Yamaha Diversion 900

Palary

Originally posted by Swift@Oct 3 2005, 02:31 PM

Hey uncle custom,

Do u still have stock of EBC brakes the last time u order in?

Can i buy two sets from u?

i need to change my front and back brakes too

Yes, but on the front only.

Rear I don't have.

One set is $48 (my cost and cost only coz have to fly to Singapore)

U'll need 2 sets for ur front.

OK?

生命的å¯æ‚²åœ¨æ–¼å®ƒä¸èƒ½é‡ä¾†ï¼Œ

å¯å–œçš„是它ä¸éœ€è¦é‡ä¾†.

• Replies 12.6k

• Custom

• SiLvErGhOsT

• mctan

• Heyrul77

Originally posted by Casper4XXX@Oct 1 2005, 01:01 PM

said that Euro went up..tt's why bo pianz gotta keep within my budget...

hm.... Euro went up??? I tot it dropped...

from 2.2 to 2.02 o_O o_O o_O

mctan

Originally posted by Casper4XXX@Oct 3 2005, 03:53 PM

Preference: Daytona from MotoWorld (S$25 per pair)

Sa far no problem braking even on rainy days. EBC too expensive for moi.

Daytona and EBC which is better?

I dun mind pay abit more for good brake pad.. it save life...

mctan

Originally posted by SiLvErGhOsT@Oct 3 2005, 11:53 AM

You can take a picture of your bikes belly pan(close up) and show it here, so our handsome buggers can have a good look at it... he,he,hee!!! :lol:

Haha...I took a pic of your belly pan when we went for the Pengarang trip tt time..ok will post that picture instead :cheer:

Apr '99 - Sept '00 (Yamaha WR200)

Dec '00 - Jul '03 (Honda CB400 Version S)

Jul '03 - 5 June '06 (Yamaha XJ900S Diversion)

10 May '06 - Current (2004 Yamaha FJR1300ABS)

29 Aug '07 - Current (Suzuki Swift Sports-Mega)

04 Feb '09 - Current (2009 Honda City LX i-Vtec)

http://i2.photobucket.com/albums/y26/Casper4XXX/SBFSignatureIV.jpg

Originally posted by mctan@Oct 3 2005, 04:08 PM

hm.... Euro went up??? I tot it dropped...

from 2.2 to 2.02 o_O o_O o_O

Maybe he talking nonsense...but I go value-for-$$$...wahaha...so too bad...he lost a biz deal :cheeky:

Want to charge me $20 for workmanship of air filter change and $40+ for installation of horns somemore...think I carrot head meh...bike shops so competitive nw..no worries cant find another shop with cheaper prices..only thing gotta make more efforts in searching only..

Originally posted by mctan@Oct 3 2005, 05:29 PM

Daytona and EBC which is better?

I dun mind pay abit more for good brake pad.. it save life...

EBC is of course better...

One thing I like bout daytona is that it doesnt give off screeching sounds :cheer:

Originally posted by mctan@Oct 3 2005, 04:05 PM

Uncle Custom,

Can I purchase EBC locally? Or do I have to order from oversea?

so far no stock for our front.

fyi, front pad is only use in Yamaha makes only.

So I guess the stock is slow.

rear one not very sure coz i never use rear brake.

intended to keep for spare as well as utilized e flight charges, tat's y i've some spare for the front.

Only have 2 sets of front brake to sell.

another 2 sets I keep for my next brake pad change.

Any takers?

X over to other makes,

Ferodo FDB781

SBS 663

Vesrah VD-255

å¯å–œçš„是它ä¸éœ€è¦é‡ä¾†.

Originally posted by Custom@Oct 3 2005, 10:57 PM

so far no stock for our front.

fyi, front pad is only use in Yamaha makes only.

So I guess the stock is slow.

rear one not very sure coz i never use rear brake.

intended to keep for spare as well as utilized e flight charges, tat's y i've some spare for the front.

Only have 2 sets of front brake to sell.

another 2 sets I keep for my next brake pad change.

Any takers?

X over to other makes,

Ferodo FDB781

SBS 663

Vesrah VD-255

I think bro swift is looking for it.

If he doesn't want.

I will buy the reminder 2 sets. where to collect?

Or where can I buy the front and real pads? Order from HL or oversea?

mctan

Originally posted by Casper4XXX@Oct 3 2005, 06:32 PM

Maybe he talking nonsense...but I go value-for-$$$...wahaha...so too bad...he lost a biz deal :cheeky:

Want to charge me $20 for workmanship of air filter change and $40+ for installation of horns somemore...think I carrot head meh...bike shops so competitive nw..no worries cant find another shop with cheaper prices..only thing gotta make more efforts in searching only..

I think they are there to chop the ang mo carrot or "baby" carrot (newbiker)....

mctan

Hey Mctan...

u can go ahead and get it from uncle custom.

Im still considering...might get original Yamaha brake pads.

Went to HL yesterday to check...front, one set $52, so two sets = $104. Then back, one set $90! :giddy:

So in total...$194 and that does not include workmanship yet!!

Anyone have any advice on that??

Yamaha Diversion XJ900

Originally posted by Swift@Oct 4 2005, 06:41 PM

Hey Mctan...

u can go ahead and get it from uncle custom.

Im still considering...might get original Yamaha brake pads.

Went to HL yesterday to check...front, one set $52, so two sets = $104. Then back, one set $90! :giddy:

So in total...$194 and that does not include workmanship yet!!

Anyone have any advice on that??

Wow, and i thought the $65 i paid for the rear inc of caliper servicing was expensive.

