how much you fill your engine??

1.8L with oilfilter change.

1.7L without..

constantly check your dipstick in case your engine "eats" EO.. then "dai ji tua diao"..

or maybe you think too much.. the puddle of oil was left by some kup kias..

• Replies 7.7k

orh okay, maybe will consider the vapor next year haha

i just had a ride last week and i noticed a pool of engine oil beneath my bike, it was just a small patch about the size of my palm. checked the whole bike but couldn't find anything. all drain plugs and bottom parts were dry. ran a dipstick check and my level was still quite high (top of marker).

could it be cause by overfilling? i've read some where that any vapor from our engine oil will be condensed in a small system and circulated back to the bottom sump but excess will be let out through an outlet near the swingarm.

any truth in that?

What outlet?

For you only... $1,000,000!:angel:

rupiah?? :D

http://i116.photobucket.com/albums/o22/fba8485c/n687922172_4603.jpg

万般带ä¸èµ° ... 唯有业éšèº«

What outlet?

dono leh i don't think is the 2 hose but maybe somewhere. normally i put 2 bottle swee swee because i find it lecheh to store 200-300ml everytime under the bed until my room like bike shop like that. i consolidate liao but everytime want to change oil i will conveniently forgot to bring along with me. end up go home with another 200-300ml so f it lor i put 2 bottle in :cheeky:

or maybe i am paranoid, hahaha :p

SingaporeBikes Forum Rules & Regulations

Please use the search function if you have a question.

too little no good, too much also not good..

i normally just let the shop take the reminder of the oil..

same here, i also let bike shop keep the remaining oil, no point keeping it

The DRZ engine is unlike other bike engines. Other bikes.. oil is filled at the crankcase... which means the crankcase acts as an engine oil reservoir.

Am sure you guys notice that during oil change.. oil is drained from the frame and also from the crankcase. And you fill up through the frame reservoir only.

During engine operation... only a minimal amount of oil is kept in the crankcase, one of the reasons being to reduce friction of gears moving in oil. Its a dry sump engine. A limited amount of cooled oil is constantly being pumped in from the frame reservoir to the engine and back again.

I normally just dump 2 litres into the frame reservoir.. no need to be so exact. So what if you overfill by 300 cc... its all in the frame reservoir, your dipstick level may be shown to be higher thats all.

It is really almost impossible to overfill the crankcase.

I do this coz I understand how this engine works. Please don't follow me blindly without understanding what you are doing or blame me if your engine blows its oil gaskets for some other reason. Thanks.

oh.. i didnt know our's on dry sump..

i'm actually amazed how a bike can had it's EO poured into the frame and also flowing into the engine..

thanks for the info.. and your disclaimer....

Flea.: maybe you can try to place a tissue at the tubes to see if any oil flowing out overnight??

on monday we let the expert check lor hehehe

i'm still quite unsure of wheter i want to install the mcct or not. was thinking since i ran with the acct, might as well run until time to service then i change the cam chain along with the mcct together and do valve clearance all at once. any ideas?

dun fix it if it ain't broken ... :sweat:

万般带ä¸èµ° ... 唯有业éšèº«

i'm still quite unsure of wheter i want to install the mcct or not. was thinking since i ran with the acct, might as well run until time to service then i change the cam chain along with the mcct together and do valve clearance all at once. any ideas?

i just fixed my mcct. i tot of fixing it when its time to do my timing chain but mech informed that timing chain recommended to be changed at mileage 60k/km therefore i cant wait as my mileage has not even touched 50k/km. but already did my valve clearance at 40k/km. in the end its till up to individual preferences as you can changed your timing chain even at 50km... hehe.

MCCT is a simple installation. Changing out the ACCT gives you an indication of how worn the existing cam chain is. Don't wait before it's too late.

just washed bike, now clean n shining

seriously, after getting this bike..

washing sessions seems to be shorter.. as there are only the wheels and engine to clean..

i fully scrubed the hubs and wheels plus engine only use abt 2hrs..

whereas last time i used almost 8hrs on my S4..

dun fix it if it ain't broken ... :sweat:

The MCCT must fit first, if wait till your cam chain give you signs, then it might be too late. :angel:

I've change my tail light and signal light. But where to change the KTM front fender and headlights?? Any shop you guys know of??

