Hey SBF-er, if you guys/girls were to choose between the 2, which will you choose? and why?

Truth to be told, i'm having a hard time deciding which to get, would be cool to have some opinions.

• Replies 26

U want first hand or 2nd hand? If u want first hand, then get the fz150 cos honda tiger is out of production. Getting spare parts might be an issue. I am a fz150i rider, so far i like this bike. Its a gd bike for commuting. It has gd fuel efficiency, not as gd as bajaj but still v gd.

Class 3: 12th Jul 2007

Class 4: 24th Aug 2009

Class 2B: 8th Jul 2010

Class 2A: 15th Nov 2011

Class 2: 19th Mar 2013

Yamaha FZ 150i [FBD xxxxx] - 12th Jul 2010 - 24 Nov 2011

Honda Super Four CB400 Revo [FBE xxxxx] - 24 Nov 2011 - 23 Mar 2013

Yamaha XJ6 Diversion [FBH xxxxx] - Since 23 Mar 2013

@gkang, I'm gonna get 1st hand bike just to be safe since I'm a total newbie, dunno how to pick good 2nd hand bikes. Besides, both models are very new I think there're not many 2nd hand available @ good price.

Oh btw, the honda tiger I'm referring to is the latest 200cc model (Tiger Revo) the 1 with asymmetric headlamp. It was released in 2007, should still be in production right?

I would pick the FZ150 for its fuel injected technology. You never need to tune the carb, the ECU will select the optimal fuel air ratio depending on throttle position, intake temperature, etc etc, giving you top performance anytime anywhere.

Yamaha is also VERY good at commuter bike design. I rode one the other day, even though I was totally not familiar with the riding posture or the controls, my fingers instinctively found the right switches automatically! Its gearbox makes a fantastic sound that only you the rider can enjoy, it's rather silent from the observer's perspective and quite punchy in acceleration (thanks to the EFI).

As for the Honda Tiger.... while the "Revolution Cruiser" looks great and has a famous following in other countries (eg, Indonesia), you can get as much fun getting somebody's beat up old Phantom, stiffening up the forks for street-fighting handling and modifying it for maximum power. Phantom uses the Tiger engine :) so I got an older Phantom instead for like, 10% of the price.

I was actually down at bukit merah area 3 wks back asking ard for the price of FZ150i, that's when i came upon the tiger lol, anyways the price tag is v close was quoted 6.7 otr excluding insurance for fz n tiger is abt 200 bucks more.

@ Pandora, nice review on FZ, since u mentioned phantom, is there anyway I can get my hands on 1st hand phantom?

phantom production stopped already. only can get 2nd (3rd/4th/5th..) hand phantoms now. the phantom riding posture and the fz/tiger riding posture will be very different. better you go and sit on the bike to see which one you prefer.

I can attest to that lol. Your riding posture is like "Superman" - like all Yamaha sports commuters the riding posture is very high and forward. It's a commanding position and quite comfortable, but it takes some getting used to if you're a vastly overgrown kitten at 6ft6in

As for new Phantoms - how I got it new is get a cheap crap bike, make sure the crucial bits are in good condition then rebuild it. Add chrome and do anti corrosion on as many parts as I can for bling looks. As far as I'm concerned it can be ridden twice as hard as "normal" Phantoms as I made sure some "improvements" were made during the rebuild :D "New" bike for $2,000.00.

For other forumers I can go even lower. $1,200.00 Phantom also can recondition (DIY). $800? Also can. There are more stuff to fix but just spend a day on mechanical review, and a combination of DIY tuning and Planet Motors' skilled help for more difficult tasks.

I would choose Yamaha FZ150i due to EFI. More petrol saving in the long run.

Honda Tiger is using Carburator. I dun wan la.

