Thanks tanaka_7, great info here... Its a new bike... But the shop let the bike outside to bear all the rain and shine... Heartpain...

Where did you get your bike from? Mine was the same and now it starting to give problem.

• Replies 12.3k

thank you very much.

i like the words on your tail... hahaha.. wont get u in trouble meh?

I have no violations with the force and those words are my self expression towards hostile riders :)

~ The Law is what I typed above

Come on people, joIn the iuting if not I may have to cancel it due to the poor attendance.

For new R15 riders,do join in such organized gatherings if possible cos there are plenty of knowledge to be exchanged and shared while getting new friends. :)

Heng motor. What problems it gives?

Hi Edwin,pardon me. Even if you give compliments to a bike shop,there be some forum users who disagree and may flame you for it. Not to mentioned if u are about to escalate a matter which a bike shop may pose to you. Commonly, these bike shops will engage a lawyer,trace you down and summon you under defamation of reputation thus trouble seems so near. Hope you get my intention :)

Thanks For the advice, DerFuhrer... Post edited to prevent further complications... I was just telling chiaph that my bike is still with the motor shop... No other intentions... And i would also like to learn more about the pros and cons of our bike so that i would be better prepared for it. So pls provide me with all the info you can. Thanks! :)

PS: Nice Tail for your R15 :)

Edited by edwinchoo15
Thanks For the advice, DerFuhrer... Post edited to prevent further complications... I was just telling chiaph that my bike is still with the motor shop... No other intentions... And i would also like to learn more about the pros and cons of our bike so that i would be better prepared for it. So pls provide me with all the info you can. Thanks! :)

PS: Nice Tail for your R15 :)

Hi there,

There are no pros and cons to our R15. It is built to ride safely and you should be enjoying every bit of it. The issue of pros and cons arrives when you start to mod your bike. Our R15 needs to be maintain and there is no compromise about it. Here,I listed down some items as your guidance only. This is what I practice on my bike.

Engine oil: Replace it every 1500km. It is always good to have fresh and quality ingredients governing and protecting your engine components. Any grade will do,Mineral,Semi synthetic or Full synthetic according to your needs and budget.

Engine oil filter: Replace it every 3 cycle of engine oil change.

Spark plug: Replace it every 5000km.

Battery: Have it check monthly and replace it once a year. Ensure sufficient power at all times. Your good mechanic will teach you how to monitor the voltage. Healthy battery reads above 13v while running and above 11.5V while on idle.

Clutch and throttle cable: Have it lubed once every 3 months.

Chain and sprocket: Lube it weekly.

Tires: Replaced it when the thread faded.

Brake fluid: Top up when it reached below max level.

Hi there,

There are no pros and cons to our R15. It is built to ride safely and you should be enjoying every bit of it. The issue of pros and cons arrives when you start to mod your bike. Our R15 needs to be maintain and there is no compromise about it. Here,I listed down some items as your guidance only. This is what I practice on my bike.

Engine oil: Replace it every 1500km. It is always good to have fresh and quality ingredients governing and protecting your engine components. Any grade will do,Mineral,Semi synthetic or Full synthetic according to your needs and budget.

Engine oil filter: Replace it every 3 cycle of engine oil change.

Spark plug: Replace it every 5000km.

Battery: Have it check monthly and replace it once a year. Ensure sufficient power at all times. Your good mechanic will teach you how to monitor the voltage. Healthy battery reads above 13v while running and above 11.5V while on idle.

Clutch and throttle cable: Have it lubed once every 3 months.

Chain and sprocket: Lube it weekly.

Tires: Replaced it when the thread faded.

Brake fluid: Top up when it reached below max level.

Hey dude. You sound like you have good experience with the R15. Im a new rider and i feel totally lost alot sometimes about the maintenance of our machines. Sorry for sounding like a complete idiot but about the clutch and throttle cable, do you have to get a professional to do it or can we do it on our own and also bout the brake fluid. Sorry again for asking what probably is a noob qn.

http://a6.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-ash4/215516_10150171244112662_758872661_6843653_6066750_n.jpg
Hey dude. You sound like you have good experience with the R15. Im a new rider and i feel totally lost alot sometimes about the maintenance of our machines. Sorry for sounding like a complete idiot but about the clutch and throttle cable, do you have to get a professional to do it or can we do it on our own and also bout the brake fluid. Sorry again for asking what probably is a noob qn.

dont worry, i dont know about it as well.. so im awaiting for him to enlighten us. :)

there is no noob question.. you will only be a noob if u dont know and dont ask, while letting ur bike die.

First Bike, R15 Black (Current)

Future Bike R6 Black :cheeky:

Thanks for the info! I love motorcycles and riding... But needs abit more brushing up on the technical part. :)

How much would the Tyres/EO/EOF/SP.etc cost? Cos i am still a student... needs some financial planning... Thanks again :)

Thanks for the info! I love motorcycles and riding... But needs abit more brushing up on the technical part. :)

How much would the Tyres/EO/EOF/SP.etc cost? Cos i am still a student... needs some financial planning... Thanks again :)

tyres at unique will cost you about $180 for both front and rear.while engine oil is about 20+ plus filter about $30+ .spark plug i think about $10 $15 nia.i cant remember. LOL

Thanks br0kensoul, Wow... I heard stock tire is very thin and prone to skidding during rain... Its that rumour true? :)

Stock tyre may be good on dry roads and slightly good on wet roads.

But in wet carpark, good luck man. Most of our multistory carparks turns super slippery especially near those washing bay areas.

I fell down once near the washing bay of the multistory carpark.(using stock tyre) Was going up the ramp when the tyre just slips causing me to lose balance.

Damaged left fairing, bent clutch lever and sidestand, scratched the mirror and the seat cowling.(oh so pain)

You would rather spend good money to get gripping tyres then to repair all those damage parts.

I've changed to bridgestone tyres and been gripping ever since.

http://img844.imageshack.us/img844/6382/r15gold.jpg

Black and Gold

hey nazo86, couple of questions for you =p..

#1) what u use to clean your bike.. how come so shiny and smooth?!?!?

#2) how u get the R15 logo on ur helmet.

hey nazo86, couple of questions for you =p..

#1) what u use to clean your bike.. how come so shiny and smooth?!?!?

#2) how u get the R15 logo on ur helmet.

Hi Bro,

#1)Every week, i will polish my bike with Scratch Out. Its this yellow bottle that you can get at any DIY shop. In my opinion, this is the best polish for shiny and clear parts. I've tried Waxco and Turtle wax but both doesnt give as much shine as Scratch Out. Do use it after washing your bike 1st though. Or else you'll be polishing dirt into your paint.

For matt parts, i use those leather care products like Auto Guard. ( no preference of brands, all works the same)

For chrome parts. (if you polish your ankle guard of the footrest long enough, it is actually chrome OMG!) I use Meguiar's Metal Polish. Can get this from DIY shop at Marina Square. Better than autosol.

For chain and rims. I clean every week using OWS Universal cleaner. Spray it on your chain and any dirt/grease melts like....water like that. Can get at Unique Motors.

#2) The helmet logo i get by buying the sticker from artfriends then cut it out myself. (You have to be very bored to do this.)

You can also get it from 219. Ask them print for you. I got the gold R15 logo on my fairings from them. (i lazy to cut my own at this point)

Important thing issss. Must take care of the bike every week at least. Its not gonna clean itself. You ride it everyday, must take care horrrr.

http://img844.imageshack.us/img844/6382/r15gold.jpg

Black and Gold

If u have some mechanical background and a buddy to assist,its good to do on your own. A true experience of its own. About clutch and throttle cable,u got to strip these two out and lube them down the line. Brake fluid,open cap and refill with Dot 3 brake fluid. I recommend that you pay a bit and get a mechanic to help you :)

Tyres from $110 per set.

Engine oil: From $9 and above

Spark plug: From $4 and above

Thanks br0kensoul, Wow... I heard stock tire is very thin and prone to skidding during rain... Its that rumour true? :)

Stock tires are good enough to be used in both wet and dry roads in spore. The size of our tires allows performance and safety to be balance. Any bigger or smaller is not advice sable. However,tends to be slippery at polished cement like multi storey carpark,especially during heavy downpour. Any tires also will experience the same thing unless its for wet track use only.

woah feel like washing my bike with u one time gain experience sia.. for 1 month+ since i get my bike..

i only wiped it with water and cloth >.>

i thought mine is clean until i saw yours. :o totally eye opening

seen some Qs about maintaining ur bike.

i always believe that if u take good care of ur bike, she will do the same to u. in terms of less breaking down all those stuffs... one very important thing is dun save on brakes and tyres, they are the crucial things to your safety. i always advice ppl to mod their tyres and brake first before doing anything to boost the power and performance of the bike, exterior stuffs can be done later. no hurry.

Chain and sprocket also take good care of them, tighten regularly. I've seen a few cases of chain falling off the sprocket. damn dangerous sial... Bicycle no issue as it's not fast. For bikes, u will never know what will happen.

Afterall, take good care of ur bike and she will not fail u!!!

Cheers for the R15 Groups!!!

Hi Bro,

#1)Every week, i will polish my bike with Scratch Out. Its this yellow bottle that you can get at any DIY shop. In my opinion, this is the best polish for shiny and clear parts. I've tried Waxco and Turtle wax but both doesnt give as much shine as Scratch Out. Do use it after washing your bike 1st though. Or else you'll be polishing dirt into your paint.

For matt parts, i use those leather care products like Auto Guard. ( no preference of brands, all works the same)

For chrome parts. (if you polish your ankle guard of the footrest long enough, it is actually chrome OMG!) I use Meguiar's Metal Polish. Can get this from DIY shop at Marina Square. Better than autosol.

For chain and rims. I clean every week using OWS Universal cleaner. Spray it on your chain and any dirt/grease melts like....water like that. Can get at Unique Motors.

#2) The helmet logo i get by buying the sticker from artfriends then cut it out myself. (You have to be very bored to do this.)

You can also get it from 219. Ask them print for you. I got the gold R15 logo on my fairings from them. (i lazy to cut my own at this point)

Important thing issss. Must take care of the bike every week at least. Its not gonna clean itself. You ride it everyday, must take care horrrr.

If u have some mechanical background and a buddy to assist,its good to do on your own. A true experience of its own. About clutch and throttle cable,u got to strip these two out and lube them down the line. Brake fluid,open cap and refill with Dot 3 brake fluid. I recommend that you pay a bit and get a mechanic to help you :)

Tyres from $110 per set.

Engine oil: From $9 and above

Spark plug: From $4 and above

Stock tires are good enough to be used in both wet and dry roads in spore. The size of our tires allows performance and safety to be balance. Any bigger or smaller is not advice sable. However,tends to be slippery at polished cement like multi storey carpark,especially during heavy downpour. Any tires also will experience the same thing unless its for wet track use only.

Thanks guys really appreciate all those tips and tricks. Now alittle worried about how much i need to look after my bike more. Haha. Need to polish more too, getting less shinyER? Hahaz. Pretty expensive bike to get in the first place (for me at least) and i would rather keep it nice and pretty as well as running smooth rather than having the bike slowly deteriorate into crap. Cheers guys!!

http://a6.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-ash4/215516_10150171244112662_758872661_6843653_6066750_n.jpg