Hi ah pek.

Thanks for the advice. went back and got a proper quote.

they are going to charge me $6100+6200 otr with insurance interest coe with new paintwork , and change back to original round headlight for me cause now it's the alien 1 and throw in a new rear tyre , engine oil and spark plug will change it infront of me before i collect the bike , it's without leovince.

he says $4800 includes ( machine , new spray , coe , tyres , eo sparkplug ) $650 for insurance 2nd party , $180 transfer fee , $380 processing fee. the rest is interest. he said if i wanna add leovince he will get a new 1 for me or he ask me to get from agent.

what do you think? i asked him to fire up the engine it sounded okay , and he says he's going to give warranty , what u think.?

• Replies 18.1k

Brandon : - they are going to charge me $6100+6200 otr with insurance interest coe with new paintwork , and change back to original round headlight for me cause now it's the alien 1 and throw in a new rear tyre , engine oil and spark plug will change it infront of me before i collect the bike , it's without leovince.

he says $4800 includes ( machine , new spray , coe , tyres , eo sparkplug ) $650 for insurance 2nd party , $180 transfer fee , $380 processing fee. the rest is interest. he said if i wanna add leovince he will get a new 1 for me or he ask me to get from agent.

what do you think? i asked him to fire up the engine it sounded okay , and he says he's going to give warranty , what u think.?

Free items are always attractive but misleading and its one of the strongest strategy in the sales line..it weaken the mind of any clients. Things like servicing all in one package etc..think about it..nothing cheap comes free and cheap things don't comes good.

Talk about paint work..it can be single layer of new caot only, looks good the day you see it but iszit a real good two to three layer paint job with priming base? As for the headdlamp replacement, make sure the wire comes cleean with a blue/green/white setup to the H4 bulb socket joints without poor twisted and sticky cheapo tape insulation. Those wires are freaking hot when your headlamp is "On"..I'm saying this is bekuz most Sai_Toa converted headlamp had this wiring "made do" to accomodate them and the wiring are also diffent as most of them use normal incandescent ligh bulb that has two filaments..H4 is very much different in brightness and heat.

Tyre?..back only? Depend on what they gave and how much you know. Could be old stock with harden compound in it and incompatible as a working pair for the front and unsafe after it's half life usage. Whatever, get them to get a good new set in a pair and pay the difference..asked how much first. Tell lies it's cheaper elsewhere if you do not trust him or dunno...ha...x3!

Spark plug..if its FREE (only), asked for Denso iridium.

No comments about COE and insurance.

"fire up the engine it sounded okay .." ...what is okay mannn?...LOL! You sure you can tell? ;0)

Warranty?..anotehr sales technic that makes you want to buy the product. Wise buyers would think differently..what we call, "sell him first, get the $$$$s..anything later then we talk (then we tell lies that "its like dat one)".

Most importantly, check the coolant reserve tank for COLOURED" coolant. If he's cooperative enough..let the engine run for 15 mins so that when the pressure builds up, there be leakage tell-tale sign. Before doing this, go squeeze every coolant hose (the three major ones are accessible) and feel for rust build up inside..squeeze hard and you can feel like you are crushing cracker biscuit). This means that previous owner/owners has been using tap water and radiator internal has rusted already. If this is the case, CHEMICAL flush and change of the coolant tubing are needed.

Have you tot of saving another $3k + more and get a newer bike that's 6 - 7 yrs?

Anyway, respect you decision whatever you make but I have somewhat identified the trickary of this trade..and you your case, he's kind of 'desperate' to sell the bike off to you. My advise..go with a big guy that can talk 'fierce' with a "damn wif u atitude" and got arms/legs body tattoo better still...LOL! Make sure they live up to their promise even if they want to charge high.

Good luck mannn!

Stupid Hurts!.:giddy:Speed doesn't kill, mistakes does :faint:

BEER!...it's cheaper than fuel now! DRINK!..DON'T RIDE!

yep the problem was at that neck area. The mech also told me that its a common problem area for the wiring due to the handle bar movement.

Guys, any idea how much will it cost to change the wiring for the whole bike? i don't wanna be stuck on PIE especially when it rains. haha

I just bought a ver R about 2 weeks ago.. now still running first tank of petrol.

Wanna see how is my FC..

Been reading this thread from page 80+... now only at 130+.. damn shag leh!!:sian:

I need a crash course..lol

Ah Pek.. u are like the super4 guru man!

