ya..after buy, den die a poor man...DIE EXCLUSIVELY ...haha...

solid bike..no one got it yet ??

1995 Rd135 (3months);1995-1997 Kawa K100 97-00 Honda Steed cool black;00-02 Suzuki Swift

02-05 Ford Focus;05-07 Nissan Sucky

07- Camry;jan 08 -feb 08 KRR ;feb 08-apr08 -- Cbr400 J model ;

mar08 - sept 08 Cbr400 R model ; may08 -oct08 KTM200; oct 08 - feb09 XR4 ; feb09-apr10 gixxer 750 Apr09 -June10 DR650;apr10-aug 10 Africa Twin; sep 10- current fazer 1k....Jan-13 FortyEight

• Replies 47

saw the bike @ changi village yesterday night 30/05/08. (fresh from the oven )

bery bery nice :thumb:

Number plate A* 18*.

This number plate used to be very very hot in the 80's. The former Rider was a motorsieow - Yamaha pirate. The number in that time does represent 'something'.

Power to the owner .:thumb: Must be very very rich.

http://i189.photobucket.com/albums/z52/jim_lkf/mz_03_10010403706.gifhttp://i189.photobucket.com/albums/z52/jim_lkf/mz_091005_10010661780.gif
ya..after buy, den die a poor man...DIE EXCLUSIVELY ...haha...

solid bike..no one got it yet ??

well... ktm buyers are mostly not average you and me people working to make ends meet i guess..

those who can afford to get EXCLUSIVE bike... wont think twice about resale price.. coz we are not talking about average joe's bike...

so 35k machine pricE? and OTR liao ? wish i cound see one !!

saw one orange one buzz past me at bedok reservoir last saturday...its really chio...i tot i was seeing things when i saw the headlights on from far...very stylo ! the owner's riding very smooth i must say

http://sameerkumar.blogspot.com/2008/04/face-off-ktm-rc8-vs-yamaha-r1.html

In their latest issue, French magazine Motorevue would be doing a full-blown shootout between the hot new KTM 1190 RC8 and the mighty Yamaha R1. Pitting French-spec (?) 100bhp versions of the two machines against each other, Motorevue came to the conclusion that while the R1 remains unbeaten for top speed, the RC8 holds many advantages over the Japanese bike. According to MR, the RC8 has less demanding ergonomics, is more stable at high speeds, offers more cornering precision, and that its wonderfully unconventional styling has more ‘character.’

Here are Motorevue's figures for the two bikes:

KTM 1190 RC8

Top speed: >230km/h

Power: 104.9bhp (measured at the crank)

Dry weight: 188kg

Price: 16,250 euros

Yamaha YZF R1

Power: 114bhp (measured at the crank)

Dry weight: 172kg

Price: 13,590 euros

So it does look like Italy & Japan Inc had better watch out – the RC8 will soon be kicking some arse…!

Italian bikes can burn in hell for all i care. In fact in europe, the italians are known for the best of designs but really sloppy and lousy workmanships.

and how can a company used to making dirtbikes ever come up with their first sportsbike and make it better than the way our Japanese ppl do it. Please ppl, wake up. I am not saying its a lousy bike. But there are some things not meant to be said. The japs have come a loooooong way. No where can the rc8 come close in terms dependability. And that name KTM, just spells many trips to dirt wheel on a regular basis. Take a Fireblade, thrash it, change its oils and trash it again and again and again. It will still smile at you smirking, """IS THAT ALL YOU GOT BRO""".

Not until i see the rc8 overtaking honda, kawa, yamaha and suzuki in all areas will i say that its a really good bike. For now, its just a craze over an austrian sportsbike. Its like Harley, been around for the longest time, but all it does is look good. One helluva crap bike. Harleys still cant stop with their stpock braking systems and are sounding from bad to worse.

Well, i am critical. Lets see how it goes.

Zac

There is no pain greater than not being able to ride a motorcycle....

There is no joy more worth mention when riding one,,,,,,,

Zac

One thing the RC8 will have - EXCLUSIVITY! Why worry about the rest??

You make me feel shameful i am a Biker dude. You give the word "twisted" definition. Tsk

Let's all wait and see, how it all goes.

Anyone wanna join me in the wait and watch game?

hahhahah

Zac

Zac

Let me just add, try recalling all the other 2 cylinder bikes on the racetrack. and on the road. Remember what happened to them?

Zac

Zac

Originally Posted by motocafe View Post

You make me feel shameful i am a Biker dude. You give the word "twisted" definition. Tsk

hahhahah

Zac

dude...ur not being very cordial now r u...the forum is open but there are ways to put forth one's opinion. not taking sides here..juz my 0.02 cents!

