Hello, Topic starter.

Have you stayed overseas before? Its fun and its a eye opener for the 1st and 2nd year. But after awhile, Once you have settled in.. It will be a different story. Going there straight to work is not the same as going there to study. When you are there to study, You will have many friends from school to enjoy life but if your a worker, You will have less friends and your lifestyle will be different then your friends who go overseas to study.

You cant tell the feel of a country by just going there for a 1wk or 1 month holiday.. You have to stay there and live your life as a local to truly know if the environment is for you.

Singapore Minus the Government is a great place to live in because all your friends and family is here. I when over to aus to study/work for almost 2yrs, just because i wanted to get out of Singapore and be far away from it and Restart my system. It was well worth it, but im still happy to be back home. Its a different vibe. Once again..Singapore is the sH|T but our government makes living here lame for everyone.

P.s If you really just want to keep a distant from this country for awhile but dont have enough skills/qualification to get full-time work there. You can also find a yr long course. You will get a study(work) visa and can enjoy life there for a Yr while you take an easy 1 yr course and most likely you will receive an additional time of 4 to 5 months on your visa after your studies. You can work as a cleaner for 12-15 per/hr spraying plates with water hose and stuffing them in a dish washer or working in farms if live close by to them. Look at courses in TAFE Australia(Courses are not that expensive and if you really wanna upgrade yourself, They have courses in almost anything, Its the same as our ITE but with more course) Singapore passport will get you your visa within 2wks after getting your letter of enrollment, medical check up and processing)

Just a shot in the dark, I guess i was having the same feel as you when i decided to take a BREAK from Singapore, You dont really want to migrate just yet, For you i guess you just need a distanct from this Country. So Its nice to get away from the system for awhile, You will come back feeling re-vitalized but Only for a few yrs b4 you feel like running away again unless you get married and your grounded here for LIFE!!! LIFE LIFE LIFE LIFE LIFE!!! hehehe :p

Edited by bluelabel
  • Replies 67

so that's what holdingup young couples getting married, because of sg sh!t here.

Why singaporeans r going away n foreigners r coming here?

Is our country too bad or too good?

http://i87.photobucket.com/albums/k130/yeobt/Picnikcollage-1.jpg
Actually Singapore good, only Gahmen bad, so if can change gahmen like you change your underwear, too bad not everyone sees it this way.

You think our govt is bad? You will be slapped in the face by many foreign visitors here if u ever

Said this to them. I'm not a pro-govt here, I voted NSP in our last GE, but I can tell you, we hv

One of the efficient govt among our region. But of course, our govt is like a kid, they hv to be

Hit on the butt once awhile to wake their F up. Keke

If the servant of ppl is not working, fire them!

Actually Singapore good, only Gahmen bad, so if can change gahmen like you change your underwear, too bad not everyone sees it this way.

You think our govt is bad? You will be slapped in the face by many foreign visitors here if u ever

Said this to them. I'm not a pro-govt here, I voted NSP in our last GE, but I can tell you, we hv

One of the efficient govt among our region. But of course, our govt is like a kid, they hv to be

I also feel like migrating, but I know how its like being without friends in a country. Or rather being so far from friends and family...

I know Singapore is a nice place, but just parts here and there that are out of place. Need not mention though... and we lack alot of opportunities and places. Life here may be boring. I read through the entire thread up to here and saw what some others say.

Few things I would give a thumbs up to...

1. Its good to go overseas to enjoy for few months years, then come back.

2. Work in SG but a life in Msia or something.

It depends what you're looking for actually... If really want to migrate overseas, I would find myself some friends over there, could do through mmorpg like WOW or EverQuest because I've tried and known very friendly people who are very willing to help you :)

From there, when you go over, you have people to mix with, otherwise still the same, stuck to computer, tv all day. Eat Work TV Computer Sleep.

Also, overseas got track, got twisties, many places where you can do many other things. I'm kinda sick of this movie, window shopping, town walking in Singapore though.

Migrating is such a huge issue, that might affect your life a lot, unless u get a family and settle over there with a local spouse. Then u can have all her friends as your friends too, lol. Well, my uncle tried Shanghai and New Zealand, he still came back to Singapore. :o

If you work for a multinational or if your company has offices overseas, make enquiries and see if you can get posted elsewhere. Many banks for instance encourage their employees to head to other offices abroad. You could ask for a one or two year posting. Some companies might ask you to apply to an overseas office as a new employee but will be able to give you a recommendation from their local office.

If you've never lived abroad, my advice is: learn to be happy here first--then when you leave, you'll know how to make the most of things.

Aiyo all those people who think sg really ****ed up pls just **** off and go. dono what curry too strong smell... 7 years or not... just gtfo. This is still my home...................... for now.

y the anger ? do u feel those singaporeans who choose to migrate are no different from traitors betraying their own country ?

Bah-weep-Graaaaagnah wheep ni ni bong.

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v643/wayangxjr/contrast_siggy.jpg

y the anger ? do u feel those singaporeans who choose to migrate are no different from traitors betraying their own country ?