Anyway for the front, the SBS i'm using seems ok, no signs of rotor wear. Rear got some but its due to the fact i didnt know the rear pads were worn to the metal with less than 3000miles on the odo.

Anyway SBS are good enough for my riding and IMHO worth it at $18 a pair inc installation.

Brake pads have their characteristic depends on the type of material manufacturers use.

As for SBS I do not have the problem faced by uncle custom, what I know- custom uses 100% braking on the front brakes...maybe accessive braking may caused the rotor(disc) to warp or uneven wears.

At times I do brake heavily ~ front about 80% and rear 20% during dry season and wet seasons 60% in front and 40% at the rear...

I ever used Daytona pads before but what I noticed, that the daytona pads does not wear as much as it compared to other makes....it's not a good sign- there should be a wear if used - either the pad or the rotor(disc) :confused: after 1 year I open up to check on the daytona pads' wear it look as new as it was.... and Yes it effected the rotor- I changed to SBS but its too late daytona already eat into the rotor(disc) causing uneven wear.

I don't know about you guys...who uses daytona???

EBC still the best it wears gradually- it thus wears the rotor, it does not cause uneven wears or warp the rotor(disc)-you can feel the braking power and the difference in distance to stop.

Silverghost... o_O

DIvErTeD SpiRit...

ThE SpIrIt StIlL LiVeS On "Diversion XJ9s"

safe riding yOu BuGgErs

... SiLvErGhOsT...

from my braking experiance.

1st and 2nd use stock pad.

1. quite

2. rotor will not rust when get in touch with water/rain.

3. braking distance ok

4. need to use force when e-brake.

5. short life span (1st 3mths n 2nd 8mth)

6. high cost ($55 include installation at HL)

7. rotor worn out by avg 0.13mm for each change

SBS

1. noisy

2. rotor rust when kenna water/rain

3. braking distance ok.

4. need to use force when e-brake

5. very long life span (12mths n still very thick)

6. cheap ($15 for DIY)

7. still veri thick upon 1yrs usage. Wonder y...

7. rotor worn out by avg of 1.22mm, diff btw my last change.

8. rotor thickness varies abt 0.2mm.

EBC

1. abit noisy when brake

2. 2 finger operation even in e-braking

3. shorter braking distance

4. life span unable to comment coz just change abt 3 wk

5. high cost ($48 include shipping from oversea)

6. rotor wear rate can't comment yet

The above is for my bike and my braking style.

Data is collected using ver caplier.

After EBC worn out, I may want to change rotor liao coz it had almost going to reach it's limit.

For Daytona,

I don't have much experiance on Divvy but have it with my little scooter.

When taken out, it is almost like new, no sign of wear n tear. veri thick

Rotor excessive under size. (change new rotor)

Don't know it is due to the brake pad or the last owner but mileage is only 70K km for a 7yrs old bike is very low. (don't know e odo had gone through a few round or not)

å¯å–œçš„是它ä¸éœ€è¦é‡ä¾†.

Me Me..I'm using Daytona on my rear. Can I jus ask one stupid question?

What rotor?Is it brake disc? :giddy:

Uncle Custom,wher can we get EBC brake pads for divvy in spore?

Sounds troublesome if we gotta import everytime the pads are due for replacement.

Originally posted by Casper4XXX@Oct 5 2005, 09:23 AM

Me Me..I'm using Daytona on my rear. Can I jus ask one stupid question?

What rotor?Is it brake disc? :giddy:

Yes... Rotor is the disc.

å¯å–œçš„是它ä¸éœ€è¦é‡ä¾†.

Below commets are for front brake pad only.

I've tried a few places but all don't carry Divvy model coz the pad are used for very old or very rare spec like Divvy, XJ600, VentureStar, T-Max, Virago & Wildstar.

Tat's y I was force to chage to SBS. :mad:

Alternative, u can try DP from Vector1. last time I've checked they have no stock so have to wait. Forum comments on this brand is very good.

Also try to get HH type if possible.

After discover the excessive wearing of rotor, it trigger me to bring in from oversea.

Last time I bring in 8 sets for my Divvy which costed me Euro$281.

2 set sold to SG,

2 set on my bike,

2 set for spare,

2 set for spare.

tell me ex-stock but took them abt 8 wks to deliver so guess i'll not order from them any more. :mad:

å¯å–œçš„是它ä¸éœ€è¦é‡ä¾†.

Originally posted by Custom@Oct 5 2005, 11:03 AM

Below commets are for front brake pad only.

I've tried a few places but all don't carry Divvy model coz the pad are used for very old or very rare spec like Divvy, XJ600, VentureStar, T-Max, Virago & Wildstar.

Tat's y I was force to chage to SBS. :mad:

Alternative, u can try DP from Vector1. last time I've checked they have no stock so have to wait. Forum comments on this brand is very good.

Also try to get HH type if possible.

After discover the excessive wearing of rotor, it trigger me to bring in from oversea.

Last time I bring in 8 sets for my Divvy which costed me Euro$281.

2 set sold to SG,

2 set on my bike,

2 set for spare,

2 set for spare.

tell me ex-stock but took them abt 8 wks to deliver so guess i'll not order from them any more. :mad:

How about original brake pad from Yamaha, which can get from HL or hm... another shop ( can't remember the name). Compare price, which is better?

mctan

Originally posted by mctan@Oct 5 2005, 11:17 AM

How about original brake pad from Yamaha, which can get from HL or hm... another shop ( can't remember the name). Compare price, which is better?

HL have. Ex-stock.

The other one is from malaysia, by ASpoon Casper change b4. Only $20 I think.

Ask him for his comments.

å¯å–œçš„是它ä¸éœ€è¦é‡ä¾†.