Yest while i was driving home along BKE.. saw the words on d screen along d expressway.. "Please signal before changing lanes".. i tink many drivers/riders dun signal before changing lanes and even LTA found it out.. Haha

• Replies 73

sfowner, I feel for you la. Go down liao pick yourself up without anyone giving a sh*t about you. The drivers involved in the accident may be too dazed themselves, and as you picked yourself up and the bike up they prob got started on their settements liao. If you laid there a while longer, I'm sure people will start fussing over you. haha... I also had to pick myself up when i self skidded after i just passed. Also agree with you it takes a series of events to accident. Like rain, line of sight blocked, first time use the road, decreasing radius turn contributed to mine. Also agree its sometimes a matter of luck la... This type of things... Some people buy 4D always strike. I keep buying never strike. Strike that time ui never buy. KNS

hahaha.... interesting analogy... :cheeky:

http://img24.exs.cx/img24/4926/1961_7_168x113.jpghttp://img24.exs.cx/img24/6209/158_3_168x112.jpghttp://img99.exs.cx/img99/6289/index_04.gifhttp://img31.exs.cx/img31/5149/122006304_T.jpg

"Thy fate is the common fate of all;

into each life some rain must fall" - Henry Wadsworth Longfellow

If the car pulled out from lane1 to lane2, means theres a space in lane2 for him to swerve into. If you've noticed this space, you should start preparing for any vehicle ahead of you to swerve into that space, thus avoiding the incident.

I believe this, and many other defensive riding techniques are found in the Street Smart thread. Go read it up, alot of useful info there.

Er... this fella pulled into lane 2 because he panicked... i don't think he cares whether there's a space in lane 2 or not...

if he was observant... he would have seen.... me...

btw, Street Smart thread is excellent... i read every single page of it... :cheeky:

http://img24.exs.cx/img24/4926/1961_7_168x113.jpghttp://img24.exs.cx/img24/6209/158_3_168x112.jpghttp://img99.exs.cx/img99/6289/index_04.gifhttp://img31.exs.cx/img31/5149/122006304_T.jpg

"Thy fate is the common fate of all;

into each life some rain must fall" - Henry Wadsworth Longfellow

yeah well... Sometimes people panick. And do stupid things. Thats why we read street smart ma... haha...

P-plate should be an attitude to safety and riding. There's always more to learn.

10417710_10152885054228332_2597706433133321618_n.jpg?oh=a3e4c65165b15e5d659161c304211563&oe=54FB0965

Hi guys, just wanna know whether is it safe to ride between lanes.

As i'm still struggling for my 2B license, everytime i drive on the road, those blardy taxi drivers just filter without giving signal and i was wondering how bikes avoid such situation if riding between lanes?

For your case, please ride behind the car and keep to the left lane, that's it.

You should not ask whether you can or cannot ride between lanes.

Generally, you will only present yourself as an obstacle to other riders who want to overtake riders like you when you are squeezing between lanes.

So do yourself a favour as well as to all other riders.:D

Hi guys, just wanna know whether is it safe to ride between lanes.

As i'm still struggling for my 2B license, everytime i drive on the road, those blardy taxi drivers just filter without giving signal and i was wondering how bikes avoid such situation if riding between lanes?

no now.

as you are a new rider,

ride with ample spacing and proper lane first.

For you O Lord, will bless the righteous; with favor You shall surround him as with a shield. Psalm 5:12

Even after nine mnths of riding.. i still have difficulty squeezing thru.. its safer to follow thru d lanes not ride on d lane markings

Yeah... Me too. After 14 months on the road I'm still not entirely comfortable going in between vehicles for too long. Now on the super4, its easier to go through vehicles quickly and safely to minimize exposure. I used to have to high rev and throw clutch on the NSR for a light power surge to squeeze safely. Getting more used to squeezing nowadays, but I'll still think that if can don't squeeze, don't squeeze is better. Never know when sometimes Sh*t happens in front and the driver's reaction is to swerve to avoid. Good luck if you're in between with no where to run. Like how Sfowner got hit.

P-plate should be an attitude to safety and riding. There's always more to learn.

10417710_10152885054228332_2597706433133321618_n.jpg?oh=a3e4c65165b15e5d659161c304211563&oe=54FB0965

360 situational awareness. Try to be aware of your surroundings as much as possible. Check your mirrors often, even if you're not switching lanes. Knowing what's around you is always good just in case someone cuts into your path, and you at least have a mental snapshot of what's on your left or right and can react accordingly.

