• Replies 99.2k

• pichudot

• innards

• maxxmadness

• bigman_185

Could b starter carbon

current bikes: NSR 250 PGM4, HRC CBR 1k & SYM GTS200

Cars :KIA CERATO H/B(05-09)

Bikes:Ypvs 125(90-92),NSR PGM 2(92-93),MBX 125(93-94)

TZr250(94-95),GSXR 400sp(95-98),Aprilia Extrema(96-98), Fireblade 400(98-00),RXZ(98-00),RVF400(00-02), Dalim magma(00-02),RXZ(00-01) Krr150(00-03),R6(02-05),Wave(03-05),125z(03-05),RXZ(08),DRZ SM(06-08)VTR SP1(08-11)Phantom 200(08-10),Fz1s(11-13)

Lol the throttle rocker thing ah? Yea I prob will try that first since its cheap

Haha clutch not too irritating to me since u seldom pull it as compared to the throttle. If no gloves throttle really sian. Especially when blipping on downshifts.

Btw off topic abit. How's bikeworks for stuff like valve clearance, throttle body sync etc? My usual shop is planet but I doubt they provide these services.

Throttle rocker can also get from LAB. $4 only nia.

Bikeworks valve clearance service for me find it quite okie. $350 all in for v/c, throttle body syn, eo, spark plugs, clean K&n filter. Turnaround time 2 days for mine. Find that bike is very smooth and less jerky after v/c.

I have a '09 Fazer 6 S2 since new.

Been having this problem for the past 8 months intermittently.

When I turn the ignition on and press the starter button, it just makes a click sound. Sometimes i press the start button a few times and finally the starter motor will come on and it will start. Today, it took me about 5 minutes of clicking before it started. This 5 min clicking happened once before too.

a) battery is 3 yrs old - on the way out? unlikely because if it is weak ... it wont start (like today) especially after 5 minutes of clicking and the small lamps draining it even more.

b) starter motor fuse?

c) seems to improve a bit when i sprayed contact cleaner into the starter button area ... just a poor contact?

Any one else here experience this?

Would appreciate any views/advice on the possbile causes. Thanks.

Yea do check ure fuse 1st.

wah ure battery last so long. any signs of losing voltage?

but i guess if u take 5 mins to crank it up, 1st suspect is battery has not enough power to start ure bike. If u keep on doing that on a weak battery, it may lead to starter motor fuse, rectifier, coil all spoil . Get ure mechanic to check it out:)

YAMAHA FZ1S ABS 2K12

Bro, valve clearance also change tapper rite?

TZr250(94-95),GSXR 400sp(95-98),Aprilia Extrema(96-98), Fireblade 400(98-00),RXZ(98-00),RVF400(00-02), Dalim magma(00-02),RXZ(00-01) Krr150(00-03),R6(02-05),Wave(03-05),125z(03-05),RXZ(08),DRZ SM(06-08)VTR SP1(08-11)Phantom 200(08-10),Fz1s(11-13)

Thanks M Max & Yatz ... will check the starter relay .. under the seat rite ... hope its just somehting minor

Throttle rocker can also get from LAB. $4 only nia.

Bikeworks valve clearance service for me find it quite okie. $350 all in for v/c, throttle body syn, eo, spark plugs, clean K&n filter. Turnaround time 2 days for mine. Find that bike is very smooth and less jerky after v/c.

oh okay i'll go there for valve clearance then in a month or two.

i just bought the throttle rocker from ah boy. works fine imo but could be abit dangerous lol. but there is this rubber piece like a rubber band u have to put on the throttle first before putting the rocker on. will that melt onto the grips?

2008 July - 2010 March: Daelim Roadwin R 125 (FBC 8363 K)

2010 March - 2011 September: SYM GTS 200 (FBD 7445 J)

2011 September - 2013 April: Yamaha Fazer fz6s2 (FBB 5824 Y)

2013 March - now: Honda NC700XD (FBH **** D)

Thanks M Max & Yatz ... will check the starter relay .. under the seat rite ... hope its just somehting minor

Starter relay is under the tank, above the battery.

http://i17.photobucket.com/albums/b55/soundless81/SwimmingSession.jpg

Apr 2006 ~ Current - Toyota Altis 1.6A

Apr 2010 ~ Current - X9 500(Big Bulb-å¤§ç¯æ³¡)

May 2010 ~ Current - 150cc ET8(Little Lamb)

Oct 2010 ~ Oct 2012 - FZ6S2(肥仔六)

Oct 2012 ~ Current - ZG1400(鸡踢鸭)

I have a '09 Fazer 6 S2 since new.

