• Replies 105

Actually I think the ta200 is the most reliable bike. It has only broken down once on me. About the skidding, i think personally it's the rider that shud be careful about riding especially in the rain.

When I read about the dangers of riding motorbikes, I gave up reading.

http://fc01.deviantart.com/fs25/f/2008/071/2/d/Bleach_Gotei_13_Captains_by_Miralupa.png

As a ex-owner of a TA200, I think it's a good bike for 2B. It's heavier than most of the other 2B bikes, therefore it prepared me for 2A. (Of course, the Super 4 is tad heavier than the TA200...)

I've neither skidded on the bike nor dropped the bike...

But I must say that it's a bike that you've got to get used to the handling esp when doing U-turns... The turning radius is pretty wide as compared to the street bikes that you are used to in the driving centres... Also, the rear of the bike is heavy so you've got to be real careful with the rear brake...

In my opinion, bikes to avoid are those with bad engines.... Otherwise, if the engine is good, the other things can be settled easily with Vitamin M... :lol:

After all, the engine of the bike is like the heart in a human... if the heart fails, what's the use of changing other components?

Biking is something that everyone can learn and enjoy! :goodluck:

http://i426.photobucket.com/albums/pp344/s4dreamer/Laos%20n%20Cambodia%20Trip%2011%20to%2028%20May%202009/Poipet-Cambodia1.jpg

My current FZ1 is one of the worst i have . Replaced parts of it the most , but i still love every bike tat i have owned . I think my fave bike would be the TZM n the F4i .

weak frame is a minus pt....:sian:

Actually I think the ta200 is the most reliable bike. It has only broken down once on me. About the skidding, i think personally it's the rider that shud be careful about riding especially in the rain.

skidding is not only ta200 it's on every bike...it's the rider who need to be responsible...

I cannot agree more with this sentence... "Its the rider,. not the bike!!!"

If the bike i not in good condition, its the rider's responsibility to maintain it.

If the bike skids, either the tire sucks or the rider's legs are too heavy. Its the rider's responsibility to get a set of good tires for the bike, especially when it is always wet in Singapore.

If the bike has a known history of accidents, look at the riders. Its the rider's who are in control and they have fail, thus gotten into an accident.

Therefore, there are no bad bikes, just riders who lack experience or who have overestimated their potential.

Ride safe!!!...

Should not get a TA200 i guess some who has tat which include me experience on skidding problem...well i shall say that if one a budget type of bike should consider RXK or vespa...sorry but vespa that sell in the forum are rather expensive the trick is to go to the most unknown bike shop and ask the uncle around...sure can get cheap cheap one..after that mod it...and sell it in the forum..vespa got resale value...i guess if u though of getting jus to clear i yr, u should consider this...ha ha...sorry don mean to offend any1...

I ride before sp150, kips150, k7 600, mito150. To me, sportsbikes are the safest to ride, they dun skid easily, they corner & turn well, they brake well, they are nice to look at. full stop. lol peace~

2002~Cagiva Mito (FS)

2003~SP (FS)

2003~RVF (FP) Powered by 2 brother

2008~KR (FY)

2008~K7 (FBB) Powered by arrow

2009~SPARK (FBB) Powered by GPR

2009~SUPER 4 spec 1 (FR) Powered by yoshimura

2011~ SUPER 4 spec 1 (FT) powered by yoshimura titanium BLUE

2011~ yamaha FZ6 (FBD)

2011~ yamaha R1 (FBB) powered by Arrow

hmmm... my opinion is, if ur comfy with the bike, u should be able to handle the bike.. every bike has its own pros n cons.. cruisers got longer wheelbase so they got larger turning circumference.. cant corner as fast as sportbikes.. so wat u do? slow down lah.. as for the braking, i should say its depends on the rider.. u know ur bike can skid in the rain/wet road, take extra precaution lah.. go slow..u got to know ur ability n the capability of ur bike.. so its 50/50 abt the bike good or no good...

maintainence wise, totally depends on rider... the bike cant change eo spark plug chain etc itself right..

manufacturing defects is a diff story.. if not mistaken for bigger bikes if there's a defect at design level, they'll do a recall right? i dunno.. only got a spark n a gilera with almost 2 years of riding experience.. huhu...

maybe the no good bikes r the ones dat r abused?

who gets summoned for not signalling? i did..

dumb luck? maybe...

nak nene mandi air bunga...

people should learn "its not the bike, its the rider" rule is true, but only to a certain extent.. don't over-rate it.. so don't come up with this 'excuse' in most bike related topics..

give one skilful rider a ready-to-scrap bike and think he will not fall? some might say, if the rider give enough care he will rectify the problem and make it a swee bike.. then its not the rider, but rider's pocket..

no offence to anyone.. but i still believe in the saying (to a certain extent).. look at the livng legend, Valentino Rossi..

well said brudda!..best ever said..not siding the evil and the saint

http://i6.photobucket.com/albums/y215/deedeeboi/taglone.jpg

Past Rides: - Honda SP150

- Yamaha WR200

- Yamaha X1

- Honda Super 4 Vtec 3

- DRZSM K8

- CBR1000RR5

Current Rides-

- Gilera VXR200 06

- KTM 620 LC4

I ride before sp150, kips150, k7 600, mito150. To me, sportsbikes are the safest to ride, they dun skid easily, they corner & turn well, they brake well, they are nice to look at. full stop. lol peace~

lol totally agree with u,but a bit bias eh ure opinion coz ure history of bikes is all sportsbikes ah bro :cheeky:

The pain of discipline is nothing like the pain of disappointment

Nicely said guys, the biker who takes care of the bike will be taken care by the bike... As for the most reliable bike... To me all bikes are reliable as long as there are still parts around the world for it...

http://i306.photobucket.com/albums/nn242/Gr8Whit3/Sign1.jpg

Make business sense, petrol savvy so wear n tear rate goes up, then make a killing when the rider need to change part!!!

Solution: Use OEM parts when the bike gets popular.

An ex-pulsar rider told me it's really petrol savvy BUT the spare parts, cost a bomb. So I think comes to the same. I dunno if it's true but that's what he told me.

Why asia ppl avoid and don't take chances?? Simple the warranties here sucks!!!

You go down to their service center to KPKB also no use...:cry:

ang-mos they don't even need to KPKB they just sue or class action suit... World of different.

i rem those days when the suzuki GSR600 was just launched, the ang-mos claiming the frame is cracking.

so asia ppl start to avoid buying it......

I rode the TA150 before changing to a Spark135.

On long and straight road, I find it very comfortable to ride. As for raining days, I find that its still quite alright no doubts that its quite heavy.

Personally, I have no problem with braking in the rain. I do not experience "fishtail" incident as I know that this bike requires a longer braking distance than most 2B bikes.

The only fishtail incident I would encounter all the time is the multi-storey carpark flooring. Even with 2 legs on the wet and smooth concrete floor, I was almost free wheeling to "walking speed". As I was approaching the ramp going up to 3 storey where I always park my bike. The moment I open trottle slightly.....The fish surely wail its tail!!! lol

Dangerous in this sense....

my 2cents worth

the worst bike i have come across is the honda cbx 125, a re-con bike in the late 80s. owned the bike for less than a year, and was a nightware everyday riding it, it will break down as and when it likes.

other than that bike, i believe in the notion, take care of the bike, and the bike will take care of you.

some bikes like harleys will require more TLC - more time spent in the garage means less time breaking down, as some harley owners say. japanese bikes generally require less maintenance, but it still needs proper attention. So, let your heart decide, go for the make and model you like, just give it the TLC it deserves and it will serve you well for years to come:)

Slow Rider

Phantom TA200 to me is wonderful. Maintainence is low (eg spark plug, EO, airfilter). i don't have issues of topping up EO frequently(as quoted by some riders), just need to change every 3K.

It nvr fails and serve me well for over 4yrs. Carb 4 yrs nvr tune or wash and still fires properly. Have changed the tensioner once. don't have much issue on the tensioner as hints are obvious if they wear out.

