for new riders. get accustom to your ride first before attempting lane splitting. my god sis had an accident while lane splitting last week. luckily its not serious

u need to be young and reckless to become old and wise..... if u survive :angel:

http://i19.photobucket.com/albums/b169/gwzc_mk2/IMG_4576-1.jpg

• Replies 219

One advice given to me which I hold dearly is that while lane-splitting, always look far ahead, do not look at the side of the cars that you are travelling in between; some tend to do that to 'gauge' the space in order not to hit the cars. Our normal peripheral vision will automatically gauge the space at the sides of our bikes as we go through.

Hard to explain it in words though; but yup,I am much more confident now in lane-splitting, especially during heavy bumper-to-bumper traffic; but never will I split when I'm carrying a pillion. That particular fall we had due to lane-splitting, made me learnt my lesson. :)

always look 1 vehicle ahead or more when you are on the road.. this will give you the necessary time-frame to react and slow down in time..

you never know the bugger in front of you isn't paying attention and decide to jam brake because he/she didn't noticed that the vehicle infront of him has stopped or slowed down..

same for lane-split, look out for vehicles who try to swevre their way out with or w/o signalling when their lane is slower than the lane next to them. :sian:

and always keep your thumb on the horn while lane-splitting.. and cover your clutch in case you need to do a fast and efficient brake to avoid the vehicle that manages to squeeze his/her way out..

cheers and ride safe..

Lane splitting is an art best not performed by those who dont have the balls..

what? then i have 4 balls, so i lanesplit at 240km/h. how many balls do you have? :cool:

http://gadgets.boingboing.net/gimages/lego-cycle-helmet.jpg this is not me! :cheeky:

I travel allong braddel/lornie everyday to get from hougang to clementi and i have to lanesplit or i'll have to wake up at 5am to travel there.

Lanesplitting is freaking dangerous, but here's how you can possibly reduce that danger.

• Take bus take train
  • Sit taxi, Drive a car

Those points are for people who reaaaaaaaaaaally think its veeeery veeeery dangerous and life threatening to split and the very thought of splitting makes their knees go weak. Furthermore, they at home might have 2 wife and 8 kids that depend on him to put food on the table.

But for everyone else, here's what we can do.

• Beginners try to get used to lanesplitting past stationary traffic, its easier than splitting past slow moving traffic
  • Predict where the vehicle in front left and right are going to move
  • Usually, cars will tend to inch towards the left or right when prior to changing lanes cos the driver is checking the mirrors and inadvertedly steering the vehicle to the direction
  • When splitting past stationary vehicles, signs to look out for that a vehicle is about to come out is, turning of the driver's head, signal lights, The front wheel is turned a direction, and the vehicle is not in the centre of the lane but at the edge of it.
  • When splitting past vehicles that you are unsure that will change lanes and not see you, always give a tap , or a few taps of the horn before going past them. Don't bother if you are paiseh to keep pressing the horn, this is your own personal safety that's concerned.
  • Watch out for those white/yellow lane markings while splitting.... those are as slippery as ice when wet.

Of cos this is all great theory and all, but the only way to get better at it is to practise, practise and practise.

What he said... LOL

i work in Tuas and live in Yishun

so am on the KJE daily

what i do is i LANESPLIT

nothing to be proud of

nothing to brag

nothing to be ashamed of

it's up to you eventually

if you think you're not sure about it don't do it

my first month on my 2B was spend breathing exhaust

and when it got a little too much, i started going at short stretches at a time

until i got more confident

but don't get pressured to go fast - THIS WILL HAPPEN - especially with more experienced riders behind you flashing their headlights / revving / honking even at times

once you feel that you're going wobbly, look for the first safe spot and get back in lane

also get to know the traffic conditions at the different times on the routes you travel regularly on

some times leaving 10 minutes earlier makes a world of difference :)

however, on my way home, if i happen to leave after 5pm, i.e. JAM!!!

i opt for alternate routes

so also figure out what are your alternate routes to home off the e'ways and who knows, you may discover lesser trodden paths too :)

BTW,

how about your riding gear? hope you have at least some mimimum riding safety apparel like in XratedX's video?

Ride safe dude :)

Grounded... :/

4 also.. But I dont lanesplit as fast as you.. :)

4 balls or 2 balls....once got squeeze between 2 lorries, will become 1 big mushy ball. personally, i prefer to look at half ball....

