Originally posted by SWOOSH85@Apr 20 2005, 11:39 PM

wats a spark plug for? and do i need to chage it regularly??

A spark plug is what ignites the mixture of air and fuel in your engine. Without one, your engine won't do anything at all. If you service your bike regularly at a workshop, the mechanic should automatically check it for you. Yes, it does need to be changed fairly regularly.

• Replies 50.9k

• Sub Zero

• lacrimosae

• eyz

• quikslvr

Originally posted by warren84@Apr 20 2005, 06:58 PM

wats ur burget for your 250~~

Prices in garage sales are ranging from 2-3.5k, so i'll probably go up to 3.5k depending on condition of course. Hope to get an FP plater.

Those who risk nothing, do nothing, achieve nothing, become nothing.

:sweat: Man... Lacri and Denis... U guys really landed yourselves in the soup this time eh?

Anyway, I met Black at LAB yesterday... yeah, the original Black who used to service Aprilias for the AOC old boys. I haven't seen him in abt 3 years...

He's still at it. And he still does Aprilias. Had a little chat w/ him and he spoke abt the new RS125 and 250 and their new features. He's modded a few of them already, apparently.

On your next servicing, try this guy out. Just tell him that you're from the AOC, he'll take care of you.

U can find him at 29, Sin Ming Drive, #01-01/02/03

Just opposite the LTA HQ.

http://www.streetdirectory.com.sg/singapor...masterid=103120

mvxilplix> The RS250's in here are actually pretty cheap and you have to realize that most of the bikes under 4k will still need a bit of work to get them into tip top shape. My friend recently purchased one of the better ones posted online here for 3.8k and even that has needed quite a bit of fine tuning to get it running well. But it did come with some nice aftermarket bits like wheels, CDI, exhaust system etc. Sometimes spending a little more at the start can save you money later. I looked at a few RS250's (not from here mind you) but most of them were VERY rough and would have needed quite a bit of work ($$$) to get them back into good shape.

My ride for 2012 - Yamaha WR250X 2008

Previous rides:

ROAD/FUN: Honda Sonic, VTR250, Kawa Z1000 & Kawa KSR110, Suzuki Savage

SPORT: Kawa ZXR400, Suzuki SV650, Honda CBR600F3 & CBR929RR, Aprilia RS125 & RS250,

DIRT: Honda XR200 & XR600L, DRZ-400SM, DRZ-400-S, GasGas EC200, KTM 200 EXC & 250EXC-F, Tricker

Pics @ http://www.bikepics.com/members/axxis/

Vara> Actually I just recently got myself a RS125 but I'm still interested to find out more about the bikes in general and which models in Singapore came out with the legal arrow as standard.

Previous rides:

SPORT: Kawa ZXR400, Suzuki SV650, Honda CBR600F3 & CBR929RR, Aprilia RS125 & RS250,

DIRT: Honda XR200 & XR600L, DRZ-400SM, DRZ-400-S, GasGas EC200, KTM 200 EXC & 250EXC-F, Tricker

Yeah i'm not expecting perfection from the older bikes. Just want something decent with a straight frame that i can do up over time and keep for track use when i get my vfr next year.

On that note, what are the recommended workshops for the RS250? There's this Black fellow DeusEx is talking about, and i think i've heard Pleasure Motorsports or something like that mentioned before.

Those who risk nothing, do nothing, achieve nothing, become nothing.

woah.. sure i'm gonna visit him one of these days~

but then again.. people like lawry and i aren't safe to go where the LTA based..

it's like sending to goat to the lion..

nonetheless will go try..

thanks dude~

Originally posted by DeusExMachina@Apr 21 2005, 08:27 AM

:sweat: Man... Lacri and Denis... U guys really landed yourselves in the soup this time eh?

Anyway, I met Black at LAB yesterday... yeah, the original Black who used to service Aprilias for the AOC old boys. I haven't seen him in abt 3 years...

He's still at it. And he still does Aprilias. Had a little chat w/ him and he spoke abt the new RS125 and 250 and their new features. He's modded a few of them already, apparently.

On your next servicing, try this guy out. Just tell him that you're from the AOC, he'll take care of you.

http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3007/2652402314_eb7483892a_o.jpg

AOC = Aprillia Owners Club? What's the shop name and does this dude have a proper name or is he just called black?

Previous rides:

Originally posted by Axxis@Apr 21 2005, 12:17 PM

AOC = Aprillia Owners Club? What's the shop name and does this dude have a proper name or is he just called black?

Joe... Joe Black :eek:

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/image.php?u=13389&dateline=1217487583&type=profile

Dec 04 - Apr 07 : APRILIA EXTREMA RS125 FN 3690 T

Sept 05 - 07 : VESPA ET8 125 FQ 1422Z

Oct 05 - CURRENT : CAGIVA MITO EVO II 125 FS----R

Apr 07 - Stolen in JB on Sept 09 : GILERA RUNNER VXR 200 FX 8573 M

LOL...

