[Group] SBF DUCATI Monster

• Replies 14.5k

depending on what model u ride, there are various mechanics to go to. but to answer your qns, NO!!

Why?? I still go back to Minerva for the fact that parts changed are warrantied for 2 years.

http://2.bp.blogspot.com/_jsDmFPg_Qm8/TKHV3JmJX_I/AAAAAAAABQc/l3AA9IAbbtI/s1600/Scan_01_Biker%2520Mice%2520from%2520Mars_8x10_RGB_BG_TX%2520copy.gif

When I had 2A years ago I went touring alone on the M400. Brought a brake disc lock along for safety, lock handle bars and clamp the rear wheel when I ate at coffee shops. Bike theft same risk for all bikes, no such thing as safe. Not much overnighters, just day trip with tank bag. For 3-4 days, you should consider backpack or preferable side soft panniers.

In SG will lose to super 4 on power, maybe acceleration and fuel economy as well as maint $. But buy something special must pay right? The sound and road presence will win hands down, sometimes it is worth the $$$, sometimes not. Depends on the rider.

Older monsters have fixed clutch slave cylinder in the crank case. May be heavier than 2001-2006 M400s, which have a replaceable clutch slave and generally lighter action. For city heavy traffic is ideal. As long as you dont use wide bars. Heat is less than Super4

Thanks for taking the time to reply !

I've been reading the thread a bit so I understand now from what was posted and your reply, the whole position on whether it's safe to own a Ducati.

Hell, when I go to MY I lock my Pulsar with a disc lock and all sorts of deterrents, so yeah, I guess its just common sense to be careful for a Ducati.

My choice to get this bike is simply to ease the heart and fulfill a dream . I must say there is very little reason or educated investigation behind the choice for a Monster. I want it, I'll save up for it and I'll get it if everything goes well. And I care very little for how its performance matches other bikes, or its pickup speed. I've heard it's engine sound and like you said, that alone is worth it :lovestruck:

I didn't understand the fixed clutch slave cylinder bit though.. I think it's too technical for me, I'll google it. I'm glad to read that the Ducati does well in heavy traffic, that was my only concern, that it would heat up and maybe stall or something like that. I heard from a monster owner that his bike didn't like being on low gears all the time in traffic, he's riding a 748 and experienced his engine stopping because of it.

Pulsarians Singapore on Facebook:

The Page: http://fb.me/SingaporePulsarians For general news and info

The Group: http://fb.me/groups/pulsarianssg/ For all the interaction

between Pulsarians, maintenance tips, accessories, trips & meet-ups and of course live answers to all your questions !

I'm staying out of this argument.. :)

Hahahha I wont argue with Dodo one lah :PPP I have never done anything complicated at Minerva yet.... so far only touch and go jobs.

What happened anyway, dodo?

http://2.bp.blogspot.com/_jsDmFPg_Qm8/TKHV3JmJX_I/AAAAAAAABQc/l3AA9IAbbtI/s1600/Scan_01_Biker%2520Mice%2520from%2520Mars_8x10_RGB_BG_TX%2520copy.gif

Thanks for taking the time to reply !

I've been reading the thread a bit so I understand now from what was posted and your reply, the whole position on whether it's safe to own a Ducati.

Hell, when I go to MY I lock my Pulsar with a disc lock and all sorts of deterrents, so yeah, I guess its just common sense to be careful for a Ducati.

My choice to get this bike is simply to ease the heart and fulfill a dream . I must say there is very little reason or educated investigation behind the choice for a Monster. I want it, I'll save up for it and I'll get it if everything goes well. And I care very little for how its performance matches other bikes, or its pickup speed. I've heard it's engine sound and like you said, that alone is worth it :lovestruck:

I didn't understand the fixed clutch slave cylinder bit though.. I think it's too technical for me, I'll google it. I'm glad to read that the Ducati does well in heavy traffic, that was my only concern, that it would heat up and maybe stall or something like that. I heard from a monster owner that his bike didn't like being on low gears all the time in traffic, he's riding a 748 and experienced his engine stopping because of it.

Monster rider riding a 748? A 748 is a sports bike. In traffic it will heat up more definitely. Higher compression including 4V and radiator. Monster 400 is not a very hot bike. The higher the capacity the hotter it is basically.

