Do u use engine kill switch? the previous owner of my bike says that he changed b4 once $360 coz the kill switch spoil.

i always have the habit of using kill switch but he told me to use the key to cut off the engine

any comments?

• Replies 21

Originally posted by paiseh@March 17, 2007 08:33 am

Do u use engine kill switch? the previous owner of my bike says that he changed b4 once $360 coz the kill switch spoil.

i always have the habit of using kill switch but he told me to use the key to cut off the engine

any comments?

I also have the habit of using the kill-switch then turn of engine with key. Actually its double work.

the kill switch is nothing but a contact. If the kill switch is spoilt and you don't want to replace it, just by-pass the kill-switch circuit.

Originally posted by Demon@March 17, 2007 10:38 am

I also have the habit of using the kill-switch then turn of engine with key. Actually its double work.

the kill switch is nothing but a contact. If the kill switch is spoilt and you don't want to replace it, just by-pass the kill-switch circuit.

actually, i think it's double work too..

but if that's the case, then why was it invented in the first place?

-= Unsure of what to get=-

i think it is there just in case u need to turn off engine in an emergency and the key cannot come out ...

~~~~~Class 3 :: 31 Oct 2002~~~~~

~~~~~Class 2B :: 21 Aug 2006~~~~~

~~~~~Class 2A :: 16 Oct 2006~~~~~

Originally posted by cephelix@March 17, 2007 10:42 am

actually, i think it's double work too..

but if that's the case, then why was it invented in the first place?

Not sure if it's some laws that make this switch a standard item.

This is what i extracted from the internet.

"You may need to use the KILL switch if your bike falls over and you can't reach the ignition. Just trip the KILL switch"

oooooo...

unless u sway ur bike falls in a position that u can't reach the kill switch or ignition...

ahahaha...

but using it shouldn't do any damage to ur bike unless it was faulty in the first place

-= Unsure of what to get=-

Originally posted by cephelix@March 17, 2007 10:58 am

oooooo...

unless u sway ur bike falls in a position that u can't reach the kill switch or ignition...

ahahaha...

but using it shouldn't do any damage to ur bike unless it was faulty in the first place

on trail, you fall in all kinds of weird position, some are funny, some can be deadly. Which would explain the position of the kill-switch is within finger's reach.

I would agree that there is no side effect on the bike regardless if the kill-switch is use or not. Of course, all mechanical parts have a life span cycle, and the kill switch will rach that point eventually. If you start and stop your bike 10 times a day, and every day for 10 years. it's only 73000 times. A good kill-switch should survive that figure.

Its for safety where you need to immediately cut off your engine. That is why it is positioned near your hand.

Mar 2001 - Jul 2001 DT200R

Jul 2001 - May 2004 WR200

Jun 2004 - Sep 2005 GS125

Sep 2005 - Aug 2006 Super4 Vtec II

Aug 2006 - Feb 2007 Bajaj Pulsar

Feb 2007 Super4 Vtec I

Say your throttle got stuck and you can't close it. You want to reach for the key, but you have your left hand on the clutch lever and the other trying to undo the throttle. So how? Just use ur thumb for the killswitch lor...

Interesting...Initially, I thought that the kill switch was just an added unused feature.

Anyways, a lot of people that I've met told me to use the kill switch to "turn it off" because it would be healthy for the bike's electrical system and the battery...

...so when I tried electric-starting the bike, it actually attempted to crank the engine -- which means the electric-start system remains powered.

Originally posted by redbeacon@March 19, 2007 01:29 am

Interesting...Initially, I thought that the kill switch was just an added unused feature.

Anyways, a lot of people that I've met told me to use the kill switch to "turn it off" because it would be healthy for the bike's electrical system and the battery...

...so when I tried electric-starting the bike, it actually attempted to crank the engine -- which means the electric-start system remains powered.

yes, it's still connected to your battery, but the engine is cut off. Your electronics are still using the battery power. So if you leave the key there with the ignition on and the kill switch there, the engine won't start, but your battery will be drained.

It's been proven 10 years ago when my friend didn't take his key out overnight. Bike still there, key still there, but power to crank the bike is no longer there. Had to tow the bike to bike shop and charge the battery :sian:

Originally posted by gohjohan@March 19, 2007 09:32 am

yes, it's still connected to your battery, but the engine is cut off. Your electronics are still using the battery power. So if you leave the key there with the ignition on and the kill switch there, the engine won't start, but your battery will be drained.

It's been proven 10 years ago when my friend didn't take his key out overnight. Bike still there, key still there, but power to crank the bike is no longer there. Had to tow the bike to bike shop and charge the battery :sian:

easy way is take out battery and take go bike shop.. no need to waste money on towing.. but thats provided you know how to take your bike's batt out.

in fact the kill switch is to cut off the engine once u fall(its easier to press a switch then to twist your keys) so as to prevent any sparks generated which may cause fire as you all know our bike is petrol driven.

You are all correct. The swich-off red button is for safety.

The most important reason is to kill the engine in case of accident. Due to the reason that the ignition key is "exposed", the chances to break in an accident are very high (unlikely than car).

Also in case of trottle suck for any reason you still can clutch, break and press the switch-off button at the same time and in a safe manner. That's the reason is always positioned at the right hand side of the handle-bar.

I also heard that using the "switch-off" button is protecting your engine and yr battery. I used to do it before on bikes that they had switch to off the headlights. However I no longer do it as the headlights still remains on and that may, in the long run, affect the battery.

http://i224.photobucket.com/albums/dd117/keratsini/greece_bl.gif http://i224.photobucket.com/albums/dd117/keratsini/MyK8b.jpg

know why the engine switch is RED?

it's there for a safety reason etc key broken cos accident or throttle problem.

frequent usage may results in wearing it off and may be inefficient in an event of emergency or accident...

http://i70.photobucket.com/albums/i120/Namee30/MetalSlug1.gif http://i70.photobucket.com/albums/i120/Namee30/2505572364771cf7370558.gif

One life ~~ One love ~~ One United.

ε(â—̃•̃)з Ù©(à¹à¹)Û¶ Ù©(â—̃•̃)Û¶

Originally posted by kOpi_jaC@March 22, 2007 06:03 am

know why the engine switch is RED?

it's there for a safety reason etc key broken cos accident or throttle problem.

frequent usage may results in wearing it off and may be inefficient in an event of emergency or accident...

Yeah!!! should use it unless emergency.. but during 'peacetimes' check once in awhile!!!! :cheeky:

Iron Horses... Let's Rock and Roll!!!

i use to use it for back fire too... :D

:makeup: :shy:

Reality is the only obstacle to happiness. .. ...