[Group] SBF DUCATI Monster

Nice bike. Power just right compared to 6 and 7. Most of us go to Mike at Kallang Cycle, Raymond at Bike Harbour, and Norman at Racewerks. For parts generally still Minerva. Singhla might have some lobang for paddock stand. You can pm him. Hi btw, welcome to the club. Join us for our meetups to socialize. Incidentally some of us will be at Mutiara restaurant at block 7 eunos crescent to catch the Malaysia vs Singapore game on tv. Drop by if free. Cheers!

Thanks for the recommendations I will check these out in future.

Will also definitely try and join a meet up! but it may take me a while as what with too much work and two small boys i never seem to get much spare time... Would be good to use it for more than just commuting though as the ECP at around 8.30 each morning and night is not the best road to have much fun on!!

Any other 1100 riders here? As would be good to pick your brains on what mods have worked for you before I get too carried away 

• Replies 14.5k

V isfor Victory tomorrow night, 3 Aug from 7.30 pm for murtabak, briyani, teh tarek and good company. Hope to see you buggers there!

Dreamed I was a muffler. Woke up exhausted.

It'll be rude if no 1 answers u so i'll say that if u're looking for affordable performance then u should stay japanese.

But to answer ur qns, the 696 is a competent city bike. But loses out to its competition like the shiver. Optimal power is between 3k-5k rpm just like most 2v ducatis. The 796 is the improved version of the 696. Never ridden a drz so i cant tell u if its better but i can say that the 696 should be able to do 180-200 comfortably...

orrite...thanks bro..

kalau takot dipukol ombak...jgn beli rumah di tepi pantai...

23 Jan 2009 - 10 may 2010 : Aprilia RS125 (y2k)

10 may 2010 - 5 dec 2011 : Suzuki DRZ400SM K8

5 dec 2011 - current :Yamaha YZF R6 06

Hi zlan, i just took my TP today and traded in my DRZ for the M696. It's power is just nice for a beginner like me on a class 2 bike. Don't expect the pickup to have as much torque as the DRZ. But the cruising on the e'way is perfect! The 5th gear is comfortable enough to cruise on the e'way at 100km/hr-110km/hr. I haven't maximise the 6th gear yet. It took me awhile to get used to the posture on the monster (slightly forward leaning), compared to the upright sitting posture on the DRZ.

Looking forward to make new friends on the Monsters too. I'm very new to this bike. lots to learn! :D

Hi zlan, i just took my TP today and traded in my DRZ for the M696. It's power is just nice for a beginner like me on a class 2 bike. Don't expect the pickup to have as much torque as the DRZ. But the cruising on the e'way is perfect! The 5th gear is comfortable enough to cruise on the e'way at 100km/hr-110km/hr. I haven't maximise the 6th gear yet. It took me awhile to get used to the posture on the monster (slightly forward leaning), compared to the upright sitting posture on the DRZ.

Looking forward to make new friends on the Monsters too. I'm very new to this bike. lots to learn! :D

u got PM bro..!!

kalau takot dipukol ombak...jgn beli rumah di tepi pantai...

23 Jan 2009 - 10 may 2010 : Aprilia RS125 (y2k)

10 may 2010 - 5 dec 2011 : Suzuki DRZ400SM K8

5 dec 2011 - current :Yamaha YZF R6 06

Welcome to the family!! Kindly drop me, hann and singha a PM with ur contact details. Meet ups are fb and mobile activation.

For those who have asked me for Duc kopi and meetup session, its tomorrow, Saturday 6 August at Mutiara Restaurant, Eunos Crescent Block 7. Parking can be found behind the restaurant or the open space between the bus stop and the kopitiam. There may be a visit to Geylang Bazaar right after so if you want to join in, bring some pocket money for knick knacks as well. Look for Lenny, Benjamin or Hann. 8.30 pm to 10.30 pm. Cheers!

Hi Ducati riders,

I just purchased a FP-plater Monster 400. Am keen to meet up with you some time but I will be opening up my bike for the first time tonight for a simple DIY session, so I can't join you for the meet tonight.

Will be changing the CDI to a Ignitech, and swapping the brake pads (they wear out so fast!)...

Have a good time later and ride safely.

Looking forward to meeting and learning from you all one day! Cheers!

Believe nothing you hear; and only half of what you see.

Do or do not; there is no 'try'.

http://www.themuser.com/forum/index.php

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v260/lacrimosae/Aprilia/siggiecollage.jpg

Hi Ducati riders,

I just purchased a FP-plater Monster 400. Am keen to meet up with you some time but I will be opening up my bike for the first time tonight for a simple DIY session, so I can't join you for the meet tonight.

Will be changing the CDI to a Ignitech, and swapping the brake pads (they wear out so fast!)...

Have a good time later and ride safely.

Looking forward to meeting and learning from you all one day! Cheers!

Congrads on getting ur bike!!

Kindly send your contact details to hann, singha and me so that we can inform you of meet ups.

An Example of a typical conversation:

JC: hmm considering to get a S4RS.. is it a good choice or should i just stick to a 696/796 for city riding?

SE: Get a truimph street triple, best middle weight naked bike haha. Ok I know I'm gonna be shot down for saying that haha.

JC: haha.. street triple looks good.. but if i were to go for inline engines ill probably pick the fazer over street triple heard fazer6's performance is good and relatively easy to maintain

HH: For bragging rights get a paul smart/SC/GT. For practicality street or touring multistrada. One of the STs may work for you too if youre a touring freak. For crazy fast naked Aprilia Tuono 1000R, S4Rs or S4R, Speed Triple, MV Brutale. For normal street riding get a monster.... Hope this helps.

AW:joinnnn me with a 696 hehe, btw were u on CTE last night 7ish towards SLE?

JC: yea.. i was there.. didnt see any monster around. were you driving?

AW: oh haha ok i was riding a scooter behind u but not sure if it was u and didnt want to go through the hey its me routine when i know you wont be able to recognize on a scooter lol

JC: oh yea i remember the scooter .. seems like a gilera a black one.

AW: its aprilia!

JC: oh a scarabeo?

AW: sportcity

BC: For bragging rights book the new 1199. Any classic is a waste of time and no 1 cares abt them. Hahah...696 has a fc of 23km/l so its ideal for cityriding unless u can live wif a scooter. S4rs has an fc of below 10km/l... Choose wisely

MI: Mv agusta f3 675 *drools*

CC: U can get my S4RS.

AW: haha BC is right

JC: but differences between 796 and 696 is just bigger bores + single swing arm right? it is still air cooled?

BC: Pretty much, but the 696 loses to the competition while the 796 wins.

LN: for the sake of keeping each other company.... Get one Diavel please.... Hehehehe :p

CC: LN, poison ah

BC: That time say MS now say diavel...

LN: CC n BC: hehehehehe : ) (with an evil smile)

LN: @BC: u take MS, kelvin take Diavel lah.... : )

BC: ‎>_

An Example of a typical conversation:

JC: hmm considering to get a S4RS.. is it a good choice or should i just stick to a 696/796 for city riding?

SE: Get a truimph street triple, best middle weight naked bike haha. Ok I know I'm gonna be shot down for saying that haha.

JC: haha.. street triple looks good.. but if i were to go for inline engines ill probably pick the fazer over street triple heard fazer6's performance is good and relatively easy to maintain

HH: For bragging rights get a paul smart/SC/GT. For practicality street or touring multistrada. One of the STs may work for you too if youre a touring freak. For crazy fast naked Aprilia Tuono 1000R, S4Rs or S4R, Speed Triple, MV Brutale. For normal street riding get a monster.... Hope this helps.

AW:joinnnn me with a 696 hehe, btw were u on CTE last night 7ish towards SLE?

JC: yea.. i was there.. didnt see any monster around. were you driving?

AW: oh haha ok i was riding a scooter behind u but not sure if it was u and didnt want to go through the hey its me routine when i know you wont be able to recognize on a scooter lol

JC: oh yea i remember the scooter .. seems like a gilera a black one.

AW: its aprilia!

JC: oh a scarabeo?

AW: sportcity

BC: For bragging rights book the new 1199. Any classic is a waste of time and no 1 cares abt them. Hahah...696 has a fc of 23km/l so its ideal for cityriding unless u can live wif a scooter. S4rs has an fc of below 10km/l... Choose wisely

MI: Mv agusta f3 675 *drools*

CC: U can get my S4RS.

AW: haha BC is right

JC: but differences between 796 and 696 is just bigger bores + single swing arm right? it is still air cooled?

BC: Pretty much, but the 696 loses to the competition while the 796 wins.

LN: for the sake of keeping each other company.... Get one Diavel please.... Hehehehe :p

CC: LN, poison ah

BC: That time say MS now say diavel...

LN: CC n BC: hehehehehe : ) (with an evil smile)

LN: @BC: u take MS, kelvin take Diavel lah.... : )

BC: ‎>_

Someone has too much time on his hands:P

Hi there, I am considering getting a Monster 696, but not too sure whether I am prepared for it financially. Would like to ask some questions and hopefully, some nice souls around here can guide me along. :)

1. Maintenance Costs. I did a search on google and saw some postings from another forum that there is a requirement for valve clearance at every 12,000km. Is that right? If yes, how much will the valve clearance cost?

2. Insurance. I haven't been riding for some time, so I am kinda lost at the rough price of insurance now. How much will it cost for the insurance for the monster696 for age 29 without ncd? Does licence date and marital status affect the price? I understand that for car insurance, the fators that I just mentioned does affect the insurance amount.

Hi there, I am considering getting a Monster 696, but not too sure whether I am prepared for it financially. Would like to ask some questions and hopefully, some nice souls around here can guide me along. :)

1. Maintenance Costs. I did a search on google and saw some postings from another forum that there is a requirement for valve clearance at every 12,000km. Is that right? If yes, how much will the valve clearance cost?

The user manual states that u gotta check and adjust the valve every 12k. no indication if its to do valve clearance. valve clearance is abt 350.

2. Insurance. I haven't been riding for some time, so I am kinda lost at the rough price of insurance now. How much will it cost for the insurance for the monster696 for age 29 without ncd? Does licence date and marital status affect the price? I understand that for car insurance, the fators that I just mentioned does affect the insurance amount.insurance should be between 1.4k to 1.7k for 1st party - subjective.

refer to the answers in red.

Seeking some advice from everyone....

Today i encountered something what my friends told me as 'fake neutral'. was wondering if any of the fellow monster riders here encounter this too.

I was cruising along 80-90km/hr, upshifting from 4th to 5th gear. But somehow the gears didn't engage and it's something similar to being in neutral gear.

Is it common among the monsters or other ducati makes? Or is it some symptom that something needs to be changed/replaced/repaired/maintain?

Seeking some advice from everyone....

Today i encountered something what my friends told me as 'fake neutral'. was wondering if any of the fellow monster riders here encounter this too.

I was cruising along 80-90km/hr, upshifting from 4th to 5th gear. But somehow the gears didn't engage and it's something similar to being in neutral gear.

Is it common among the monsters or other ducati makes? Or is it some symptom that something needs to be changed/replaced/repaired/maintain?

Its a common thing, Monster 400, 900, 696 all have it.

http://i173.photobucket.com/albums/w73/dryicefreeze/MNSTR_CLR900.jpg