Filming my ride

This video was taken by my partner. I don't know how to do the slides in the video itself so here's the description:

Cars in front started jam braking. At short distance, if you jam brake, you might still end up rear-ending the car in front, or get hit from the back. Plan your exits early. In this case, splitting the lane saved the rider from a very close shave.

This skill of planning your exits takes many years to perfect. This rider has more than 20 years of riding experience.

The cause of the jam-braking became clear. There was a pile-up in front.

6 August 2009 SLE towards CTE.

Thanks JackOHJack!

That's my normal commuting route from work and I did notice a sudden unusual slow down in the traffic (still no mile long jam), and that prompted me to heighten my alert, as it's a sign of possible accident up front.

After scrutinizing the vid, I think the rider in lane 2 in front of the white Honda might be me! I think I was wearing orange that day, and have my knapsack front facing as usual. Lol... Gotta love HD...

• Replies 2.4k

What a coincidence! That video was taken in the evening at around 5:45pm. Did you see an MP3 zoom past you after that? :cheeky:

I do remember seeing a dark coloured (black?) MP3 with one headlight on, but can't tie down the time/location whether it's that time... Does the description fit? I distinctly remember that I was thinking about the parallelogram front steering mechanism after the MP3 passed me... Hehe...

ok, i realised a potential problem with using nokia phones for video recording.

that is when someone calls while video recording, the video will just stop and wun record on anymore.

To fix: change to flight mode/ offline mode so no one can call u while u video record the ride.

PS: just sharing in case anyone wanna try the approach. :cheeky:

hi bros and gals,

anyone wanna go for a highly enriching motorcyling "experts sharing of experiences" activity?

30 August 09, F.O.C, just need to bring ur bike along, purely a sharing event with short theory and practical training(s). :smile:

All of us are volunteers, even the solid venue is volunteer (by company) wan.

More info by the pioneers from a few years back:

I actually had put together a concept for safer motorcycle riding.

It is based on a system used by the UK TP called Hazard Oriented Riding, combined with the more well-known Motorcycle Roadcraft. Then I factor in my own riding experience to adjust for Singapore style riding.

I had my fair share of close shave when I started out riding. It scared the living daylights out of me. Then I went to research over the years and developed the above concept. Since then, I had been riding for over 8 yrs using my concept and *touch wood* not had any accidents. I have both class2 and 3.

I meant the formula to safe guard my own safety. I thought that I am the only one so unfortunate and other people don't have my problems. So I never shared my knowledge with anyone. Until about 2 years ago, a close friend of mine saw me riding bike and appears very safe, then went to learn class2B.

After he passed, I told him to ride around for a month to get a feel of real road traffic, then I will teach him my concept. Within 2 weeks, he had an accident with a lorry. He is no young reckless hero. He is 33, got a wife, a kid and rides a phantom. Thankfully, he was not seriously injured.

I felt responsible for his safety because he partly got into riding because of me. So I quickly gave him a crash course of my concept. I am pleased that after almost a year, he is safe and he appears rather comfortable riding. So it appears my concept works not only for me, but to other rider as well.

It is all concept, so it is up to the rider to apply. Hence it is not magic that guarantees 100% safety. It is also not a technique on advanced riding, track riding or wheelie. It is just a system to maximise rider safety for singapore riding that is learnable. Also, it is not so simple that I can lay it out in a few lines. Or I would share it right here.

For those interested to learn, pm me.

It is free for me to share. But I need time to put together the materials and half a afternoon to teach. I am just doing to see if my concept is easily learnt by the greater public and to help save a few lives and skins.

Join here :smile:

PS: lutein sis, im sure u dun mind i post here hor? :cheeky:

on the last kukup trip i went, the guys had all sorts of funny ways to mount cameras on their bikes.

I recall a fellow forrumer use somethiing similar to that, but less of a hassle, it's just a small black plastic thingy that has a screw on 1 end to tighten on handlebar and hold any camera . dunno how to describe. will try to get to him to share. :thumb:

k3n u wanna put on ur gsxr or x1r? :cheeky:

actually i already got ideal 4 both bike.....

but might be a bit of hassle.....

need to go down my bike shop and DIY myself....

might need to do lot of welding....HAHAHA

if the mounting is gd and stable, den it will be sweet.

the only problem is, if i use thin metal. i scare it might break into half cause of the vibration:sian:

if i start the project... i think i post some pic 4 forumer to share....

now i jus need to look 4 some scarp metal:cheeky:

:cheer::cheer:

:lol: cheap is best la. :lol: :cheeky:

if u wanna mount on bike try to consider water proof as well wor. :cheeky:

PS: welding irreversible wor? im more for reversible/ removable solutions. :cheeky:

some tidbits for u guys

vehicle also taking videos! :thumb:

http://video.vigidrive.com/watch_video.php?v=98172dc8fe6e660

Insane foreign biker infamous kup prix

http://video.vigidrive.com/watch_video.php?v=b229a8a6b5010f8

idea.. but have to improvise.. else.. camera kanna stolen also dunno wat happen... :sian:

anyway, thanks for giving us another good idea to install at the back... :):)

Edited by adesmond2

Please proceed to this website/web link if you guys have any technical issues on Kawasaki Kips/KR150, I'll update the 1st POST as and when there's a new question. Newbies questions on the top as well. :)

Aren't you glad you have people like this for company on the roads? Keeps things exciting all the time.

[yt]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dL4tHYS8mTU[/yt]

Honda Accord SJF 3999Z forced its way into my lane. It didn't show in the video but he cut in quite abruptly from behind and I almost instinctively swerved as a result.

