Well said. to add on to my comment. i wonder which sp/krr has not had a dead rider so far (Might be sterotyping abit). Alot of the times i hear deaths come from these two bikes. and they are reconditioned and placed back on sale again :)

*touch wood touch wood* hope I don't end up as a dead rider.Hope I don't buy a bike which has killed it's previous owner. But actually speaking rite it the rider who controls the bike so if end up dead means nt the machine fault maa.

I am not a racer. I am a rider.

• Replies 170

not necessarily lesser owners = better condition.... maybe the last guy really never take care of the bike?

when you buy an old bike you have to bear in mind that you are not only buying the machine, but also the inherit problems.... at least if you buy new bike the dealer will settle problems for you for the first xxxxxxxkm....

but having said that, i dont think its fair to condemn all SP or KR... they are many rider's introduction to the world of motorcycles as they are a cheap (though dated) platform for people to learn about their machines.... also, since they are rather simple 2-stroke bikes they can be easily modified here and there to squeeze extra performance....

when i was first looking at which 2B bike to get, all my friends were telling me to ride a kup because its cheap to buy, cheap to maintain and great on petrol.... but despite all their good advice, i still stuck with my SP.... even thought it cost me a lot to restore its condition (change piston, chain, jettings, cdi, brake pads, brake pump, service stomach) i still love it....

moral of the story: buy what you like and buy whats in your budget.... no point getting a bike you dont love, and no point buying a bike you cant maintain...

Haha looks like words from wise man. Hmm ya I know tat it dosent mean lesser owner means lesser damage but a lot of owner means high chance more damage done rite. Bro since u said u r still using a Sp how much u spent to maintain ur bike ??? How reguarly do u give for servicing ??

TS pls multi quote okie, so confusing reading the revamped forum :D

since u made up ur mind n choosing between kr/sp, i suggest KR.

KR better FC, easy to maintain, more comfortable.

Have u sat onto both bikes before? Pls sit on it n see if the bike suits ur posture or not.

Pls have enough money for servicing, keep ur bike in tip top condition.

View my sig link below for more info.

If u ask me, i wld sugg. KR. Even e Msians do hv KR in their market. Its a win win situation. U cn choose to buy or service here locally or ride across e causeway to do ur KR (that if u hv one). Peace :)

Had an sp for about a year, if you can get one that is in ok condition, quite cheap to maintain. Get the cheapest for everything. One whole year only use 4 bottles of 2T $6, change spark plug once $2, monthly 4T oil change $10. But don't spend too much on it. Limit your budget to $1000++ You don't want to keep it forever. Quite uncomfortable to ride compared to 2A bikes.

hmm i though u feed ur machine low quality product machine give more problem. limit budget to $1000 is per year rite. do u think sp a gd bike for a starter, somemore i small size somemore ??

True dat. But i believe that you can grow into loving your bike. If i got a phantom for my first bike instead of my ybr, i think i will grow to love it, even though how much i hate choppers, or in the case of a phantom, a fake chopper. (Dun flame me lols.) Hell, come to think of it, i was young and 19, and people laugh at me when i got a ybr. Only the more older and experienced rider did not. At the end of the day, i had the last laugh because many of them riding sp or kr, spent so much on maintanence, repairs and all others crap.

If you really want a 2 stroke, i would say get a rxz or even a vespa px150. I have heard too many stories of guys like die die want sp/kr so much, and they are so stubborn, 2 years down the road they can still say "i love my bike" or "i'm sticking with it" when they barely take their bikes out because need to repair something or just wanna save petrol because with that kind of fuel consumption and problems, might as well get an s4 or drz.

Just my humblest opinion.

hmm okay. i will consider it. drz hahah cannot la i so small sized how to ride drz. anyways thanks.

Well said.

That is why I do not recommend a 2 stroke bike to all friends, but nonetheless, they will still buy it.

Though the engine is simple, the way the way it operates is somewhat different from the bike a learner rides at the driving school. If the poor guy has no one the guide him, he would probably ended up like me 5 years back with all paranoid problems coming up, and getting carroted by all the goofy shop for little issues.

Want fuel consumption? Want Low maintenance? Want to ride fast hit the redlines all the time? Want Power?

