GYM

gssiong

protein. hmm.. drinking so ya bean milk, eating toufu, and drink milk. that helps too, right?

anyway, too many protein aren't good also. that where the urine acid issue. right?

During training sessions, your muscles are getting broken down. In order to rebuild and repair your muscles, your body needs protein. So having a protein shake before training helps. Protein powders 15 years ago were cheaper than now. However, tasted chalky. Creatine wasn't in the market then. For the costs of protein and creatine now, you go check out the various health supplement shops like GNC and Nature's Farm. Damn expensive... :faint:

• Replies 800

protein. hmm.. drinking so ya bean milk, eating toufu, and drink milk. that helps too, right?

anyway, too many protein aren't good also. that where the urine acid issue. right?

Too much of a good thing is never ever good. The ideal protein quantity to take is 1 gram per kilo of body weight. So if you weigh 70kgs, then 70 grams per day. However if you are a bodybuilder, taking a bit more shouldn't be a problem... :thumb:

theres a limit to the amount of protein the body can absorb which is, i may be wrong, is app 50% of your protein intake, rest will be converted to umm.. ammonia? and passed out as urine

unless u take steroids than the amount pf protein ur body can utilize is way way way higher. right uncle Aie? :angel:

160207 - 170407: Honda NSR SP150

230507 - 140807: Aprilia RS125 '99

300712 - 290113: Ducati Monster 400 '02

050213 - 190413: Honda CBR 400RR '96

090413 - Present: BMW 316i '12

Why fear the silence when it's already so noisy - Gj

theres a limit to the amount of protein the body can absorb which is, i may be wrong, is app 50% of your protein intake, rest will be converted to umm.. ammonia? and passed out as urine

unless u take steroids than the amount pf protein ur body can utilize is way way way higher. right uncle Aie? :angel:

No idea leh. You getting way too technical for me. Any other bros in here can answer this question??? :confused:

all i know is urine acid in the body usually at join area or rather the foot. and it hurt alot if too much is in there. i think it is call gout or something. very painful one.

It is called gout. Two of my friends suffer from this whenever they drink soya milk or food that is rich in protein. I've been drinking soya milk often, been taking protein shakes 3 times a day (last time when I was still training) and eat food rich in protein but I don't get gout. Maybe it was due to the fact that I trained at the gym and the protein was fully utilized by my body, maybe? Cos both of my friends who got gout are not bodybuilders or fitness conscious guys. They only play soccer once in a while... :cheeky:

haha i took nutrition for my co-curriculum studies in poly.. really fascinating to know the differents between what the national health board recommends as compared to what bodybuilders recommend.

I didn't take such a course. Whatever I know, I read from those bodybuilding magazines such as FLEX and Muscle & Fitness... :cheeky:

well, it has been 2 week since i start gym. i counted i have total of 8 days of attend (3 day on first week. 5 day this week). each will cosists of 30 min of cycle at resistance level 4-6. 5-10min of cross country jogging machine (usually is 5 min). do some weight lift on 5-6 set of machine that work with the upper body and the low back. each set will have 10-20 lift (using 10-20 weight). follow by a 10 min sauna to relax my tired body and a cold shower.

under normal cicumstances, i should have lose 0.5 kg. but i didn't see "losing" leh. sigh...

hehe....

i will maintain. :-)

under normal cicumstances, i should have lose 0.5 kg. but i didn't see "losing" leh. sigh...

hehe....

i will maintain. :-)

Not losing, maintain but become more toned... :thumb:

I am more interested in weight lose in a healther method (excise). I wanted to try the pill but my doctor advice me not too.

(after i get my weight lose then i should consider tone up too.)

The advice are eat less rice per meal. divide into more meal per day. and the wat to eat more and wat to eat less list (i am not able to follow 100%. i confess). Do not eat 100% full but rather 70% full.

Slip water instead of drink water.

excise daily (or at least 3-5 time a week) for at least 1 hour.

doctor say no need to issue me with v-pill becos i still have food intake. told me not to go "diet" method.

i think i better go rent the "biggest loser" show to motivate me. hehe.....

Not losing, maintain but become more toned... :thumb:

can tell the guys here about your package u have sign up for cal fitness? thanks. in another word, how much u spend and how much u have to keep spending in the future?

me just signed up for california fitness le... anybody also a member here?

I am more interested in weight lose in a healther method (excise).

