Is riding a small bike (eg. 125cc, 150cc) on PG track very "ridiculous" and makes you a &q  

408 members have voted

1. 1. Is riding a small bike (eg. 125cc, 150cc) on PG track very "ridiculous" and makes you a &q

• YES, you racer-wannabe! Go get yourself a 600cc first!
    • NO, nothing wrong what...
    • I DON'T KNOW, what is track?

Cool. Thanks for the tips.

Will try it out on Sat with the DRZ.

My ride for 2012 - Yamaha WR250X 2008

Previous rides:

ROAD/FUN: Honda Sonic, VTR250, Kawa Z1000 & Kawa KSR110, Suzuki Savage

SPORT: Kawa ZXR400, Suzuki SV650, Honda CBR600F3 & CBR929RR, Aprilia RS125 & RS250,

DIRT: Honda XR200 & XR600L, DRZ-400SM, DRZ-400-S, GasGas EC200, KTM 200 EXC & 250EXC-F, Tricker

Pics @ http://www.bikepics.com/members/axxis/

• Replies 396

Originally posted by smalldidi@May 15 2006, 05:00 PM

yes ..i tried the method..less brake..more throttle...tried entering corner from 100kmh to 150kmh...after 3 laps....Fun & Excited

Wow! I am impressed. :thumb:

Not many corners in PG can be taken at 150 KMH, probably only two that I can think of.

Which corner did you take at 150 KMH after 3 laps?? It took me about 10 sessions at PG before I was able to take Turn 2 at that kind of speed.

:cheeky: hehe T2....firstly i thought need to brake or decrease the speed abit...but later i found that, if u push then u will feel more stable...cox maybe the force from the wind or machine itself....besides, i think t6 also can (downhill) but due to downhill i think my machine had run into limit thus need to decrease throttle a bit worried "jam"...correct me if i m wrong....but the 150kph was my top speed of my stock cub kia..:sweat: hehe pai seh ar.....

small little red devil:bouncefire:

hi raptor anymore track day ?....eat racing, sleep racing,work racing....i m addicted ald...even small little bike...but i can feel n enjoy the FUN myself...:cheeky:

Originally posted by smalldidi@May 18 2006, 12:37 PM

hi raptor anymore track day ?....eat racing, sleep racing,work racing....i m addicted ald...even small little bike...but i can feel n enjoy the FUN myself...:cheeky:

This weekend, we are going to Sepang.

Would be a bit of a struggle for you to bring the cub kia all the way there I think.

Also I think you would have better fun at PG with your bike. As what you saw in the picture posted in the PG Track Day thread... its great fun to just join in and race in the 5 Lap Race for 400cc and below. I think those scooter guys had a blast too.

The next PG Track Day would be in June.

But I think its really great that you take your bike, even though it is a small one, to PG to race around. Smart and safe thing to do.

After a few more trips to the track, you will not feel like racing on the public roads. You will realise that it is not worth your life at all just proving to the other bike that you can weave in out of traffic faster or kup a corner lower than him.

You won't do it coz you know from what you experienced at the track that you ARE capable of doing it and feel you do NOT NEED to prove to anyone. When they see that there are no chicken strips on your track scuffed tyres whilst you are stopped at a traffic light, they WILL KNOW what you are capable of doing.

And that's when you will realise why people always say 'Take your ego to the track and leave it there'. You show yourself and others what you can do on your bike at the track, which is in a safe controlled environment. And not on public roads where corners have hidden dangers like oil spills and sand and other idiotic inconsiderate road users.

Ride safe Bro. The fun has just begun.

Originally posted by Raptor@May 18 2006, 08:44 PM

This weekend, we are going to Sepang.

Would be a bit of a struggle for you to bring the cub kia all the way there I think.

Also I think you would have better fun at PG with your bike. As what you saw in the picture posted in the PG Track Day thread... its great fun to just join in and race in the 5 Lap Race for 400cc and below. I think those scooter guys had a blast too.

The next PG Track Day would be in June.

But I think its really great that you take your bike, even though it is a small one, to PG to race around. Smart and safe thing to do.

After a few more trips to the track, you will not feel like racing on the public roads. You will realise that it is not worth your life at all just proving to the other bike that you can weave in out of traffic faster or kup a corner lower than him.

You won't do it coz you know from what you experienced at the track that you ARE capable of doing it and feel you do NOT NEED to prove to anyone. When they see that there are no chicken strips on your track scuffed tyres whilst you are stopped at a traffic light, they WILL KNOW what you are capable of doing.

And that's when you will realise why people always say 'Take your ego to the track and leave it there'. You show yourself and others what you can do on your bike at the track, which is in a safe controlled environment. And not on public roads where corners have hidden dangers like oil spills and sand and other idiotic inconsiderate road users.

Ride safe Bro. The fun has just begun.

mmmm..thks raptor..:thumb: but normally i take the public transport or driving ..thus riding just for FUN....i love to feel the wind through my body....thinking to go sepang too..but i think a bit struggling for my little bike even i reach sepang ....mmm will try to get van from fren soon........:cheeky:

Originally posted by Raptor@Dec 31 2005, 08:13 PM

With the right coaching... it will only be a matter of time you should be kneesliding almost all the corners in PG, as it is a very tight and technical track. But please make sure the tyres on your bike are fresh. She is able to go that low in the corners simply because her tyres are holding up. Older tyres tend to age harden and lose their grip easily.

Allow me to sidetrack a bit on this track issue, please.

We need to see more 2B riders on PG track. It is better to learn how to ride fast and know the limits of your own personal riding capability there, than on the public roads of Singapore.

Takes too long to get that licence and it ain't worth it just to lose it overnight due to dangerous riding and/or speeding, worst still is losing your life along with it.

Racing with others on Singapore streets does not prove that you are a legend, fierce or brave.... it only proves that you are totally inconsiderate of other road users and a complete legendary bloody idiot.

Want to show others you are a superfast rider and a Rossi protege?? Bring it to the track where such acts belong.

hello guys....just brought my rs125 down to pg today with another malay guy riding rs125..its fun and exciting..saw a few big bikes overtaking me...maybe i think i need a good teacher to teach me how to slide during corners....heard shedevil is good on the track...maybe i learn a few tips from her..ahakz

Bikes

2003 - 2003 : TZM 150(Tasha) sold to albert

2004 - 2005: TZM 150(Tiera) sold to asphoon

2005 - 2007 : RS125(Ashley) sold to mah

2006 - 2007 : RUNNER(Gigi) Sold to a guy in sbf

2007 - 2007 : SPARK135(Shasha) Sold to a friend

2007 - current: RS250(Aini) currently riding

http://i147.photobucket.com/albums/r309/macan_putih/meNjun.jpg

Originally posted by macan_putih@May 31 2006, 02:33 AM

hello guys....just brought my rs125 down to pg today with another malay guy riding rs125..its fun and exciting..saw a few big bikes overtaking me...maybe i think i need a good teacher to teach me how to slide during corners....heard shedevil is good on the track...maybe i learn a few tips from her..ahakz

Haha... Macan_Putih, dun tell me u dun knw how to slide through the corners?

C'mon man... I knw u can do it. Aight?

Originally posted by macan_putih@May 31 2006, 02:33 AM

WOW!!! :lovestruck: The last person I know who's really at home at sliding around corners is by the name of Gary McCoy.. :thumb:

Didn't know there's actually Crouching Tiger And Hidden Dragons amongst the forum here.. :thumb: :thumb:

http://img295.imageshack.us/img295/5600/kuantan049596tc9.jpg
Originally posted by HellRider@May 31 2006, 04:55 AM

Haha... Macan_Putih, dun tell me u dun knw how to slide through the corners?

C'mon man... I knw u can do it. Aight?

where got hellrider..i know but i am not that good yet...need someone to teach me more

Bikes

2003 - 2003 : TZM 150(Tasha) sold to albert

2004 - 2005: TZM 150(Tiera) sold to asphoon

2005 - 2007 : RS125(Ashley) sold to mah

2006 - 2007 : RUNNER(Gigi) Sold to a guy in sbf

2007 - 2007 : SPARK135(Shasha) Sold to a friend

2007 - current: RS250(Aini) currently riding

http://i147.photobucket.com/albums/r309/macan_putih/meNjun.jpg

Originally posted by rhema83@Jan 23 2004, 10:32 AM

See (and hear) so many comments from some forumers and friends that riding my small small sport bike (NSR150SP nia...) to PG is "ridiculous". One a-hole even branded all 150cc riders who do up their bike, be it track or not, to be "chow ah-beng" "racer-wannabe" "dreaming".

So what's the general public opinion on this??

Strengthen ur Balls...

Shut ur Brain... (and u can ride any bike )

FOCUS on the track and Shut up...

Important... take Bad & Good remarks by any riders seriously...

Evaluate the remarks and try keep up with them...

Shut up & R!dez...

Originally posted by #145@Jun 1 2006, 06:52 PM

Strengthen ur Balls...

Shut ur Brain... (and u can ride any bike )

FOCUS on the track and Shut up...

Important... take Bad & Good remarks by any riders seriously...

Evaluate the remarks and try keep up with them...

How to keep up with you bro?? My shifu said u very fast and skilful le??

Originally posted by macan_putih@May 31 2006, 10:33 PM

where got hellrider..i know but i am not that good yet...need someone to teach me more

Then I guess, U gotta follow the seniors/professionals when they head down to track. :thumb:

Originally posted by slider@Jun 2 2006, 03:13 AM

How to keep up with you bro?? My shifu said u very fast and skilful le??

Ur shifu must be jokin... Me kena Blast with lots of bike he didnt share wit u...:cry:

Shut up & R!dez...

I also very slow rider.... need someone to teach me how to go faster on track.

Wait till I achieve my objective.... I will be back with a more powerful engine and a more sexy bike......

IMO, bikes being big or small doesn't make a difference.

As long as the rider has the correct attitude and safety awareness, he should be welcomed to play at PG.

I'm only against those dangerous riders.

For example last year, I was blasting my WRX down Sepang's main straight, only to get a rude shock from this Silvia right in front of me trying to drift his car unsuccessfully, skidding his rear wheel left & right. I had to jam on my brakes 'coz its safer to stay behind him as he was practising his drifting left, right, centre & all over Turn 1. Even though its obvious I was just behind him, he didn't give a damn and proceeded to practise his uncoordinated drifting at Turn 2. Then he tried it as Turn 3, and finally slid off the track. Only then did I left him behind. Had I tried to pass him on Turn 3, I may have been taken out. Such poor driving etiquette on track is selfish and dangerous! Similarly, cars on track that were either newbies or on a slow lap, automatically flashes both signal lights, giving way to cars on hot lap, and not taking the inside corner. These drivers are being considerate and are safety conscious. That should be the way! :thumb:

The same goes for bikers. Engine big or small doesn't matter, as long as we know the safe and non-selfish way of riding on track.

My 0.02 cents! :smile:

http://www.triumph.co.uk/images/Daytona675_gallery_main_1_2008.jpg

What do bikes do when they are on track for a "warm up" or "slow" lap then? Not everyone has hazard lights. What is the convention?

being newbie on the track, one will be so much be focusing their attention on their ride.. i dun think a newbie will be able to even think of showin any consideration to other track users.. and they shudn't be blamed either..

i guess it shud be otherwise, the regular and faster track goers shud be more accommodating instead...

http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3007/2652402314_eb7483892a_o.jpg

Tried out my friend's Aprilla 125RS on the track for two sessions yesterday. First session was feeling the bike out, second session was trying to push the limits of myself on a 2B bike.

Now I know why they say there is almost no engine braking for small 2 strokers.

Was trying to brake as little as possible and find the fastest lining through the corners so that the bike does not lose its momentum was an exercise in pure concentration itself.

Bike takes like forever to build up speed.