[Group] SBF DUCATI Monster

• Replies 14.5k

sry i have been readin the thread from varius parts of sbf n tryin to get the hand of maintance cost of M400.. kind soul can jus show a peroidic? 10k and 20k also

Marauder, FZ150, TW200

Hurricane, CB400 vS

TLR, ST11 TCS/ABS

STX TW200, M400, Runner180

TDM900, ET8

Vespa classic 10" 8"

Z750S, Multistra 620

TUONO R

CB1100EX

Vespa GTS300 Super ABS

Originally posted by rrr@Apr 30 2006, 12:22 AM

hi ducatitian n yohji

glad to catch up w u guys again(incl new monster owner n the gentleman with the 748 exhust sweet) at kallang cycle today..

yohji sorry to have lost u bro at the PIE,hope find the grips.. :smile:

Hi rrr,

No problem bro. I wasn't heading to get the grips anyway. Just wanna go home. Your bike is too fast lah. That's why I asked you to go ahead first hehe!

I finally gave my bike a good wash and guess what I found? A broken head light! Don't know what to do now .. the glass is cracked but it don't look like it's gonna drop. I think I'll go to KC again to see if Mike has any 2nd-hand ones laying around. I'm sure the original cost a bloody atomic bomb.

ducatian,

Nice meeting you too. It's good to have someone to chat with while waiting for my Mike :)

dark_monster,

I've seen that Givi bag before at Chiap Lee. I think it costs around $250 (before bargain). Much cheaper than Oxford. But depends on what you like lah. $240 for brand-new with delivery sounds good. If you want to see the Oxford we can meet up and I'll show you. After that you decide which one to buy.

coolcat,

I FINALLY fixed on the bellypan with Mike's help for a mere $20. Really kudos to him. He was patient and innovative and did not do a rush job. But of course you need to have time to wait for him because he is really busy.

http://img150.imageshack.us/img150/7421/dsc083094lf.th.jpg http://img482.imageshack.us/img482/5360/dsc081629vs.th.jpg http://img150.imageshack.us/img150/7306/dsc083108zy.th.jpg

c26492.jpg
Originally posted by kish_garfield@Apr 30 2006, 10:35 PM

sry i have been readin the thread from varius parts of sbf n tryin to get the hand of maintance cost of M400.. kind soul can jus show a peroidic? 10k and 20k also

Hi kish_garfield, here's my maintainence schedule.

Every 4000km

Engine oil x 3 $42 (Motul 5100)

Spark plug x 2 $12 (NGK)

Oil filter x 1 $20

Every 10000km

Timing belt x 2 $76

Valve Clearance $ 125 (2.5hr labour at Minerva)

Also...

Chain & Sprocket

Tires

Brake pads

etc...

rideupnorth.blogspot.com

well thks for that input. the one i look at the ad is a black one and 8 yr old.. although it may sound stupid but frankly its to serve me as a transport or enjoy ride cause i nv forgot how my prev Vee sounds like and feel.

can any kind soul check this out and tell me

http://www.singaporebikes.com/classifieds/...hp?siteid=26564

if the m400 is like a typical class 2 maintance then ok lor but if it is like the romours of burning pockets then i scared.....

pls do give me input cause afterall its my first italian

Marauder, FZ150, TW200

Hurricane, CB400 vS

TLR, ST11 TCS/ABS

TDM900, ET8

Vespa classic 10" 8"

Z750S, Multistra 620

TUONO R

CB1100EX

Vespa GTS300 Super ABS

saw one display S4R i think at paragon...my fav color somemore...kaoz almost wet my pants!!!

Marauder, FZ150, TW200

Hurricane, CB400 vS

TLR, ST11 TCS/ABS

TDM900, ET8

Vespa classic 10" 8"

Z750S, Multistra 620

TUONO R

CB1100EX

Vespa GTS300 Super ABS

Guest nE0

Kish > Why don't you get the M900. Get the carb version, legendary bike :thumb:

The new M400s come with Fuel injection, analogue+digital and dual front brake discs. :thumb:

yohji

i may wanna sell my headlite, im revampin my whole monster.....hehehe!

wats ya budget?

