It's fairly common to see Lexus, Mercedes, Saab and other automobile advertisements when one watches the mainstream TV. I was just wondering why, in my entire 23 years of life, have I never seen Yamaha, Honda or other motorcycle advertisements on Chan 5/8 etc?

Is it because the government, in its effort to discourage people from riding or doesn't want making motorbiking to seem like a desirable lifestyle, have banned them from airing?

Or is it because the motorbike companies see no need to advertise since both Yamaha and Honda are both quite the duopoly in the motorbike market, especially for

Those living in the east and can tap the Indonesian channel, I'm sure you'd see its quite a regular thing to promote those cup kias.

Expert opinions?

http://i41.tinypic.com/2vj99ua.jpg

http://i243.photobucket.com/albums/ff288/jinpwnsyou/Whack_a_kitty.gif

• Replies 42

Most motorbike dealers are small timers. They can't afford air-time.

And if they could, what do you want to see?

Some ah beng boss or sales "executive" who looks like one of the "able-bodied 40-yr old" hawkers/thugs/collectors in Newton Hawker parading around the bike "showroom", which probably looks like a slum, introducing you the latest 2009 models with a heavy Hokkien accent? :angel:

the profit margin for bikes are very low.

Some ah beng boss or sales "executive" who looks like one of the "able-bodied 40-yr old" hawkers/thugs/collectors in Newton Hawker parading around the bike "showroom", which probably looks like a slum, introducing you the latest 2009 models with a heavy Hokkien accent? :angel:

:lol: That's a good one!!!!

Einigkeit und Recht und Freiheit

i think 5 years ago dun even have local magazines for bikers lor.

we've progressed.

thailand, indo u can see shopping centres display bikes ( kups) as prizes for lucky draws but in singapore only got see cars.

Riding : To enjoy POWER in between your legs. HORSE POWER that is.

http://i370.photobucket.com/albums/oo148/proradar/n762680656_6897677_26461991.jpghttp://farm4.static.flickr.com/3387/3632031753_703ef020ac_o.jpg

It's fairly common to see Lexus, Mercedes, Saab and other automobile advertisements when one watches the mainstream TV. I was just wondering why, in my entire 23 years of life, have I never seen Yamaha, Honda or other motorcycle advertisements on Chan 5/8 etc?

Is it because the government, in its effort to discourage people from riding or doesn't want making motorbiking to seem like a desirable lifestyle, have banned them from airing?

Or is it because the motorbike companies see no need to advertise since both Yamaha and Honda are both quite the duopoly in the motorbike market, especially for

Those living in the east and can tap the Indonesian channel, I'm sure you'd see its quite a regular thing to promote those cup kias.

Expert opinions?

because cost > benefit.

they where will ride bike. they v rich 1 leh... 8 prawn for $200 over... everyday sell 8 prawns only, they can afford to drive pretty much any car if they want to.

肥仔七åƒå·

Small market size - about 10,000 bikes are registered each year

Do the distributors or dealers advertise? Yes, through other means - print ads in targeted media.

He who hesitates is lost!

thailand, indo u can see shopping centres display bikes ( kups) as prizes for lucky draws but in singapore only got see cars.

You didn't see the 50 Vespas given away by Coca Cola in Singapore?

Or the one given away by Aqua Panna?

You didn't see the 50 Vespas given away by Coca Cola in Singapore?

Or the one given away by Aqua Panna?

huh??? 50 vespa?? im looking for one eh! haha..

-death is a promise from god at birth-

-everyone dies, but only some lived-

a few yrs ago... i think ard 2004, Piaggio launched the new Vespas... there was a contest to vote the best designed paintwork. the vespa's paintwaork were designed by local celebrities i think. winner of the lucky draw gets to ride away the winning design.

http://i125.photobucket.com/albums/p48/allen_key/KS_400.jpg

yeah i remember one of the contest.this person won a vespa but he sold it off coz he already got a bike

Oct 2002 - PPL

19 Sept 2005 - 2B

18 Sept 2007 - 2A

20 July 2010 - 2

Oct 2005 - present: Aprilia RS 125

Oct 16 2010 - Feb 2011: Honda CBR 600 RR

Apr 08 2011: Ducati Monster 620

http://photos-g.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc1/hs099.snc3/16635_162719989997_751319997_2733440_6167145_n.jpg

nice.... i wan a free vespa too =X

Riding : To enjoy POWER in between your legs. HORSE POWER that is.

http://i370.photobucket.com/albums/oo148/proradar/n762680656_6897677_26461991.jpghttp://farm4.static.flickr.com/3387/3632031753_703ef020ac_o.jpg

In SG, I wonder if there's any point to advertise for bikes.

