Hi bros,

Do you all free wheel when u going downslope?

My riding style is just like my driving style, whenever i hit a downslope usually i will just clutch in till i reach the bottom. Haha i always travel back home from ECP and always reach the top of the Benjamin Shears Bridge confirm will clutch in till i reach the bottom. :cheeky:

Just wanna find out whether i am the odd one out or not. Haha! :angel:

When I read about the dangers of riding motorbikes, I gave up reading.

http://fc01.deviantart.com/fs25/f/2008/071/2/d/Bleach_Gotei_13_Captains_by_Miralupa.png

• Replies 29

i do tt too but nt on expressway, only places like MSCP. :cheeky:

http://i116.photobucket.com/albums/o22/fba8485c/PGMIV250.jpg

Actually its a bad practice, if the car in front jam brake it will be more difficult for you to stop in time.... One thing good is can safe petrol:cheeky:

**only 1 img allowed in signature***

http://photos-a.ak.fbcdn.net/photos-ak-snc1/v2630/32/27/667979715/n667979715_1625216_481751.jpg

better dun..... :( notch safe.... :(

For me not that long, i will only free wheel when there's like 100 ~ 200m b4 hitting a traffic light and when i riding quite fast.

Hi bros,

Do you all free wheel when u going downslope?

My riding style is just like my driving style, whenever i hit a downslope usually i will just clutch in till i reach the bottom. Haha i always travel back home from ECP and always reach the top of the Benjamin Shears Bridge confirm will clutch in till i reach the bottom. :cheeky:

Just wanna find out whether i am the odd one out or not. Haha! :angel:

doesn't free wheeling give you a sense of insecurity?

cos if you wont know if you reengage the clutch... will there be engine brake or no power... haha...

usually i feel it's ok coz even though i clutch in, my feet and right hand still on the brakes.. just in case.. sometime i don't free wheel i i would keep the throttle on and it goes faster.. but will it spoil ur clutch in the long run coz u re-engage at a high speed?

doesn't free wheeling give you a sense of insecurity?

cos if you wont know if you reengage the clutch... will there be engine brake or no power... haha...

no la in fact i feel safer..:cheeky: u might think i am crazy but my view is that when i free wheel i no need to keep track of my speed liao.. and i concentrate on the road more. further more when i free wheel i make sure the distance between me and the front is big enuff for me to slow down properly or jam brake(CHOY! touch wood! haha)

When I read about the dangers of riding motorbikes, I gave up reading.

http://fc01.deviantart.com/fs25/f/2008/071/2/d/Bleach_Gotei_13_Captains_by_Miralupa.png

i onli free wheel approaching red light, n oso goin down short slopes. otherwise, dun think it's safe to free wheel cos the speed is really cannot predict one..

http://www.nea.gov.sg/cms/mss/gif/rainloc0.gif

"Riding a slow bike fast is always more fun than riding a fast bike slow."

few years ago got this topic. if i remember its not good for the bike.

so how much petrol do you save?

[CENTER][IMG]http://i159.photobucket.com/albums/t148/binkaz11/1_980549729l.jpg[/IMG] [I][B][FONT="Verdana"][SIZE="3"][COLOR="DarkRed"]Wooo HoOOoOooooo~[/COLOR][/SIZE][/FONT][/B][/I][/CENTER]
so how much petrol do you save?

for bikes, not much. for cars, it could be significant. no matter what, it does save petrol.

whether much or not, depends on individual to justify what they are doing :)

free wheeling down is not clutch in off engine so how much petrol can a bike save?? clutch in but ur engine is still idling meaning petrol is till being pumped in.

for bikes,free wheeling will spoil ur clutch plate..try not to do it too often..

2B - 19th November 2007 (BBDC)

2A - 20th January 2009 (BBDC)

2 - 27th April 2010 (BBDC)

3 - 15th January 2015 (BBDC)

19/11/2007 - 20/01/2009 - Daelim Roadwin 125 (FY4650U)

11/08/2008 - 17/06/2013 - Honda CB 400 Spec III (FZ9538Z)

17/06/2013 - Present - NC700x (FBH**0*G)

so is it better to wear out my clutch or to wear out my 2-stroke pistons and rings? Lol. Hmmm clutch cheaper right? lol.

http://gadgets.boingboing.net/gimages/lego-cycle-helmet.jpg this is not me! :cheeky:

i free wheel a little only approaching junctions. yeah there's a thread on this before.. not good for the bike..

so is using engine brake and keep shifting down gear is BETTER in terms of wear and tear m damages ?

For you, Keep shifting down till u engage gear 1... :lol:

no, i dont free wheel when going downslope. i drop gear and twist my throttle

http://i44.tinypic.com/54c3gg.gif
no, i dont free wheel when going downslope. i drop gear and twist my throttle

wah u fierce car ! :sian:

2007-=Honda NSR 150sp=-FR

2008-=Honda CBR 400=-FP

2008-=Suzuki GSXR 400=-FK

2009-=Yzf-R1 2004=-FX

2010-=Yzf-R1 2010=-FBE

2011-=Suzuki Gsxr 600 K7=- FBB

http://i193.photobucket.com/albums/z110/ahcongie/merge2.jpghttp://i193.photobucket.com/albums/z110/ahcongie/merge3.jpg

But i tink i read somewhere before that free wheeling down slope is not realli good for the bike / car.