WELCOME TO THE DARK SIDE...

2004 Honda Varadero XL125 ride to tour

2005 Ducati Monster 400 for track use :p

2006 white r3 spec gen2 manual gear for pimping hehehe!

2008 THE new silver subaru impreza hatch NOT road legal & manual gear for drifting!

2010 white fd2 honda civic 2.0 si & still manual gear for family use so whats next baby?

Guest nE0

A cheaper alternative is to use Super4 SpecIII headlights. Looks awesome! :D

Or, our headlights are the same as BMW ones, and BMW sells the headlamp back n lens seperately, so its cheaper than the Ducati's one entire assembly price.

Originally posted by yohji@May 1 2006, 06:06 PM

I finally gave my bike a good wash and guess what I found? A broken head light! Don't know what to do now .. the glass is cracked but it don't look like it's gonna drop. I think I'll go to KC again to see if Mike has any 2nd-hand ones laying around. I'm sure the original cost a bloody atomic bomb.

Hi yohji,

my headlight is lying in the storeroom.

Would you like to offer a price?

Cell: (65) 9106 6988

Women will never be as successful as men because they have no wives to advise them.

Hey guys thanks for the offers and recommendation to use BMW/Spec3 headlights. I don't really have a budget (but for sure not getting original one from Minerva - sure very expensive. BTW how much does a new set cost??) I want to get something as good as new (like my current one).

Possible to post pictures of your headlights? I'll see what Mike can do for me this Saturday and see how much he quotes me then I can roughly offer a price okay? For the time being I just hope it doesnt drop off!!

Thanks!!

c26492.jpg
Originally posted by kish_garfield@May 1 2006, 10:44 PM

saw one display S4R i think at paragon...my fav color somemore...kaoz almost wet my pants!!!

I was there recently and boy....... am I drooling over her........:lovestruck: :lovestruck:

http://www.mvagusta.com.au/welcome/images/F4CC1.jpg
Guest nE0
Originally posted by yohji@May 3 2006, 06:39 AM

Hey guys thanks for the offers and recommendation to use BMW/Spec3 headlights. I don't really have a budget (but for sure not getting original one from Minerva - sure very expensive. BTW how much does a new set cost??) I want to get something as good as new (like my current one).

Possible to post pictures of your headlights? I'll see what Mike can do for me this Saturday and see how much he quotes me then I can roughly offer a price okay? For the time being I just hope it doesnt drop off!!

Thanks!!

Danny said it costs him $600 for a brand new headlight set.

Super4 SpecIII one (Clear lens, reflector optics) costs $280, bought directly from the spare parts dealer just opposite Regina.

Or you can just get this one:

http://www.motorcycle-superstore.com/photos/300/g10818.jpg

Lists for US$110, i got it shipped to my door for around S$230. Good deal eh? Hee hee.

Its the first DOT approved headlight for scrams actually, so it should be road legal. Check with your friendly LTA officer first though.

Clicky

[EMERGENCY] Funny thing happened today, I had to abandon my bike at my office building after work today. Morning ride to work was fine, even topped up petrol. When I got to my bike after work, I could start my bike easily, but the engine died soon once I close the throttle. Which was normal, so I turned it on again and rev-ed abit harder, it then died again.

The problem now is that I can't get the engine to stay on if I don't keep the throttle on. Sounds abit different, like something stuck inside. Even if I ride around the carpark (only in 1st gear), it dies immediatley when I close the throttle.

What could be wrong folks... Not sure if need to get it towed... sigh, 3rd time towing the bike le...

Honda Phantom TA200: Sep 04 - Dec 05

Ducati Monster M400: Dec 05 - Feb 07

Honda Silverwing FJS400D: Feb 07 - Jan 09

Honda Shadow 400: Nov 10 - Dec 11

Aprilia SR Max 300ie: Jul 12 - Mar 15

Guest nE0

Might be a very stupid suggession, but did you check your choke?

I rode all the way to work with mine halfway on once, wondering why the heck my bike is running so rough that morning... :D

Originally posted by nE0@May 4 2006, 04:48 AM

Might be a very stupid suggession, but did you check your choke?

