I have been riding my bike for close to 2 years since i first bought it without sending it for any servicing apart from repairing and replacing parts. I intend to send it to a motordiam to get them to check everything is good and healthy and i'm hoping someone can intro me to a good reliable shop and maybe tell me about how much i would expect to pay. I would also like to know what to look out for that needs to be checked/changed.

Mech, Ah Ming riding Specs3, at yishun industrial....look out for the shop with 90 pertcent Super4....must only let him touch your bike, no one else hor

http://img149.imageshack.us/img149/3756/picture2rx4.jpg
  • Replies 18.1k

Use back the recommended stock original..Dunlope GT105 Arrow Max..front 110..back 140..cost about $220-$230 for a set. Most mototiam has.

n i thought my front tyre was too small as i saw mine is 110/70

Yamaha TZR > Kawasaki KIPS >> Suzuki GSX-K >>> Honda NSR >>>> Yamaha RX-Z >>>>> Honda CB400 Ver S >>>>>> Kymco X400i

Hi ah pek and fellow s4ers, I know some of these qns have been answered be4 but hopefully can be answer again. Thanks! No offence but i heard pb1 is a failure bike model? If I were to choose between pb1 & ver s, which should I get better? Lastly, tick tick sound is normally the wear and tear of timing chain + shim? how much does it cost to change new? Thanks!

Pb1 is the first series of s4.

My uncle own one for 18 years.

Its unrestricted and it comes with stainless steel 4-1 exhaust as oem.

As most s4 it will come to a stage whereby one need to change the top block. As it will leak. My uncle changed his when the bike hits 16 years old. No other known problem.

If u compare performance between s4 to s4 then its actually base on skills.

My uncle pb1 with faulty rear suspension smoke my fren on a spec3 with yoshimura full system. On straights lost about 2 bike length. On corners well lets juz say my fren is not found in the mirrors.

Oh to add.

I did own a ver s. Damn problematic bike. Overheating issues non stop. Overhaul using 2nd hands parts (naive me) a total of 3 times. I gave up. Trade in for a cbr600

Sent from my GT-N7105 using Tapatalk

Hi ah pek and fellow s4ers, I know some of these qns have been answered be4 but hopefully can be answer again. Thanks! No offence but i heard pb1 is a failure bike model? If I were to choose between pb1 & ver s, which should I get better? Lastly, tick tick sound is normally the wear and tear of timing chain + shim? how much does it cost to change new? Thanks!

If the tick tick sounds goes away after the bikes hots up..just ignore..it's ok...just uneven wear of the shim thickness. It's expensive if $300+ is to u.

Stupid Hurts!.:giddy:Speed doesn't kill, mistakes does :faint:

BEER!...it's cheaper than fuel now! DRINK!..DON'T RIDE!

Alright, thanks for the reply, ah pek & Azmil3! So which would be a better choice, pb1 or ver s? Btw ah pek, can u pm me ur no? I would to change ur nano eo and grounding soon when I get back s4. Thanks! Oh, anyone know how much does shop sell/take in pb1 or ver s in average? Thanks again!

I hope the mech is smart enough to check your charging voltage after replacing a new battery...could be the caused of the problem for battery to die again if rectifier, rectifier connector or coil is bad..any of this would make your battery flat due to weak or no charging to the battery.

How to check the charging voltage? I check the terminal +- at battery ard 14 + vdc during engin running. When switch off engin drop to 12 volt. My bike lay off more than 3 days then low batt need push start.

bro

same issue with my bike. cold start, even after half a week without riding, is no problem. but warm start, will take longer to crank the engine.

but since the bike operation isn't affected so it doesn't bother me too much anymore...

How to check the charging voltage? I check the terminal +- at battery ard 14 + vdc during engin running. When switch off engin drop to 12 volt. My bike lay off more than 3 days then low batt need push start.

14v dc is your magneto charging..it's good. Go for a long ride to charge up ur battery.

Alright, thanks for the reply, ah pek & Azmil3! So which would be a better choice, pb1 or ver s? Btw ah pek, can u pm me ur no? I would to change ur nano eo and grounding soon when I get back s4. Thanks! Oh, anyone know how much does shop sell/take in pb1 or ver s in average? Thanks again!