As the comment on banana handling also nt much of a problem... i even use it for dispatch to earn extra $$ during holidays whether rain or shine. Corners well if you know how to control the bike. And no... i don't ride slow on a phantom. If i were to hit the Expressway, i will be in lane 1 or 2 most of the time.

fuel consumption can hit above 35km/l but is dropping probably due to 4 yrs nvr tune and bike is aging. still considered to be at good FC state :lol:

though the bike is rather comfy for highway riding, city riding is probably a little straining not becuz it is wider... becuz they have clutch. Have ridden autoscoots and find them more suitable for the job.

The weight of the bike prepared me for bigger bikes. The braking seems to be fine for me, just that the fork tends to dip foward heavily when pillion is on.

I don't install box... wander if that improves the handling compared to ppl with box.

I rode the TA150 before changing to a Spark135.

On long and straight road, I find it very comfortable to ride. As for raining days, I find that its still quite alright no doubts that its quite heavy.

Personally, I have no problem with braking in the rain. I do not experience "fishtail" incident as I know that this bike requires a longer braking distance than most 2B bikes.

The only fishtail incident I would encounter all the time is the multi-storey carpark flooring. Even with 2 legs on the wet and smooth concrete floor, I was almost free wheeling to "walking speed". As I was approaching the ramp going up to 3 storey where I always park my bike. The moment I open trottle slightly.....The fish surely wail its tail!!! lol

Dangerous in this sense....

my 2cents worth

I think most bike s will fish on a wet MSC... I always practise 2nd gear clutch-control so the wheel dun over-spin.

http://i306.photobucket.com/albums/nn242/Gr8Whit3/Sign1.jpg

I think most bike s will fish on a wet MSC... I always practise 2nd gear clutch-control so the wheel dun over-spin.

I'm riding Spark135 LE. I don't feel it to be that slippery as compared to heavier bikes. Maybe its due to its lightness that I can really feel so much from the ground that its so easy to control.

The phantom was a no-no. Very at risk of back wheel losing traction even if you are extremely gentle on the throttle and clutch!!!

:cheeky: i think its the rider la..different bikes have different way to ride mah...if you ride a phantom like a sport bike, then u will sure buang one la. its the condition of the bike that counts. try to avoid very old bikes lor..cos old liao alot wear and tear lor. if want better handling, cornering, speed, get sport bike lor. want comfort get cruiser lor.want abit of both get street bike lor. want fun get scrambler lor. want to be special get scooter lor. all kinda bikes are unique if their own way.:thumb:

å·±æ‰€ä¸æ¬²ï¼Œå‹¿æ–½äºŽäºº

hmmm... my opinion is, if ur comfy with the bike, u should be able to handle the bike.. every bike has its own pros n cons.. cruisers got longer wheelbase so they got larger turning circumference.. cant corner as fast as sportbikes.. so wat u do? slow down lah.. as for the braking, i should say its depends on the rider.. u know ur bike can skid in the rain/wet road, take extra precaution lah.. go slow..u got to know ur ability n the capability of ur bike.. so its 50/50 abt the bike good or no good...

maintainence wise, totally depends on rider... the bike cant change eo spark plug chain etc itself right..

manufacturing defects is a diff story.. if not mistaken for bigger bikes if there's a defect at design level, they'll do a recall right? i dunno.. only got a spark n a gilera with almost 2 years of riding experience.. huhu...

maybe the no good bikes r the ones dat r abused?

u got a point, each bike does have its characteristic. If we understand it clearly we should be able to avoid some unpleasant experience and blame the bike :cheer:

bike is jus a tool, as a ryder its our responsibility to take care of it and use it properly.

Rode TA150 & TA200. No complains... TA200 only died on me once because of some tuning problem. After that, no more. TA150 was more of a problem as my friend did not take good care of it... Overall, comfy good bike :)

OMG!!! FREE GAMES???? :lol: ARE THESE CHIX TO AVOID??? :cheeky:

The information contained in this post, including any attachments,may contain confidential information Copy of this post for any purpose other than viewing for entertainment is not allowed & shall encur a fine of no less than $500 & any court costs required. The courts take copyright violations seriously. Think twice.