wah piang..normally will go do some normal change engine oil and 2T as i am working at mindef and nearest would be that shop.

today want to adjust chain only as it is getting loose so uncle approach and help me do it.didnt have anything to buy that time so waited.

finish already than shout to the young(should be boss son) $2.KNN...$2 for chain tightening..told "boss" this time first time sia...last time i adjust also dont have..than say i think because i take change oil etc and buy things etc..

told him wah lan horrible la..adjust chain $2 buy things than no charge the $2..what kinda of service is this sia.told him damn guo fen man(too much!!)

bought a cheapo $8 repsol chain lub(which is not cheap if go LAB get putoline better) and f off from the place and most prop the last time ever to go there already..

how to have business like this sia..pls avoid this shop man...really horrible.

2004-2009 Kawasaki KR150

2009 - 2015 Yamaha Fino

2015 - Honda PCX 150

• Replies 41

hmm 2 dollar to me ok la.. cos previously i also tighten my chain at racewerks, he charge me 2dollar.. but mayb cos my chain looose, produce v loud tak tak sound. so i find it worth it $2 to solve the tak tak problem... somemore the mech standing under hot sun trying to troubleshoot b4 deducing that sound was from front spocket due to chain loose..

http://farm2.static.flickr.com/1150/1426483839_2b47be539c_o.jpg

oct05 - oct06 runner 200

oct06 - july07 vtec1

july07 - ?? runner200

may09 - ?? vtec2

2 bucks is nothing if your chain give you problem during high speed,Think.

Klass 2,3,4 i shiny Professional'noye litsenziya

1993:Class 2B-Yamaha RXK/RXZ/TZR125RR/SDR200/WR200-Aprilia RS125R-Kawasaki KRR150ZX(Former)

2000:Class 3-Honda Civic 1.6esi(Former)Proton Exora 1.6Turbo(Current)

2004:Bus Driver Vocational License

2009:Class 4

2011:Class 2A-Aprilia RS250-Honda CB400SF PB1-KTM250EXC(Former)Yamaha XJR400R(Current)

2013:Class 2-Suzuki B-King 1300(Former)

T.S.

its commonly known fact that most bike shops charge $2 for chain tightening services...

unless u are a regular customer of that particular bike shop, they may opt to waive off this fee...

every bikeshop needs to pay their rent and wages and dun u think if every bike shop do charity that they will suffer in the end?

Leo Buscaglia

Our talents are the gift that God gives to us... What we make of our talents is our gift back to God.

wah piah... becoz of a $2 u come here n ask people to avoid this shop?

I m nt trying to say $2 is small money but come on, people have rental and workers to feed, imagine if u r running the shop and 10 customers come in just to ask u tighten chain at no charge? u will be spending 50mins to an hour working for free...

Adventures has no limit....

Aug 07 to Jun 08 - Honda NSR150SP

Jul 08 - Honda CB400 Spec 2

haha..my 5 cents tot..

i went to the shop before, service is quite ok, mechanic is quite skillful.

I feel their price is reasonable also.

However, each has their own perception. To some, $2 is nothing, some feel $2 is alot.

Can comment wat u feel.

Still...should not advise pple to avoid the shop.

September 2008 to January 2010 : Vespa LX150

December 2009 to February 2011 : Honda Steed

February 2011 to August 2011 : Honda Deauville 650

August 2011 to present : Piaggio X8 200

Even tho $2 might be a small amount..The only time I had to tighten my chain and paid for it was when I was across the border..Had no tools with me and was charged RM$2..Usually I will just head down to Planet to tighten my chain..The charge is F.O.C. Now I do it myself unless I am very lazy..:cool:

ya lar bro $2 if u think too much then learn to tighten urself u heng he never ask u for 7%GST hahahha. wan ride but don wan pay expect free lol

lol. sounds like you got golden cheese pie mentality? adjust chain for free is not a right, its an offer that the boss will give to you if he thinks you are worthy. $2 is the normal charge for such service. best is learn to do urself then no need pay pple and get angry over it.

http://gadgets.boingboing.net/gimages/lego-cycle-helmet.jpg this is not me! :cheeky:

Beats me how you can ask a shop to do a job they specialise in and walk away not paying anything!

It's your damn bike, wash it yourself! You rinse your own mouth after you eat, don't you?

aiyo 2 dollar only mah, you wanted convenience, you got it.

you also paid for it.

well at least it wasn't a blatant rip off 10 or 100 times the amount.

lolx.. $2 to solve a issue...

I spend $170 to solve a chain issue.. which one more jia lat? :)

cheers...

Please proceed to this website/web link if you guys have any technical issues on Kawasaki Kips/KR150, I'll update the 1st POST as and when there's a new question. Newbies questions on the top as well. :)

https://www.singaporebikes.com/topic/24127-most-of-the-technical-term-on-kr150-kawasaki-kips/#comments

if you really want it be done F.O.B. then you should ask the boss if that's possible before he does the job.

anyway if everyone behaves like you, "how to have business like this sia"...

to ride is bliss

lolx.. $2 to solve a issue...