Been having this problem for the past 8 months intermittently.

When I turn the ignition on and press the starter button, it just makes a click sound. Sometimes i press the start button a few times and finally the starter motor will come on and it will start. Today, it took me about 5 minutes of clicking before it started. This 5 min clicking happened once before too.

a) battery is 3 yrs old - on the way out? unlikely because if it is weak ... it wont start (like today) especially after 5 minutes of clicking and the small lamps draining it even more.

b) starter motor fuse?

c) seems to improve a bit when i sprayed contact cleaner into the starter button area ... just a poor contact?

Any one else here experience this?

Would appreciate any views/advice on the possbile causes. Thanks.

Just to be clear... when you press the starter button:

a) The starter does not crank at all : in this case I would suspect a lose contact in your starter button OR engine kill switch. I had this problem once, the engine would suddenly die, or refuse to start. I had to click the kill switch on and off a few times and then it would be ok. I would recommend opening the switchgear and thoroughly cleaning the contacts in both switches. An exterior spray can only do so much.

Of course, it could still be an issue with the motor etc, but I would check the switches first before going down the expensive route of the starter motor.

b) The starter motor cranks, but engine does not start : Likely to be weak battery, though normally if the battery is too weak to start at the first couple of attempts, it will only get weaker and subsequent attempts should also fail. In any case, try charging the battery and see if the problem goes away. After 3 years your battery is probably on borrowed time, but at least it'll help pinpoint the cause.

My solutions are by no means comprehensive, just the most likely based on my experience. Hope this helps :)

If everything seems under control, you're simply not going fast enough. - Mario Andretti

Ya la!! Speaking about that.. I sat going there again!! Lol.. :slapforehead: piangzz.. :giddy: bo bian leh my friends wanna go then jus go lo.. Lol!

I wanna try mersing though.. Alot of people tell me abt that place.. But whats there actually? Nice scenery? Twisties? Food? Haha.. Everyone say go mersing.. But never say why.. :lol:

piangz! :slapforehead::slapforehead::slapforehead: hahaha! :lol::lol::lol:

route to mersing (route 3) doesn't really have that nice sceneries if i am to compare with other routes i ever rode before.. but if u going there, try going by E22, u may happen to pass by a small goat farm.. hehehe.. :D

for twisties & food, yes there is.. :)

Join us at our Singapore Fazer Club Facebook Group! Only for Fazerians!

http://www.facebook.com/groups/SGFazerClub

FB/SBF PM me for member access..

http://sphotos-f.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-ash4/294858_10151604125922840_1202025127_n.jpg

coming.. coming.. 2 more weeks to go.. :p

Waiting for it..... but cannot go...... :weep:

http://i17.photobucket.com/albums/b55/soundless81/SwimmingSession.jpg

Apr 2006 ~ Current - Toyota Altis 1.6A

Apr 2010 ~ Current - X9 500(Big Bulb-å¤§ç¯æ³¡)

May 2010 ~ Current - 150cc ET8(Little Lamb)

Oct 2010 ~ Oct 2012 - FZ6S2(肥仔六)

Oct 2012 ~ Current - ZG1400(鸡踢鸭)

Just to be clear... when you press the starter button:

a) The starter does not crank at all : in this case I would suspect a lose contact in your starter button OR engine kill switch. I had this problem once, the engine would suddenly die, or refuse to start. I had to click the kill switch on and off a few times and then it would be ok. I would recommend opening the switchgear and thoroughly cleaning the contacts in both switches. An exterior spray can only do so much.

Of course, it could still be an issue with the motor etc, but I would check the switches first before going down the expensive route of the starter motor.

b) The starter motor cranks, but engine does not start : Likely to be weak battery, though normally if the battery is too weak to start at the first couple of attempts, it will only get weaker and subsequent attempts should also fail. In any case, try charging the battery and see if the problem goes away. After 3 years your battery is probably on borrowed time, but at least it'll help pinpoint the cause.