Previous rides:

Originally posted by lilium martagon@Apr 21 2005, 02:06 PM

hi all...

I'm a new rs125 rider.

i want to change the bike's rear brake disc and the pads. around how much do you think that'll cost? and where do you think I should go to?

disc plate, any motortiam also do one lah...

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/image.php?u=13389&dateline=1217487583&type=profile

Dec 04 - Apr 07 : APRILIA EXTREMA RS125 FN 3690 T

Sept 05 - 07 : VESPA ET8 125 FQ 1422Z

Oct 05 - CURRENT : CAGIVA MITO EVO II 125 FS----R

Apr 07 - Stolen in JB on Sept 09 : GILERA RUNNER VXR 200 FX 8573 M

any one watch motorgp 250cc on scv??? wow the aprilia damn nice the design so unique :Pbut a bit different from the rs250... seems to haf under seats pipe as i saw a hole thingy at the back.

Originally posted by DeusExMachina@Apr 21 2005, 08:27 AM

Thanks for the tip man, I'm definitely gonna look for him. Perfect timing, just as I was thinking of trying a different mech.

--------------------

On a different subject, any progress on a possible mass order for paddock stands? Chris (Axxis)? Ben? Anyone else?

Originally posted by muser@Apr 21 2005, 08:14 PM

On a different subject, any progress on a possible mass order for paddock stands? Chris (Axxis)? Ben? Anyone else?

I am in. Only hitch is that mine is a 250.

Originally posted by Roadster@Apr 21 2005, 09:00 PM

I am in. Only hitch is that mine is a 250.

Hmm, maybe we can find one that fits both models. Even if we can't though, it shouldn't matter since the point is the collective volume we're buying, not the specific item. As long as we end up buying from a single shop/supplier it shouldn't be a problem. I'll talk to the rest and see what we can come up with.

Originally posted by lacrimosae@Apr 21 2005, 10:30 PM

Cant you guys pool some moolah together then get some blacksmith to weld a few?

Are you offering your services? I doubt you can swing a hammer though while balancing on only one of your crutches *oof!* :cheeky: and by the time you hobble over to your forge the fire would've fizzled out *wham!* :sweat:

Seriously though, it might be viable to fabricate a stand at a place like Seng Kwang at Ang Mo Kio Industrial Park 2A, which can fabricate any stainless steel bike item you want, but it might be cheaper to buy an existing stand model and certainly more convenient. Let's shop around first lah.

Originally posted by muser@Apr 21 2005, 10:48 PM

Are you offering your services? I doubt you can swing a hammer though while balancing on only one of your crutches *oof!* :cheeky: and by the time you hobble over to your forge the fire would've fizzled out *wham!* :sweat:

Seriously though, it might be viable to fabricate a stand at a place like Seng Kwang at Ang Mo Kio Industrial Park 2A, which can fabricate any stainless steel bike item you want, but it might be cheaper to buy an existing stand model and certainly more convenient. Let's shop around first lah.

wah muser, u really don like lacri arh.. haha..since he buang u say him non stop sia... haiyo... so bad... hahaa... but it seems to be tt u 2 muz be really gd frens so u can say tt ba.. hahaaa... muz be.......

Originally posted by cheng_xi07@Apr 21 2005, 11:52 PM

wah muser, u really don like lacri arh.. haha..since he buang u say him non stop sia... haiyo... so bad... hahaa... but it seems to be tt u 2 muz be really gd frens so u can say tt ba.. hahaaa... muz be.......

Ha? Got smiley what, heheheh! No lah, just cannot resist teasing him :cheeky: But truly, I'm really glad he's alive and not permanently injured, and I was worried sick that night when the guys called me after the accident happened. I hope this finally pushes him to get an armoured riding jacket. I just hung out with Lawrence today and we checked out some Dainese riding jackets with armour at JR. We both agreed that alpinestars is still a better deal, all things considered. Today, Lawrence's skin looked noticeably less yellow/green-tinged compared with when I saw him the morning after the accident. Aiyah, I'm teasing him again, right? :faint:

Hehehe maybe it's The Curse of The Amonamarth!!! That was the 3rd accident he's witnessed in the same week.. First one was on Tuesday. Dammit man that's a lot of numbers to buy for 4d, ben. :slurp:

Originally posted by muser@Apr 21 2005, 08:14 PM

Thanks for the tip man, I'm definitely gonna look for him. Perfect timing, just as I was thinking of trying a different mech.

--------------------

Forgot to mention.

Black will always be Black.

He operates at night only.

7pm to 7am. ....

Originally posted by DeusExMachina@Apr 22 2005, 12:30 AM

7pm to 7am

Wah, no kidding! And I thought my scrambler mech, who often works till 11-something pm, was happening already, heheh. Well, I suppose I can always drop by Black's workshop after I knock off work past midnight. I think the idea of a workshop opening real late is kinda cool. Reassuring too, in the event of any bike problems during the wee hours - Hey, with most mechs open normal working hours, I'm covered 24/7!