No, i', just pissed at whiners and complainers who do nothing. They so unhappy but they sit on their hands and do nothing. Not happy go la.... like that tiong who hates curry.... just goooooooooooo.

because sg govt wants cheap labour for biz men, singaporeans migrate because they are underpaid, foreigners come here because they are cheap and their country is in recession.

i feel its better to have tried n come back then to not try at all.. we all only have 1 life to live.. my advice to others is to do a VERY thorough research on the country u want to migrate to.. the best is to talk to people who r living thr or have lived thr b4

Yes, doing research is important. My big boss's brother did that. Flew to Perth and Sydney to look for house only to find out that Brisbane is still cheaper. So I've been helping him by photocopying Brisbane maps and highlighting the suitable demographic area for him.

And if you just want a break.

Go on. Malaysia and Thailand. With enough savings, lets say S$1k, you can live off in Thailand for 3 months.

Is this the country area of Thailand or Bangkok that I can live off for 3 months on S$1k?

only rich people can choose to migrate or choose where they want live. if you are poor in sg, go anywhere also just about poor wan, unless you downgrade to countries like M'sia or Thailand, or Indonesia. most commonwealth countries you go, i dont think you be better off, just Lana squeeze balls the other way just the same.

Want to compare of course got worse gahmens, must slap them before they get worse.

only rich people can choose to migrate or choose where they want live. if you are poor in sg, go anywhere also just about poor wan, unless you downgrade to countries like M'sia or Thailand, or Indonesia. most commonwealth countries you go, i dont think you be better off, just Lana squeeze balls the other way just the same.

Aiyah if don't have to pay an arm or a leg for basic necessities like shelter, good enough to liao. Live in Singapore, forever in debt, pay full cash for your home? For the average Singaporean, maybe have to live with parents until 40s then can, even then it isn't truly yours.

oK. We come to where we actually are . Bikes. IN australia ---- bikes are cheap, cheap, cheap, second hand more cheap. repair??? about the same if you can find enough repair shop.

England --- bikes more ex. insurance ex. repair ex.

I'm thinking of moving to NZ instead. Not becos that I hate living here, but I fell in luv with the place when I was there for a month. In fact, almost bought a house there! I got a feel of living there (instead of just being a tourist) cos I stayed with my MIL & her sister's family who has been there for over 7 yrs.

However, job is limited there and if ur industry is not in the skills shortage list, it is very difficult to get a job offer without a resident status. To get around this, I'm trying to work in Australia through my present company and if I can get an Aus PR, I will be allowed to stay in NZ as well.

Most people will get a NZ PR, then move to Oz because that's the back door way

recent changes by australia is NZ PR dont get automatic eligibility anymore. but australian PR can easily get NZ PR.

What I was trying to state is that it is easier to get the NZ PR, then it will automatically qualified you NZ Citizenship after 5 years. NZ citizens can live and work freely in Australia.

When a Singaporean takes up NZ or Oz Citizenship, you don't even need to renounce Singapore citizenship. So on the quiet, you can still hang on to your HDB, just in case things don't work out overseas, there is still a nest back home. If things flourish, sell the HDB, renounce citizenship, withdraw CPF, then can buy bikes, boat, and even a cessna.....all cash :).

The Civil Servants are good people, the problem are the people who write the policies.

Of cos la, Most of this foreigners are from 3rd world country.. Try saying that to people from 1st world countries, They will laugh at you cos for them Singapore is a communist society, A country that is oppressed, Welfare system is a joke(Regardless of the fact that Singapore has a good economy), and plus our money is being kept away from us(Cpf), even if we need to use it for emergency like education overseas or to open business. Also the ridicules amount it cost for a Government Housing, Which i reckon doesnt cost much to construct, How much does an empty 4 rm flat cost to construct? No way will people from 1st world countries would want to take up citizenship here, only people from 3rd world countries like Philippine, china and India even malaysian rather be Malaysian.

Technically you owe nothing here, Your veh has a 10yr lease on it and your house is leased by the government for 99yrs, So there is basically nothing you own.

My friend just bought a house in Philippines with his gf... $30000 or close to 40k in all is what he spend which include furnishing and misc.

Next to my boss house in aus, Which is on-top of a hill cost $50 000, Same size like semi-detached house in Singapore, made of Wood which is still in good condition, Only have to fix the electrical & plumbing system.(But slightly out of the city, maybe about 40min drive, which is alright)(I was seriously thinking of asking loan from my parents to purchase the house, Then i tot again, And told myself dont talk C0ck.)

Singapore by any means is still a great country to live in, And im proud to be a Singaporean who was Born & Raised here. But it can be greater if the government start to tune and tweak certain policies and give more welfare to people who are in need of it, Regardless whether they are sick/handicapped or have personnel issues, We do have a welfare sysetem but its a joke, is far too little. I always ask myself where does the DAILY intake of ERP, COE, ROAD TAX, FINES, TAX, GST goes to? Everday the government is brining in Tons of $$$ but its not going back to its people, Houses is still very expensive and you got to work hard and save for a long time to fully pay for it, your education is paid totally by your parents and your medical is paid via your insurance, company or yourself. Yet we got to serve in the military. Certain things has to be changed in Singapore, If not the 40% opposition will soon become 60%.*40% is almost half the population, which means they arent happy.

Edited by bluelabel