That's my ride alright. And it doesn't handle too badly either. But I limit the top speed to about 145km/h. I've ridden it to 155km/h and it still has more to come.

Its slightly heavier but on the slower twisties ( below 120km/h) its not too bad, but certainly not as good as when it was without the roof.

The Tmax is not fast, but it certainly is not slow. Quite a number of sportsbike riders wil attest to that if they do ride Awana Genting on some sundays....

• Replies 4.2k

Swing777 tmax with the small n loud sbk can. Whaha... Damn loud but 1 word - POWER!!!

DSC00449.jpg

DSC00450.jpg

DSC00451.jpg

Owned: Daylim Daystar, Honda Superfour, Suzuki DR350, Kawasaki ZX6R(98), Kawasaki ZX12R(00), Piaggio X9 200, Piaggio X9 500, Honda XR400, Piaggio Skipper 125, Gilera Runner VXR200(07), Suzuki Swift 1.3.

Current: Suzuki Burgman 650(04)

Coming Up: Mitsubishi Colt Version-R Turbo

More pics to come...

DSC00452.jpg

DSC00453.jpg

DSC00454.jpg

Owned: Daylim Daystar, Honda Superfour, Suzuki DR350, Kawasaki ZX6R(98), Kawasaki ZX12R(00), Piaggio X9 200, Piaggio X9 500, Honda XR400, Piaggio Skipper 125, Gilera Runner VXR200(07), Suzuki Swift 1.3.

Great ride last nite... Thanks guys...

DSC00448.jpg

That's my ride alright. And it doesn't handle too badly either. But I limit the top speed to about 145km/h. I've ridden it to 155km/h and it still has more to come.

Its slightly heavier but on the slower twisties ( below 120km/h) its not too bad, but certainly not as good as when it was without the roof.

The Tmax is not fast, but it certainly is not slow. Quite a number of sportsbike riders wil attest to that if they do ride Awana Genting on some sundays....

Yes !! I seen & have ridden the TMax on the twisties up to Fraser's, Camerons and earlier last year up to Genting for the "Tour D Langkawi". Great respect for the bike - Now i'm riding 400SilverWing as my mileage is high and found that less maintenance on the SW is easier. But was wondering about 'cross winds' on the open highways - Could be scarry on the SW at times.

Swing777 tmax with the small n loud sbk can. Whaha... Damn loud but 1 word - POWER!!!

Yeah... damn power... the sound is fantastic.. nv expect it to be tat loud n basssi... Upzzz...!

WEIZHONG

http://www.yamaha-motor.jp/mc/lineup/sportsbike/tmax/sp/index.html

Picked up the bike just now. Covered 40kms on it. Immediate impression is that the TMax has superior rear end handling, expected as the Fuoco is a swinging engine and the unsprung weight of the muffler is very apparent. front end is better though. As the bike is brand new, I only used gentle throttle applcation, and it accelerates fairly well. A fair comparison can only be made after the bike is run in.

Report will be on the Fuoco thread.

http://i89.photobucket.com/albums/k229/nikhuzlan/Cars%20and%20Bikes/fuoco4.jpg

http://i89.photobucket.com/albums/k229/nikhuzlan/Cars%20and%20Bikes/fuoco3.jpg

Just in case u got the time !! The FUOCO is being used by several journalists and officials at the current on going "GIRO - Tour of ITALY" which is being televised LIVE on the EURO Sports channel (113) on cable TV at 9pm every night for this week and next week. I know some of those guys and intend to chat with them about the bike soon.

Yeah... damn power... the sound is fantastic.. nv expect it to be tat loud n basssi... Upzzz...!

Yo weizhong, when is your turn to get 1 too... Than u 2 can become scooter SM... whaha...

Yes !! I seen & have ridden the TMax on the twisties up to Fraser's, Camerons and earlier last year up to Genting for the "Tour D Langkawi". Great respect for the bike - Now i'm riding 400SilverWing as my mileage is high and found that less maintenance on the SW is easier. But was wondering about 'cross winds' on the open highways - Could be scarry on the SW at times.

The Tmax is a lot better than the SW in terms of handling. I did a comparo test for Asian Auto Malaysia some years ago and we ran the bikes head to head. The SW600 has more grunt but that alone cannot make up for the handling deficit when the roads gets twisty. Even in the sweepers the Tmax is superior, and the Sw can be seen wagging its tail.

Thanks for the TV tip. BTW, the Fuoco will be making its way up the hills of Awana Genting tomorrow morning. The climb will be gentle as the motor is runnin in but I can push it around a bit on the way down..... I rode my Tmax up last Sunday so at least I still have fresh reference of the Tmax handling in my mind.

I used the original seat base. The original seat cover and foam are kept in a sealed bag in the garage and I sent the seat base to a car cushion service center and ther redesigned the seat. And yes, the seat is a lot moer comfortable than the original item, bot for rider and pilloin.

you've made your TMAX alot much into a "Touring" bike, and not the "Sporty" type that alot of the Japs are doing.... cool :thumb: a Unique taste you've got there!!

mrmagoo ! Just an enquiry is that really your TMax with the rain roof ? If So how does it handle ?

i'm not certain, but i do seriously suspec that this probably wont be allowed in Sillypore... :sian: :cheeky: the rain-roof i mean....

http://i37.photobucket.com/albums/e73/ChrisCheong8800/TMAX-3.jpg

http://i37.photobucket.com/albums/e73/ChrisCheong8800/DSC_3871-1.jpg

'Old ladies in the Midwestern US...now have to pay higher taxes to finance...Wall Street's Maseratis. That's horribly immoral - and bad economics.'

Jim Rogers-19/20/08

wah....:lovestruck: buay tahan man.... cant wait to see this beauty...

1993 TZR125, 1994 RGV125, 1995 STEED, 1996 PGM 4, 1997 HERITAGE SOFTAIL NOSTALGIA, 1999 SKIPPER, 2000 YAMAHA R1, 2003 HONDA SP2, 2008 SDR 200, 2009 Ducati 1098, 2010 Tmax500 :angel:
Yo weizhong, when is your turn to get 1 too... Than u 2 can become scooter SM... whaha...

Yoz.. Dun Tempt me man.. i cant take it de.. hahaa.. ltr cannot tahan then jialat le.. hee..:cheeky: (here i come..lol..)

WEIZHONG

Yeah... u got to see it n hear it urself in real.. then u wil noe wat we meant.. is amazing..

WEIZHONG

The Tmax is a lot better than the SW in terms of handling. I did a comparo test for Asian Auto Malaysia some years ago and we ran the bikes head to head. The SW600 has more grunt but that alone cannot make up for the handling deficit when the roads gets twisty. Even in the sweepers the Tmax is superior, and the Sw can be seen wagging its tail.

Agreed fully about the handling comparison ! On an earlier SW600, which was my first superscooter i went to the extent of getting a 'White Power' rear shocks and 'Magnum' springs for the front forks, plus various brands of tyres - all to no avail !! The SW still wallowed in tight turns or fast bends. Eventually when i got my second SW i just lived with the wallows and just slid the rear wheel around tight bends. It did not do my wheel bearings and tyres much good but the trade off was easy & cheap availability of parts for the honda in Singapore and very user friendly maintenance. Whereas friends who owned TMaxs had to do valve clearance, and other more technical servicing, which was not possible by the less technically inclined.

How are the workshops on your side of the border for work on the TMax ?

Ya lo,ytd waiting for u to come only..u nv come..

If sunday wanna ride..let me know..tonight i wanna catch tv programme at 1am so i dun tink i`m gonna ride.if u guys want tonight can la..but 1am i must be hm..hehee

btw clement..pick up i cannot test stock to stock with u alrdy..tell u when we meet.. :p

weizhong: u went down to speedway just now ma..ordered alrdy anot..hahaha..waiting for u leh..kekee..

