i'm taking over a fren drz sm i think its k8...but i notice that his meter spoil already....anyone here selling thier stock meter or is thr any aftermarket meters....im kinda in a tight budget...hehe

• Replies 7.7k

i'm taking over a fren drz sm i think its k8...but i notice that his meter spoil already....anyone here selling thier stock meter or is thr any aftermarket meters....im kinda in a tight budget...hehe

wahh. bro thight budget no nid change meter lar. juz take out. haahaa.. cos drz usin digital. i dunno bout any digital meter which is cheap. maybe the rest could help?

#ChalkBoardSG

-Don't let dreams juz be a dream.

you can try asking GH or KS motor on a new meter.. should cost abt $700..

so 2nd hand ones are not that cheap too.. and it's known that OEM meters can easily go bonkers..

so many actually decided to go for trailtech vapor.. value for money, save space and had more info..

a set with indicators costs abt $300.. pretty easy to DIY with the supplied instructions..

thinking of getting a drz-sm & need some advice

1) do you think a 1yr old bike at $11k++ is reasonable? monthly bout $240 X 48mths

(all other costs - int / ins / rd tax are in)

2) not much mod, except for full lv system and complete decals.

what should i look out for when viewing the bike?

pretty easy to DIY with the supplied instructions..

wait till mine spoilt i need ur guidance :bow:

need some advice guys.

me riding drz sm less tahn 2 mths..

going to change some stuff and do servicing..

which is the best motul engine oil to use? part number and price pls

best model of DID x ring chain? price pls

front and rear sprocket size, band and price pls

rear scrap bar? those that use to scrape durning wheelies and can also use as foot stand to do more stuff.. price and brand and where to buy

coolant brand?

is there gear oil for drz? is so what brand and model is good?

i only need for normal riding so no need race specs stuff

i am just worried taht i go bike shop and i have no idea what they throw on my bike

thanks and sorry for being so noob

is there gear oil for drz? is so what brand and model is good?

i am just worried taht i go bike shop and i have no idea what they throw on my bike

u worried too much liao:sian:

u need to recce around, cannot spoon feed u till like tat.

read around the advertis thread and u will get ur stuffs.

btw drz dun use gear oil.

i think u have the metality of all bike shops will ketok/chop u:sian:

if anyone wants a 2nd hand stock meter, do pm me. i got a set up for sale.

as usual, price negotiable. ;)

http://www.samuelgoh.net/images/bike/wr2_luci.jpg

My Past Rides: Yamaha WR200, Yamaha X1, Suzuki DRZ400SM (Stolen by frags in JB recently...)

My Current Ride: Honda Phantom TA200.

guys, got a few qns to ask, as i would be changing my first set of rubbers this coming monday... the current stock set is going to burst anytime! lol...

1. where to change dunlop d253? and how much?

2. from my trail days, i remember that it is better to change front and rear tires together, any difference when it comes to SM tires? cos i see some fellow forum-ers changing the front and rear seperately... is it ok if its done that way?

3. what are the recommended tire for road use? won't be going tuas any time soon (no dough for gears) so leaning towards the thinking that a set of durable street tires with decent grip rain or shine will be better for me this time round.

thanks all for your time! ;)

My Past Rides: Yamaha WR200, Yamaha X1, Suzuki DRZ400SM (Stolen by frags in JB recently...)

a set of durable street tires with decent grip rain or shine will be better for me this time round.

michelin pilot power n power one suits ur requirements

yo ppl.... sorry to cut in.. i wanna ask how much if i were to sell drz sm now? i got a fba plate and lots of accrs plus leovince legal,,,, ani advice?

http://www.flickr.com/photos/82454896@N07/7554745564/
yo ppl.... sorry to cut in.. i wanna ask how much if i were to sell drz sm now? i got a fba plate and lots of accrs plus leovince legal,,,, ani advice?

why don't u post your bike up for sale, alongside with the list of accessories and open the thread up for offers. then u can gauge ya selling price from there.

But be warn, sure got ridiculous offer.

The last option would be push to bike shop, cuz they will take in at a very low price. If u must, sell your accessories separately before pushing to bike shop.

why don't u post your bike up for sale, alongside with the list of accessories and open the thread up for offers. then u can gauge ya selling price from there.

But be warn, sure got ridiculous offer.