1993-Yamaha LC, TZR

1994-Licence Revoke

1995- Honda MBX, RXZ

1996- Vespa

1997- RXK, TZM

2002- Phantom 200

2008- Toyota Axio(Car)

2009- Toyota Axio(Car) & S4 Vtec 2

2010(current)- Fazer FZ1N & Toyota Axio(Car)

great picture

Hi friends,

I find that it's dangerous.

I always do that in the past especially when I'm late for appointment.

Although my friend's father told me before that speeding and doing lane split will just let you be 5 mins earlier in reaching your destination.

But it's not really worth it as it may cost your life.

And I agree.

However, I sometimes do it.

When I was riding during those periods and I have not got my driving license,

I always thought that car won't change lane suddenly. That doesn't come to my mind. I thought that car will travel straight and if I have given him enough time to see that I'm behind him and beside the car, the car will not swerve out.

But the truth is not really so.

When driving, car driver may just swerve out to change lane suddenly, due to many reasons. Even if you think that he has seen you, he may not have seen you. Sometimes it's really difficult to see and check out for bikes beside the car, especially when the car or bike is travelling fast, because the driver also has to worried about the car in front that may brake suddenly. And if your bike is small and you are travelling fast, like those 125 or 140 cc bike, he may not see you.

Now, during driving, I'm very worried when changing lane because I worried I may not see a bike that is travelling fast beside me. I try to be very careful.

if going at high-speed lanesplit like 80-90kmh when the cars are gonig at 60-70kmh, i usually switch to high-beams and on my hazard lights..

increased visibility..

Qn: If kena accident during lane split, is it true that 100% is your fault? Regardless of anything, if lane split accident confirm is rider fault? :confused:

We R One!

be fast when passing cars and dont hang around beside them

once saw this old uncle lane splitting slowly, i was behind him.

he hung around timidly beside a car for a rather long period of time, looked like he didnt dare to pass even though there was a lot of space. suddenly the car that was beside changed lane. uncle managed to get out of the way, but he had quite a scare.

behind him i thought 'aiyo uncle, dont stay in car blindspot for so long la... very dangerous leh'

it's good to learn how to lanesplit even if you dont intend to do it often...

cause in the future you may be riding with others, then if they suddenly start lanesplitting, ho seh... at that point it will be an even more dangerous experience... being forced to lanesplit which you have never done before, at a pace that is not comfortable for you and need to look out where your buddies are going somemore....

i am a lazy lanesplitter... i can lanesplit rather ok but usually if there is no jam or i am not in a rush i choose not to because i am lazy :p

also try not to lanesplit between 2 heavy vehicles unless you can see enough space for you to get out from between them FAST

Edited by swiftee

boring rider. with a boring bike.

too old to want to appear interesting anymore.

i only lane split when the cars are like stationary...or moving really very slowly...

and i only do it at slower speeds, like 20-30km/h...

i'll glance at my mirrors too, to make sure i'm not blocking any other riders who are faster, if there are, i'll find a place to 'slot' in and wave them on...

anything like 30-40km/h or above, i'll probably be moving behind the vehicles within the lane...

call me no balls, no skill, but i dun lanesplit that fast anyway, to reduce my travelling time...so personally, it just isn't worth it for me to save 5 minutes and take risks while doing it...

I only lane split during bumper to bumper traffic.

Never understand why many riders insist on splitting lanes even when traffic is smooth and moving at 80 to 90km/h. Over confidence? Fool-hardy? Show-off? Someone please enlighten.

save fuel?coz dey areadi at 120,if infrtn 90..must brake..save fuel la?aniways..i only split if trafic jamm..if okae...stay in lane..bt abit off the centre so can see infrtn..folow behind car damn dangerous..expecially those hard brake and sudden braking...if those car ani how zig zag here dere no signal..macam paham ppl...js stay away for my safety.

~Please Ride N Drive Safely.~

if u cant,its ok,but dont bring harm to other ppl.

wana die,go die alone.dnt bring innnocent ppl along.

OKae!

i already kana many side mirrors and side boxes also kana alot of things..... Buat bodoh and go!!!! :cheeky::cheeky::cheeky:

dats inconsiderate to buat bodoh....jus like u come back see urbike on the floor,ur bike one mirror on the floor..or wat so eva...

~Please Ride N Drive Safely.~

if u cant,its ok,but dont bring harm to other ppl.

wana die,go die alone.dnt bring innnocent ppl along.

OKae!

Last week thursday at adam's flyover PIE, roads quite clear, it was 8pm, i am travelling 90 at middle lane, then around 3 cars away, i saw a sonata comfort taxi no signals starts to come out to middle lane from left, his front is slow moving lorry.

i honked with my stock hon and surprisingly, he go in abit, by then i have slowed down to 60 + thus changed to 4th gear. halfway beside him side by side, he come out to my lanes again n@beh, i straight rev up and heng 4th gear pull bike to front abit when he whole car juz shoot out and my behind is clear n@beh.

and he highbeam me sumore, dunn0e wad the taxi driver is trying to play.

but as times passes, these kinda weird weird things is all over everywhere. in times u will juz get numb over issues like this haahaa. awareness and concentrations and suitable speed controls are the key f0r safe riding. give any malaysian kups similar situations, they juz revved up and swerve in out like everyday rice and tea.

Class 3 29 April 2009[TP Attempt: 1]

Class 2B 11 March 2010[TP Attempt: 1]

Class 2A 02 July 2012[TP Attempt: 1]

Class 2 On-Training[TP Attempt: TBA]

TA-200 Honda Phantom 2010~2013

GSR Suzuki 400R 2013~Present

Last week thursday at adam's flyover PIE, roads quite clear, it was 8pm, i am travelling 90 at middle lane, then around 3 cars away, i saw a sonata comfort taxi no signals starts to come out to middle lane from left, his front is slow moving lorry.

i honked with my stock hon and surprisingly, he go in abit, by then i have slowed down to 60 + thus changed to 4th gear. halfway beside him side by side, he come out to my lanes again n@beh, i straight rev up and heng 4th gear pull bike to front abit when he whole car juz shoot out and my behind is clear n@beh.

and he highbeam me sumore, dunn0e wad the taxi driver is trying to play.

but as times passes, these kinda weird weird things is all over everywhere. in times u will juz get numb over issues like this haahaa. awareness and concentrations and suitable speed controls are the key f0r safe riding. give any malaysian kups similar situations, they juz revved up and swerve in out like everyday rice and tea.

abit hard to understand ur england

Gilera Runner '07

dats inconsiderate to buat bodoh....jus like u come back see urbike on the floor,ur bike one mirror on the floor..or wat so eva...

actually, that's exactly the reason why some rider cultivate the buat bodoh mentality....It's all good and even....

1993-Yamaha LC, TZR

1994-Licence Revoke

1995- Honda MBX, RXZ

1996- Vespa

1997- RXK, TZM

2002- Phantom 200

2008- Toyota Axio(Car)

2009- Toyota Axio(Car) & S4 Vtec 2

2010(current)- Fazer FZ1N & Toyota Axio(Car)

Let's change topic to:

How fast does your nutsack allow you to lanesplit?

Discuss.

sorry to say this but i do it @ 90.on the PIE.

nowaday u find lorries, vans on lane 1 and 2. they too are going ard max speed but they lane hog.

so bo pian, have to lane split and go.

http://img256.imageshack.us/img256/8610/photo440f.jpg

http://img139.imageshack.us/img139/1641/photo459.jpg

WTB: Wave 125 NF125MD coverset/ speedometer sensor . Let me know the details, Thanks

Let's change topic to:

How fast does your nutsack allow you to lanesplit?

Discuss.

When i was working as mac rider with no personal regard for my safety whatsoever....

110km/h between cars along CTE .... but they are moving at 90-100km/h... counted or not?? :angel::cheeky:

now is balls vs balls ? lane splitting no matter wat speed is based on ur own judgement. if hum then dun lane split.. if think its too slow to stay behind a car, then go get a car and dun ride.. and seriously if u dun lane split then dun buy a bike... i see some who said they buy a bike to enjoy sticking their nose behind the car i seriously think is very kum lan...

buying cars in sg is to join the traffic jam where riding a bike is to never get in a jam..

some how i agree with u... :cheeky::cheeky:

http://img256.imageshack.us/img256/8610/photo440f.jpg

http://img139.imageshack.us/img139/1641/photo459.jpg

WTB: Wave 125 NF125MD coverset/ speedometer sensor . Let me know the details, Thanks

actually, that's exactly the reason why some rider cultivate the buat bodoh mentality....It's all good and even....

biasa la beb.... *shrug* ¯\(°_o)/¯

now is balls vs balls ? lane splitting no matter wat speed is based on ur own judgement. if hum then dun lane split.. if think its too slow to stay behind a car, then go get a car and dun ride.. and seriously if u dun lane split then dun buy a bike... i see some who said they buy a bike to enjoy sticking their nose behind the car i seriously think is very kum lan...

that's why.... take bus take train.... its the safer alternative! :thumb: