I'm thinking of going to take higher class in bike license, and I have been playing with this ideas for quite sometime but I can't get over my own phobias.

This phobias come about a few years back when I was riding to work after a big quarrel with my exbf. I made a left turn from major road into minor road at high speed, no matter how hard I bank my bike, he went across the middle white line into oncoming traffic's lane. A S4 uncle behind me thought I'm playing with bike, after I stopped at the CP near my workplace, he told me off that, this is road, not PG. But I sure I'm not playing, just not concentrating.

It just happened that there wasn't any traffic in the oncoming direction, nor do I flip over. Since then this phobias grow. When I work nearer to my home, I sold my bike.

Guys, anyway to overcome the phobias?

Edited by Labbits
  • Replies 42

aiyo..

just ride slower lor,when turning

gd skills cums wif bad experince

or,next tym. if nt in a gd mood.dun ride 1st

I know. But it phobias is scary. It keep going on in my mind, that lucky no car, no skid, no flip, no sand, no oil etc.

Any way to slowly overcome it?

ride more. 10 char

I have been riding a lot before this incident. Just that this happened on road which scare me off. Many bikers here know road sometime has full of debris be it sand, oil, at time, mud. No matter how good skill a rider has, once meets with such debris, the bike's tires will lose traction and everything might happen.

to overcome the phobia..

easy ..

dun ride :cheeky:

I'm thinking of going to take higher class in bike license, and I have been playing with this ideas for quite sometime but I can't get over my own phobias.

This phobias come about a few years back when I was riding to work after a big quarrel with my exbf. I made a left turn from major road into minor road at high speed, no matter how hard I bank my bike, he went across the middle white line into oncoming traffic's lane. A S4 uncle behind me thought I'm playing with bike, after I stopped at the CP near my workplace, he told me off that, this is road, not PG. But I sure I'm not playing, just not concentrating.

It just happened that there wasn't any traffic in the oncoming direction, nor do I flip over. Since then this phobias grow. When I work nearer to my home, I sold my bike.

Guys, anyway to overcome the phobias?

I face similar problem as you did before, after which whenever I'm about to negotiate the problem... I'll just recall and execute the right move. It may not sound like a superb way to overcome phobia, but as time goes my confident build up again. Live today, ride tomorrow.

I have been riding a lot before this incident. Just that this happened on road which scare me off. Many bikers here know road sometime has full of debris be it sand, oil, at time, mud. No matter how good skill a rider has, once meets with such debris, the bike's tires will lose traction and everything might happen.

actually the simplest way to combat it, is to slow down. Especially before you turn.

Just ride safer =)

I've did the same thing as you, because of poor judgement and impatient.

Got a wide turning into an opposing traffic lane, and there was a bus incoming. I bank my bike down and it drop and glided . And luckily I only suffered physical wound (and to make thing worst, it became a scar. )

Since then, I've been doing corners and turns way slower than I used to, and as long as you don't feel confident , just do it slower.

JackOHJack should know about my incident, cos he did saw and replied to my post last time.

Ride safely and enjoy your ride =)

Adventure.

I think if you like riding but scared..school is the best place to start again. Class 2/2A only requires you to ride in circuit anyway. Do it with instructor supervision and if you feel you reallie cannot overcome the fear...then forget it..a few lessons won't cost you much $$ =)

ups for pro pillion hahahah

Watch this movie!

http://ecx.images-amazon.com/images/I/51V385EK4QL._SL500_.jpg

he oso had phobia of riding after crashing.

肥仔七åƒå·

I used to have phobias of riding because fresh out of public roads everyone and their grandmother seems to drive really, really fast.

However, this vulnerability and phobia of speed evolved into a quest for learning (learn about vehicle physics, suspension geometry steering, etc) and by following more experienced drivers on the road, eventually I fit the crowd very well.

When I had an unexpected tyre blowout (cub = stock tube tyres) likewise I took a holiday from riding to pass the phobia stage until I learnt to maintain the bike properly and ensure mechanics don't carrot me and do a piss poor job at servicing/repairs.

Now, I do my own DIY stuff to get over my innate fear of machinery and not wishing to get my hands dirty - the more people say my ideas will never work, the more I'll improve my designs until they do work and keep the secrets for myself.

Where no one will explore, I will go and claim all the profits :p

ok, i was really tired last night. :p

focus on things u can control:

1) buy good, if not the best, tires for your bike. AT LEAST must made in japan.

2) buy (AND WEAR!) some, if not a lot of, armor/ protection [full face, gloves, guards, armored jacket, boots, kidney belt etc]

3) take care of ur ride well.

4) ride within ur limits (pls dun try to find out what it is).

