Spartan)

Originally posted by 1tym@Nov 5 2005, 03:58 AM

YAp.. pgm performance are quite gd, pick up are fast too as it is 2 stroke.. donno can tahan than rvf or cbr bo.. coz pgm parts and maintance are exp man.. @ :giddy: :help:

i don't think so pgm can keep up wif rvf pick up... hahahah.. not a chance...

...LET'S BURN RUBBER NOT SOUL...

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v312/bluenblack/r606.jpg

Ayie's Collection...

2002-2003 = Nsr Sp 150 (Fs991T) sold

2003-2004 = Honda Wave (FX7233) Sold

2004-2005 = Yamaha 125z (?????) Sold

2005-2006 = RVF 400 (FP1049) Sold &; Gilerra 180 Runner (FS6208) Scrap

2006-2009 = YZF r6 06 (FBB453S) Sold

2009-??? = CB 400 SPEC III FYXXXXB

its getting off topic, but truthfully, the 250cc 2strokers will not lose on pickup with the 400cc sportbikes. even with the same gearing ratios.

oh yeah. i used to ride a rvf, now i have a pgm :sweat:

'96 nsr250sp

'90 nsr250r

'18 yzf-r6

hey

i have ever tried to play pick up w a rvf on 1st three gears alone,

take note the rvf rider ard 50+ kg n pillion gerl ard 50+ oso

Im the PGM rider rad 60++ n gf 50 kg....he went off 1st...but i catch up ard 2nd gear.....

Don mind me, even with a V4 engine...rvf net weight ard 160 to 170....correct me if wrong...the heaviest PGM ard 140...imagine more by 20kg the response how?

Unless heavily mod Rvf top is 190km....Pgm 180km....Pgm on 1st gear alone comes up to 60km whereas Rvf shld nt be more than that.....

Based on the above, on the track a PGM rocks esp quick turns but a Rvf wld b heavier on the turns....for top speed a RVF wld be better but unless modded to 220km/h wld lose to a CBR L model....but who play TOP SPEED in SG?

Hey heres my conclusion man...... two strokers 250cc easier to do up than 4strokers..... if you find the rite ppl....plus.....its sweet to do corner esp wen i ever followed a VTR 1000 SP1 at KJE "S" course, n mind you guys out there, hes a stranger to me b4 we spar but after tat we became frends.......Im not here to make pple day lousy.....Im on a PGM less than two years n i don find myself skilled.....so jus wan pple to understand if with engine brakes it can slow your trottle response......tats the secret to two strokers bcoz we don have any engine brakes.........

Hope this posting provides some insights to you good pple out there.....Have a nice day!

"Ride at best when my spirit is free"

"what doesnt die off gets better"

"Passions are energy"

hahaha RVF? i dun tink ani 4 strokers in class 2A can outrun a 2A 2 stroker in pickup acceleration.. personally i nvr would wana try to go up against the 2A strokers..

confirm smell plus drink 2T.. i m riding a L-model btw..

WLD like to get a pgm3 sp model with dry cluth if have the spare cash

hehehehehe

honestly feel pgm full destrict makes u WET i think ba

btw i own rs250 too hehehe

Agraphix customise sticker

------www.agraphix.com.sg-----

currently flowers sticker are 4 by 4 cm

if any ppl need any odd size plz pm me

ride safe thankshttp://sticker.eepz.org/bike-sponsor-sticker/flower

Originally posted by jerkeel@January 06, 2007 04:43 pm

Unless heavily mod Rvf top is 190km....Pgm 180km....Pgm on 1st gear alone comes up to 60km whereas Rvf shld nt be more than that.....

Based on the above, on the track a PGM rocks esp quick turns but a Rvf wld b heavier on the turns....for top speed a RVF wld be better but unless modded to 220km/h wld lose to a CBR L model....but who play TOP SPEED in SG?

truthfully speaking. i dont agree with some stuff you said.

the rvf (nc35) top speed with the meter restriction is 180. derestricting that is easy. just bend 2 pieces of metal in the meter. after that 210-220km/h isnt a problem with stock sprox ratios. stock nsr250, 180km/h. derestricting that with a 030 card can be done, but it wont go up that much more due to the stock sprox ratio of the nsr250. also you need to remember rvf's first gear is quite tall, it can easily hit 90-100km/hr on first gear if you drag it to the redline of your rpm. the nsr, well i dont know. my current nsr doesnt have a speedo.