Correct me if i am wrong, to improve on bike need to do things like grounding, special EO mixed with X-R, green oil (dunno wat is that)

Anyway I would like to change my coolent. can anyone teach me what coolent to buy and how to DIY change myself? I am super noobie. :shy:

It all about improving wear and tear areas for an old bike witout spending too much $$$s on hardware. Grounding is 'necessary' for older bike due to over teh years build up overall electrical system..if not, battery drained faster and also weaker supply to ignition coils for correct sparking in the combustion chamber. As for eo, no off the shelf eo can really satified an old bike..even with higher grade (Ws) use. You need further protection, engine sound muffling, gear cushsioning and most important..get rid off "friction".

Coolant change is easy..most ppl know how to do it afetr the first round wif me. The important part u have to learn is..is your coolant system working properly..lots of tell-tale sign that can aid you before trouble starts.

Edited by Ah Pek

yep the problem was at that neck area. The mech also told me that its a common problem area for the wiring due to the handle bar movement.

Guys, any idea how much will it cost to change the wiring for the whole bike? i don't wanna be stuck on PIE especially when it rains. haha

From what I know, its $380 onwards including new parts. Wire hardness cost $200+ or close to $300. If you can get your own or a good second hand one..workmanship is $100...a half to whole day job.

wah like that cannot get eps already. haha. Ah pek this weekend got meet ups or anything? this week i'm very free and i'm thinking of changing brake pads. Any recommendations? never changed before

Can go to Workshop...look for Ah Fook AMK Industrial Park 2 Blk 5032 #295..less that $40..about 30+ I think for back brakes. Call him first and tell him I send you. 64834938. If you got any specific brand you want..can get yourself but don't have to waste $$s lah..unless you racer for money type :angel:

It all about improving wear and tear areas for an old bike witout spending too much $$$s on hardware. Grounding is 'necessary' for older bike due to over teh years build up overall electrical system..if not, battery drained faster and also weaker supply to ignition coils for correct sparking in the combustion chamber. As for eo, no off the shelf eo can really satified an old bike..even with higher grade (Ws) use. You need further protection, engine sound muffling, gear cushsioning and most important..get rid off "friction".

Coolant change is easy..most ppl know how to do it afetr the first round wif me. The important park u have to learn is..is your coolant system working properly..lots of tell-tale sign that can aid you before trouble starts.

Looks like i need to let u see my bike if got any tell-tale signs and learn some tips from u & also learn how to change coolant. btw what brand of coolant should i buy? 1 bottle (? litres) enuff??

GileraRunnerVXR200 [B][COLOR="Black"]FW9973R[/COLOR][/B] (Jul 08 ~ Sep 09) RIP Oct 09 HondaCB400VerR aka XiaoBai (Dec 09 ~ Feb 11) YamahaFazer600 aka XiaoBai2 (Dec 11 ~ Dec 13) YamahaFino (Jul 10 ~ Current)
Looks like i need to let u see my bike if got any tell-tale signs and learn some tips from u & also learn how to change coolant. btw what brand of coolant should i buy? 1 bottle (? litres) enuff??

Don't buy..I have the concentrated active ones..you come I show you how to premixed for our temperature usage here.

Most mototiam have the rectifier grounded as their so called "point grounding"..mine is not, if anything goes..that should be it first. Anyway, you may want to check the charging output for 13.8v dc or slightly less but not below 12.8v dc 'guideline'. Need any help with that, come over on the weekend day time.

Btw..if you have to get a new battery, make sure it's the Yuasa "MF" (YTZ10) type. Last longer, more stable with current load delivery and very stable. Chiong Aik is selling at $160..if you need help to get cheaper..pm me. This is not your regular electrolyte liquid injected then sealed type at ($65 to $85) from the usual mototiam.

Luckily there wasn't a grounding point at the rectifier! Fixed it already. I used the sealed type Yuasa.. Got it for $45 at Ah Boy. Hopefully with the grounding lead connected back to the -ve terminal, it'll last at least a year and a half. Hopefully..

Throttling at about 3k rpm gave an output of about 13.5vdc to the battery. At idle, it's at 12.8vdc. Should be just right. Ah Pek, do you by any chance have the Ver S manual in pdf format?

Ah Pek, I still haven't gotten the X-1R from you. Do you have a bottle at hand now? Gonna use it once I've finished rebuilding my engine. So gonna stock up now.

i wunder when my batt need 2 change ....now i c inside so pack , change battery sure sianzz 1/2

Yeah.. Honda should be shot for making the battery compartment so small and tight! I was fiddling with the battery terminals for like 45 mins yesterday trying to screw in the -ve terminal with the grounding lead.