5) anticipate! alert! predict! pre-empt! learn more here! :smile:

things that u cannot control, dun focus TOO MUCH on them, like "Fwa, dunno got sand or not?" or "Fwa, pengz ald veli pain...".

take more public transport to be re-inspired! :lol:

took me quite a while to overcome it as well.

Just ride safer =)

Got a wide turning into an opposing traffic lane, and there was a bus incoming. I bank my bike down and it drop and glided . And luckily I only suffered physical wound (and to make thing worst, it became a scar. )

Since then, I've been doing corners and turns way slower than I used to, and as long as you don't feel confident , just do it slower.

JackOHJack should know about my incident, cos he did saw and replied to my post last time.

yeah, glad u r overcoming it.

Watch this movie!

http://ecx.images-amazon.com/images/I/51V385EK4QL._SL500_.jpg

he oso had phobia of riding after crashing.

:lol: classic la..

Sorry guys for the late replies, worked quite late today.

to overcome the phobia..

easy ..

dun ride :cheeky:

Ya, stopped for a few years

I face similar problem as you did before, after which whenever I'm about to negotiate the problem... I'll just recall and execute the right move. It may not sound like a superb way to overcome phobia, but as time goes my confident build up again. Live today, ride tomorrow.

actually the simplest way to combat it, is to slow down. Especially before you turn.

Yesh, after that, each turn i will start to slow down far far away.

Just ride safer =)

You understand my scare. It's really at the moment you know anything can happen due to the mistake

I still ride for a while after that "incident" before I sold my bike. I'm thinking of going for a higher cl2 lesson. But wonder if I would be scare again.

I used to have phobias of riding because fresh out of public roads everyone and their grandmother seems to drive really, really fast.

However, this vulnerability and phobia of speed evolved into a quest for learning (learn about vehicle physics, suspension geometry steering, etc) and by following more experienced drivers on the road, eventually I fit the crowd very well.

When I had an unexpected tyre blowout (cub = stock tube tyres) likewise I took a holiday from riding to pass the phobia stage until I learnt to maintain the bike properly and ensure mechanics don't carrot me and do a piss poor job at servicing/repairs.

Now, I do my own DIY stuff to get over my innate fear of machinery and not wishing to get my hands dirty - the more people say my ideas will never work, the more I'll improve my designs until they do work and keep the secrets for myself.

Where no one will explore, I will go and claim all the profits :p

The part here is, I'm a purely user, I will let the workshop do all maintenance, but I suspect some workshop bully me. /:

Thank guys for the encouragement. Give me a moment to save up a bit from the new job, likely I will go take higher bike license and get a bike. Then I'll need old bird advise. (:

Another way u can do, is to keep making the same mistakes..keep going into the opposite lane, especially those with heavy traffic..once you got numb of it, its no longer a phobia to u, but became a small deal to u..hahaha! Jk!

Juz ride with care..ride fast, if lucky, u'll reach the destination 5mins earlier..if unlucky, u'll reach heaven 40-50 yrs earlier..

Ride slow, if unlucky, u'll reach the destination 5min late..if lucky, u'll get to live 40-50yrs longer ;)

I used both, but when I know can't brake more already, I tried to bank my bike more toward the left and throttled when exiting.

Technique's spot on.

But since we're on only two wheels, reduced corner entry speed is safer (hence slow in fast out). I'm sure we've all entered corners way too fast before. No need to be afraid of it, just remind yourself "70% capability" at all times. 100% is for the racetrack.

After a while, cornering is the most fun thing on any motorbike, big or small.

As a final confidence boosting exam, try Neo Tiew Rd for a complex series of blind corners. Keep to the inside of the lane, should be able to maintain 70 on the straight parts, take your time with the hairpin bends, relying more on braking and acceleration for a good time through the course.

Edited by Pandora's Kitten :3

hmm... yea the missus is encountering phobia issues also, thats why she seldom rides these days. i mean i can't blame her la, crashing 3 times in a year who won't be afraid right? stationary fall, self skid to avoid hitting pedestrian jaywalking, and self skid due to oil patch on road. all sounds like suay scenarios don't you think? i'm slowly getting her to ride again, any inputs will definitely be useful.

Thrash? Don't mind if i do.

http://userserve-ak.last.fm/serve/126/59442677.gif

after crashing into a car which stops abruptly after crashing to another vehicle in front of me recently that left my thumb fractured.

the first few times that i rides after i recovered, the phobia of being behind a vehicle, seeing their brake light, will send chills down my spine...

but as the saying goes, learn from your mistakes, not repeat them, so after awhile of riding, i will maintain an even safer distance from the vehicle infront of me, but not to the extend of obstructing / road hogging though.

i think the best way to overcome, is to face them, try to learn from your/other's mistakes, confidence can be slowly built up.

Blacky Aka Xiao Hei May 2011 to ???