rvf? top speed? yeah, but seriously imo a rvf wont really have a chance against most of the inline4 400s in the market. i tried against a L model a long time ago with my old rvf, yeah i was using a bigger rear sprox than stock, but still i could go up to 210ish km/hr. the L model was really pulling away quite fast still.

coming back to the topic, yes i agree that the nsr250 has a very big advantage in tight turns and in acceleration, but seriously it all boils down to the rider also right? the rvf doesnt lose out as much as you think. and i kinda feel if you really want to do up and mod a 2stroker, its not that easy either. find the right ppl? well if you say that, if you find the right ppl a 4stroker wont be that hard to do up also right?

both the nsr AND rvf has their plus points. it depends on the individual rider's preference yes?

anyway i dont think the 2strokers are meant for top speed 'shootouts', but they're great to play pickup with ^^

'96 nsr250sp

'90 nsr250r

'18 yzf-r6

Originally posted by ravenSP@January 09, 2007 04:42 am

the rvf (nc35) top speed with the meter restriction is 180. derestricting that is easy. just bend 2 pieces of metal in the meter. after that 210-220km/h isnt a problem with stock sprox ratios. stock nsr250, 180km/h. derestricting that with a 030 card can be done, but it wont go up that much more due to the stock sprox ratio of the nsr250. also you need to remember rvf's first gear is quite tall, it can easily hit 90-100km/hr on first gear if you drag it to the redline of your rpm. the nsr, well i dont know. my current nsr doesnt have a speedo.

rvf? top speed? yeah, but seriously imo a rvf wont really have a chance against most of the inline4 400s in the market. i tried against a L model a long time ago with my old rvf, yeah i was using a bigger rear sprox than stock, but still i could go up to 210ish km/hr. the L model was really pulling away quite fast still.

coming back to the topic, yes i agree that the nsr250 has a very big advantage in tight turns and in acceleration, but seriously it all boils down to the rider also right? the rvf doesnt lose out as much as you think. and i kinda feel if you really want to do up and mod a 2stroker, its not that easy either. find the right ppl? well if you say that, if you find the right ppl a 4stroker wont be that hard to do up also right?

both the nsr AND rvf has their plus points. it depends on the individual rider's preference yes?

anyway i dont think the 2strokers are meant for top speed 'shootouts', but they're great to play pickup with ^^

Simply agree wif u!!

Originally posted by ravenSP@January 09, 2007 04:42 am

Right on Raven! Long time no see..how ya doing?

I agree with your statements too. Although RVF is definitely heavier than PGM by 20-30KG , it definitely doesnt feel like a pig in the corners. Its actually considered quite good in the handling department among its peers.

When comparing mods, iz actually easier to mod the RVF than the PGM4. It doesnt even have to be "heavily mod" to overcome the top speed restriction. If you want more horsies, just slip on a less restrictive end can and tune accordingly. The PGM is harder to modify because you need to get yur hands on a hrc card 030. Even so, the bike needs to be slightly rewired to be able to accept the 030 card, else the CDI wont even allow the bike to start. Restriction is also present in the PGM4's pipes and airbox I believe.

PGM3 doesnt have these electronic restrictions. But its hard to find one these days :weep:

The japanese (Honda) incorporated all these restriction into the PGM4 because of thier government's HP and speed restriction for such classes of motorbikes. But the electronic card provision was Honda's way of ensuring privateer racers or those in the racing scene can still tapped into the bike's potential through the "proper channels" with the HRC department. Even so, many shops later soon found a way to rechip or modify the CDI to get around the problem.

So.........

Nevertheless, when modified near its potential, the PGM is definitely the sweeter bike of the 2.

I did alot of research when choosing btw RVF and PGM. Both have its pros and cons. I never regretted owning RVF but i do regret not ever owning a PGM because right now where I am....they dont even have 2strokers. No PGMs, no RS, all mainstream big c.c 4 strokers. So boring.

PGM is considered an enthusiast bike, here in USA, its considered exotic!!! So if you can get one in Singapore for 6000ish, I would say its worth it man. dont look too much into maintenance if you truly love this bike, anway its not that much if you regularly maintain it. Especially labor in SG...considered cheap already. Mai Tu Liao.

You Tailgate, I Jam Brake!