On another note, Yamaha should also be shot for assembling the stator flywheel so tightly to the crankshaft of the r1.

For the certainty of death and the knowledge of life's fragility, makes it worth living.

Don't buy..I have the concentrated active ones..you come I show you how to premixed for our temperature usage here.

oh okiE! :) what time are u free 2nite ar? anw i sent u a PM

GileraRunnerVXR200 [B][COLOR="Black"]FW9973R[/COLOR][/B] (Jul 08 ~ Sep 09) RIP Oct 09 HondaCB400VerR aka XiaoBai (Dec 09 ~ Feb 11) YamahaFazer600 aka XiaoBai2 (Dec 11 ~ Dec 13) YamahaFino (Jul 10 ~ Current)
Luckily there wasn't a grounding point at the rectifier! Fixed it already. I used the sealed type Yuasa.. Got it for $45 at Ah Boy. Hopefully with the grounding lead connected back to the -ve terminal, it'll last at least a year and a half. Hopefully..

Throttling at about 3k rpm gave an output of about 13.5vdc to the battery. At idle, it's at 12.8vdc. Should be just right. Ah Pek, do you by any chance have the Ver S manual in pdf format?

Ah Pek, I still haven't gotten the X-1R from you. Do you have a bottle at hand now? Gonna use it once I've finished rebuilding my engine. So gonna stock up now.

Yeah.. Honda should be shot for making the battery compartment so small and tight! I was fiddling with the battery terminals for like 45 mins yesterday trying to screw in the -ve terminal with the grounding lead.

On another note, Yamaha should also be shot for assembling the stator flywheel so tightly to the crankshaft of the r1.

Yah..no problem. Just let me know when you want to collect it.

To get the screw to the terminal of the battery done faster and easier, have a ong test pen type flat head screw driver inserted behind the slot hole where the terminal nut isso that it stay 'unmovable' and forward. Just jammed it there si that when you wanna screw it with the terminal hex screw, it would run about.

erm ah peh u noe ???stock pipe got stock setting 4 the carb??

Yes..but for your case, not to worry because your's only the end can. I doubt the first person who owns it did nothing.

as a guide for your info, i recently changed the left & right units on my handlebar for the headlamp hi/low beam switch & engine start switch respectively. cost abt $80 for each unit - they're honda genuine parts but made in china.

hi, i was searching for this too but managed to find it online after quite a bit of googling. if i'm not wrong ver s is chassis nc31.

http://www.4shared.com/get/123285141/e89c2cee/cb400_documents.html;jsessionid=FD7819C1882AA9A69AEA1EB003B39D26.dc115

hi ah pek , i bought the bike already. will collect it sometime next month hopefully and will visit your clinic for full check up. i will come with my bro. huaster , mine is stock end can , u using yoshi wanna swap ??

Wise Men say,only fools rush in.

Eloo to all s4 bros..(new 2 dis thread & new to s4 bikes)

Just bought a verS recently. Uses the bike as transport frm JB home@Nusajaya to work@Tuas,so i'll like to know wat do i look 4 so dat the bike can stay longer & provide smooth riding? & how long do i need to go 4 servicing?:)

Eloo to all s4 bros..(new 2 dis thread & new to s4 bikes)

Just bought a verS recently. Uses the bike as transport frm JB home@Nusajaya to work@Tuas,so i'll like to know wat do i look 4 so dat the bike can stay longer & provide smooth riding? & how long do i need to go 4 servicing?:)

Install Ah Pek EO and X1-R, grounding and EPS. And also check your coolant.

Yes..but for your case, not to worry because your's only the end can. I doubt the first person who owns it did nothing.

ah pek u still got green oil?

juz finished the last bottle

keke

Thanks Ah Pek for the coolant change job and the all golden knowledge! now i feel more assured about my cooling system. Think now I can DIY myself and for my frens... hopefully la:cheeky:

Next time must chiA u kopi. Thanks again! :thumb:

NExt up monitor my FC then use ur special EO.

hi ah pek , i bought the bike already. will collect it sometime next month hopefully and will visit your clinic for full check up. i will come with my bro. huaster , mine is stock end can , u using yoshi wanna swap ??

Huh?..you changed bike..to what?

Install Ah Pek EO and X1-R, grounding and EPS. And also check your coolant.

:angel:..good recommendation. Kopee with french fries on me :)

ah pek u still got green oil?

juz finished the last bottle

keke

Fresh new one by this Friday.:angel: