I guess my bike is in a sticky situation right now... would like to seek some advice from you guys.

My bike can't be started earlier in the morning, after a heavy thunder storm. But my bike was parked in the mscp, so it wasn't even caught in the rain. (I don't think this info helps, but still, just to make my problem more precise.) Then after school, I went home and try to start it again.

Bike can be started but the idling sound seems different (sound kinda weak). After a while, it will slowly idle and then die off. I restarted the engine and this repeated quite a few times. After that, I started the engine and throttle just a little bit. Engine didn't die off. And it sounded more normal. But a few minutes after I let go of the throttle, the idling slowly get slower until it dies off again. Is the carb due for a wash? Or something to do with the timing chain/tensioner?

Also, when the engine was running, I tried to throttle it till around 8-10k rpm. Can see white smoke coming out from the pipe. What does this means?

Anyone got any rough idea about what problems are my bike facing? I'm riding Suzuki Bandit and bike was certified in good condition by Guan Hoe during June and planet last month. (If this information is useful)

I am intending to bring it to planet for a service cum check up tomorrow, but I stay in the west. Is it safe to ride there?

Some advices would be much appreciated.

肥仔七åƒå·

• Replies 20

Best check your choke..is it open or close?...

current bikes: NSR 250 PGM4, HRC CBR 1k & SYM GTS200

Cars :KIA CERATO H/B(05-09)

Bikes:Ypvs 125(90-92),NSR PGM 2(92-93),MBX 125(93-94)

TZr250(94-95),GSXR 400sp(95-98),Aprilia Extrema(96-98), Fireblade 400(98-00),RXZ(98-00),RVF400(00-02), Dalim magma(00-02),RXZ(00-01) Krr150(00-03),R6(02-05),Wave(03-05),125z(03-05),RXZ(08),DRZ SM(06-08)VTR SP1(08-11)Phantom 200(08-10),Fz1s(11-13)

white smoke, likely fuel is contaminated with water. or piston ring defective. nevertheless, u might wanna try to start again. if this is the prob, ride to the nearest bike shop n have it checked. if its contaminated, all the fuel have to b drained. spark plug changed n carb serviced n top up with clean petrol.

i haven rode under the rain for quite long liao leh... and i only pump sg petrol. if engine problem den sian already. :(

i will definitely start the bike tomorrow... assess the situation den decide whether to go to the nearest bike shop or to planet. hope it's nothing serious.

er..adjust idling screw? hold ur throttle longer until ur bike is warmed up?

planet towing 67474740

u should know wad.. i jus got the bike. haven see mech doing that so idk how to do that. but err ok... later or tml i will go do 5BX with the bike until it's warm up. =x

but thanks for the number tho. :makeup:

肥仔七åƒå·

i haven rode under the rain for quite long liao leh... and i only pump sg petrol. if engine problem den sian already. :(

i will definitely start the bike tomorrow... assess the situation den decide whether to go to the nearest bike shop or to planet. hope it's nothing serious.

sometimes, it got nothing to do with rain. i had my part of bad experience. no rain. morning start, idling low so engine die off. throttle abit to maintain the rev but white smoke coming out. still can ride but will die off easily. so i send the bike for a check, cannot disgnose wats the main cause. suspect fuel contamination. so, carb is serviced, spark plugs changed, fuel tank drained n flushed with clean fuel n top up. then everything was back to normal. so confirm is fuel contamination. n guess wat?? i'm pumping local petrol!! :sian:

hey bro u got the bike from guan hoe?

anyway i feel that it maybe the throttle body/carb is dirty and need for flush, worst case scenario will be piston ring worn, engine oil leak into piston and got combusted and hence the white smoke.

get it check asap, can try alexandra village shops, HKL, racewerks.

hope it helps =)

hi bro, by the way when u bought a used bike from shop, better to go for a servicing like oil/plug change at other motordiam as sometime the shop is too busy to service ur bike before handing over to u.

the place i got my bike from promise to do oil/plug change b4 handing over to me, however when i went for oil change after 2 wks, the drained oil is BLACK and plug is white and burned.

juz my 2cents

sometimes, it got nothing to do with rain. i had my part of bad experience. no rain. morning start, idling low so engine die off. throttle abit to maintain the rev but white smoke coming out. still can ride but will die off easily. so i send the bike for a check, cannot disgnose wats the main cause. suspect fuel contamination. so, carb is serviced, spark plugs changed, fuel tank drained n flushed with clean fuel n top up. then everything was back to normal. so confirm is fuel contamination. n guess wat?? i'm pumping local petrol!! :sian:

hope this is the case. will bring the bike for a check up tomorrow. any idea how much does servicing of carb cost?

anyway i feel that it maybe the throttle body/carb is dirty and need for flush, worst case scenario will be piston ring worn, engine oil leak into piston and got combusted and hence the white smoke.

hope it helps =)

nope. i got it from the forum, but went guan hoe for an oil change den ask them to assess my bike before.

actually i also kinda afraid my engine oil is being combusted together with the petrol.

will see how again tomorrow morning. dun wanna end up pushing my bike all the way to the bike shop. :lol:

hi bro, by the way when u bought a used bike from shop, better to go for a servicing like oil/plug change at other motordiam as sometime the shop is too busy to service ur bike before handing over to u.

the place i got my bike from promise to do oil/plug change b4 handing over to me, however when i went for oil change after 2 wks, the drained oil is BLACK and plug is white and burned.

juz my 2cents

i changed the oil after i got the bike a week. was intending to change the plugs and filters etc on my next oil change. but guess gotta bring it forward and do it tomorrow also.

anyway i went to guan hoe, planet and a small motorshop near my place for servicing usually and i stay there and watch them do all the thing 1. :o can learn more at the same time.

oh... inflation rate quite high nowadays. 2c not enough leh. must give at least 5c. =x

Edited by stanco

肥仔七åƒå·

i would suggest send the bike to a trusted mech, instead of going to just any nearest bike shop.

even if it means u have to tow.

hope it helps =)

isn't engine oil supposed to lube the cylinder and pistons?

http://farm5.static.flickr.com/4081/4931040347_0bda87b07d_b.jpg

yes.. but it isnt suppose to go into the combustion camber.. unlike the 2-stroke

Bah-weep-Graaaaagnah wheep ni ni bong.

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v643/wayangxjr/contrast_siggy.jpg

Ok, just got back from planet.

Dr Chong checked the battery but charging system is good. then he drained abit of petrol... no water or any other things.

He say cos plug got wet. the reason why i could start it again last night after school was because the water dried off liao. but since i said i parked in mscp and didn't ride in the rain, he told me cat climbed up my bike and pee on it... which is like -__-|l lah. haha....

i did mention abt the white smoke once, but he never say anything about it and i also forgot to clarify with him. but he assure me bike is in good condition and nothing to worry about... when i got home, parked my bike on main stand and open throttle... no more white smoke so dunnoe what really happened. will monitor over the next few days/weeks and see how.

ended up changing engine oil and plugs over there. carb not in need to wash since water did not get into the carb. Dr Chong say if water get into the petrol and get into the carb... engine will not be able to start at all.

let's hope he's right and my bike will stay healthy for a long time. :cool:

肥仔七åƒå·

hope this is the case. will bring the bike for a check up tomorrow. any idea how much does servicing of carb cost?

nope. i got it from the forum, but went guan hoe for an oil change den ask them to assess my bike before.

actually i also kinda afraid my engine oil is being combusted together with the petrol.

will see how again tomorrow morning. dun wanna end up pushing my bike all the way to the bike shop. :lol:

i changed the oil after i got the bike a week. was intending to change the plugs and filters etc on my next oil change. but guess gotta bring it forward and do it tomorrow also.

anyway i went to guan hoe, planet and a small motorshop near my place for servicing usually and i stay there and watch them do all the thing 1. :o can learn more at the same time.

oh... inflation rate quite high nowadays. 2c not enough leh. must give at least 5c. =x

servicing cost depends on wat bike u r riding. u have to get the quote yourself. which guan hoe u went to? suzuki agent?

i would suggest send the bike to a trusted mech, instead of going to just any nearest bike shop.

even if it means u have to tow.

isn't engine oil supposed to lube the cylinder and pistons?

checking dun need money. but if they wanna charge, just go somewhere else.

engine oil is suppose to lube the engine. n piston rings is to seal the combustion chamber n the oil sump. so if the piston rings didn't seal properly, then the engine oil will b blown into the combustion chamber n combust away. n its not white smoke. by theory, its blue or purple smoke but its not very visible.

servicing cost depends on wat bike u r riding. u have to get the quote yourself. which guan hoe u went to? suzuki agent

the one that was previously at eunos but has since moved to kaki bukit 1 lor. but isn't guan hoe = suzuki agent already? anyway i went there once only...

but happened to follow my friend to planet once, which i find there more friendly and ah chong really knowledge and willing to share so has been going over to planet when i encounter any big problem these days despite me staying in the west.

肥仔七åƒå·

juz my 2cents

the drained oil that come out if it's black is normal.

if the oil that come out is watery and white then must do top service to the engine block liao le.

as for the plug colour determine the combustion of the piston. if too little petrol the colour will be white. the optimal colour is purple. that's the best.

2004 - 2006 Yamaha RXZ

2006 - ? Suzuki Raider

2009 - ? Honda RVF

http://i45.tinypic.com/qn7edi.jpg

http://i50.tinypic.com/35anqpx.jpg

Ok, just got back from planet.

Dr Chong checked the battery but charging system is good. then he drained abit of petrol... no water or any other things.

He say cos plug got wet. the reason why i could start it again last night after school was because the water dried off liao. but since i said i parked in mscp and didn't ride in the rain, he told me cat climbed up my bike and pee on it... which is like -__-|l lah. haha....

i did mention abt the white smoke once, but he never say anything about it and i also forgot to clarify with him. but he assure me bike is in good condition and nothing to worry about... when i got home, parked my bike on main stand and open throttle... no more white smoke so dunnoe what really happened. will monitor over the next few days/weeks and see how.

ended up changing engine oil and plugs over there. carb not in need to wash since water did not get into the carb. Dr Chong say if water get into the petrol and get into the carb... engine will not be able to start at all.

let's hope he's right and my bike will stay healthy for a long time. :cool:

hmm. this is wad i heard my mechanic.

if white smoke is the piston ring need to be replace already.

if black smoke is too much petrol intake already.

just do a proper top service i think your bike should be ok. but proper maintenance of the bike is also important to keep it in top condition.

my suzuki kup i ride for almost 3 years, no major operation. just regular change of engine oil n plug that's all.

2004 - 2006 Yamaha RXZ

2006 - ? Suzuki Raider

2009 - ? Honda RVF

http://i45.tinypic.com/qn7edi.jpg

http://i50.tinypic.com/35anqpx.jpg