To Eliminate that False sense of achievement , Pick on bikes your own c.c.

http://www.geocities.com/infieldg/images/dirk_b_rc30.jpg

End of the day , u like what bike go get it...just do it attitude & forget about good or no good...u like can already...ignore what other ppl say...heehee :cheer:

My Runner

http://w3.bikepics.com/pics/2008%5C07%5C25%5Cbikepics-1364105-full.jpg

hi guys!!!

yah...for pgm i reali like it alot but ppl do say its a problematic bike...well but i dun agree.

reason becoz is that u juz haf to take xtra care into the bike n regular service thus the bike wont not gif u any problems plus correct settings if not u wil be spending more than it is.

pgm is reali a great bike n its well known for its pickup if u reali knw hw to play wif it...i can tel u honestly 400cc bikes cant win this beauty at all if not its not what they call a track bike!!!

Juz my opinion..hehe..

Originally posted by NSR2000@March 15, 2007 03:44 pm

hi guys!!!

yah...for pgm i reali like it alot but ppl do say its a problematic bike...well but i dun agree.

reason becoz is that u juz haf to take xtra care into the bike n regular service thus the bike wont not gif u any problems plus correct settings if not u wil be spending more than it is.

pgm is reali a great bike n its well known for its pickup if u reali knw hw to play wif it...i can tel u honestly 400cc bikes cant win this beauty at all if not its not what they call a track bike!!!

Juz my opinion..hehe..

ya tat right i agree wif wat you say. . .if you noe hw to handle a pgm bike

it really a veri powerfull bike. . .like wise even though outside on the road if you see a PGM rinding slow don mean the bike got problem maybe it running in or wat. . .

2004-2005-NSR 150(FR8206E)

2005-2006-NSR 150(FR8206E) HONDA WAVE(FU6512T)

2006-2007-HONDA CB 400 SPEC 1 (FU1827T)PGM IV(FN9326G)

2007-CURRENT-CB 400 SPEC 1(FU1827T) Honda Wave125(FU7770H) VxR200(FBB6*6*E) PGM IV(FN9326G)HONDA CB 400 SPEC 1(FR8830)

UP COMING VERSION R TURBO...

Originally posted by ahboi@March 15, 2007 04:01 pm

ya tat right i agree wif wat you say. . .if you noe hw to handle a pgm bike

it really a veri powerfull bike. . .like wise even though outside on the road if you see a PGM rinding slow don mean the bike got problem maybe it running in or wat. . .

:D thanks ahboi for agreeing wif me!!!

haha..PGM my favourite goin 2 get 1 soon in maybe july or august.

yeah...some juz overhauled their bike thats y they riding quite slow on the road.

i even hear frm my mechanic (famous for PGM bikes n servicing) PGM can even win a Suzuki 600cc provided it has done all the necessary settings n modifications.

So...PGM is great!!!

Originally posted by NSR2000@March 15, 2007 04:28 pm

i even hear frm my mechanic (famous for PGM bikes n servicing) PGM can even win a Suzuki 600cc provided it has done all the necessary settings n modifications

sure?

whos ur mech? mind telling us?

pickup maybe. it'll get overtaken after a few gears thou. top speed definately lose :lol:

how to win? its one of the best bikes in its class. but to take it to compare to a 600cc... well..

'96 nsr250sp

'90 nsr250r

'18 yzf-r6

Originally posted by NSR2000@March 15, 2007 04:28 pm

:D thanks ahboi for agreeing wif me!!!

haha..PGM my favourite goin 2 get 1 soon in maybe july or august.

yeah...some juz overhauled their bike thats y they riding quite slow on the road.

i even hear frm my mechanic (famous for PGM bikes n servicing) PGM can even win a Suzuki 600cc provided it has done all the necessary settings n modifications.

So...PGM is great!!!

i agree wif wat you say but win 600cc bike i don think so

but some mod is needed on PGM to stay behind 600cc bike. . .

i think so. . .

2004-2005-NSR 150(FR8206E)

2005-2006-NSR 150(FR8206E) HONDA WAVE(FU6512T)

2006-2007-HONDA CB 400 SPEC 1 (FU1827T)PGM IV(FN9326G)

2007-CURRENT-CB 400 SPEC 1(FU1827T) Honda Wave125(FU7770H) VxR200(FBB6*6*E) PGM IV(FN9326G)HONDA CB 400 SPEC 1(FR8830)

UP COMING VERSION R TURBO...