The last option would be push to bike shop, cuz they will take in at a very low price. If u must, sell your accessories separately before pushing to bike shop.

haha that one i noe sure got bargain.. but i wanna open price first....can u advise the price? im thinking of 9k.... i always maintain and service it.. what do u think>>

http://www.flickr.com/photos/82454896@N07/7554745564/
haha that one i noe sure got bargain.. but i wanna open price first....can u advise the price? im thinking of 9k.... i always maintain and service it.. what do u think>>

it's good for you can look at the GS for past DRZ sales for gauge..

hey guys juz wandering how much does it cost to change the stock headlight drz to the inverted triangular shape ones... thanks!!!!

here's a link of the headlight of what i meant

http://www.bikepics.com/pictures/1164831/

Should be abt $180..

if you are selling off your OEM headlight plastic, let me know.. i might need it if it's black..

Edited by biting_point

Bikeworkz does have it at $350-$380(a pair F/R) range otherwise you can head to unique.

2. from my trail days, i remember that it is better to change front and rear tires together, any difference when it comes to SM tires? cos i see some fellow forum-ers changing the front and rear seperately... is it ok if its done that way?

Same Logic, change front and back.

3. what are the recommended tire for road use? won't be going tuas any time soon (no dough for gears) so leaning towards the thinking that a set of durable street tires with decent grip rain or shine will be better for me this time round.

Michellin Pilot Power is a good road and track tires and the wear rate is low.

guys, got a few qns to ask, as i would be changing my first set of rubbers this coming monday... the current stock set is going to burst anytime! lol...

thanks all for your time! ;)

Though I don't quite like your nick (some may find it of poor taste but you are lucky no one has complained yet) I will still explain it to you.

The DRZ fuel tap is a vacumn operated fuel tap. Meaning fuel will not flow unless a vacumn shutoff valve is actuated by the low pressure created in the line that is connected to the fuel tap to the carb inlet manifold when the engine is running.

Shut the engine down and the low pressure disappears and the shutoff valve will be spring loaded close and stop fuel from flowing.

This vacumn operated valve works in either the ON or RES position.

When selected to the PRI position.. fuel will flow regardless if the engine is running or not. The vacumn operated valve is bypassed.

It is for you to prime a totally dry carb. eg one that has been taken off and serviced.

You can drain your fuel tank totally dry if you leave the selector in the PRI position.

If you should remove the tank for some reason or whatever... do not forget to connect the vacumn line from the carb to the tank fuel tap.. or else the fuel will not flow to the carb in the ON or RES position and the bike will idle like crap coz got an air leak at the carb.

Just got DRZ 2 weeks ago, when the fuel run dry on 'ON' fuel valve selection there isn't any sign or sympton of it. No time to react to switch the fuel valve to RES or PRI, engine just die off before I can do anything.

Is this normal for the Z as it never happen to me for my past 20 years of riding.

Thanks in advance for any advice and help.

Edited by engineger

Always keep the rubber side down, the shining side up.

Can anyone please advice me on what the small black color Mikuni box (left, front side of the engine) do as it tap the exhaust air/pressure and to the fuel valve.

And also what the piston valve control solenoid on the carburetor do?

Always keep the rubber side down, the shining side up.

Just got DRZ 2 weeks ago, when the fuel run dry on 'ON' fuel valve selection there isn't any sign or sympton of it. No time to react to switch the fuel valve to RES or PRI, engine just die off before I can do anything.

Is this normal for the Z as it never happen to me for my past 20 years of riding.

it's quite common.. after a few times, knowing your FC, you will know roughly when will reserve coming..

most common symptom is bike will suddenly lose power and most like in a few secs will die off..

Can anyone please advice me on what the small black color Mikuni box (left, front side of the engine) do as it tap the exhaust air/pressure and to the fuel valve.

And also what the piston valve control solenoid on the carburetor do?

1) tat's the PAIR system.. most of us removed it as it's one of the things you dun need.. if i rem correctly, you needa clean the filter inside weekly.. most of us removed it to reduce backfiring..

2) is there a piston valve control soleniod on the carb?? or are you talking abt the ACCT?

thanks man for the reply.

but i already changed to metzeler sportec m3..

pilot power out of stock.. =(

any comments on the m3?

also wats the recommended pressure for the tires?

the manual recommended 175/225 with pillion

i pump around 185/235...

Bikeworkz does have it at $350-$380(a pair F/R) range otherwise you can head to unique.

Same Logic, change front and back.

Michellin Pilot Power is a good road and track tires and the wear rate is low.