I spend $170 to solve a chain issue.. which one more jia lat? :)

cheers...

agreed!!!

he really spent all this money just to get the perfect ride...

thumbups for him man

SALUT:cheers:

wah pianz $2 ..but still can buy $8 dollar stuff to waive it .....relax bro.....life like that lah ... I repair my Bicycle chain also pay more...... At least with $ 2 . you feel safe riding :)

I find it reasonable. For that same price, my mech will spend 5 mins, tightening the chain, adjusting my wheel alignment and also apply some oil to my chain.

If you can adjust yourself, then better. But there are some things which i rather my mech do for me although i can do it myself like change sprocket, remove rear wheel, adjust chain, service rear brake shoes etc. My mech charge alot of thing more expensive, but i've been with him since the start and there are some things i got to trust him with then myself.

Just imagine, just for saving 2 bucks, something happend on the expressway at high speed?

look at my siggy :D

I agree bro. The only tools i am missing now is an air compressor and the "screwdriver where you hammer and it delivers a massive torque to turn the damn screw". :cheeky:

...and the "screwdriver where you hammer and it delivers a massive torque to turn the damn screw". :cheeky:

I think what you're looking for is called the impact driver.

There's motorized ones, and there's the manual impact drivers that requires the use of a hammer.

Hope I got it correct :cool:

wah piang..normally will go do some normal change engine oil and 2T as i am working at mindef and nearest would be that shop.

today want to adjust chain only as it is getting loose so uncle approach and help me do it.didnt have anything to buy that time so waited.

finish already than shout to the young(should be boss son) $2.KNN...$2 for chain tightening..told "boss" this time first time sia...last time i adjust also dont have..than say i think because i take change oil etc and buy things etc..

told him wah lan horrible la..adjust chain $2 buy things than no charge the $2..what kinda of service is this sia.told him damn guo fen man(too much!!)

bought a cheapo $8 repsol chain lub(which is not cheap if go LAB get putoline better) and f off from the place and most prop the last time ever to go there already..

how to have business like this sia..pls avoid this shop man...really horrible.

he offer his services to you for tightening the chain @ 2sgd is reasonable.

time/tools spent.uncle need strength to loosen the nuts to adjusts the chain.

if you do any servicing he can adjust for you foc.

cheapo 8sgd repsol chain lub?LAB cheaper?ride to LAB buy loh.

1st of all,do you present yourself as a potential customer to the shop?

2 bucks is nothing if your chain give you problem during high speed,Think.

agreed

well the tightening takes 5 minutes labour time....

consider the cost is $20/hr...?..the price we pay for living in this high cost sin city.

welcome to sin city!

$2 is reasonable. He provided u with service.

issit?than how is your agent dealing with your bike now?

I find it reasonable. For that same price, my mech will spend 5 mins, tightening the chain, adjusting my wheel alignment and also apply some oil to my chain.

good mech but normally is FOC when go for servicing.

If you can adjust yourself, then better. But there are some things which i rather my mech do for me although i can do it myself like change sprocket, remove rear wheel, adjust chain, service rear brake shoes etc. My mech charge alot of thing more expensive, but i've been with him since the start and there are some things i got to trust him with then myself.

Just imagine, just for saving 2 bucks, something happend on the expressway at high speed?

agreed...

so moral of the story.....

there is no free lunch in this world!:dot:

2000-Yamaha lc125/2001yamaha tzr125/2002Suzuki gsxr400r/2003-Honda TA 200/2005-Honda wave S 125/2005-Honda S4 spec 2/2007-yamaha yp400/2008-yamaha R6/2009-Honda CG 125/2010-Suzuki Dr200se/2010-Honda steed 400/2011-honda cb400sf pb1/2011-sym joyride 200/2012-honda wave

ts, i was reading your old threads to see what were you doing there, cause i think i've seen your bike there for awhile when i was a attached in as a consultant from the company i worked in.

are you referring to the shop opposite linear condo (i dont see any other shops around there)? http://gothere.sg/maps#q:1.374724%2C103.762342

i visit that shop as and when i need a change in tyres or eo. their service is quick and the price is pretty reasonable (compared to bukit merah shops or the one opposite queensway). although they didn't charge me last week for the chain tightening, they probably earn enough from my change in eo.

are you a army regular? (: $2 sounds fair and shouldn't be a problem for you, or anyone who has the capacity to drive a bike. all the best, serve the nation!

$2 is stil ok la, If he charges $5 then maybe its a little overcharged. Don't say you frm mindef cos you complain over $2 leh. Shld have gotten your performance bonus at 01.04.10 right? Just close ur eyes on that $2.

Ride Safe.