So M400 to M900 is alright for heavy traffic. I don't know about the 1100. Maybe the owners can comment

When it comes to bikes, I only see red…

On a lighter note, its been awhile since we had briyani and murtaba, so its time of the week again for Victory, for those who are free. Usual suspects messaged. All are welcome.

Date: 29 Mar 2011(TODAY)

Time: 7.30 pm

Place: Victory restaurant opp sultan mosque. Level 2

Dreamed I was a muffler. Woke up exhausted.

hi guys, my M4 today died on me when its idling at a traffic stop. It was idling quite high at neutral and then suddenly it went calm and slowly died. I pushed it to the side while trying to push the ignition button, no cranking nor starter turning sounds. Played with solenoid wires pushed it up and down, headlights and my dashboard is lighted up. No signs of a weak battery. Theres enough juice in the gas tank so thats not a problem. Called raymond and he told me to tow it to his shop. So i guess ill wait for the results? Rectifier? Magnetic Coil?? Who knows what this monster is up to hmmm.

http://a3.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc6/206249_10150219444627783_610102782_8520246_7743888_n.jpg

She's a monster, she's a monster.. beautiful monster..

hi guys, my M4 today died on me when its idling at a traffic stop. It was idling quite high at neutral and then suddenly it went calm and slowly died. I pushed it to the side while trying to push the ignition button, no cranking nor starter turning sounds. Played with solenoid wires pushed it up and down, headlights and my dashboard is lighted up. No signs of a weak battery. Theres enough juice in the gas tank so thats not a problem. Called raymond and he told me to tow it to his shop. So i guess ill wait for the results? Rectifier? Magnetic Coil?? Who knows what this monster is up to hmmm.

Regarding the non-starting, it could be just a faulty starter relay. Any signs of a weak charging system before this? Don't be in a hurry to change expensive parts, try the cheap fixes first.

You mentioned idling too, has it suddenly increased recently?

http://i511.photobucket.com/albums/s351/thenation_bucket/whowatches.jpg

yes. it increased alot until i can feel the heat. usually i dont feel the heat..

http://a3.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc6/206249_10150219444627783_610102782_8520246_7743888_n.jpg

There's some feedback that Victory is getting a little too stale after so many visits there over the years. I'm going to list some meetup suggestions and we can pick a place collectively as a group. Feel free to list your own if you have any other suggestions.

1) Mr Teh Tarek eating house along onan road/upp changi road

2) Bagus Yong Tau Hu

3) Adam road hawker centre

4) Fong Seng nasi lemak west coast

5) Carl Jr

6) Royal Prata near NUS

7) Raimah in Kembangan(my fav lol)

8) Spize

9) KTM(where it all began and going to end in July)

10) MA Deen Sultan (expensive drinks)

11) Under your own block kopitiam(individual)

12) Singapore Zoo(nice ice cream but ex)

13) Arab Street Sheesha and teh tarek

etc etc

Take a pick of one or more. Cheers

There's some feedback that Victory is getting a little too stale after so many visits there over the years. I'm going to list some meetup suggestions and we can pick a place collectively as a group. Feel free to list your own if you have any other suggestions.

1) Mr Teh Tarek eating house along onan road/upp changi road

2) Bagus Yong Tau Hu

3) Adam road hawker centre

4) Fong Seng nasi lemak west coast

5) Carl Jr

6) Royal Prata near NUS

7) Raimah in Kembangan(my fav lol)

8) Spize

9) KTM(where it all began and going to end in July)

10) MA Deen Sultan (expensive drinks)

11) Under your own block kopitiam(individual)

12) Singapore Zoo(nice ice cream but ex)

13) Arab Street Sheesha and teh tarek

etc etc

Take a pick of one or more. Cheers

spize only can do simpang bedok, even though i enjoy checking out the chix @ RV

and there's also pepsi @hv

hie guys....im back! haha!

i shud see you guys soon... MA Deen would be good. quite central. Zoo sounds good also but nothing except ice cream.

:) Ride Safe :)
When I had 2A years ago I went touring alone on the M400. Brought a brake disc lock along for safety, lock handle bars and clamp the rear wheel when I ate at coffee shops. Bike theft same risk for all bikes, no such thing as safe. Not much overnighters, just day trip with tank bag. For 3-4 days, you should consider backpack or preferable side soft panniers.

In SG will lose to super 4 on power, maybe acceleration and fuel economy as well as maint $. But buy something special must pay right? The sound and road presence will win hands down, sometimes it is worth the $$$, sometimes not. Depends on the rider.

Older monsters have fixed clutch slave cylinder in the crank case. May be heavier than 2001-2006 M400s, which have a replaceable clutch slave and generally lighter action. For city heavy traffic is ideal. As long as you dont use wide bars. Heat is less than Super4

Monster rider riding a 748? A 748 is a sports bike. In traffic it will heat up more definitely. Higher compression including 4V and radiator. Monster 400 is not a very hot bike. The higher the capacity the hotter it is basically.

So M400 to M900 is alright for heavy traffic. I don't know about the 1100. Maybe the owners can comment

Sorry, I meant 796. I'm not good yet with the monster numbers.. :cheeky:

Anyway, good to know it can sustain traffic, it's sometimes so heavy I wonder how big bike owners don't go mad with frustration..

Pulsarians Singapore on Facebook:

The Page: http://fb.me/SingaporePulsarians For general news and info

The Group: http://fb.me/groups/pulsarianssg/ For all the interaction

between Pulsarians, maintenance tips, accessories, trips & meet-ups and of course live answers to all your questions !

hie guys....im back! haha!

i shud see you guys soon... MA Deen would be good. quite central. Zoo sounds good also but nothing except ice cream.

Welcome back, brudder!

I am for MA Deen and Mr Teh Tarek. MA Deen also got chicks to see, Dodobird...but different variants ie. from other countries (hint hint).

Yo all, thinking of getting a monster 696 soon. Doing it in a few stages. So hope to get some advice before Jumpin in. First of all. Anything I should look out for regarding the monster 696? If it's green to go I will sell off my current bike soon. Thanks!

guys, everymorning my monster 400 is a headache to start.. choke + blast the ignition doesnt work i gotta push start most of the times.. is it very common with M400s ?? Its kind of a daily routine of push starting everymorning .. once its hot and got going, no problem starting when pressed once on ignition

Yo all, thinking of getting a monster 696 soon. Doing it in a few stages. So hope to get some advice before Jumpin in. First of all. Anything I should look out for regarding the monster 696? If it's green to go I will sell off my current bike soon. Thanks!

See if all the plastic parts are in good condition. May be expensive to replace later. PS they dont come in green. ;)

guys, everymorning my monster 400 is a headache to start.. choke + blast the ignition doesnt work i gotta push start most of the times.. is it very common with M400s ?? Its kind of a daily routine of push starting everymorning .. once its hot and got going, no problem starting when pressed once on ignition

Have you taken your bike in for a check/ troubleshoot? Check your plugs too. At the very least you'll need a tuning..

Welcome back, brudder!

I am for MA Deen and Mr Teh Tarek. MA Deen also got chicks to see, Dodobird...but different variants ie. from other countries (hint hint).

Both good for me too, but preference towards Mr Teh Tarek cos of the big tv screen showing footy, parking(pavement), and cheap food and drinks. Pity the smoking area is always full tho.

See if all the plastic parts are in good condition. May be expensive to replace later. PS they dont come in green. ;)

I don't mean I getting a green one. I mean if you guys give me the green light to go ahead. I getting brand new. Thanks for replying and the advice too! Appreciate it!

push it in to raymond, leave it there for 3-4 days let him sort it out,

if not

push it in to michael, leave it there for 1-2 weeks let him sort it out.

there is no straight forward answer for you. there can be tones of reasons why this is happening to u.

I don't mean I getting a green one. I mean if you guys give me the green light to go ahead. I getting brand new. Thanks for replying and the advice too! Appreciate it!

the 696 was generally reviewed to be lacking behind its competitors, i guess thats why the 796 was introduced. its generally a good bike and low entry cost for a new duke. but its subjective to which bike u are coming from. if u came from bikes like rvf or rs250, super4 u will feel that hei power not much diff. replacement parts dun come cheap in comparitive to jap bikes. its a decent city bike. but what do you want the bike to do for u?