My solutions are by no means comprehensive, just the most likely based on my experience. Hope this helps :)

Bro, it does not crank at all. I just hear a click sound evrytime i press the starter button. Last night i was clicking away for about 5 minutes before it suddenly started 1st go ... thus i suspect that the battery is still strong.

I agree with you ... its a loose or poor contact ... ur suggestion to open it up for a thorough clean will probably fix it ..

Thanks again ...anywayz .. since its 3 yrs .. i feel i might just get myself a new battery ... haiz .. almost $200 i guess but its worth it .. the bike has served me very well, with no issues for the past 3 years

Bro, it does not crank at all. I just hear a click sound evrytime i press the starter button. Last night i was clicking away for about 5 minutes before it suddenly started 1st go ... thus i suspect that the battery is still strong.

I agree with you ... its a loose or poor contact ... ur suggestion to open it up for a thorough clean will probably fix it ..

Thanks again ...anywayz .. since its 3 yrs .. i feel i might just get myself a new battery ... haiz .. almost $200 i guess but its worth it .. the bike has served me very well, with no issues for the past 3 years

If you hear the 'clicking' sound every time, that sounds like your relay. So the problem may not even be with the switch (since the relay gets activated).

Try putting your ear to the seat or remove the seat entirely (since the relay is under there) and see if you can zero in on the source of the clicking.

Fingers crossed it's just a loose connection. Good luck!

If everything seems under control, you're simply not going fast enough. - Mario Andretti

Next wk sending my bike for valve clearance, fce etc..

If you hear the 'clicking' sound every time, that sounds like your relay. So the problem may not even be with the switch (since the relay gets activated).

Try putting your ear to the seat or remove the seat entirely (since the relay is under there) and see if you can zero in on the source of the clicking.

Hmm .. yes u have a point ... if the starter switch was not working there would be no sound!

OK ... looks like i have a project this weekend ...

Owe u a kopi bro ...

A big hello to the guys here!

i intend to use HB panniers hence

im seeking some feedback.

with regard to HB and SW motech side brackets, is there any difference

in the overall width after fitting on the HB panniers?

thanks in advance for any kind inputs...cheers!

Hmm .. yes u have a point ... if the starter switch was not working there would be no sound!

OK ... looks like i have a project this weekend ...

Owe u a kopi bro ...

if u confirm battery siao siao, i can sell u mine. Just use since eve of CNY 2012 only. i wanna try another battery i bought and still in the packaging.

oh okay i'll go there for valve clearance then in a month or two.

i just bought the throttle rocker from ah boy. works fine imo but could be abit dangerous lol. but there is this rubber piece like a rubber band u have to put on the throttle first before putting the rocker on. will that melt onto the grips?

hm, u got picture? mine no rubber band lei.

YAMAHA FZ1S ABS 2K12

coming.. coming.. 2 more weeks to go.. :p

Wah go where?!

bo jioooo.

:x

heh.

396496_10150480077221536_1953205724_n.jpg

Only a Biker knows why a dog sticks his head out of a car window.

Crankcase bro ... just to let you know .. another guy on the Fazer thread in Sports-Touring had the same problem as me. Same click click issue. he managed to solve it when he replaced the starter relay! Will replace mine. thanks again to u and everyone who assisted!

Wonder if its a DIY job ... relay $$?

hm, u got picture? mine no rubber band lei.

IMG_1690.jpg

IMG_1689.jpg

thats the picture of the rubber band thing and the throttle rocker goes over. i've put some old bike seat material inbetween the rubber band and the grip in case it melts.

[ATTACH=CONFIG]235790[/ATTACH]

[ATTACH=CONFIG]235791[/ATTACH]

thats the picture of the rubber band thing and the throttle rocker goes over. i've put some old bike seat material inbetween the rubber band and the grip in case it melts.

you bought this from ah boy for $4? wah he upgrade already ah? mine also no rubber like this.

haha ya from lab. upgrade meh! no rubber like better leh hahahah

the rubber is there to have more friction mah. but it would be better if the rubber is stuck to the throttle rest/rocker.