anyone can tell me where to get fork brace??how much??

I tink lab selling for 70??

• Replies 18.1k

Rode my version S around Malaysia three weeks ago. Things I did to prepare were:

-check tires, brakes, lights and chain to ensure all are working fine and replace if needed before the trip.

-check oil and coolant and change if needed.

-check plugs and battery.

-bring along tools for tire punctures or install a TPS.

-bring chain lube to lube up the chain if needed. I did not lube mine actually but think it's a good idea.

By the way, don't make any changes less than one week before you depart cos sometimes changes need tweaking and you wanna do that before you go. Though I gotta say going to KL and back isn't a very long journey, it will stress the bike more if you ride faster than usual. I rode mostly at 80-90kph so no stress as I steered clear of the NSHW most of the time.

I am sure other more experienced folks will chime in. These were just the things I did for my trip.

Enjoy your trip!

To add to the above said..if you can..bring along a spare clutch cable..CDI and a rectifier. Remember to pump about 10 kpi or so less fro ur tyre pressure as heat would increase the tyre pressure.

Stupid Hurts!.:giddy:Speed doesn't kill, mistakes does :faint:

BEER!...it's cheaper than fuel now! DRINK!..DON'T RIDE!

Hi EveryOne..!!

I Got My Vs Abt a Mth back..

First.. Come First..

I have too many issues.. with it..

After riding for less den 15 min, my bike fan will go on with out me even revving it hard..

Is it normal.!?

Next Up, Sometimes When i ride and maintain speed at 100km/h, my bike automatically starts to push it faster.. Like as if i drop a gear or 2.. Whats Wrong..

Third, i need to service my carb i think.. Its starting to emit some funny noises and sometimes feels like something is stuck when i try to open throttle.. Why is it such..

Also, I've been following this thread recently..

There seems to be a doc for the bikes in this forum..

Dr. Ah Pek..

I was wondering If i cud catch up with you sometime soon.. Gimme a hunch of whats wrong with my bike so i can start estimating my expenses soon.. LOL..

LASTLY... Im looking for a tank bra for my Ver S..

Anyone hu has it.. Plz Plz Plz..

Contact me at 91497160..

Or atleast tell me a place i cud get it CHEAP.. Ahahah..!!

Thank You All..!

- b R o W n -

Doesn't sound like a very good buy my friend. Izit still under some sort of 'warranty' from the seller or mototiam? If so, its best that you go back to them and identify those issue with them. They should do corrective repair for you FOC..tell tem the bike is not safe to ride and u paid honest $s for it.

I tried asking the shop.. But they say no warranty as it was in riding condition when they give. Now I have to spend it on my own.. But I dunno what's wrong.. And I can't seem to figure it out.. Dun wanna ask any shop, scared they tell me smtg else...

Guess they gotcha good...sighhh...every bike oso can ride what..dindn't u tell them. Anyway..ot much choice you have and to be certain about the problem/problems..best go and ask a few reputed mototiam or at least, these shops that handle S4. Don't commit urself but just see what the majority says. At least you can roughly gauage what likely could be the problem.

I answer what I can but not all things I touched becomes "gold"..take it with a pinch of salt ;0)

After riding for less den 15 min, my bike fan will go on with out me even revving it hard..

Is it normal.!?

No not normal unless previous owner has the radiator fan switch changed to a lower temperature cut-on threshold one..that's not original for S4 use. Sign of fan cutting "on" once too often is not a good thing..its sign of overheating which can be caused by bad eo, lack of coolant content (leakage from radiato cap..etc), radiator clogged or rusty coolant hoses (rubber don't rust but thr rust has stuck themselves to the hot sticky hose internally)..or a partially bad thermostat. For a stsrt..do check your coolant level at the reserve tank (inside ride side panel below seat) andsee if it is rusty brownish in colour..if so..your system need a fresh drain and refill. If coolant is plain in colour as of tap water..its screwed too!

Next Up, Sometimes When i ride and maintain speed at 100km/h, my bike automatically starts to push it faster.. Like as if i drop a gear or 2.. Whats Wrong..

Not specific enough to help trouble guess for you..iszit every time or only a one time thingy?

Third, i need to service my carb i think.. Its starting to emit some funny noises and sometimes feels like something is stuck when i try to open throttle.. Why is it such..

First time I ever hear of carbs making noise..sound like there is a party going on in it...ha...x3! "..sometimes feels like something is stuck when i try to open throttle.. "..you may need a new change of throttle cables ( come in a set and cost about $60+)..carbs don't give such problem..nothing to get stuck inside.

Dr. Ah Pek..

He's a bike hobbyist and doing it save carrot and tofu :0)

I was wondering If i cud catch up with you sometime soon.. Gimme a hunch of whats wrong with my bike so i can start estimating my expenses soon.. LOL..

No problem..anytime as and when I'm available.

Yuks!...I hate tank brasssssssssssssss! Show the beauty of your tank color..why hide it with those 'ugly' stuff and spoil ur paint work (under foam get sticky and fuse to your surface paint acrylic layers due to trapped water. Some people oso got dead chi_chak inside beside ant's nest...LOL! Buy and use one only when you to hide a dent when selling ur bike to up the value.

Ah pek is very knowlegeble! No doubts on tat..

Rode my version S around Malaysia three weeks ago. Things I did to prepare were:

-check tires, brakes, lights and chain to ensure all are working fine and replace if needed before the trip.

-check oil and coolant and change if needed.

-check plugs and battery.

-bring along tools for tire punctures or install a TPS.

-bring chain lube to lube up the chain if needed. I did not lube mine actually but think it's a good idea.

