[Group] SBF DUCATI Monster

Guest nE0

Yea, Bicycle lock works for me, I tie it around the pillion grab bar when not in use.

Yohji > As usual, after I sold it, people started wanting to buy it :faint:

• Replies 14.5k

:nono: no no no no no...never leave anything on your bike!

Once I locked my full face helmet on my bike and when i return to my bike, the helmet and visor was badly scratched. Think they got fed up when they can't steal your helmet, they destroy it.

I forgot to remove my cashcard and left it in the IU for a few minutes and when I return, it's gone. Damn fast.

My friend parked beside me and we went for a movie. My friend's speakers got stolen and my bike cover were gone too.

I had a bag strapped under the seat. It got stolen. I don't know it got removed but there isn't a stap left under the seat. :confused:

Even top box is not save because if you were to be away for long enough and the carpark is quiet enough, they will break the lock. Especially if they have been observing what you put in it.

Originally posted by Sols@May 4 2006, 10:20 PM

motocafe has his helmet lock installed on his handle bar... so his helmet sits on his tank...

but his handle bar is different... lol... don think standard monsters will fit... lol...

FYI,

I found an old helmet lock (no key) lying around. Dismantled the lock, inserted my ignition key and filed away taps protruding out from cylinder. Voila! now my ignition key opens the lock as well. Tap 6mm thread into the bar (standard monster handlebar, btw) and secured with allen key.

PS, should use a cable to secure full-face to the lock but lay-chay lah...

http://i7.photobucket.com/albums/y271/motocafe/Helmetlock.jpg

I can lock regular open face helmets using the helmet lock under the seat (secure helmet strap under the seat then lock the seat back over the strap). But since i use a fullface helment myself, i also bought a padlock with very long bars which allows me to lock my fullface to a thin bar of the bike frame, near the steering column. its a little hard to describe where without pics but its a great spot. Since the helmet hangs on the side it's hard to see (and steal), esp if i park my bike with the helmet side facing a wall, which i usually do. But i only dare to do this cos my fullface is the cheapskate zeus flip-up type, i doubt anyone would steal it, the outlook isnt great either. i lock the helmet about 50% of the time and havent had a theft yet (touch wood). All i did was pay $3 for the padlock

Guest Jade

I suppose it also highly depends on where we'd park and for how long....

I once left my old NZI FF helmet onto the pillion seat of my bike with a spider web and it was stolen..... :sian: I parked in Tiong Bahru Plaza lor

Sometimes I would leave my helmet on my tank (without securities at all!) at my home MSCP, it will still be there the next day.

Seems like it's better to lug the helmet along lor.... BTW, I'll be parking at a HDB car park in Sembawang. Hate to bring a helmet around on the MRT..... :sian:

saw contacted's bike on tow...saw it and tot eh very farmilairso went up and inspect eh how come on tow??? btw there are no more available m400?

Marauder, FZ150, TW200

Hurricane, CB400 vS

TLR, ST11 TCS/ABS

STX TW200, M400, Runner180

TDM900, ET8

Vespa classic 10" 8"

Z750S, Multistra 620

TUONO R

CB1100EX

Vespa GTS300 Super ABS

can pass me the link? seems no more online sale here?

Marauder, FZ150, TW200

Hurricane, CB400 vS

TLR, ST11 TCS/ABS

TDM900, ET8

Vespa classic 10" 8"

Z750S, Multistra 620

TUONO R

CB1100EX

Vespa GTS300 Super ABS

Originally posted by kish_garfield@May 6 2006, 10:31 PM

saw contacted's bike on tow...saw it and tot eh very farmilairso went up and inspect eh how come on tow??? btw there are no more available m400?

:confused: mmm where did u see it? Woodlands? my Spark Plugs gave problems. Had it towed to Kallang Cycle.

Honda Phantom TA200: Sep 04 - Dec 05

Ducati Monster M400: Dec 05 - Feb 07

Honda Silverwing FJS400D: Feb 07 - Jan 09

Honda Shadow 400: Nov 10 - Dec 11

Aprilia SR Max 300ie: Jul 12 - Mar 15

Originally posted by contacted@May 8 2006, 11:39 AM

:confused: mmm where did u see it? Woodlands? my Spark Plugs gave problems. Had it towed to Kallang Cycle.

Hmm... mine was tow to KC lastnite too and saw another Red Monster already on the tow tuck with FQ plate. Belongs to??

Hopefully mine is not gona b major repair :weep:

http://www.mvagusta.com.au/welcome/images/F4CC1.jpg

yo thats my monster i think ehehe actually the only issue i had was fouled spark plugs but since i am leaving the country for the next 3 weeks and leaving again for another 9 months (all work related) i thought i'd save myself the trouble of taking taxi to minerva to get new plugs, change them myself and ride to KC etc, and just tow the bike to KC, i was planning on leaving the bike with him anyways. i see myself using the bike VERY little for the next 2 years or so which is kinda sad since i spent so much time and money doing it up and making it run so well.....sadly i might probably end up selling it (and copping a loss in the process)

Originally posted by Jess1717@May 9 2006, 09:07 AM

Hmm... mine was tow to KC lastnite too and saw another Red Monster already on the tow tuck with FQ plate. Belongs to??

Hopefully mine is not gona b major repair :weep:

Jess,

What happened to your bike? How come lately so many Monsters kena towed. I am going to KC on Thursday too but riding there, not towing there. Hehe!

c26492.jpg
Originally posted by yohji@May 9 2006, 10:14 PM

Jess,

What happened to your bike? How come lately so many Monsters kena towed. I am going to KC on Thursday too but riding there, not towing there. Hehe!