Owned: Nsr 125 SP,CBR 400 RRL,Fazer 600 '04,ST1100,Runner 200 VXR,VFR800 ABS '05 + X8,XP500 BlackMax + KSR 111,Copen 660T, FXSTB Night Train Custom,YP250 Classic Limited,HyperMotard S ,Golf GTI DSG Mk5 ,MX-5 NCEC PRHT + W124 220TE, E92 325XL ,Golf GTI MKVI ,'08 XP500 [4B5] ,AE 101,ZC31S ,DC5 , NCP42

Current : Tmax 530

Agreed fully about the handling comparison ! On an earlier SW600, which was my first superscooter i went to the extent of getting a 'White Power' rear shocks and 'Magnum' springs for the front forks, plus various brands of tyres - all to no avail !! The SW still wallowed in tight turns or fast bends. Eventually when i got my second SW i just lived with the wallows and just slid the rear wheel around tight bends. It did not do my wheel bearings and tyres much good but the trade off was easy & cheap availability of parts for the honda in Singapore and very user friendly maintenance. Whereas friends who owned TMaxs had to do valve clearance, and other more technical servicing, which was not possible by the less technically inclined.

How are the workshops on your side of the border for work on the TMax ?

Never had any mainenance problemms with he Tmax. Changed the battery after 4 years, the usual tyres and pads were changed as well. The only failure was the speedometer pick-up at the front wheel hub. Got that from SG.

I settled for the roof mod rather than going for a sports setup due to a few reasons; Ground clearance was one of them Removing the sidestand helped a little but I was scraping the chin of the underside fairing. Then there's theissue of brakes; mine, being an early model had only one front disc, and I had the brakes fade on me at least once while riding down Genting Awana road playing with some sportsbikes.

Besides, its even more fun throwing the bike around amongst the sportsbikes with the roof, the look on the sportsbikers' faces is priceless......:thumb:

BTW, the mainstand of the Fuoco scrapes just as easily. I'm more worried on left turns as the lower belt case looks like it can scrape easily too, and that part does not yield easily.

Ya lo,ytd waiting for u to come only..u nv come..

If sunday wanna ride..let me know..tonight i wanna catch tv programme at 1am so i dun tink i`m gonna ride.if u guys want tonight can la..but 1am i must be hm..hehee

btw clement..pick up i cannot test stock to stock with u alrdy..tell u when we meet.. :p

weizhong: u went down to speedway just now ma..ordered alrdy anot..hahaha..waiting for u leh..kekee..

sorry... knock off at 12midnight... thought u guys wont stay out so late thats why did not call:cheeky: .... gonna kill that ah fat ah keong:angry: .... bloody hell nvr sms me... anyway tomorrow seems ok for me provided my boy recover:sian: ... anyway.. u guys enjoy the ride.... ps: ask nicholas dont beat too much tiger lah...:angel:

1993 TZR125, 1994 RGV125, 1995 STEED, 1996 PGM 4, 1997 HERITAGE SOFTAIL NOSTALGIA, 1999 SKIPPER, 2000 YAMAHA R1, 2003 HONDA SP2, 2008 SDR 200, 2009 Ducati 1098, 2010 Tmax500 :angel:
Yeah... u got to see it n hear it urself in real.. then u wil noe wat we meant.. is amazing..

gian gian liao....:p

Wa, sian... :sian:

missed the 2 outings again... :cry:

Honda Phantom TA200 - Sep 2005 to Jun 2008

Honda Silverwing - Jun 2008 to Jun 2009

Honda CBF150 - Jun 2009 and Beyond

Honor God, Ride Safely...

Yo swing, last nite too tired wor... Thats y never join u guys...

Got chance we test test. Stock vs Mod. Whaha..

Blackchocobo, next time check with the rest earlier. Cheers...

Besides, its even more fun throwing the bike around amongst the sportsbikes with the roof, the look on the sportsbikers' faces is priceless......:thumb:

:bow: :bow: :bow:

http://i37.photobucket.com/albums/e73/ChrisCheong8800/TMAX-3.jpg

http://i37.photobucket.com/albums/e73/ChrisCheong8800/DSC_3871-1.jpg

'Old ladies in the Midwestern US...now have to pay higher taxes to finance...Wall Street's Maseratis. That's horribly immoral - and bad economics.'

