Originally posted by Reddevil76@Aug 16 2005, 12:06 AM

anybody installed frame sliders on their ducati superbikes? really torn whether to install or not, and cut the fairing... looks damn ugly manz..

I'm also looking to install sliders, specifically on swingarm, forks and thru-frame.

You might want to consider the currently experimental frame sliders from CycleCat. These do not go thru the fairings so no holes required. Check out the CycleCat website for more info.

• Replies 14.9k

i got frame sliders for 999 (cyclecat), havent used yet, will let go for 200. Bought for abt 350ish. and yep. u gotta drill holes on the fairing.

Current rides: Ducati 999 and X9 500 SL

Guest Reddevil76
Originally posted by obitrok@Aug 16 2005, 12:01 PM

i got frame sliders for 999 (cyclecat), havent used yet, will let go for 200. Bought for abt 350ish. and yep. u gotta drill holes on the fairing.

Dun think the 999 one will fit on the 996. So you bought online?

Guest Reddevil76
Originally posted by LedZep@Aug 16 2005, 11:18 AM

I'm also looking to install sliders, specifically on swingarm, forks and thru-frame.

You might want to consider the currently experimental frame sliders from CycleCat. These do not go thru the fairings so no holes required. Check out the CycleCat website for more info.

eh, swingarm can fit sliders meh? I thought only can put carbon fibre cover to protect it.

Originally posted by Reddevil76@Aug 16 2005, 01:35 PM

eh, swingarm can fit sliders meh? I thought only can put carbon fibre cover to protect it.

Sure you can. Sliders may be installed thru the hollow axles/spindles of the front and rear wheels. Having said that, I've never seen such sliders on single-sided swingarms!

Also, for double-sided swingarms (eg, 999), sliders may be installed at the same attachment points that hold spools for propping on paddock stands.

Originally posted by Reddevil76@Aug 16 2005, 12:06 AM

anybody installed frame sliders on their ducati superbikes? really torn whether to install or not, and cut the fairing... looks damn ugly manz..

Actually..... come to think about it, there's one more thing to think about. Depending on the bike model, changing to smaller battery and modifying of the battery holder may be required. To me, that's even more discouraging than cutting holes in the fairing..... o_O

Guest Reddevil76
Originally posted by LedZep@Aug 16 2005, 02:27 PM

Actually..... come to think about it, there's one more thing to think about. Depending on the bike model, changing to smaller battery and modifying of the battery holder may be required. To me, that's even more discouraging than cutting holes in the fairing..... o_O

I've ever made an undertail & rectifier tray using sheet aluminium for my TL1000R, so I think it shouldn't be too difficult for me to make a smaller battery holder to accomodate a smaller batt to fit frame sliders..

After seeing crash pics of Dukes without sliders.. I dun dare step into track without them...

Originally posted by Reddevil76@Aug 16 2005, 01:35 PM

Dun think the 999 one will fit on the 996. So you bought online?

nah, explicitly for the 999. yep, bought online.

Current rides: Ducati 999 and X9 500 SL

Any Idea which is cheaper?

A new Engine or Change the parts within it??

ie overhaul.....any guidance??

i bought mine cheap (916) but i have the intention to re-con the bike....

anyone has any suggestions?? imagine i dun even have original brake/clutch lever....foot rest and mine paint is like 1cm thick!!!!!

Originally posted by retribution@Aug 16 2005, 08:09 PM

anyone has any suggestions?? imagine i dun even have original brake/clutch lever....foot rest and mine paint is like 1cm thick!!!!!

I think you can get a used engine from ebay and send it over and it'll

still be a cheaper option.

Problem is finding who to mount it for you and get it working.

Which year 916 u got?

Times-They-Are-A-Changing

Originally posted by ktkt@Aug 16 2005, 08:37 PM

I think you can get a used engine from ebay and send it over and it'll

still be a cheaper option.

Problem is finding who to mount it for you and get it working.

Which year 916 u got?

'94

the thing is the history reali damn bad....no proper service done for this bike...

now i trying to make sure it is road friendly

mounting wise should be able to find...imagine by changing the parts inside is damn $$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$4

Guest Reddevil76
Originally posted by retribution@Aug 16 2005, 08:09 PM

But are you sure you need to re-con the engine? Even the service history is vague, if nothing wrong, no need to kan chiong lah. Just maybe do the standard valve clearance and cam belts changed good enough.

External stuff, not original also nvm what... even if you get original, end of the day you would also wanna change to aftermarket. Dun bother with original levers, might as well just change to Brembo units! Clutch and brake pump set! :faint:

Paint thick got pro and cons leh... thick paint when kena scratches can polish off... 1cm abit exaggerate right..:sweat:

Guest Reddevil76
Originally posted by ktkt@Aug 12 2005, 10:44 PM

I had TP on my tail on the expressway and didn't stop me.

I reckon the 2 side boxes helps alot. :sweat:

Ah Tan... I passed my IPPT just today... hehehe...

But sian ah.. I thought only silver award got money.. so last 15 seconds of sit up, I just lie down there cos thought dun anyhow waste energy..

Later then I found out from a chart at the training shed, at my current D+14 score, I just needed 2 more sit ups to earn $100! Damn!

So you receive letter liao boh? Me receive a letter from HQ two weeks ago saying me got the promotion liao.. Next year hopefully, CSM allowance will come in and I can buy more accessories! :sweat:

Originally posted by Reddevil76@Aug 16 2005, 10:15 PM

But are you sure you need to re-con the engine? Even the service history is vague, if nothing wrong, no need to kan chiong lah. Just maybe do the standard valve clearance and cam belts changed good enough.

External stuff, not original also nvm what... even if you get original, end of the day you would also wanna change to aftermarket. Dun bother with original levers, might as well just change to Brembo units! Clutch and brake pump set! :faint:

Paint thick got pro and cons leh... thick paint when kena scratches can polish off... 1cm abit exaggerate right..:sweat:

Mayb you are right....actuali not reali kan chiong though....coz dun jave the budget at the moment....spent it on my car for next few months

regarding the 1cm....:help: may 5mm Must see man, coz my side stand broke the other day and when the paint chip off....its like...wow....so thick.

alrite, lets kip it as it is....thanks for the feedback my friends

Guest Reddevil76
Originally posted by retribution@Aug 16 2005, 10:26 PM

Mayb you are right....actuali not reali kan chiong though....coz dun jave the budget at the moment....spent it on my car for next few months

regarding the 1cm....:help: may 5mm Must see man, coz my side stand broke the other day and when the paint chip off....its like...wow....so thick.

alrite, lets kip it as it is....thanks for the feedback my friends

Yah.. I understand how you feel.

When I got my TLR, alot of things I wanna do.. end up spend so much time on Ebay and overseas forums searching for stuff and at the void deck fixing them... time and money all spent... end up also sell the bike.

This time round, i trying to control myself so can enjoy the bike more. So other than recommended maintenance, if it ain't broke, dun fix it yah?

Hope to get my bike commissioned for the road again and meet you guys around next time. Ong & Son gonna deliver it to me at Mah on Thursday, so hopefully this weekend I'll get to ride it!

I won't put the crash mushrooms. If fall and fairing damage can repair or replace. But the force will be absorb by the crash mushrooms and the frame... If frame damage then the bike have to scrap... even if not scrap the handling may be affected so much that during corner the bike will dance uncontrollably.

Anyway owner's choice... my two cents worth...:thumb:

Items for sale

Ohlins rear shock spring 7.5 kg(mint)

Showa Fork w lower triple(used)

Stock FULL fairing 998s(used) w MS Prod Carbon Street Belly-pan

MS prod Carbon 998R tail fairing (used-DP#96938402B)

Bestem carbon belt (testastretta engine)

Ducati Corsa Screen-fabbri (new)

Oil Cooler (mint-#548.039.1A)

More parts than I can list here (mostly for 916 series)

(PM me for details)

if you want to get an engine from ebay what makes you think that is in good condition???? those americans are just as good as asians in conning people on ebay. also how you going to register it here??? just my two cents worth

Originally posted by nE0@Aug 17 2005, 03:55 AM

Anyone with US$28k to spare?

Ducati 888 SP4 for sale

http://arch.smugmug.com/photos/22528-M-1.jpg

Wow.. The legendary "888"

http://img138.imageshack.us/img138/8586/vhfchsn1.gif

1. Click on my CMO Magazine thread for cheap mag offers

2. click on my CMO Coach thread for cheap Coach offers!!

- Motorculture Asia: Free delivery !

- Spin Asia: Free delivery !

- Latest Sept Superbike: Free Isle of Man TT DVD !

Originally posted by formerduke996@Aug 17 2005, 04:21 AM

if you want to get an engine from ebay what makes you think that is in good condition???? those americans are just as good as asians in conning people on ebay. also how you going to register it here??? just my two cents worth

Very true....actuali theres reali an engine selling at ebay itself after searching for it...

but after looking at it, haiz, dun think feel safe buying animore

that 2 cents do worth quite a bit

Originally posted by Reddevil76@Aug 16 2005, 10:37 PM

This time round, i trying to control myself so can enjoy the bike more. So other than recommended maintenance, if it ain't broke, dun fix it yah?

I agree totally bro. Especially at the point of selling the bike and not getting back the $ invested in the aftermarket parts. Been bitten by the aftermarket bug too often already.

Now when I'm tempted to get any parts, I always ask myself if it would really make a difference or am I truly the limiting factor.... hmmm...

Originally posted by red rocket@Aug 16 2005, 10:40 PM

I won't put the crash mushrooms. If fall and fairing damage can repair or replace. But the force will be absorb by the crash mushrooms and the frame... If frame damage then the bike have to scrap... even if not scrap the handling may be affected so much that during corner the bike will dance uncontrollably.

Interesting insight..... however I guess the mushrooms might reduce damage to peripherals like radiator, battery holder, engine casings, etc. Of course there are infinite ways of crashing and subsequent damages. Heck some mushrooms don't ever get put to use after installation either.... I suppose some riders might put them on for peace of mind?

Originally posted by red rocket@Aug 16 2005, 10:40 PM

Same here, the looks of the bike will be ruin by all those so call "Mushrooms" .Just imagine one fitted up with full crash protectors from head to Toe

If bringing it to the track, fitting up all those crash protectors will sound more appropriate.

http://www.diseno-art.com/images/mv_agusta_f4_1000_veltro_strada.jpg

>>>>>>>>>>>> F 6 C <<<<<<<<<<<<<<<

>>>>>>>>>>>A M 6 D <<<<<<<<<<<<<<<

I am still looking for a set of used Ohlins Front Forks. Any bro out there selling?

http://www.diseno-art.com/images/mv_agusta_f4_1000_veltro_strada.jpg

>>>>>>>>>>>> F 6 C <<<<<<<<<<<<<<<

>>>>>>>>>>>A M 6 D <<<<<<<<<<<<<<<