Hi juz to add on to a this topic,as for both bike got pros n cons,as for the Tiger i ask ard the parts shouldnt be much of the problem coz they using the same Technology wth Phantom the only problem its manufacture in Indonesia thats why people tends to think twice and as for Yamaha its a gd bike no doubt but the most concern is juz the maintenance for the fuel injection $$ alot of additional parts to run the fuel pumps compared to the old technology of Carburator,well its up to individual but for me i prefer old tech using Carburator.Thanks juz my opinions cheers

Year 2000 - Aprillia Rossi model(my first bike)

FQ****

Year 2002 - RXZ (FQ****)

Year 2004 - TZRR (FH****)

Year 2006 -RXZ (FR****)

Year 2010 Nov - Honda Tiger Revo 200 (FBE*****)

TILL Now

Hi juz to add on to a this topic,as for both bike got pros n cons,as for the Tiger i ask ard the parts shouldnt be much of the problem coz they using the same Technology wth Phantom the only problem its manufacture in Indonesia thats why people tends to think twice and as for Yamaha its a gd bike no doubt but the most concern is juz the maintenance for the fuel injection $$ alot of additional parts to run the fuel pumps compared to the old technology of Carburator,well its up to individual but for me i prefer old tech using Carburator.Thanks juz my opinions cheers

Thank you for the very objective review :)

For the rundown on carb bs EFI - carb you can self-tune if ever you notice the bike not performing properly but the caveat is that most riders I have met in real life do not know what the mixture settings, slides, jets, needles etc work and rely on shop for tuning. I don't like shop tuning because rarely they will ever test ride the bike and generally resort to providing over-rich settings for safety. So many bikes like the Phantom are never on the street with optimal tuning, causing issues with reliability and performance.

Who is happy? Workshops. Things go wrong faster, more repairs, more profit. That's why I started tuning Phantoms as a hobby, all the problems can be fixed by turning a few screws, literally.

For the end user, especially new license holders, it makes sense to give them the FZ150i not only as a fun, new "tech toy" but also for ownership security as well. Since the bike self-tunes, dishonest shops cannot carrot, fuel efficiency and power is also increased over a carbureted engine :)

Who is happy? Workshops. Things go wrong faster, more repairs, more profit. That's why I started tuning Phantoms as a hobby, all the problems can be fixed by turning a few screws, literally.

Do you need to remove the carb to tune it? There are only 2 visible screws on my carb. The fuel drain hose screw and the engine idling screw.

Saw a honda tiger at bugis, it looks odd. Something about the asymmetrical headlights and the silver wing mini fairings. The bike looks like a confused cyclops.

Think not many people riding the tiger. Or the tiger riders are ah peks who don't come here. But really rare bike, seldom see on the roads. The most common bikes are CB400, RXZ, Phantom, Gilera and the kups X1 & Spark. Any carpark sure have these bikes.

Hello, just to let you know that I'm an Indonesian and I study in Singapore now. I suggest if you considering Honda Tiger as one of your choices, better not to buy this bike first because there's a rumor in Indonesia there will be a really new Honda Tiger at least within 1 or 2 years. Even more, the demand for a really new Honda Tiger is very high because Honda Indonesia never put any refreshment for the engine since 1993. Note: Honda Tiger is very popular in Indonesia.

support fz150i.ez going bike.sav fuel.me pump v power can use mre mileage and more power.maintain is ez as abc ,eo,plug and oil filter.nvr try b4 efi bike b4.tis is the first bike i try on with no headache as anytme of the day on starter start liao.enage gear and its go as smooth as a auto bike.Tok to Hong leong,bike been resolved issue of fuel pump as 1st batch gt abit prob on tat and following batches all r QC passed.Even nw malaysia is coming out the blue colour at their side.Singapore dun hv.haha.chat with a guy who i met recently who buy frm malaysia telling me tis bike bring him to and fro frm M to S to work with no prob at all.And he is v happy abt tis bike.So those who wan nt a racing type of rider can try on tis bike.As for those who prefer to race,its better to tak 2 stroke bike.tat my comment only.no offence.

Think not many people riding the tiger. Or the tiger riders are ah peks who don't come here. But really rare bike, seldom see on the roads. The most common bikes are CB400, RXZ, Phantom, Gilera and the kups X1 & Spark. Any carpark sure have these bikes.

Seen quite a few of Tigers on the road lately, from yound to old riders. Good or not, cant comment cos Im not riding one. Check out its own thread for the actual review, make sense though :)

the honda tiger is the same bike that is using in the driving centre(bbdc)except bigger cc(150cc vs 200cc)plus rear disc brake and of course more powerful.the bad thing about the honda tiger is it tends to have lots of vibration when riding long distance.