Most 2B/2A are narrowed down to that few, logical choices.

For Cl2, there's always the Internet for reviews and such.

Think there's no need to lauch a media blitz for a new bike. Not as if any authorised dealer is waiting to sell 2000-3000 GXRs, R1, CBR...etc a year.

I'd agree on you for the first part.

Air-time, especially around prime-time slots, are damn expensive. $25K upwards.

And no small-margins business would want to make that same investment when a cheaper alternative like print ads or SBF would do the same job on a targetted crowd and have the same, if not better, results than a TV ad.

But, should a dealer be able to afford one, need not use a local ad in context.

They could always 'borrow' or 'lease' a foreign ad for the same bike.

So we can avoid, as you described, ""able-bodied 40-yr old" hawkers/thugs/collectors in Newton Hawker parading around the bike "showroom", which probably looks like a slum, introducing you the latest 2009 models with a heavy Hokkien accent"...

I have seen Yamaha ads in Star Sports during Motogp telecast, and felt it was cool!!

Touching your hearts!!! Really...

How I wish I can watch it more often and in local channels...

http://64.19.142.12/www.forkparty.com/wp-content/uploads/2011/01/What-to-Do-with-Lighter-Parts-6.jpeghttp://64.19.142.12/www.forkparty.com/wp-content/uploads/2011/01/What-to-Do-with-Lighter-Parts-7.jpeg

I think in singapore, motorbike ads will be real tough, considering how motorbikes are already not taking part in motor shows. Though thats what I've read from 2wheelers magazine when I passed 2B this year...

The profit margin isn't justifiable to promote the ad on TV unless bikes like Harleys sell like hotcakes...

Safety tips:

Always STOP at the STOP LINE!

Don't rush. You're not racing for a record.

Always look in front, especially when trying to change lanes, the vehicle in front might jam brake.

Don't be easily offended, a**holes exists, mingling with them gets you sh*t.

15 Oct 07 - Passed CL 3

12 Feb 09 - Passed CL 2B

6 July 09 - [bajaj Pulsar 200cc DTS-i] Kaelyn

good thing needs no advertisement

But do you think if there were bike advertisements more ppl will be drawn towards bikes rather than cars or busses? 10 000 registered bikes a year as contrarian mentioned, but with advertisement, do you think the demand would go up to as much as 15 000?

And yes, no substandard advertising please! Lease the professionally done ones from the manufacturer themselves, you know, something like this:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IVdSs1OcjTs

(of cos this video is the movie version, on tv it'll be a super cut 30 sec version)

I see already I motivated to work hard to buy myself one!

http://i41.tinypic.com/2vj99ua.jpg

http://i243.photobucket.com/albums/ff288/jinpwnsyou/Whack_a_kitty.gif

Ads specific to a certain bike model/make will usually be paid for by the agent.

That is.... if they can be bothered to spend money in support of their retailers.

But do you think if there were bike advertisements more ppl will be drawn towards bikes rather than cars or busses? 10 000 registered bikes a year as contrarian mentioned, but with advertisement, do you think the demand would go up to as much as 15 000?

No, because the supply of COE determines the number of registrations yearly.

motorbikes and bikes related products/services are considered niche market in S'pore.

consider this...

out of 100 TV viewers, how many of them ride bikes or want to buy bike? compare this ratio to Thailand, Philippines etc. :rolleyes:

so whats the best media to advertise? here we r... SBF :D look ard ur browser page... and also MCA

http://i125.photobucket.com/albums/p48/allen_key/KS_400.jpg
motorbikes and bikes related products/services are considered niche market in S'pore.

consider this...

out of 100 TV viewers, how many of them ride bikes or want to buy bike? compare this ratio to Thailand, Philippines etc. :rolleyes:

so whats the best media to advertise? here we r... SBF :D look ard ur browser page... and also MCA

I agree with you! The bike market is simply too small in Singapore and it's a niche...

So, I think having bike advertisements on TV in S'pore might not be the wisest thing for bike companies to spend their advertising dollar on... advertising on television is NOT cheap at all!

Biking is something that everyone can learn and enjoy! :goodluck:

http://i426.photobucket.com/albums/pp344/s4dreamer/Laos%20n%20Cambodia%20Trip%2011%20to%2028%20May%202009/Poipet-Cambodia1.jpg

Airtime is not the only thing they have to pay for. They're gonna have to pay for some ad agency to come up with the script, actors, props and ad shoot. That costs plenty.