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/image.php?u=38090&dateline=1183211119&type=profile
I've change my tail light and signal light. But where to change the KTM front fender and headlights?? Any shop you guys know of??

hmmm Ideal Motors ?

http://www.samuelgoh.net/images/bike/wr2_luci.jpg

My Past Rides: Yamaha WR200, Yamaha X1, Suzuki DRZ400SM (Stolen by frags in JB recently...)

My Current Ride: Honda Phantom TA200.

The MCCT must fit first, if wait till your cam chain give you signs, then it might be too late. :angel:

More like 'fight the fire when it breaks out'. or 'build the chicken coop after the chicken has run away'. :giddy:

Better do it now. :angel:

seriously, after getting this bike..

washing sessions seems to be shorter.. as there are only the wheels and engine to clean..

i fully scrubbed the hubs and wheels plus engine only use abt 2hrs..

bro, i wash my whole bike + degrease and relube chain + wax all cowlings in 2-3 hours. 8hrs on washing bike? sounds like bikewash marathon man lol i can help you if you want la, afterall, haven't thank you for helping me reserve the mcct yet... :cheeky:

anyway, see you on monday, looks like my lao pok chia is going to be upgraded with the mcct flux capacitor :lol:

on a side note, yesterday when i stopped at a junction, there was this x1 in petronas paintwork and looks like the bike was heavily modded for race, serious mods, not those chapalang racing boy footrest or fake excel rims. this one looked really mean and the idiot riding it was revving his bike at the junction before both of us made a U-turn. his idling was quite high so i can only assume he was revving to piss me off.

never mind, light was going to turn green so i slowly puut puut puut and rolled to his front inadvertently blocking his way so i U-turn first (anyway i arrived at the junction first what)

light turned green and i slowly putt puut puut away read: S L O O W L Y.

mr lacer lan lan followed behind me and when road was clear, he let loose his x1. i just ride normally then noticed my side got 1 flash coming up and my throttle hand opened instinctively (ego activated). my lao pok chia with yoshi and his x1 with what sounds like a tong pipe went head to head in a race of 2 idiots.

at gear 3, i went wot and damned, forgot i was not riding inline 4 anymore. the top end started to disappoint before i realised but was too late, he gained on me and was starting to overtake. nvm, i wot in 4 and yaay i win the race! HAHAHA damned spastic right? in front got traffic so both of us slowed down but after awhile, he started to squeeze between cars really quick. i went along my way and thought long and hard about how stupid i was.

funny thing was, i didn't even want to play with him, i normally ignore all challenges from tiong chias (souped up cars) and lacer bikes. on friday, my right hand just could not tahan kerna overtake by hao lian lacer. not wise and my ego could have involved me in an accident. kinda regret what i did and i hope that lacer don't ride so fast or challenge ppl, not a good idea if one wants to live to a ripe old age.

well, hope this made some of you laugh and don't repeat what i did if possible. better yet, if you have good advice, do tell us.

my bike wash a bit hardcore one.. try to really degrease and remove all the dirt.. that time was my S4..

this time rd, DRZ seems easier.. but i haven really clean all the spokes yet..

waiting to have a centre stand to jack the whole bike up and slowly spent my day polishing the spokes while sitting comfortable on a stool..

ride relak live longer.. in the end, these mod kups will sayus big eat small..

they are thumpers too.. haha.. in a way..

any1 fix the 28litres Safari tank?? heard tt 05/06 tank cannot fit on 07/08 ... true??

万般带ä¸èµ° ... 唯有业éšèº«

i fully scrubed the hubs and wheels plus engine only use abt 2hrs..

i understand how u feel, somemore i wash every week

well, hope this made some of you laugh and don't repeat what i did if possible. better yet, if you have good advice, do tell us.

i dun even bother about these drivers n riders:cool:

this time rd, DRZ seems easier.. but i haven really clean all the spokes yet..

i dun even thinking of cleaning the spokes, too lazy liao