If demand all of these in one bike its almost impossible. Its how one ride the bike, one may start with an sp and ride at almost full throttle all the time, then one should expect VERY higher frequency of servicing and shouldn't go whining about financial issues overwhelming personal interest and later go sell the bike.

Alternatively one can choose to go below the speed limits all the time, ride slowly, use 6bucks 2T, change 4T every 6000km, change your spark plug 12000km. The bike would still be in ridable condition after a year. It works! No piston seize, little maintenance problems encountered!

Interest in sports bike? Save it for something better bro, the save would be definitely worth it, very very worth it. You can start the maths now.

hmm ok. of course a class 2a sport bike better la definitely will be worth it.

eh bro what is this? it's not e bike its e rider. U put an idiot on a ybr he will still end up in between a road divider.

krr/sp/tzm are dangerous machinez... but dey are darn fun. Not like those2b "sportsbikes" of todae. Looks fast but NO power! If u wanna get a kr, learn 2 respect the machine and u b fine.

Between SP and KR, i wd recommend the kr as well =)

True it the rider who controls the bike nt the other way round. involved in accident dont blame bike hahaha.

Another person voting for kr. thanks.

my stock sp can go 180km/h

on meter.

anyway kr meter is more inaccurate than sp.

I never count how much i spent.

Anyway, from experience,

-kr more fuel efficent.

-kr lighter.

-kr better rear suspension.

-kr easier to make faster.

-kr more comfortable seat.

-kr more prone to have starting problem.

-sp swingarm more complicated and very heavy.

-sp to service valve need to open cylinder.

-sp wider rim.

-sp rectifier more prone to problem.

-sp easier to heat up.

thanks for info. :D

You would probably change to a spark 3 to 6 months down the road. Everybody is doing that I do not understand why hahahahahahahahahahaha!

Anyway most krr and sp would have multi layers of paint coatings and epoxy+putty fixes behind its fairings. Think thrice before you waste your cash on one.

I TOTALLY AGREE WITH THIS. I RIDING KR AND NOW I WANT TO CHANGE TO SPARK. seriously ts, just take spark, u wont regret. i took kr, my friend took sp, both regret, should have taken out spark :(

nahh i dont think i will buy spark all. i still studying abit shy to ride spark to poly u know. hahha

soo most of them say kr better compared to sp uh ??

how come no one support sp wan ??

i actually prefer sp to kr cas of it looks.

now seriously more confused..haizz

zz...ppl recomand kr,nw u sae u lyk sp more coz of looks

when iam in bbdc,i told myself i wanna gt a sp.

but dan i got 1 kr,dunno y.srsly,idk y i get krr.

afer that.love him everyday man

for maintainance. both aso 2 stroke,nid 2T n coolant.gt diff meh ? budget abit lor

my kr easily 140

FC ? u go tune here n there,no more 'fc' thing liao

my frend sp faster dan kr,c u wan mod anot only

stock sp 180-190? sum of my frends 250km/h. once agn,c u wan to mod anot

sum kr meter nt accurate.nid dedcut 10 or 20km/h

sp if u wan mod.can fly

kr insurance 1.3k sp $900 for p plate 18-19 yr old

KR FTW

nahh i dont think i will buy spark all. i still studying abit shy to ride spark to poly u know. hahha

So You Intend To Get Either A KR Or SP Just To Show Off To Your Schoolmates?

Spark To You Is What? Only For Ah Peks? :lol:

It Will Be More Embarrasing To Have A Bike That Always Give Probs Then In The End No Money To Maintain It & Have To Let It Go. In The End Must Take Public Transport. Much More Paiseh Right?

If You Really Wanna Look Good & Show Off To Attract The Chicks, Get A Derbi GPR Or Aprilia RS125 Then. :angel:

What is there to be shy about ? No use buy kr/sp if you use cheap 2t, pump half only because singapore petrol expensive. Then service all want cheap one because still schooling, need to budget. Chain sprocket use the cheapest. Then valve jam no enough money to service valve. Tyre use IRC . Touch wood, drop the bike. Scratch but still no money to do painwork. Results in ugly kr because no money to maintain because still schooling.

