MOTOGP News Wednesday, 8th November 2006

Gibernau retires.

Former double MotoGP World Championship runner-up and nine-times grand prix winner, Sete Gibernau, has announced his retirement from racing.

An emotional Gibernau confirmed the conclusion of his ten-year MotoGP career during a press conference in Barcelona, saying:

"I have decided to retire from world championship motorcycling. It has been an incredible experience and given me many unforgettable moments. I'm proud of what I've achieved, I dreamt of being world champion and went through some difficult moments, but those just made me appreciate the good times more. I'm very pleased to have won races in both 500cc and MotoGP, to have led the world championship on several occasions and to have fought to the end to become a world champion."

Gibernau added that he had turned down the chance to continue in MotoGP on less competitive machinery next year

"I'm leaving at the top. To continue just for the sake of it would not have made me happy, especially if I was just doing it for the money," explained the #15, who said he was offered a ride by Kawasaki, Sito Pons and Ilmor. "I don't yet know exactly what I'll do in the future, but I've got other projects to concentrate on."

The 33-year-old Spaniard was Honda's leading rider - and Valentino Rossi's closest title rival - during the 2003 and 2004 seasons, but the pressure of fighting the dominant Italian seemed to take its toll and Sete was left winless in 2005, despite five pole positions, prompting him to leave the satellite Gresini Honda team (with whom he took all but one of his race wins) for a new start at the factory Ducati Marlboro Team.

But his 2006 season began with a mechanical failure while amongst the lead group in Jerez and further misfortune followed - highlighted by a huge accident at turn one in Catalunya, when he tangled with team-mate Loris Capirossi under braking. Gibernau broke his collarbone in the fall, forcing him to miss the next three rounds then, just two races after his return, required a further operation after the plate inserted to heal the break weakened, forcing him to miss another race.

Gibernau made his second comeback for the three flyaway events in Malaysia, Australia and Japan - finishing fifth, fourth and fourth as he regained fitness - but had a fighting chance of a breakthrough victory when he took the lead of the rain interrupted Australian Grand Prix. However, as the weather improved, Sete's wet tyres deteriorated and he went on to lose what would have been his first, and only, Ducati podium to Rossi at the very final corner.

99-01 > Mito 125, NSR 150

01-03 > Honda VFR 400 NC30, Aprillia RS250

03-05 > '02 YZF R1

05-07 > '05 Suzuki 600 K5, Wave 125, Nuovo 110

07-08 > '03 T-MAX [5GJ]

08-10 > '07 T-MAX [5VU], '08 T-Max [4B5], 08 R6

05-10 > DUCATI 749 Dark Mono

10-11 > CBR 1100XX, 2010 Busa

13-14 > RC51 SP2

14-16 > Ninja 400R, Z1000SX, MT09 Tracer

• Replies 14.9k

Yah Hoooooooo........ I just can't stand him nagging at the machines when he himself cannot make it. Sorry to the Gibernau fans who are reading this, but i really can't stand him. Especially when he bring the team down.

03-05 > '02 YZF R1

07-08 > '03 T-MAX [5GJ]

13-14 > RC51 SP2

MotoGP Test was held at Valencia on Wednesday 01/11/06, results from here as follows:

1. Valentino Rossi ITA Camel Yamaha Team (800cc) 1min 32.70 secs

2. Toni Elias SPA Fortuna Honda (990cc) 1min 32.73 secs

3. Marco Melandri ITA Fortuna Honda (990cc) 1min 32.90 secs

4. Valentino Rossi ITA Camel Yamaha Team (990cc) 1min 33.10 secs

5. Loris Capirossi ITA Ducati Marlboro Team (800cc) 1min 33.11 secs

6. John Hopkins USA Rizla Suzuki MotoGP (800cc) 1min 33.14 secs

7. Chris Vermeulen AUS Rizla Suzuki MotoGP (800cc) 1min 33.18 secs

8. Dani Pedrosa SPA Repsol Honda Team (800cc) 1min 33.21 secs

9. Casey Stoner AUS Ducati Marlboro Team (800cc) 1min 33.41 secs

10. Alex Barros BRA Pramac d'Antin MotoGP (990cc) 1min 33.64 secs

11. Nicky Hayden USA Repsol Honda Team (800cc) 1min 33.66 secs

12. Jeremy McWilliams GBR Ilmor SRT (800cc) 1min 35.80 secs

13. Andrew Pitt AUS Ilmor SRT (800cc) 1min 36.60 secs

03-05 > '02 YZF R1

07-08 > '03 T-MAX [5GJ]

13-14 > RC51 SP2

Results from Day 2 of testing from here:

Valencia test - day two:

1. Dani Pedrosa SPA Repsol Honda Team (800cc) 1min 32.66 secs

2. Chris Vermeulen AUS Rizla Suzuki MotoGP (800cc) 1min 32.69 secs

3. Casey Stoner AUS Ducati Marlboro Team (800cc) 1min 32.94 secs

4. John Hopkins USA Rizla Suzuki MotoGP (800cc) 1min 32.95 secs

5. Loris Capirossi ITA Ducati Marlboro Team (800cc) 1min 33.01 secs

6. Nicky Hayden USA Repsol Honda Team (800cc) 1min 33.03 secs

7. Alex Barros BRA Pramac d'Antin MotoGP (990cc) 1min 33.20 secs

8. Valentino Rossi ITA Camel Yamaha Team (800cc) 1min 33.78 secs

9. Jeremy McWilliams GBR Ilmor SRT (800cc) 1min 35.90 secs

10. Andrew Pitt AUS Ilmor SRT (800cc) 1min 36.40 secs

11. Nobuatsu Aoki JPN Rizla Suzuki MotoGP (800cc) 1min 37.30 secs

03-05 > '02 YZF R1

07-08 > '03 T-MAX [5GJ]

13-14 > RC51 SP2

Lets watch how Casey Stoner ride next year.

Next season is sure to be much more exciting.

03-05 > '02 YZF R1

07-08 > '03 T-MAX [5GJ]

13-14 > RC51 SP2

"No official spec sheets have been released, but Minoli added a little teaser at the end of his blog posting saying: "By the way, for the base version of the 1098: 160 HP and 381 lbs."

Pheeew, 160HP!! Not only does it look good, it propably goes like hell too. IMHO, this is a vast improvement on the 999. I believe Ducati will sell a lot more 1098s than the 999s. Pierre, you have done your worst... now Ducati is back on the right track again!

Originally posted by motocafe@Nov 9 2006, 10:32 AM

"No official spec sheets have been released, but Minoli added a little teaser at the end of his blog posting saying: "By the way, for the base version of the 1098: 160 HP and 381 lbs."

Pheeew, 160HP!! Not only does it look good, it propably goes like hell too. IMHO, this is a vast improvement on the 999. I believe Ducati will sell a lot more 1098s than the 999s. Pierre, you have done your worst... now Ducati is back on the right track again!

K, now we have satisfied the 9 series duc lovers, so what's in stock for the supersports lover like myself and Ming?

Is it gonna be a 798 or is it gonna be a 898 ( minus 200cc like the 748 & 749) !?!? :smile:

:thumb: Com'on Ducati, thrill me!!!!

Still deciding between a Ducati 748/749, Triumph 675 or a Buell for my future ride over at States :cheer:

flowers: 1979-2007 (Gilera Runner, Honda Varadero, Ducati 999, Yamaha 05 R6)

#48 Shoya Tomizawa: 05 Sep 10

LollyPop: 1983-2011

#58 Marco Simoncelli, 20 January 1987 - 23 October 2011 Sepang GP

Originally posted by NoLogicOne@Nov 9 2006, 02:37 PM

K, now we have satisfied the 9 series duc lovers, so what's in stock for the supersports lover like myself and Ming?

Is it gonna be a 798 or is it gonna be a 898 ( minus 200cc like the 748 & 749) !?!? :smile:

Waha!!!! :thumb: Might turn out true hor!!! I like the idea od 798..... It's the closest to MotoGP of the next season.

03-05 > '02 YZF R1

07-08 > '03 T-MAX [5GJ]

13-14 > RC51 SP2

By the way, Hill, when will u be available for another session. My bike should be ready by the end of next week due to servicing. Now that my working schedule is not that packed, i might be able to squeezed some time in 2 weeks time. Must organise another mass Duke track session again soon.

03-05 > '02 YZF R1

07-08 > '03 T-MAX [5GJ]

13-14 > RC51 SP2

Am I the only one who thinks the 2003 999 absolutely looks the best?

Ok, maybe the Desmosedici Superbike looks cooler, but thats out of reach for us mere mortals... On the other hand, the 1098 looks alittle too "fireblade" to me..

For 749/999 owners, maybe you guys might wanna try out this little mod.

http://i6.ebayimg.com/05/i/07/a1/e6/9a_1_b.JPG

As you know, our intake runners have inline resonating chambers to "reduce intake noise". Well, I blocked mine off with ultra high tech masking tape, so the intakes are now smooth tunnels.

Now my bike growls when the trottles are opened, and nearer to redline the intake noise crescendos to a wail of staccato V-twin induction sound, drowning out the exhaust noise... Power is up too, due to the blocked off chambers resulting in a smoother intake duct......

Yea right. I can't tell the difference. :D Who wants to do a back to back comparism?

Originally posted by nE0@Nov 9 2006, 10:44 PM

Maybe :D

I like the look of the 1098. At least much more when I first look at a 999. But looks is still secondary to me.....I would ride the ugliest bike as long as it handles better than the dude's pretty bike which is beside me on the road.

Bikes that craves for turns, me like!!!

Originally posted by cagiva03@Nov 9 2006, 03:49 PM

By the way, Hill, when will u be available for another session. My bike should be ready by the end of next week due to servicing. Now that my working schedule is not that packed, i might be able to squeezed some time in 2 weeks time. Must organise another mass Duke track session again soon.

Sadly, these coming 2 weeks when you are not so packed with stuffs, I'll be out of town. When I come back, a week later I'm going to work for a while in Aus. So I'm keeping my fingers crossed that my earliest trackday would be late Dec.

Give Damien a call, he could hook you up if he goes, which is likely to happen.

Need to get my front fork done up soon. Just secured a set of tyres, hee hee. Need to change before going down.

New Sliders anyone???

Lightech Dropper, $45 a Pair, made in Italy. CAn be used on left or right knee, worn out one, just switch over!!!

http://i15.photobucket.com/albums/a389/nologicone/LightechDropper.jpg

I got 3 blacks and 1 white :cheeky: Kiasu, so many sliders, ha ha!!!

Originally posted by nE0@Nov 9 2006, 10:44 PM

Ok, maybe the Desmosedici Superbike looks cooler, but thats out of reach for us mere mortals... On the other hand, the 1098 looks alittle too "fireblade" to me..

Out look is all base on individual prefrences... i think the 748 look juz like any other MITO..... But eventually i still got one myself...due to the fact that i fell in love with the kick ass exhaust sound...it is at later part of the ownership, i started to apperciate the looks....got to apperciate slowly like red wine. :lovestruck:

Originally posted by NoLogicOne@Nov 10 2006, 12:23 AM

I like the look of the 1098. At least much more when I first look at a 999. But looks is still secondary to me.....I would ride the ugliest bike as long as it handles better than the dude's pretty bike which is beside me on the road.

Well, i still prefer the fairings design of the 999 series. It would really be a great combo if they could throw in all the technology from the 1098 to the 999 series. :smile:

03-05 > '02 YZF R1

07-08 > '03 T-MAX [5GJ]

13-14 > RC51 SP2

i just got a pair of Dainese knee sliders ( the one that i bought it from u last time). And guess how much i got it for??? $35 bucks nia! haha. It was the last set at HKL Racing. So Ah Bee lelong lelong sold it to me. If i am not wrong retail price is $70. Damn lucky. :smile:

03-05 > '02 YZF R1

07-08 > '03 T-MAX [5GJ]

13-14 > RC51 SP2

Originally posted by NoLogicOne@Nov 10 2006, 12:23 AM

yo bro, jus went to n spoke to Mary, the price of the 1098 is gonna b the same as 999. 30+ range. anyway, she told me theres a angmo guy selling off his 749s, 2 yrs old. he is leaving the country. selling for 23k+. i itchy again man.

Originally posted by TiUsTer@Nov 11 2006, 09:03 AM

yo bro, jus went to n spoke to Mary, the price of the 1098 is gonna b the same as 999. 30+ range. anyway, she told me theres a angmo guy selling off his 749s, 2 yrs old. he is leaving the country. selling for 23k+. i itchy again man.

Wow... that's gonna kill the resale value of the 999's.

Anyway, my take. The 1098 looks generally nice from most angle, 999 certain angles, the 916 series from all angles. I dun think it's possible to come out with even a bike that can out-do what the 916 series have done. It took a Honda cub to best the Ducati 916 in the world's top ten greatest motorcycle. :sweat:

Specwise, the 1098 is the bike that all Ducatitits have been waiting.

Lightweight,more horsies... U can't complain that my bike is heavier now. :sian:

So when kopi again.....

Times-They-Are-A-Changing

Well, I havn't even full trottled my bike past 8000rpms, so I doubt the increased capacity would be of much use to me.

What I would really like to see improved on the 999 is.... Wait, its perfect as it is! Hee hee.... :D

Originally posted by nE0@Nov 11 2006, 11:50 AM

Well, I havn't even full trottled my bike past 8000rpms, so I doubt the increased capacity would be of much use to me.

What I would really like to see improved on the 999 is.... Wait, its perfect as it is! Hee hee.... :D

http://www.hypercycles.org/forums/showthread.php?t=10230

There's a side pic of the bike for u to take a close look.

160 hp, 90.4 lbs/ft torque, 173 kg for the base 1098 model.

Wonder how much will the 1098s and 1098r make....

And look at the article... Ducati's version of Yamaha's exhaust power valve!!!

Anyway, I think this is really a great leap forward for Ducati.

With some mods, I think the base 1098 shouldn't have any problem hitting 200bhp?!!?

Times-They-Are-A-Changing