I rode all the way to work with mine halfway on once, wondering why the heck my bike is running so rough that morning... :D

yupz I did. Even plyed with it for a while. Anyway recently I went for a EO and SP change. Could this be the cause?

Originally posted by nE0@May 3 2006, 02:34 PM

Danny said it costs him $600 for a brand new headlight set.

Super4 SpecIII one (Clear lens, reflector optics) costs $280, bought directly from the spare parts dealer just opposite Regina.

Or you can just get this one:

http://www.motorcycle-superstore.com/photos/300/g10818.jpg

Lists for US$110, i got it shipped to my door for around S$230. Good deal eh? Hee hee.

Its the first DOT approved headlight for scrams actually, so it should be road legal. Check with your friendly LTA officer first though.

Clicky

Woah this headlight looks like alien to me. nEO you fixed it on your current bike? Post pictures? $600 for Ducati headlight (I knew it would be a crazy price), $280 for Spec3 headlight and I wonder how much does BMW headlight cost. SERIOUSLY considering used ones after seeing the price. Who is Danny BTW?

contacted,

Hope your bike will be okay soon. You towed it to KC?

c26492.jpg
Guest nE0

Contacted > Check your spark plugs? Could be the wrong rating.

Yohji > BMW ones cost around $400 plus, not sure, check with the BMW dealer. IT comes in seperate parts too, so noneed to buy the entire thing.

And I fixed the thing on my Monster, but found it not very suitable for touring, so I sold it (no one wants to buy) to someone in Malaysia :D

Originally posted by nE0@May 4 2006, 02:04 PM

Contacted > Check your spark plugs? Could be the wrong rating.

Maybe... but I'm a bike idiot, dun even know how to check.

Yohji, going to tow later to KC.

Quick update: I just rode my bike home. Towed it from Woodlands to Kallang, for 30 bucks. Hopped on the tow truck too.. kee quite affordable considering a cab ride there would probably be around 20 bucks.

Anyway problem was Spark Plugs and probably some rain water in the carbs. I got them changed recently, Mike said that they were old ones. *sigh*

Woah nEO then I not buying liao later nobody wants to buy if I am selling. They look like the Buell Lightning's headlights. Hehe anyway I prefer BIG and ROUND headlights :D

Gonna check with Mike on Saturday. Hope he got old but good condition ones laying around.

contacted,

Where did you change your plugs man? They gave you old plugs?! OMG.

One of my dream bikes .... can only dream :sleep:

http://img218.imageshack.us/img218/1954/buelllightningxb9s017fy.jpg

c26492.jpg
Guest Jade

how do u guys leave your helmet on your monster? usually i'd carry my helmet, but would like to try to leave it aside for a few hours at a MSCP??

Originally posted by Jade@May 4 2006, 08:30 PM

how do u guys leave your helmet on your monster? usually i'd carry my helmet, but would like to try to leave it aside for a few hours at a MSCP??

carry every where I go. abit ley chey. esp when shopping or going with frds, extra baggage.

Yohji > not nice to say ba... keke

Jade,

I carry my helmet where-ever I go. If for a short while I will wear my helmet and walk around (wearing my riding jacket, gloves and boots also)! For longer periods, I also carry my helmet with me and then I cover up my bike, even in sheltered car parks and I've installed an alarm. No choice lah .. unless you want to install rear box? Hehe. Actually carry helmet is still ok but how to carry the thick riding jacket with armour around if you go shopping?? So weird. What do you guys do if you go shopping? Wear the jacket and walk around??

contacted,

For the benefit of other riders it is good to know. Anyway we'll discuss this in private.

c26492.jpg

motocafe has his helmet lock installed on his handle bar... so his helmet sits on his tank...

but his handle bar is different... lol... don think standard monsters will fit... lol...

what i do on my mito, i use a bicycle lock and lock my fullface to my top yoke... i put the cable through my chin bar and my top yoke... its just long enough to go around the yoke one more time... so the thing is quite firm... and the cable is bloody thick... lol... so my helmet sits on the tank too...

haven't tried on the monster yet though... lol...

From then to now...

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v485/solley/bikes.jpg