Guy A ( Spark )

- Nice paintwork

- Digital meter

- Battlax tyre

- Engine ice coolant

- Motul engine oil

- Service every 4 month

- Nice pipe sound

You (kr/sp )

- IRC tyre

- Cheap chain n sprocket

- 5 dollar engine oil

- 6 dollar 2t strawberry flavour

- Bike sound so diff but still wanna ride cause no money to service

- Paintwork crack. Still ride. No money to repair farrings.

- Irritating sound of ur pipe because you mod to attract chicks at ur school.

Tell me. Which is betta ?

hmm ok.

Other then speed which aspect do u think a sp lose out to kr ??

bro u ride wat bike ??....sp is it (ur display put sp) ??

if SP how much maitainace u pay per month ???

Does ur SP give u any problem ??

fuel conmsumption also lose to kr..

my sp maintanence per month ??

lets see, 100 sing ?

my so nevr give me problem leh , thats why i cannot bear to let go ..

u shy to ride spark ??

ius it all abt face ?? gosh ....

Spark is better than KR. You student, how much do you earn a month? kr maintenance way higher than spark and i think spark more comfortable to ride. If you rich, get rs125, sure wont shy.

haha shy to ride spark.

U people to look up to you just because u ride sp/kr?

I hope spark riders will embarass u on ur sportbike on the road.

http://farm5.static.flickr.com/4081/4931040347_0bda87b07d_b.jpg
haha shy to ride spark.

sorry to ot abit here...

@Bro keraking is the 3rd bike in your sig a suzuki raider 150?

a little side dessert for 2 stroke lovers. definitely some of the dream 2 strokers you wanna ride in your life time...

1985 Yamaha RZ500

http://static.howstuffworks.com/gif/1985-yamaha-rz500-1.jpg

Yamaha RD500LC

http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/8/8d/RD500.jpg

Honda NSR500

http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/thumb/6/64/HondaNSR500R.jpg/800px-HondaNSR500R.jpg

Class 2B - 26/03/2009

Class 2A - 01/06/2010

Class 3 - 10/07/2009

Rides(s)

1) Honda TA150 - 20/04/2009 to 31/08/2014

2) Honda CB400 Ver S - 12/07/2014 to ???

haha shy to ride spark.

Huahuahuahua! :thumb:

People Own & Ride A Bike For Convenience. If You Wanna Show Off, Go Get Yourself A Helicopter Then. Everyday Sky Dive To School.

So You Intend To Get Either A KR Or SP Just To Show Off To Your Schoolmates?

Spark To You Is What? Only For Ah Peks? :lol:

It Will Be More Embarrasing To Have A Bike That Always Give Probs Then In The End No Money To Maintain It & Have To Let It Go. In The End Must Take Public Transport. Much More Paiseh Right?

If You Really Wanna Look Good & Show Off To Attract The Chicks, Get A Derbi GPR Or Aprilia RS125 Then. :angel:

haha bro no tat's nt wat i meant. i aint buying a bike to show off but spark a gd economical bike. but i dont think it suit me tats all.

What is there to be shy about ? No use buy kr/sp if you use cheap 2t, pump half only because singapore petrol expensive. Then service all want cheap one because still schooling, need to budget. Chain sprocket use the cheapest. Then valve jam no enough money to service valve. Tyre use IRC . Touch wood, drop the bike. Scratch but still no money to do painwork. Results in ugly kr because no money to maintain because still schooling.

Guy A ( Spark )

- Nice paintwork

- Digital meter

- Battlax tyre

- Engine ice coolant

- Motul engine oil

- Service every 4 month

- Nice pipe sound

You (kr/sp )

- IRC tyre

- Cheap chain n sprocket

- 5 dollar engine oil

- 6 dollar 2t strawberry flavour

- Bike sound so diff but still wanna ride cause no money to service

- Paintwork crack. Still ride. No money to repair farrings.

- Irritating sound of ur pipe because you mod to attract chicks at ur school.

Tell me. Which is betta ?

Guy A better la. hmm

Precisely What Im Trying To Say.

Im Riding A Spark & I Feel Offended.

hey bro no offence man. peace.

i just said tat a spark wont suit me tats it ya. no offence.