Eat more protein and less carbohydrates. That plus exercise, you'll lose weight and get toned up... :goodluck:

75/month for 2 years.. Given 12 months free membership also.. so i pay 2 years get another year free. Total 3 years

Well i signed using citibank platinium at bugis branch... They told me this is a special promotion. IF interested i can give u the salesman's number

http://i295.photobucket.com/albums/mm138/Sulphur81/Picture006-2.jpg

me just signed up for california fitness le... anybody also a member here?

hi there!

im a member..

which branch do u frequent?

maybe we can workout together and motivate each other

disclaimer: i'm not gay

3 yrs package is damn bo hua(not worth)

i was quoted $2699

lifetime $3688 with annual renewal of $48

to think that my lifetime, all clubs membership used to cost $2300 with annual renewal of about the same price too

can we just get a old membership and do the transfer fee. then u are not bounded by contract and can quit anytime and their annual renewal may be lower becos they buy years ago.

hehe...

just asking.

so the gym crowded or not (at peak hr of 6pm - 9pm)

also their personal trainer package is how much?

just curious about it.

3 yrs package is damn bo hua(not worth)

i was quoted $2699

lifetime $3688 with annual renewal of $48

to think that my lifetime, all clubs membership used to cost $2300 with annual renewal of about the same price too

Wah, some of you are fortunate to be able to afford the high end gyms. My membership fee at SPANS is only $40 per year. Even though I have not been utilising that gym for months liao, I don't feel the pinch... :sweat:

mi5trooper>

regarding diet/eating habit, here's a method that worked for me.

4get breakfast time, lunch time and dinner time...for 1 month. mealtime is anytime you feel hungry. snack on an apple or a slice of bread or a muesli bar (my favorite)...something light.

you might end up "snacking" every hour or so but at the end of it, your stomach would have shrunk. so when you go back to the routine mealtimes, you can't 'stomach' as much as you used to ie, you will be eating less yet not feel hungry as fast.

i went thru this process for 4weeks in 2003...it really works lor :)

DO. Or DO NOT. There is no TRY.

cool.......

mi5trooper>

regarding diet/eating habit, here's a method that worked for me.

4get breakfast time, lunch time and dinner time...for 1 month. mealtime is anytime you feel hungry. snack on an apple or a slice of bread or a muesli bar (my favorite)...something light.

you might end up "snacking" every hour or so but at the end of it, your stomach would have shrunk. so when you go back to the routine mealtimes, you can't 'stomach' as much as you used to ie, you will be eating less yet not feel hungry as fast.

i went thru this process for 4weeks in 2003...it really works lor :)

but now california fitness the package quite gd mah... $80 a month leh its quite cheap leh... 3 years i pay only 1869.... isnt it worth it??? Oh ya i go to bugis outlet and i am holding a platinium membership. I m also not gay

http://i295.photobucket.com/albums/mm138/Sulphur81/Picture006-2.jpg

It only is after a few month of thinking before decide to join the gym. and yes i feel the pinch too (not high income).

It is also this pinch that motivate everyday visit the gym (hehe....)

the next choice is safra gym which is $90 every 3 month. enterance is 350 (usually) or 100-150 (now on promo)

but the location aren't good. means i have will to spend 30 min on travelling to and 30 min home. that i 1 hour of precious "after working" time. so by the time u finish, it is 9pm+. reach home 10pm. no doubt u have shower, but i believe you cannot do much after that as u need to get rest for tomolo work which most of us either start at 8 or 9am.

but if u consider gym on weekend only every week, safra is the ideal place. (my point of view).

Wah, some of you are fortunate to be able to afford the high end gyms. My membership fee at SPANS is only $40 per year. Even though I have not been utilising that gym for months liao, I don't feel the pinch... :sweat:

so the gym at bugis crowded or not (at peak hr of 6pm - 9pm)

what or how much is their personal trainer package offer? (just curious)

but now california fitness the package quite gd mah... $80 a month leh its quite cheap leh... 3 years i pay only 1869.... isnt it worth it??? Oh ya i go to bugis outlet and i am holding a platinium membership. I m also not gay

so the gym at bugis crowded or not (at peak hr of 6pm - 9pm)

what or how much is their personal trainer package offer? (just curious)

i know a personal trainer from a gym at harbour front...dun remember the name of the gym...this guy was last year's SG strongest man and this year's runner-up. he really know his stuff...got very good reputation in this line...not the super 'toa jiak' type, but very very strong...aniway, if you want his contact, PM me.

DO. Or DO NOT. There is no TRY.