Sigh.... think somewhere short circuit and blow up the Batt contact points point..... luckily not so serious (according to KC) & should be able to get her back soon. But then Mike will have to check thoroughly wat's the caused of it.... :confused:

Yaloh.... keep hearing Monster kena tow.....

Must check check "Hong Chui' liao.....:sweat:

I've seen some people lock their full face with cables, then tie a plastic bag around the helmet to secure it.

If you have a soft luggage, the jacket can be stowed and locked. then carry helmet. Get a big haversack that can carry a helmet ... the Deuter Radar model can carry a full face and a raincoat in it; and it's not that big. But not cheap; about 70 bucks.

For me, I'll juz carry a helmet bag in a small deuter hydrobag, the jacket goes intothe hydrobag, and the helmet goes into the helmet bag.

Yo, Jade .. long time no see .. when meet for coffee? found your dream luggage bag yet?

Cat

... what you looking at? Never seen a cow that wants to go places ????! ...

http://i49.photobucket.com/albums/f254/bikermeow/Miscellaneous/cow4uz.jpg

Originally posted by kish_garfield@May 7 2006, 10:44 PM

can pass me the link? seems no more online sale here?

Saw it in the SBF classifeds. Can try searching for it. The seller quoted 8.5k but a M900 is hard to come by. Esp a well-maintained one.

rideupnorth.blogspot.com

Originally posted by ducatitan@May 10 2006, 12:28 AM

Saw it in the SBF classifeds. Can try searching for it. The seller quoted 8.5k but a M900 is hard to come by. Esp a well-maintained one.

Tat bike is now with Bike Connection, I have approached the owner but he want me to contact Eugene instead. Really tempted to take a look but the selling price is too much for me to afford....:sweat:

Actually, I've been thinking of selling my monster. Like what Sol's dad said:"If you wash your bike more than you ride, something's not right". My monster is wasting it's life in the carpark. The cat slept with my monster everynight and all I do is wash wash wash. It's really for 'pai swee' only. I hardly ever ride it anywhere mainly because my riding skills are really lousy, my leg's too short (the bike is already at it's lowest seat height) and there's just too many things to lug around. The meter has not reach 8000km. But then if I sell it, I'll definitely regret and missed it like hell :cry:

well i am a vee fan but getting a higher priced one is not a budget i am ready for since I have a class 2 at the moment. thats why i was actually lookin for the 400 instead.. if now was 2007 then i can..savin up for my trip yr end for study

Marauder, FZ150, TW200

Hurricane, CB400 vS

TLR, ST11 TCS/ABS

TDM900, ET8

Vespa classic 10" 8"

Z750S, Multistra 620

TUONO R

CB1100EX

Vespa GTS300 Super ABS

Originally posted by dark_monster@May 10 2006, 12:11 PM

Actually, I've been thinking of selling my monster. Like what Sol's dad said:"If you wash your bike more than you ride, something's not right". My monster is wasting it's life in the carpark. The cat slept with my monster everynight and all I do is wash wash wash. It's really for 'pai swee' only. I hardly ever ride it anywhere mainly because my riding skills are really lousy, my leg's too short (the bike is already at it's lowest seat height) and there's just too many things to lug around. The meter has not reach 8000km. But then if I sell it, I'll definitely regret and missed it like hell :cry:

U makes me guilty..... tat is wat I'm doing with my MV at the moment..... 'pai swee' only.... no confidence to ride her coz I have to tip-toe, blah blah blah....... :sweat:

Cant sell since have already invested so much $...:weep:

in terms of parts and maintenace is the 400 so diff from 900?

Marauder, FZ150, TW200

Hurricane, CB400 vS

TLR, ST11 TCS/ABS

TDM900, ET8

Vespa classic 10" 8"

Z750S, Multistra 620

TUONO R

CB1100EX

Vespa GTS300 Super ABS

Official Monster Rider reporting! :cheeky:

Got my license yesterday and this morning rode my Monster to work. So happy!

http://home2.pacific.net.sg/~hwee_li/avatar/vespa.gif
Originally posted by rehdeer@May 10 2006, 02:46 PM

CONGRATS, CONGRATS!:cheer: :cheer:

dark_monster,

You need to ride the bike to get better! The more you ride, the better you get to know it and you'll enjoy it more. I guess you'll find a way to overcome the tip toe problem. I used to tip toe when riding my runner too but I got used to it after a while. Don't keep it in the car park lah, ride it! It is meant to be ridden!! It's a Ducati Monster for god's sake!! : )

Jess,

You have a MV?? Which one?? Brutale?? F4?? Woah really envy you. I don't mind riding the MV for you (after I get my class 2) hehe!!

Congratulations rehdeer!! That kind of feeling is shiok right!! Finally able to twist the throttle of the beast!! Ride safe though! Because it is hard not to be wild when on the Monster!! :shades: :D :clapping:

c26492.jpg
Originally posted by rehdeer@May 10 2006, 02:46 PM

Woo hoo, congrats HL!!!

Honda Phantom TA200: Sep 04 - Dec 05

Ducati Monster M400: Dec 05 - Feb 07

Honda Silverwing FJS400D: Feb 07 - Jan 09

Honda Shadow 400: Nov 10 - Dec 11

Aprilia SR Max 300ie: Jul 12 - Mar 15