If this never happened before you changed coolant (believe you DIY) then I think its wiring problem...or your coolant level is not enough as you mentioned that coolant is gushing out (under pressure). The gush could be due to your hose tighting clips not tighten properly. Not sure how you do your coolant change but double check your DIY.

Your morning starting 'problem' is normal and common to all old bikes. If you want to make things better, settle for X-1R, green oil and CLS coating. It elimates friction and regain compression and should hell with your 'problem'. Believe me, old bikes need these stuff to stay 'young & strong'. :angel:

To confirm you fan is working..go to the fan cut on/off switch (left side back of radiator), the black stud looking thing with a wire and ground it. The fan should turn. This is just to check your fan status.

OK, i didnt DIY my coolent. Went to unique. I ride yesterday under hot sun, the temp didnt light up neither do the coolent gushing out. siao2 ah.. but to assure u dat my fan is working.

What is this X-1R, green oil and CLS coating? im lost. u talking bout the yamaha x1-r?? but anyway, ,most of my frens riding more than 10years old bike such as PB-1, ver s has such no problem on starting and letting the engine idle by itself to warm up.

Im loving every moment with my LV.

• Replies 18.1k

Dude, coolant matters, do take extra care and precaution, cos it may literally crack your engine. Identify the source first. If it's gushing out, the point of leakage should be pretty obvious. Is it from the small tuning hole at the side of the engine, or from the hose itself?

There was once I changed the exhaust header and had to dismantle the radiator. Didn't tighten the hose circlip properly during assembly. Next thing I know, smoke was coming out near the radiator section during engine start. The coolant evaporates quite readily under high pressure.

First up, check your coolant level. If it's ok, check your fan. Ah Pek already posted that you should ground it to get it running. It that too is ok, take another 15 - 20 minutes ride and verify that the Temp light still turns on. Then you have an electrical problem. Do monitor your coolant level from time to time.

Thanks dude. :)

Im loving every moment with my LV.

ar ha! thats the problem.

I not sure if his case is because of the motortiam he went. May be too busy and rush job but certainly, of lately..when someone comes to me and when I asked who did it the last job, it the same mototiam I heard. Always tot they were good..may be different mech or their hands are too full to do quality job.

No punk intended..you guys should double check and go back to where the last service the trouble came for..you are paying good money to have your bike done right.

Stupid Hurts!.:giddy:Speed doesn't kill, mistakes does :faint:

BEER!...it's cheaper than fuel now! DRINK!..DON'T RIDE!

"What is this X-1R, green oil and CLS coating? im lost. u talking bout the yamaha x1-r??"

No lah..that's a bike mine is 'ginseng' to a bike and bringing it up to expected performance. Can get the detail info from some of my previous post. Too lazy to type all over again. To discover the true..get the stuff and use it...LOL!

I not sure if his case is because of the motortiam he went. May be too busy and rush job but certainly, of lately..when someone comes to me and when I asked who did it the last job, it the same mototiam I heard. Always tot they were good..may be different mech or their hands are too full to do quality job.

No punk intended..you guys should double check and go back to where the last service the trouble came for..you are paying good money to have your bike done right.

Yeah. The motortiam in question had a great level of service when it just started. But after its second branch was opened, the service ain't that great anymore. The last time I went back, the odometer reset dial came out and when inserted, could not link up with the odo gears inside.

I do know that its cumbersome, having to dismantle the light and meter casing and I was pretty sure the mech there would go out of their way to help. Surprise surprise. He just gave me a reason, thinking I'd buy it.

"The inside is broken, you can just put superglue on the dial and push it in yourself. Nothing much we can do, unless you want to change the meter assembly"

Changed my tire and t'was the last time I patronised their shop. Fixed the dial myself anyways, after that.

For the certainty of death and the knowledge of life's fragility, makes it worth living.

ah pek..need your help...wan to replace the lightings for my meter...my rpm meter now totally no light liao...like gena black eye liao

å·±æ‰€ä¸æ¬²ï¼Œå‹¿æ–½äºŽäºº

Yeah. The motortiam in question had a great level of service when it just started. But after its second branch was opened, the service ain't that great anymore. The last time I went back, the odometer reset dial came out and when inserted, could not link up with the odo gears inside.

I do know that its cumbersome, having to dismantle the light and meter casing and I was pretty sure the mech there would go out of their way to help. Surprise surprise. He just gave me a reason, thinking I'd buy it.

"The inside is broken, you can just put superglue on the dial and push it in yourself. Nothing much we can do, unless you want to change the meter assembly"

Changed my tire and t'was the last time I patronised their shop. Fixed the dial myself anyways, after that.

The odometer dial stalk is actually screwed by a very small screw..much larger than glass frame screw but still smalla nd have to use a long stem screw driver to take it out. Its can be rusty and jam easily. If the mech do not know or somewhat forcefully take it out..its a F*it situation. Using siper glue helps putting it back but taking it off next time you need to disassemble the meter..its another story :sian:

ah pek..need your help...wan to replace the lightings for my meter...my rpm meter now totally no light liao...like gena black eye liao

Do you just want to replace the bulbs with the original type or LEDs or Strip LEDs type. Cost varies and different version of S4 has different type of bulbs variation. Pm if you are ready.

ermm...wat difference ar? anyway mine is a version s:cheeky:

Version S has two T5 and 1 T10 size socket.

Version R got two T10 and 1 T5...errr..I think.

Forget about putting back normal standard buld.

Best to use 6 LED strip per meter.

"What is this X-1R, green oil and CLS coating? im lost. u talking bout the yamaha x1-r??"

No lah..that's a bike mine is 'ginseng' to a bike and bringing it up to expected performance. Can get the detail info from some of my previous post. Too lazy to type all over again. To discover the true..get the stuff and use it...LOL!

the my-green oil can be purchased at autobacs. i think quite cheap only. cant rmb the price. autobacs at bukit batok thats where i first tried it. makes my engine goes softer and not like

"arrrrrrHHH" all the way.

can try. i tried, STP petrol treatment, octane booster, my green oil. and other random stuff.

my green oil is quite good i must say. well atleast better than stp on my bike.

There is no replacement for displacement, except for Ah Seng

Version S has two T5 and 1 T10 size socket.

Version R got two T10 and 1 T5...errr..I think.

Forget about putting back normal standard buld.

Best to use 6 LED strip per meter.

alrite pek 6 x 2 led strip then. how much will it cost? when you free i go find you do can? hehe .thank you leh!

Hi Guys Gals,

-May i know whether there is any significant difference in PB1 and VerS model?

-I have an offer for a PB1 but my concern is their lack of spare parts etc.can VerS spareparts be used on PB1?

Thx for helping to answer my queries (",)

the my-green oil can be purchased at autobacs. i think quite cheap only. cant rmb the price. autobacs at bukit batok thats where i first tried it. makes my engine goes softer and not like

"arrrrrrHHH" all the way.

can try. i tried, STP petrol treatment, octane booster, my green oil. and other random stuff.

my green oil is quite good i must say. well atleast better than stp on my bike.

Careful guys from where you get from..I hear/say that there are 'diluted' type of Green oil around and most reseller are not quite aware of it. There's a difference in packing and dye tone. Those who have use both knows that its not as effective.

Everywhere is selling at $6 per bottle and in a box of 5 is at $30...I can get mine for $5 less per box..ie. at $5 per bottle which last for three full tank...kekeke!:angel: Anyone want to save $s can pm.

Hi Guys Gals,

-May i know whether there is any significant difference in PB1 and VerS model?

-I have an offer for a PB1 but my concern is their lack of spare parts etc.can VerS spareparts be used on PB1?

Thx for helping to answer my queries (",)

Almost identical I shall say but what I know is that the main wiring hardness (of Ver S )between them is slightly difference with a few extra that a PB1 do not need but can be use.

Not sure what you meant by significant but if its the case of the engine and internal, they are identical. Small matter alike handle switches, meters..etc.or just about anything exterior can be compromised. What part you use between them, most of the time you can't tell the difference.

Both are good bikes anyway...but not necessary the particular one you are buying. You can come see mine if you want and I can give you some advise before deciding..for all you know you might want to by mine..LOL!

ah pek.. thanks for the oil filter and advices you gave jus now :)

Welcome my friend..you want some more let me know :cheeky:..I just ordered another box of $24 pieces...LOL! :angel:

alrite pek 6 x 2 led strip then. how much will it cost? when you free i go find you do can? hehe .thank you leh!

You wanna install yourself or what?

Heh bro..you not using X-1R anymore huh? Are you in NS now?..haven't seen you for a long time mannn!..the last was you got "blood shot" eyes at almost 4am in the morning....LOL!

Almost identical I shall say but what I know is that the main wiring hardness (of Ver S )between them is slightly difference with a few extra that a PB1 do not need but can be use.

Not sure what you meant by significant but if its the case of the engine and internal, they are identical. Small matter alike handle switches, meters..etc.or just about anything exterior can be compromised. What part you use between them, most of the time you can't tell the difference.

Both are good bikes anyway...but not necessary the particular one you are buying. You can come see mine if you want and I can give you some advise before deciding..for all you know you might want to by mine..LOL!

haha power Ah Pek! thx for the info man just what i wanted to noe.hopefully bike still available leh :dot:

You wanna install yourself or what?

erm..you can help me install? erm..noe nuts bout electronics..mechanics...everything..haha