Hi all Im new to the world of motorcycles and I've made a real mistake thanks to my dad's influence and etc -_-... I really need some advice and help now, heres my problem.

I've bought a 1st hand Gilera ST200 at march, however the truth is i do not really like it as i wanna play with gear and etc...I hope to buy a R-15 as thats the bike i actually wanted. But how can i do that? is there anyway to like..trade in and top up? i dont mind making a loss as Im prepared for it but I wanna know whats the procedure like..

I hope some of you can give me some real good advices on what to do and which shop i can go to to trade in and top up? Cus its riding a bike that you kinda dont have the heart for it is like having a GF u dont love, Thanks and God Bless....

Edited by Option

2010-2011: Gilera ST200

2011-2013: Honda RVF 400RRL

2015 - 2016 : Ducati 848evo

Present: Tmax IronMax

• Replies 23

Just go back the shop which u buy ST200 for trade in. They will advise u and beware of parang. Good Luck.

Bikes:

Kawasaki KR 150 2002-2006: FV8449

Skipper 2003-2003: Forgot

Yamaha 2006 R6 2006-2008: FBA1667

Honda CBR150 2006-2006: FW1011

Gilera Runner 2006-2008: FBB142

Kawasaki Z1000 2008-2008 : FX6990

Yamaha X1 2008-2011: FZ 7090

Yamaha 2007 R1 2010-2011: FBB 4216

Oooh really? Is it possible? Somehow i know they will chop me... =/

y not try to sell online? i believe it will fetch a better price then shop.

u can get a second hand r15 online for a better price too.

alternatively, just ride ur gilera for a yr then upgrade when u get ur 2a. :thumb:

http://i41.photobucket.com/albums/e296/Sephyer/av-334001.gif

http://i41.photobucket.com/albums/e296/Sephyer/TR_LOGO.jpg

I know that selling online needs to go through some procedure and etc right? =/ I scared i kana scam or etc la i so nerdish about bike stuffs.. so I was thinking of wad Bensim replied, to go back to the shop and try asking can trade in anot =P Gilera maintainance also high I kinda regret alot also hais..

u can try but if they wan to chop u then sellin it urself wil be a better option.

u wanna sell online just post in the garage section tgt wif bike details. ppl interested wil get bac to u.

just don let ppl ride ur bike or accept payment by instalments and u shd be fine n dandy.

But is there a need of transfer ownership or smth like that? after I get the full payment, do i cont to pay the installment or that new owner will do it? alot of questions >

xfer ownership roughly 50 bucks plus minus. buyer will pay.

installment wise u have to see if can do early settlement. if got penalty then not worth it alr. so u must as well carry on ride. anyway u cant xfer ownership if stil haf instalments, so the buyer wil haf to be added as subrider, which i don really recommend.

but imho, i wld rather ride a gilera than r15. just my 2 cents worth. :cheers:

LoL...Gilera very ex lei the parts and etc i rmb i got into a freak accident jus 4 days buying it and i paid 2.2k fixing the gilera back..thx to my dumbass eye dun care about roadworks sign kns..

crap happens all the time. if u stay eastside u can try bikeworkz or planet to do ur bike.

anyway for ur case i think u shd just ride ur gilera. the costs for u to sell or trade in, find another r15 etc, time n more money wasted.

just ride until u wanna upgrade then sell lor. gilera is not a bad bike, u'll learn to enjoy in awhile.

Why don't you try riding for a month or two, maybe you'll start to get used to it.

Anyone can ride a bike. Being a biker, is a state of mind.

LoL...Gilera very ex lei the parts and etc i rmb i got into a freak accident jus 4 days buying it and i paid 2.2k fixing the gilera back..thx to my dumbass eye dun care about roadworks sign kns..

What makes you think the r15 isn't expensive to maintain?

haha...thats a good one.... its already a perception to TS that r15 is his dream bike.....

i think since bike accident before, if u trade in to shop i think be prepared to lose 2k min for the upgrade to r15

Monster Energy......CBF150........

"'Chances Favored The Prepared Mind"

"Your Ambition outweighs Your Talent!"

IMO you have one of 3 options:

1) Offer a direct trade with an R15 here on the forums. Somebody may have an opposite preference of yours.

2) Sell your Gilera and get an R15 2nd hand. You ought not to need to pay anything extra and will probably have a bit of cash left over.

3) Suck it up and wait for 2A, which is my recommended option. If you like to "play with gear", as you say, 2B bikes become dissatisfactory quickly, regardless of the model.

Bikes are like lady friends. Sometimes you start to love them when they're gone.

Therefore, treasure the Gilera :D

I used to not like my 125Z and now I miss the ability to go 130kph across Singapore and still get 39km/l. The faster it goes the sooner it reaches and the less fuel used. What a machine Lol.

Why don't you stick with it for a while longer? You can always get a different bike later and when you do, you may not have a chance to ride another bike like your Gilera again, so treasure the experience while it lasts.

Besides, since the bike has been involved in an accident, it's already far from brand new, so the difference between the price you'd get for it if you sold it today and the price you'd get if you sold it in a year or two would be quite small, I think. If you wait a year or two you could get a second hand R15 for a lower price. Being a fairly new model, most of the second hand R15s on the market are still very expensive.

Anyway, Gilera Runner is very cute what. Don't know if you want to hear that though.

Edited by Wormwood
Hi all Im new to the world of motorcycles and I've made a real mistake thanks to my dad's influence and etc -_-... I really need some advice and help now, heres my problem.

I've bought a 1st hand Gilera ST200 at march, however the truth is i do not really like it as i wanna play with gear and etc...I hope to buy a R-15 as thats the bike i actually wanted. But how can i do that? is there anyway to like..trade in and top up? i dont mind making a loss as Im prepared for it but I wanna know whats the procedure like..

It's a downgrade, I'll tell you that....

I hope some of you can give me some real good advices on what to do and which shop i can go to to trade in and top up? Cus its riding a bike that you kinda dont have the heart for it is like having a GF u dont love, Thanks and God Bless....

bro, u are exactly same as me when i first got my bike...same as u first gilera, but mine is vxr200.. urs is latest.... hmmm same as u i wanna play gear.. cos i find it boring after riding for a wk... so when i went back the shop which i bought the bike, he told me i can trade in it wif an nsr (4gt how old it is)..b4 he end , he said, its better u ride it one two yrs then trade in, now u trade in onli few days old, is a waste of money....so i went back think... ite, i nv trade, i gt another bike a yr later after i gt my 2a....

seriously i know its boring... but think of this, i consider it to one of the fastest pick up 2b bike, then storage more, no need to change gear or half clutch when road are turbo jam... i consistently think of this, and this allows me to tahan one yr =P... hope this helps....

WTS givi e16 smile box, with led @$20

interested party , do PM me..

How far can you go with that change? heed their advise, stick to what you have. I stuck with my dad's choice for years and suffered badly when people looked at me but I enjoyed having much more money though I can afford to change anytime for a better one. I didn't.

the gilera is a good bike. you should stick with it and change bike when you reach 2a.

not worth it to trade in and top up etc. you need to play gear cause you wanna master the art of shifting right?

you'll have plenty of chances in future. for now, master the art of navigating traffic in sg.

good luck!