Notice I was first at the middle and then towards the left one-third of the lane. That is, I was STILL IN THE LANE when he cut in.

Drivers like this showing no respect for other road users are a dime and dozen on Singapore roads. The only difference this time is this driver was caught in the act.

http://farm1.static.flickr.com/176/382836949_9f10369d74.jpg

The time/date in video is actual. Was out with scubasimon and chewbacca. Check out http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/showthread.php?p=5763671#post5763671

[yt]

[/yt]

[yt]

[/yt]

Sorry Scubasimon, I lost the mineral water you gave me with that BUMP!

[yt]

[/yt] Edited by shunoski
Added videos

Anyone can ride a bike. Being a biker, is a state of mind.

hey shunoski

is tat the old woodland road to bukit timah road???

which on the left side is bukit panjang and right side Ten Mile Junction????

if it is tat place...

the pot hole u hit had been there 4 like dunno how many yrs already.....

and if u going to use tat road again...

trust me... go slow... if u say tat is big...

the hole b4 this... is like a moon surface...... whole lot of pot hole in 1 lump.....

even in day time u also wont see that clearly....

Ya, around that area. Then zhun zhun my wheels fit inside the hole. Was constantly looking at the tires, cuz it's stock and tubes. That impact makes me worry if I had cracked my rims as well. :faint:

Even the mineral bottle at my rack jumped out. Anyway, it's my fault for being too close and the hole present itself with me no time to react. Was too anxious to catch up with my small convoy.

On video, it's just a bump. Trust me, it was worse than that. It knocked a little wind out of me, and helped wake me up to 100% alertness.

Anyone can ride a bike. Being a biker, is a state of mind.

Aren't you glad you have people like this for company on the roads? Keeps things exciting all the time.

[yt]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dL4tHYS8mTU[/yt]

Honda Accord SJF 3999Z forced its way into my lane. It didn't show in the video but he cut in quite abruptly from behind and I almost instinctively swerved as a result.

Notice I was first at the middle and then towards the left one-third of the lane. That is, I was STILL IN THE LANE when he cut in.

Drivers like this showing no respect for other road users are a dime and dozen on Singapore roads. The only difference this time is this driver was caught in the act.

Pretty amazing... it's insane how much drivers sometimes assume things. I bet he assumed it was nothing, you'd just adapt to him cutting in and since you're riding a bike, you don't need the whole lane anyway, and bikes always ride in between lanes so it's not like he's doing anything wrong, plus - and that's the essential point here - his is bigger than yours.

Is there any way to avoid this ? Your distance from the front vehicule seems pretty good to me (but then again I have 0 real riding experience) and any closer might be dangerous in case of sudden braking. So except from being always on the lookout and checking the mirror frequently enough, how can a rider avoid this from happening?

It doesn't look like your speed was the problem neither, consistent with the traffic flow, so i just don't get why he would do that - he gained what, 1 second on his timing if he had stayed behind you ??

PS: I am SO getting a camera. Thanks for posting this, it's very enlighting.

Pulsarians Singapore on Facebook:

The Page: http://fb.me/SingaporePulsarians For general news and info

The Group: http://fb.me/groups/pulsarianssg/ For all the interaction

between Pulsarians, maintenance tips, accessories, trips & meet-ups and of course live answers to all your questions !

http://i522.photobucket.com/albums/w346/solyankm/Cam%20Mount%20for%20Bike/TankMount6.jpg

For those are not very good in DIY, one option is this. Can get its at Sim Lim Tower too at $6-8, its a type of CCTV wall mount, a few shops at the 1st level are selling it.

Just need to enlarge 1 of the hole on the base plate and you can mount it on your tank. But it will not be as stable as those use L-Plate (cause base plate too thin).

DIY

http://i522.photobucket.com/albums/w346/solyankm/Cam%20Mount%20for%20Bike/TankMount1.jpg

LEFT: CCTV wall mount, can get from 1st level last shop @ SIM LIM TOWER, cost $6-8.

RIGHT TOP: DIY Aluminum L-Plate & rubber base, single hole easier to make.

RIGHT BOTTOM: replace bolt(red) from CCTV mount with stuffs(blue, can get them @ DIY shop).

http://i522.photobucket.com/albums/w346/solyankm/Cam%20Mount%20for%20Bike/TankMount2.jpg

Look - after replaced bolts and added the L-Plate

http://i522.photobucket.com/albums/w346/solyankm/Cam%20Mount%20for%20Bike/TankMount3.jpg

LEFT: directly attach to cam.

RIGHT: Attached to a Ball joint tripod head the to cam and you have more control on your tank mount.

http://i522.photobucket.com/albums/w346/solyankm/Cam%20Mount%20for%20Bike/TankMount4.jpg

Final result. For my pulsar, I needed the ball joint for extra height as the front fairing is blocking the cam view. For S4, ball joint is an option.

http://i522.photobucket.com/albums/w346/solyankm/Cam%20Mount%20for%20Bike/TankMount5.jpg

LEFT: easy and fast detachment, just unscrew and leave the L-Plate on the tank.

RIGHT: if you can spend more time, you acn DIY 2 holes L-Plate, its more

stable than the single hole.

Video taken on single hole L-Plate.

http://i522.photobucket.com/albums/w346/solyankm/Cam%20Mount%20for%20Bike/th_Sep09-01.jpg

http://i522.photobucket.com/albums/w346/solyankm/Cam%20Mount%20for%20Bike/th_Sep09-02.jpg

Will be posting video test on 2 holes L-Plate.