Italian bikes can burn in hell for all i care. In fact in europe, the italians are known for the best of designs but really sloppy and lousy workmanships.

and how can a company used to making dirtbikes ever come up with their first sportsbike and make it better than the way our Japanese ppl do it. Please ppl, wake up. I am not saying its a lousy bike. But there are some things not meant to be said. The japs have come a loooooong way. No where can the rc8 come close in terms dependability. And that name KTM, just spells many trips to dirt wheel on a regular basis. Take a Fireblade, thrash it, change its oils and trash it again and again and again. It will still smile at you smirking, """IS THAT ALL YOU GOT BRO""".

Not until i see the rc8 overtaking honda, kawa, yamaha and suzuki in all areas will i say that its a really good bike. For now, its just a craze over an austrian sportsbike. Its like Harley, been around for the longest time, but all it does is look good. One helluva crap bike. Harleys still cant stop with their stpock braking systems and are sounding from bad to worse.

Zac

Have u ridden a RC8?? U r fully entitled to ur opinion...however, I beg to differ.. True, the jap bikes r long known for their reliability whilst the italians r getting their act together...eg MV's, Duc's, Aprilia blah blah.. As for the Austrian marque "KTM", though they are relatively new (founded in 1934, built bikes frm 1953) compared to the BIG four they do make one of the finest engines ard and now they have warpped a lovely chassis ard the 1198 powerplant. To compare it to a "Harley" ...where r u headin'..u r all over the place but where r u goin' wif tis dude.

over n out

Chill chill RC8 SWEET....jap also sweet la...diff taste ma. reliabity maybe be a prequisite but also got reliabitity tolerance mah.

it might be less reliable but not not reliable right...

Marauder, FZ150, TW200

Hurricane, CB400 vS

TLR, ST11 TCS/ABS

STX TW200, M400, Runner180

TDM900, ET8

Vespa classic 10" 8"

Z750S, Multistra 620

TUONO R

CB1100EX

Vespa GTS300 Super ABS

hahhahah

Zac

My comments was spoken tongue-in-cheek (:angel:); don't take it personally. It is fair to have opposing views but impolite and shameful to launch personal attacks. Tsk?

http://sameerkumar.blogspot.com/2008/04/face-off-ktm-rc8-vs-yamaha-r1.html

In their latest issue, French magazine Motorevue would be doing a full-blown shootout between the hot new KTM 1190 RC8 and the mighty Yamaha R1. Pitting French-spec (?) 100bhp versions of the two machines against each other, Motorevue came to the conclusion that while the R1 remains unbeaten for top speed, the RC8 holds many advantages over the Japanese bike. According to MR, the RC8 has less demanding ergonomics, is more stable at high speeds, offers more cornering precision, and that its wonderfully unconventional styling has more ‘character.’

Here are Motorevue's figures for the two bikes:

KTM 1190 RC8

Power: 104.9bhp (measured at the crank)

Dry weight: 188kg

Price: 16,250 euros

Yamaha YZF R1

Power: 114bhp (measured at the crank)

Dry weight: 172kg

Price: 13,590 euros

So it does look like Italy & Japan Inc had better watch out – the RC8 will soon be kicking some arse…!

As for the above, those are not my words - they are a word-for-word reproduction of a website (http://www.fasterandfaster.net). If you have an issue with it - I encourage you to take it up with them; don't shoot the messenger please.

My postings are friendly banter - I am NOT here to make it my career as a columnist or be a so-called 'expert'. Peace

My comments was spoken tongue-in-cheek (:angel:); don't take it personally. It is fair to have opposing views but impolite and shameful to launch personal attacks. Tsk?

My postings are friendly banter - I am NOT here to make it my career as a columnist or be a so-called 'expert'. Peace

Chill Out MotoCafe!! :cool:

haha, no need to take too much offense with wat others have to say of you, i know what calibre you're of! :thumb:

http://i37.photobucket.com/albums/e73/ChrisCheong8800/TMAX-3.jpg

http://i37.photobucket.com/albums/e73/ChrisCheong8800/DSC_3871-1.jpg

'Old ladies in the Midwestern US...now have to pay higher taxes to finance...Wall Street's Maseratis. That's horribly immoral - and bad economics.'

Jim Rogers-19/20/08

c'mon guys ... to each his own.

life wud b pretty boring if everybody share the same taste rite???

be it jap, italian or ang moh harleys ... at the end of the day, we r all bikers.