Both same same lah bro...but PB1 is the FARTHER of all S4, comes with a stainless exhaust true 4-1 and the 1996 series is the best. Ver S is a refine version with a power cut-off point. My PB1 has been 17 years liao..no major problem except regular wear and tear stuff..best bike no such thing, best maintenance and owner passion yes. Prices varies according toCOE left..me?..according to condition of bike when I look at see/buy. 90670020

Hi guys.. is there any shop which sells original ver s brake pump kit, the set which consists the springs all for front brake lever?.. currently my shop change to a suzuki model one, feels diffrent.. plus anyone experience leaking coil hose?.. its at the right side of bike, i tought its the gasket but gasket just change, shop says its coil hose there leak.. cos the rubber old already.. he can cover with glue or change whole coil... any advise??

blurrrr.....................:thumb::gun:

hi, i open up my ver s air filter to wash it and found out there is some oil surround the place of the air filter. is it normal?

its k&n air filter btw..

my petrol can last up to 307km, do you guys think its good enough? how about your ver s?

hi all brothers

need some advice here....

i am riding a ver s for almost 2 years... so far everything is good except the block is already leaking and sometimes there is overheat issue. but other than this 2 everything is good.

i am considering this 2 options.

1. Do up this ver S, change a new block (i know it will cost me around 2k) and coolent issue and ride till coe finish in 2018.

2. Sell this bike and get another bike but i will lose out $ selling off this bike.

Any comments?

hi all brothers

need some advice here....

i am riding a ver s for almost 2 years... so far everything is good except the block is already leaking and sometimes there is overheat issue. but other than this 2 everything is good.

i am considering this 2 options.

1. Do up this ver S, change a new block (i know it will cost me around 2k) and coolent issue and ride till coe finish in 2018.

2. Sell this bike and get another bike but i will lose out $ selling off this bike.

Any comments?

What is leaking from your engine block..coolant or eo?

coolant. Ah Pek u did my bike before. Shawn here.

Check see if it is leaking from the two holes of the engine block side..one hole each side. Have u ever done coolant patch with me before?

Hi Ah Pek & other bros,

I just got my 1997 Version S yesterday in pretty good condition from what I can see. However, just a few issues I have encountered and wondering if you have come across this before and know the cause.

1) When I tried a high speed high rpm run on the expressway this morning, after 9k rpm on 5th and 6th gear, the bike will hesitate on and off. Its like, got power then no power, got power then no power. Something like a misfire but I don't think its a misfire. Anyone know what's wrong?

2) My bike is has a 42 teeth rear sprocket. When on any gear, when the rpm is around 5K, there's like a flat spot when I suddenly increase throttle, like the bike has no power. When it reaches 6K, we can feel the power come in. Is this normal for Ver S?

Would appreciate any input..Thanks!

Hi Ah Pek & other bros,

I just got my 1997 Version S yesterday in pretty good condition from what I can see. However, just a few issues I have encountered and wondering if you have come across this before and know the cause.

1) When I tried a high speed high rpm run on the expressway this morning, after 9k rpm on 5th and 6th gear, the bike will hesitate on and off. Its like, got power then no power, got power then no power. Something like a misfire but I don't think its a misfire. Anyone know what's wrong?

2) My bike has a 42 teeth rear sprocket. When on any gear, when the rpm is around 5K, there's like a flat spot when I suddenly increase throttle, like the bike has no power. When it reaches 6K, we can feel the power come in. Is this normal for Ver S?

Edited by mrg3
Hi Ah Pek & other bros,

2) My bike has a 42 teeth rear sprocket. When on any gear, when the rpm is around 5K, there's like a flat spot when I suddenly increase throttle, like the bike has no power. When it reaches 6K, we can feel the power come in. Is this normal for Ver S?

1) last time my bike like yours.. i service the carburettor + do grounding.. and the power is constant not like stuck2 like that.. thats for my case la.. maybe others have different inputs/experience

Hi Ah Pek & other bros,

1) Can be caused by too much eo as recommended or bad plugs or old electrical wires.

2) I will consider it normal..don't expect to twist the throttle and expect real time power respond..u are drowning the sparks with excessive charge of fuel vapor. Could oso be due to too much throttle cable slack or old electrical wirings.

The power band for this bike is at about 6.5-7.5k...so to say, you want no flat spot feel and sudden burst..this is the rpm range u should play with. Number of teethhas nothing to do with flat spot.

Suggest u do correct grounding methods and have better friction free eo.