Part 1 - The Fallen Of MotorXiao In 5 Days

I always wanted to write and share this story. Although it is a

non-spiritual related story to scare or frighten you but I think it

is somehow related to the changes of Singapore and it is where

you are living now. I hope I could excite you in some way in

this story. Just when I was resting myself on my highback

office chair infront of my monitor screen thinking where to start

the story line, I realized that the story I am about to write has

been happened almost 2 decade ago. The time really passing

us like a smoke. You see it rising to the air but you just

couldn’t catch it. The days of checkers shirt, baggy pants,

break dancing in Far East Plaza and side pank hair style would

never come back again. Pls don’t call us Ah Beng or Ah Seng

hor, those were the days, we were blend as Far East kids,

Daimaru kids or Center Point kids, abit high class hor. Haha

During those days, cars were not as popular as any of a

soaped up bike. If there is a choice for a lady to choose for her

ride, she would usually choose a bike for the weekend evening

with a macho man in black jacket, black tight nylon pants and

a designed helmet. Every weekend was very eventful for the

motorxiao. The party would start gradually after 6pm on Friday.

Members of the particular group from all over the places will

start flocking in and gather in their designated spot. These

members can be ranged from 20 to even 50 riders and pillions in

a group. Some of the spots were located under the HDB block;

some were meeting in Mcdonald or Shopping Mall. These places

were their regular meeting points and they were not just

possessing with the same interest with bikes, they carried the

same designed helmet for their group and they hanged out

together on every weekend to seek excitement. The few

popular groups I could still recall now are Pirate Yamaha, Spiral,

Challenger, Omega, Yi Ba Huo and so on.

There was a particular group I joined during those times and it

was located below my block. My parents were extremely strict

on me and for my safety sake; I was not allowed to learn riding

a bike. So, I took up a driving lesson instead so that I could

still join them to party. Midnight movie on Friday would never

missed. During those days, midnight movies would have to be

pre-booked in advance 2 or 3 days. For some popular movies

by Jackie Chan or Chow Yun Fatt, we may even have to book

the tickets a week in advance to avoid disappointment. Some

of the popular theatres then were Orchard Lido, Cathey,

Capitol and etc. Group and group of motorxiao were flocked in

to the nearby carpark with their modified machine and of

course the chio bu (pretty girls). It is a norm to see these

groups of bikers traveling down the road in cluster of 10 to 20.

You can hear them coming by the sound of their modified

exhaust pipe even they were 500m away. It was also very

common to see plenty of spectators gathering outside the

theatre just to check out the nicely soaped up bikes before

they entering into the theatre. Or also maybe the soaped up

chio bu. And most of the time, these spectators were also

reluctant to go into the theatre for the movie because

sometimes extra show start outside the theatre before the

actual show inside. (Fighting Lah) No wonder midnight movies

were so popular those days because the price for one ticket

can sometime catch two shows. Haha Once inside the

theatre, all the designed helmets were laid and stacked in rows

on the stage in front of the spectators inside the theatre.

Difference groups were placed their helmets separately

depending on which side they are sitting. Once, I was over

heard this from a woman sitting behind me. She said to her

boyfriend, are you bring me here for the movie or to see the

helmets? Well, she didn’t expect that she would never see it

again after the Christmas Party in 1987.

to be continue if u guys r interested

http://i87.photobucket.com/albums/k130/yeobt/Picnikcollage-1.jpg
  • Replies 902

Very interesting! :thumb:

Quotable Quotes: If you ride a motorcycle often, you will be killed riding it. That much is as sure as night follows day. Your responsibility is to be vigilant and careful as to continue to push that eventuality so far forward that you die of old age first

Originally posted by ah_tee@Nov 28 2005, 10:59 AM

u left out "18 meng jiang"

haha... oso got "ye feng kuang"... some of the group still last until the mid 90's... i start my biking days at 1995 and can still see some of them... bt ard 97... nv heard of them liao... :sweat:

i remember i saw them "ka motor"(whack bikes) at a petrol station opposite eniment plaza... the esso station... most of them on LC125 or RD125LC... full chrome engine cover, swing arm, rim... with the "bee" sound exhuast pipe... the pillion seat jack up 90 degrees... yeah oso the "char kway teow" handle bar... :sweat: some even cut the fuel tank smaller. now oso very seldom see the ah beng helmet liao.

those were the days... :cheeky:

1995 - 1996 ~ Yamaha TZR125

1996 - 1999 ~ Honda CBR400RRK Hurricane

2005 - 2006 ~ Honda TA150 Phantom

2006 - 2010 ~ Honda CB400 Super Four Vtec Spec 1

2011 - 2013 ~ Honda CB400 Super Four Vtec Spec 2

2013 - 20** ~ Ducati Monster 796 ABS + Sym GTS200

Tats an interesting read . :thumb:

woohoo

looks like when i was on 3 yrs old, the biking world is so interesting sia

Singapore History Lessons.....

An apt tutoring material to educate the younger group nowadays. Street codes rather than jus Highway Code of basic theory.... Nowadays with modern technology. Everything is faster.... take things for granted.. hahahah

Lets have more of SINGAPORE Stories....... and how bout the Orchard Gudang races??? heheheh

http://i20.photobucket.com/albums/b250/anodise5757/project57/Hornbulbfoggiesbanner2013_zps6e758ef1.jpg

Click Here --> <CMO> Premium Products - HELLA, Philips & Osram

Originally posted by ah_tee@Nov 28 2005, 10:59 AM

u left out "18 meng jiang"

that time still haven't got meng jiang....meng jiang is the same time as yamaha, shibumi, winter fire and swallow....

Well sorry to interupt =)

It's really been long to hear from all those motor siao...Most of them quit and most r driving now...But somehw i notice a trend lately...Some bikers would form their grps and says they are not motorsiao but behaving like one..abit contradicting though =)

But I guess when saying back those times is kinda interesting...

Why Drink And Drive When You Can Smoke And Fly

Originally posted by aHgEr@Nov 28 2005, 11:29 AM

It's really been long to hear from all those motor siao...Most of them quit and most r driving now...But somehw i notice a trend lately...Some bikers would form their grps and says they are not motorsiao but behaving like one..abit contradicting though =)

question, teacher

how do motor siaos behave?

Originally posted by aHgEr@Nov 28 2005, 11:29 AM

yap...i totally agree

saw a lot of malay riders riding in groups wif same designed

helmets......

licence is a road to freedom but is also a road to hell.

CHOOSE WISELY...

http://www.nightwars.com/play.asp?ID=1316

Originally posted by Angry@Nov 28 2005, 11:28 AM

that time still haven't got meng jiang....meng jiang is the same time as yamaha, shibumi, winter fire and swallow....

Before meng jiang if I am not wrong should be "Yi Shen" After that then meng jiang and the rest came out bahz...Rem they are quite fierce ard my area and alwaz see them wacking ppl or bikes...:sweat:

FOUND these in another thread in SBF

10 yrs back motorcycle scene in spore was

1: TZR and Extremas are the HOTTEST bike arounds. You own one of them u are like owning a R1 for class2b

2: RXZ was hot property... coz made in japan and powerful. That time first time it appear the plate was FF.

3: MBX for malay riders and LC for chinese Riders.. RXZ indians...

4: Skipper was like a hot property..with speakers and lotsa of stickers

5: TP was riding a BMW and the CB750.

6: Motor SIao exist at that time.. All wear helmet with 2 tone visor and many many stickers.

7: LAP ppl was a common things

8: Bikes like LC will have the rear end jack up and wear the helmet in away it covers the eyes

9: The handle bar is position in an awkward position and play corners. Bikes are fully chromed and tank cut into half.

10: LAB shops was some backlane and many many ppl there.

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forum/index....showtopic=94347

Originally posted by anodise57@Nov 28 2005, 11:35 AM

hmmmmm define motosiao... hahahahha

ITs like PaiGia! On wheels.. to the commoners.. i guess.. hahaha

no wonder

my father/mother from that era

so got mindset that i ride, so become "bad" liao

Can we have Part 2 please? :cheer:

Adventure

Getting lost is part of the fun

Aug 2003 - Oct 2004: Kawasaki KRR150

Oct 2004 - Feb 2006: Honda CBR400RRR

Oct 2005 - Jun 2006: Honda Wave R

Nov 2005 - ???: Honda CBR1100XX Super Blackbird

Akan Datang: Suzuki GSX-R600K6

Originally posted by cs_kup_oh@Nov 28 2005, 11:32 AM

question, teacher

how do motor siaos behave?

Erm...I not sure leh..but since they declare they are just a normal grp of bikers...then i duno hw come they like to pick up fight and find troubles sometimes.No offence but seen quite a few though =x

Originally posted by ice_boyzzz2002@Nov 28 2005, 11:32 AM

yap...i totally agree

saw a lot of malay riders riding in groups wif same designed

helmets......

I alwaz seen them as well..especially gt wedding..wow it's like almost a big grp of them :sweat:

Originally posted by alj@Nov 28 2005, 11:41 AM

not to forget the " lei niao " (Thunder bird) to translate directly to english :sweat:

Keke "lei niao", they gt a few other grps related to them as well...But it seems ages to even hear those names..maybe i mountain tortoise liaoz :sweat: