I am an avid reader of the "Today while riding" thread and it has bring to my attention that most of the stuffs that were posted there were kinda negative. No doubt the population of the vehicles over the years has increase exponentially, but are there really nothing but negative things to be encountered on the road nowadays?

Also in the news recently, there's this news about parents complaining about the PSLE paper. Math paper too hard, they complained. The comprehension for the Chinese paper was a replicate (I think), they also complained. Yes, complaining is a trait of Singaporean but so what if the children are unable to get the right solution for the 10 marks questions (just an example). Why don't parents look at the 60-80 marks the children managed to secure instead?

What I am trying to say here is that it seems that we kinda take things for granted and often only look and remember about the negative events in our life. But if we were to take a step back and be contented easier, there are actually alot of nice things worth mentioning and bring a smile to us.

When was the last time someone action brought a smile to your face? Remember how easy it was for you to smile when your best friend in primary school share sweets with you or your parents promise you a toy or a visit to the mac donald over the weekend when you were young?

Anyway I will get the ball rolling. I used to have wide handle bar and hence has some problem with lane splitting. Usually when I see bikes behind me, I will filter in and let them overtook me if possible. Not that I have to do this, I just don't like to hold people up. Numerous bikes had overtook me, but I can only recall 2-3 riders putting up their hand to show their appreciation to me. Not that I expect them to be thankful to me or what, but it somehow just warm my heart that someone out there actually appreciate the actions I did.

Just the other day, I was on the first lane of a 3 lane road. Next to me was a cement truck and I needed to filter left but the distance was very short. I was prepared to slow down and wait for the truck to move forward so I can cut in behind him, but that truck driver actually gave way to me first. It definitely made my day and I raised my left hand to show my appreciation to him.

If you need more examples.... it can be a small thing like making a new friend on the road/class, or you meet a driver like the above mentioned that give way to you when you signal, or you see some kind act by others.... all these kinda do warmth the heart and bring a smile to the face, at least to mine.

Like my once good friend, who happened to be a member in this forum, used to tell me. Sadness shared is half the burden gone but happiness shared is doubled the joy. So are you willing to share your joy with me? Although this is a bike forum, happiness need not be only from on the road. It can be things you encounter off the road as well.

Smiling is an international language and it's the best tool to bridge distance. So, what makes you smile today?

肥仔七åƒå·

• Replies 305

well i think abt the "today while riding" part being negative.. it is cos usually the negative things are the ones that will leave a deeper impression on us..

also, on the road, it feels somewhat harder to experience something that will brighten up ur day..

most of the time the good things that happen on the roads will be looking at the chicks crossing the road or waiting at busstops, or trying to hail cabs.

well i think abt the "today while riding" part being negative.. it is cos usually the negative things are the ones that will leave a deeper impression on us..

also, on the road, it feels somewhat harder to experience something that will brighten up ur day..

most of the time the good things that happen on the roads will be looking at the chicks crossing the road or waiting at busstops, or trying to hail cabs.

hmm, its true that we tend to get a deeper impression of negative stuffs, that why i started this thread, hoping fellow riders to not overlook things. there are bound to be some positive things to be share as well even though the frequency might be lesser. if riding is all about negative incidents/impressions etc... then why so many of us choose to ride, right? :p

we, singaporean are always complaining. why no one take an effort to remember and praise all the good thing instead? like i say, no need to limit it to on the road encounters. :D

anyway my eyesight not good leh. haven get to see the girls' faces properly, i already zoom very far away from them liao. :cheeky:

肥仔七åƒå·

Well done stanco, you've stated it well. Your greatest enemy stopping you from being happy is yourself. If you want to be happy, you're the one who can make yourself happy.

He who hesitates is lost!

Well done stanco, you've stated it well. Your greatest enemy stopping you from being happy is yourself. If you want to be happy, you're the one who can make yourself happy.

well said :cheers:

Class2B - 11 Dec 08

Past - Honda Wave 125S

Current - Kawasaki KRR 150

Class3 - 26/09/09

Current - Lancer GLX 1.6

One Life, Treasure It

http://i180.photobucket.com/albums/x70/nengwei/R6-1.jpg

Future - YZF R6

I always smile when im riding ... I dunt care if people tells me im nuts but i smile coz im contented with riding ...

lol i kena shoot by ppl say i ride bike always smiling smile lyk idiot retarded ..lolx..din care out themm :cheeky:

Class2B - 11 Dec 08

Past - Honda Wave 125S

Class3 - 26/09/09

Current - Lancer GLX 1.6

One Life, Treasure It

Future - YZF R6

My sister bought me a box of Pocky sticks (:

nice one... :cheeky:

the brilliant 250cc race brightened my day... :smile:

lol i kena shoot by ppl say i ride bike always smiling smile lyk idiot retarded ..lolx..din care out themm :cheeky:

wear a full face? got protection plus ppl cant see u keep smiling and say u like retard or idiot liao. :cheeky:

i haven't =) all day....

today just suckz.

dun worry. tml will be a better day, hopefully. today not my day either. having a splitting headache but i :) cos the replies slowly but at least starting to flow in.

肥仔七åƒå·

For me, it's definitely reminiscing the interesting things that I have done the past weekend, or the interesting places I have rode to.

All these sat down with a cuppa.

http://img229.imageshack.us/img229/6334/teabiscuits.jpg

When done properly, your tastebuds can convey a sort of happiness too.

For me, it's definitely reminiscing the interesting things that I have done the past weekend, or the interesting places I have rode to.

All these sat down with a cuppa.

http://img229.imageshack.us/img229/6334/teabiscuits.jpg

When done properly, your tastebuds can convey a sort of happiness too.

did u steal the cookies from cookie monster? :cheeky:

I just realise my TP is in 10 days time :) and the girl i like sms me and chat with me for a little while.. :cheeky:

Actually its just a simple sms yet I am so happy about it.. sighh im so useless

don't say that lah. i feel happy when i receive sms from my friends too. a way to say you are remember. but i am usually forgotten most of the time. :lol:

anyway :goodluck: to your tp! 4th nov will be a good day. :D

肥仔七åƒå·

I just realise my TP is in 10 days time :) and the girl i like sms me and chat with me for a little while.. :cheeky:

Actually its just a simple sms yet I am so happy about it.. sighh im so useless

It's just a simple sms yet you are so happy about it.

sigh you are so useless.....hahahaha

give you a thumbs up for that

i am :) because i feel that i am lucky to have met a lot of kind people

i am :) because finally my friend's dogs recognise me as their friend

boring rider. with a boring bike.

too old to want to appear interesting anymore.

wow USD300k? Now exchg 1.38+, better convert to SGD fast.

managed to twist a few arms, negotiated a contract against me to my advantage in a deal. phew. Feels good.

Edited by cougar

great to see you ppl sharing all the good things in your life. hope to see more! :D

hmm anyway i thought economy is picking up and since it's alr consider the end of year, might as well wait till next year when ppl all used their bonus to push the economy futher to achieve a better exchange rate?

p/s: i am not suggesting... jus wondering if the above is like, err... workable/realistic?

肥仔七åƒå·

wear a full face? got protection plus ppl cant see u keep smiling and say u like retard or idiot liao. :cheeky:.

lolx.x :faint: :lol:

Class2B - 11 Dec 08

Past - Honda Wave 125S

Class3 - 26/09/09

Current - Lancer GLX 1.6

One Life, Treasure It

Future - YZF R6

His simple sms will bright up my Day !!

But not today :(