By the way, don't make any changes less than one week before you depart cos sometimes changes need tweaking and you wanna do that before you go. Though I gotta say going to KL and back isn't a very long journey, it will stress the bike more if you ride faster than usual. I rode mostly at 80-90kph so no stress as I steered clear of the NSHW most of the time.

I am sure other more experienced folks will chime in. These were just the things I did for my trip.

Enjoy your trip!

Hey tks man. take note of it.

Well anyone planning for a ride to Malacca this sunday?

Ride safer:thumb:

Hi EveryOne..!!

I Got My Vs Abt a Mth back..

First.. Come First..

I have too many issues.. with it..

Is it normal.!?

Dr. Ah Pek..

Anyone hu has it.. Plz Plz Plz..

Contact me at 91497160..

Or atleast tell me a place i cud get it CHEAP.. Ahahah..!!

Thank You All..!

- b R o W n -

Yo bro, looks like we both ver s riders..when i rode at 100km/h the bike feels lighter(lyk wanna push faster) but i think its normal le..the "stuck" thingy,maybe due to carbon? juz my 2 cents worth :)

btw tankbra @Motoworld $165 juz check out last week.

Ah Pek ar your forkbrace Simi brand de huh?what brand should i get if there is such think as brand at all lol

Edited by Huatster888

PEACE TO THE WORLD.

顺顺利利... å‘啊.

hi can i check with u all how much is ur avg FC for ver S? mine only 20km/l! something wrg with my bike?

hmm mine is 310km b4 reserve..but got "drag" here n there hehe..based on constant speed not too sure.

reserve as in meter show reserve or really bike jerk? previous owner say he clock 380 b4 reserve but all i can tink of is all tt he said is bullshit... even sms him to get the bloody spanner to adjust the suspension tension also dun wana reply liao...

Sigh...... Sometimes like that one lah, trying to get rid of their dying bike so they bow you good stories. And after that you feel cheated , don't worry with ah Pek advice you sure will save your bike de

PEACE TO THE WORLD.

顺顺利利... å‘啊.

ya really hope so too =( btw is holding onto clutch and let the bike roll a bad habit? does it spoil the clutch or anything? does air filter affect my FC? if so is using a K&N air filter more worth it than a OEM air filter in terms of amount to changes and fuel consumption?

Edited by kmjoe
Ah Pek ar your forkbrace Simi brand de huh?what brand should i get if there is such think as brand at all lol

The local popular ones should be "Daytona"..forgot mine..a friend got it for me from a Japan trip a long time ago.

hi can i check with u all how much is ur avg FC for ver S? mine only 20km/l! something wrg with my bike?

FC is always very subjective. Most ppl average around 19-22km/L and for old bike consider good liao. There is nothing wrong with ur bike unless it's doing 16km/lL or less andthere are a few cases I know off as such..one example being only a 3 yrs old Spec 3 and a 1 year old Bouldor. How u ride and drag ur gears matters..size of ur tyres and air pressure..chain slack..traffics ever changing situation (number of start/stop traffics lights and traffic volumes)..the list goes on.

Most ppl got good mileage are especially those who travels mostly on clear highways beside their bike engine having good combustion thru good electrical load (by effective grounding) and the right formmulation of engine oil especially for older bikes.

Unless you have a faulty carbs, bad coolant system and bad piston wear engine..nothing much you can do to have any good FC. If you ride below 6-8 rpm most of the time..it don't help either.

Hi Guys, quite sometime ago I had this problem of wobbly steering. It was the wheel bearing. when I was changing the tires at Ah Fook, he shook the front wheel and it shook quite badly. good thing it didn;t give way on me while i was riding. Furthermore, i also experienced that i needed more force to hold the handle bars in place when making corners. after replacing the wheel bearings, no problem liao.

Now for another problem: when I open throttle for a quick accelearation, the bike feels jerky. it picks up for a while then slows down and doesn't pick up any more. However, if i open my throttle slowly. it does picks up. The problem only comes in when I need sudden accenleration. What should i do??

Hi Guys, quite sometime ago I had this problem of wobbly steering. It was the wheel bearing. when I was changing the tires at Ah Fook, he shook the front wheel and it shook quite badly. good thing it didn;t give way on me while i was riding. Furthermore, i also experienced that i needed more force to hold the handle bars in place when making corners. after replacing the wheel bearings, no problem liao.

Now for another problem: when I open throttle for a quick accelearation, the bike feels jerky. it picks up for a while then slows down and doesn't pick up any more. However, if i open my throttle slowly. it does picks up. The problem only comes in when I need sudden accenleration. What should i do??

U drowning the spark plugs..if its an old set..change it.

the top gasket is leaking too. are the spark plugs drowning in engine oil or petrol?

Not sure about your gasket leaking as u never mentioned it. I'm referring to ur plug gaps too wide liao.

sorry, let me explain more. =) the rubber gasket at the top of the engine block is leaking oil. Dunno if that would result in the plugs to be drowning.

do I have to replace the spark plugs since that the gaps are too wide? if so , what type should i replace? I'm riding a ver S. Also, is it necessary to replace the top gasket since oil is leaking out from there?

Sorry ah pek, anything to do with the carburator? like cleaning or tuning?

Don't jump the que..one thing at a time. If this was my bike..I soft the gasket leak problem first and check the plugs for eo wetting.

Any comments on PB1? Anyone riding it?

http://i17.photobucket.com/albums/b62/wanderin_spiritz/gsadventure.jpg

Men must be strong enough to know when he is weak, brave enough to encounter fear, dignified and having moral courage in honest defeat, humble and gentle in victory

TZM 150||X1 110||KTM LC4 400||CB400 Ver S||Suzuki GSXRR K7 600||Hyundai Verna 1.6M||Honda Phantom TA200||CB400 PB1||KTM 690 SMC