[DIY] How to cosmetically modify the Phantom?

Just dropped by the paya ubi Aunty shop earlier. I dont like her service. I go look see. She ask me push the bike to the area right inside her shop there. So that can start removing and changing things already. Felt damn stressed! I'd rather go to ahkoon and relax. Even if he has less stuff.

Got bike must ride!

SYM Maxsym 400i - 09/11/12 to current

Phantom TA200 - 07/08/09 to 09/11/12

• Replies 1.1k

see, alot people complain about aunty shop. but have to admit she got the variety.

Definitely variety is there. Anyway, how you achieve your 40km/L with better performance? I have topbox and saddlebags though.

Got bike must ride!

hmm, that one is from kopitiam engineering. you have to speak with @Pandora's Kitten :3 to educate you more on how you can optimise the fuel efficiency and power.

he has saddlebags and windscreen etc and still can get super good fuel economy and power.

http://i232.photobucket.com/albums/ee280/Zancifer/IMG_0625-1-1.jpg

http://i232.photobucket.com/albums/ee280/Zancifer/IMG_0624-1.jpg

anyone know where to mod something like dis or anyone provide such service?

anyone know how much is the saddle bags?

The Auntie shop that i went to certainly seems like they have those side covers(abt 70), saddlebags(abt 60+) and crashbar(abt 70+)..

Fenders seems customised from a shadows? and the tank lift, one of our bros here(devil.L) has done it before! haha.

Probably one of the more senior members can shed more light for you! =)

you use hose clamps. 50mm. hardware stores will have them

can someone take a picture of a fully wrapped exhaust header with aluminium foil? would like to see how it's done properly.

do you just wrap it single layer around the entire header or do you fold the foil into long strips and horizontally wrap over the header? i'm quite baffled by this. thanks in advance!

I think ezzyoiler is willing to do so for phantom exhaust. He did mine for $40. Looks n feels great!

Got bike must ride!

do it our way and its FREE.

@jhengh, what you do is use sheets of aluminium foil and tear it 1 feet wide.then with reflective side facing in, wrap it around the header, then the next 1 foot of foil wrap it slightly lower the edge of the earlier piece. then you proceed to wrap layer overlapping layer until you covered most of the header. try not to get it too thick. around 20 sheets for the entire header is more than enough, roughly 1 roll of alu foil. then you use hose clamps to secure.

get me?

do make sure you squeeze it tight so the air is out of the packed foil. your first ride with it will smell of burning but thats normal, a few more ride and it will be gone. then you hear your exhaust sounds oh so beautiful...........

I can roughly imagine the thing. can i still request for a picture though? it would help a whole lot in getting it right, like which part to clamp.

Question: wouldn't the aluminium foil be too thin and tear off rather quickly if left exposed that way? is there a kind of 3M tape or something to secure it better? just wondering.

that's basically the whole fundamental of the kopitiam engineering right?

autobec, there's at bukit timah, google it up.

there's another outlet at kaki bukit or somewhere there.

thy're selling it at sgd111. more thn enough to wrap 4 phantom.

alternatively, i can another one from my side at app 80bux. probably just enough to wrap 3.

black&white saves life.

enquire @ [email protected] | 94786'999

can the exhaust pipe (chrome part) of ta200 be wrap with a matte black sticker. thinking not to paint it. hope someone here did it before and can tell me where he did it.

2014-2014: Vespa PX200E

2011-present: Honda TA200

2007-2011: Yamaha RXK135

silent hunter let me know if you wanna buy the exhaust wrap. are you getting the dei one?

i've watched on youtube that it's best to get the dei high temperate silicone spray as well after securing with the steel clamps.

Sure melt one lor.... :sian:

Then the exhaust become blacker. Forever black. :lol:

wah so no choice liao. either paint black or got to leave it as it is le. if anyone do before pls post it here ok! oh ya anyone knows the paint code for orange sportser 883? like that colour alot. or anyone knows where to get that paint?

I take my hat off to you guys.

Are you intent on keeping with this bike or is it seen as another step on the biking ladder to something better? Just curious.

Forever the Foreigner

I take my hat off to you guys.

Are you intent on keeping with this bike or is it seen as another step on the biking ladder to something better? Just curious.

u referring to me? I've changed from a rxk to phantom cus i feel that i shd try out different rides. I'm still a student so yup, dunno will keep or not when I start working but in the mean time i just want to make it into something tt I want it to be. got really attracted by the orange from sportster 883. intended to mod the whole bike but gf wants the box and i really dont want to go back to the boxless days after having one so probably now only changing the colour of the bike. if anyone knows the code pls tell me man! hope to get the colour done during my holidays.