We ride hard, we ride home safe - Peace -

The Road less Travelled

http://multiply.com/mu/aaronazmi/image/1/photos/177/600x600/51/PIC-0105-1.JPG?et=EPg%2B7KSmSyqSCJnhbA%2C62w&nmid=309411908

Have u ridden a RC8?? U r fully entitled to ur opinion...however, I beg to differ.. True, the jap bikes r long known for their reliability whilst the italians r getting their act together...eg MV's, Duc's, Aprilia blah blah.. As for the Austrian marque "KTM", though they are relatively new (founded in 1934, built bikes frm 1953) compared to the BIG four they do make one of the finest engines ard and now they have warpped a lovely chassis ard the 1198 powerplant. To compare it to a "Harley" ...where r u headin'..u r all over the place but where r u goin' wif tis dude.

over n out

Understand why i used harley davidson as an example dude. Please. You might have a lil trouble with that. Some things are fixed. I am just retaliating to the phrase """BEWARE JAP BIKES. THE RC8..........""".

I have my rightds to say what i want right, then i will say what i wanna. I will definitely say its a really chidish comment from anyone to warn the japs just cos some fella made a orange and black track machine. Beautiful nonetheless, i am sure it does giv ppl like you and orgasm even. But to me, ULTIMATELY......

THE JAPS DO NOT HAVE TO BE ON STANDBY COS OF KTM

Look at Honda, they dun even bother with upgrading their models design wise, cos what they make is really really Good bikes. Bikes must be assessed from all directions.

Harley came into the picture becos even though they make very nice engines, they still dun have the technology to make parts to stop their bikes, They cant do many things still. DID Yamaha, Honda and Kawasaki have to be oon a lookout just becos harley released the V rod years ago??????

To me Harley was shocked when Yamaha released all that crazy tourers and cruisers.

The rc8 is new, like i said before, only time will tell.

Zac

c'mon guys ... to each his own.

life wud b pretty boring if everybody share the same taste rite???

be it jap, italian or ang moh harleys ... at the end of the day, we r all bikers.

We ride hard, we ride home safe - Peace -

Yeah bro i totally agree with you dude, we are bikers and we do our thing here. I love to ride, can even be Honda Chappy, but somethings should just not be said lah. Its almost like telling ppl or creating an impression to local jap big bikers that when a RC8 overtakes u, just drop your jaws in awe and dun boher trying your luck. Cos you will never win.

You know what i mean?

Hey bros, in fact all of whom are here, i am cool dude, in fact i will love for us all to meet up and either trash this out and have a hearty laugh session after that. Its all in the name of Biking. Just that in biking, like in any other society, there will be the ones who talk wrong, or are misunderstood and those who will speak if they dun hear what they want to.

Nothing diff here bro. Just my 2 cents guys. No hard feelings, I love all of you man, yeah bro that includes you motocafe.

Zac

Zac

Opinions will change as you grow. Time will tell....:p

For me am happpy with my Harley that can't run and brake lousy..A vara for touring will be nice to have :angel: but Will be even happier if i can own a RC8 or 1098S..who needs to compare them with the jap bike anyway....:angel:

Edited by srady

hey hey bro srady u took the word outta most of the people's mouth I would say.

thou its true abt a harly but I will be riding one soon...weeehoo

Marauder, FZ150, TW200

Hurricane, CB400 vS

TLR, ST11 TCS/ABS

STX TW200, M400, Runner180

TDM900, ET8

Vespa classic 10" 8"

Z750S, Multistra 620

TUONO R

CB1100EX

Vespa GTS300 Super ABS

Zac

Chill bro, to each his own. I prefer Japanese bikes, as they generally have better durability and reliability. However, I would love to own a Ducati or KTM if finances allow. Where's the fun in riding if the only criteria is reliability?

Some say Euro bikes have character (read "cranky"), and some say bland efficiency is character.

Life is too short to be bike bashing. Live to ride. We are all dead in the long term anyways.

Past: KDX200, LC4 400, LC4 620, GSXR750WR

Present: CBR900RRY, Gas Gas EC250, XR250L, XR250RV, XR400 (motard-ed), NX650 Dominator

hi,guys!

1st off we r all riders here. no matter wat kind of bike u ride. juz 2 be fair the modern day ktm can hold its own in the reliability department. all bikes can run with juz regular oil change. but when u compare 2 simliar purpose built bike u will find that there is not much difference in the maintanance/repairs. the ktm 4 strokes (400,450,525 exc) r all purpose built race bikes meant 4 x country racing. following jap bikes in the same class would be honda xr series,yamaha wr 400,suzuki dr 400 enduro(plastic tank) not 2 be confused with the dr 400(metal tank).

i have ridden/race jap bikes till 2 years ago n my current ride is as reliable as any of my previous bike n have no issues with wear n tear parts at all.

enjoy the weekend riding,guys! :angel:

2 many internet racers and not enough real racers in s g!

once u hv ur hands onto d RC8 u might b saying, The futures bright, the futures orange! Sorry Ducati! :angel:

Life is like a shooting star, it don't matter who you are,

If you only run for cover, it's just a waste of time.. :thumb:

http://i154.photobucket.com/albums/s271/warriorconp/MyRide2.jpg