Jim Rogers-19/20/08

Bad news for TMax owners. The Fuoco will whip the Tmax in the corners. I rode the Fuoco up to Genting this morning with my sportbiker friends. On Karak highway sweepers no contest as the corners can be taken at top speed and the Tmax will walk away easily. But as the corners tighten up, the Fuoco will definitely pass the Tmax. The Tmax has significantly better power from 120km/h upwards.

The Tmax has better ground clearance but a bit of hanging off will allow the Fuoco to get around the problem. I was able to scrape the mainstand of the Fuoco with confidence and keep the bike pegged low all the way through the corners. Clearly with the mainstand removed, the Fuoco will be able to match the Tmax's lean angle.

The front end grip for the Fuoco is much better than the Tmax and although the Tmax offers better front end feel, its not enough to overcome the Fuoco's extra grip.

Going uphill the Fuoco will not be able to keep up with a well ridden Tmax given the power deficit. Going downhill the Fuoco is just unbelievable. It is fast without feeling hairy, and the braking power is really good; for two reasons, three contact patches instead of two and the lack of front end dive.

I rode down with a couple of MSS riders on their Ducatis and the usual gaggle of Japanese sportsbikes. The Fuoco was able to really play wth them in the corners without me having work too hard.

I'm in love with my Fuoco....and wish there is another 5 - 10 HP that can be extracted from the motor. With that the Tmax will be fodder for the Fuoco....

This morning; the usual suspects at the RV point

http://i89.photobucket.com/albums/k229/nikhuzlan/Cars%20and%20Bikes/20080518bikes_08a_resize.jpg

http://i89.photobucket.com/albums/k229/nikhuzlan/Cars%20and%20Bikes/20080518bikes_09a_resize.jpg

At Awana

http://i89.photobucket.com/albums/k229/nikhuzlan/Cars%20and%20Bikes/20080518bikes_17a_resize.jpg

http://i89.photobucket.com/albums/k229/nikhuzlan/Cars%20and%20Bikes/20080518bikes_14a_resize.jpg

The Sportsbikers who were laughing at the Fuoco were laughing no more.....

http://i89.photobucket.com/albums/k229/nikhuzlan/Cars%20and%20Bikes/20080518bikes_19a_resize.jpg

The Fuoco with some seriously fast company

http://i89.photobucket.com/albums/k229/nikhuzlan/Cars%20and%20Bikes/20080518bikes_21a_resize.jpg

The Fuoco Mainstand, all ground down......after only 300km on the odometer

http://i89.photobucket.com/albums/k229/nikhuzlan/Cars%20and%20Bikes/20080518bikes_33a_resize.jpg

Parking on uneven ground is of no issue

http://i89.photobucket.com/albums/k229/nikhuzlan/Cars%20and%20Bikes/20080518bikes_64a.jpg

Side view

http://i89.photobucket.com/albums/k229/nikhuzlan/Cars%20and%20Bikes/20080518bikes_51a_resize.jpg

http://i89.photobucket.com/albums/k229/nikhuzlan/Cars%20and%20Bikes/20080518bikes_68a_resize.jpg

Actually i dun really see it as bad news la..the Fuocco may be gd but not all riders can handle corners like u mrmagoo..given then right skill,i`m sure its not a problem.i dunno wether the fuocco have after market variators to play ard with..i`m sure there is.when u have time,change that..u`ll get more torque..

Any meet up today?~

Owned: Nsr 125 SP,CBR 400 RRL,Fazer 600 '04,ST1100,Runner 200 VXR,VFR800 ABS '05 + X8,XP500 BlackMax + KSR 111,Copen 660T, FXSTB Night Train Custom,YP250 Classic Limited,HyperMotard S ,Golf GTI DSG Mk5 ,MX-5 NCEC PRHT + W124 220TE, E92 325XL ,Golf GTI MKVI ,'08 XP500 [4B5] ,AE 101,ZC31S ,DC5 , NCP42

Any meet up today?~

count me in... but can make it only after around 10plus...:cheeky:

hmm..whr do u wanna go?Shall we organise 1?BTW has ur boy gotten better?