When riding through traffic, I always think of my situation and the traffic around me as this: Relative position.

What I mean is that... we're all floating stationary, them... me.

If I twist my throttle more, I float forward towards the ones in front of me, and away from the ones behind. Vice versa for braking.

I don't think about the actual speed I'm travelling at. I think about the speed of the traffic relative to me. This way, I cut one thing out of my mind and worry only about the immediate threats. (Yes... I take riding on the roads as an exercise in offense/defense. I automatically assume that everyone else out there can't see me, or wanna hit me.)

Believe me, looking only at the relative positioning and velocity of the vehicles around you will help a lot. That, and your 360SA.

Sometimes i really feel that if cannot squeeze, riding is really a lot more dangerous on the road. Really lost count of the times when i kwai kwai on the road and get sh*t from the left right and rear, but when I'm in between vehicles, it actually becomes less of a problem, almost becomes easier to ride. Have i got my priorities wrong? It seems I'm getting in between more often these days. I actually started liking to see the road hoggers, cause it means that if i squeeze pass them, they will hold off the tailgators for a while and i get to open spaces. I average more than 100km a day on the odometer... Taking a lot of Sh*t each day on the road and getting jaded.

I don't squeeze in between vehicles on the road most of the time. For 3 months since I am on the road, have not done it more than 3 times.

It is safer to be in the lane. left and right there is ample amount of space for you to evade and danger.

When I am being tailgated, i slow down a bit and open up the gap in front of me so that when vehicle in front jam brake, I can slow down in time and not cause the vehicle behind bang into me.

Usually the tailgator will just get fed up and change lane to overtake.

I seldom ride in the first lane cause my bike is not fast enough.

So know your limits on the road, prepare for any dangerous situation.

There is no right and wrong about lane splitting, but i hate it when fellow riders zoom pass me just inches away. Image if there is a strong cross wind that pushes me right into his path...

So bros, when lane splitting remember that all vehicles don't travel in a straight line, especially motorcycles.

Take care and be safe. :cheeky:

Pulsar UG3 (Mar 07 -> 21 Jan 2009)

S4 Ver S. (Scrapped May 2010)

S4 Revo (05 Aug 2010 -> current)

Sometimes i really feel that if cannot squeeze, riding is really a lot more dangerous on the road. Really lost count of the times when i kwai kwai on the road and get sh*t from the left right and rear, but when I'm in between vehicles, it actually becomes less of a problem, almost becomes easier to ride. Have i got my priorities wrong? It seems I'm getting in between more often these days. I actually started liking to see the road hoggers, cause it means that if i squeeze pass them, they will hold off the tailgators for a while and i get to open spaces. I average more than 100km a day on the odometer... Taking a lot of Sh*t each day on the road and getting jaded.

Spot on. Splitting lanes is safer in many occasions on the road, provided;

- you're not speeding through; filter at 10-20% over the traffic speed at most. note that you shouldn't be slower than the traffic either; if you are, then sit in your lane

- you have built sufficient traffic negotiation experience to "read" the other vehicles and the flow of traffic

- you have built sufficient experience to pull a well executed e-brake and/or a quick swirve

Important note: this does not mean filter all the time. We need a very large bag of tricks, so we can pull up the most appropriate one from our hats (or helmets) accprding to the conditions.

riding between land have to be double alert.. TP not happy, summon you reckless riding.. so it is better for you to ride in the middle of the land bro... unless traffic jam if not try not too..

Rot In Hell!!

my method of squeezing is low gear at high speed/ high rev coz when u closed ur throttle the bike engine brake is better and safer then slaming ur brakes. i wud juz tap the brake abit and let the engine braking does the job. also high beam during the day helps drivers to acknowldege ur presence.

http://i59.photobucket.com/albums/g313/funkyvtec/IMG-4077.jpg

Previous Rides: RXK 135, S4 Project Big 1, S4 Vtec1, ST1100 Pan European, Cbr954, K7 600, FJR1300 ABS, SilverWing FJS 400.

Current Rides: FIT 1.3 GF MoonRoof.

**** happens, and when it happens to you, it's too late to regret.

sometimes drivers will go stray off their lane for a number of reasons, eg. talking on the phone, reading, arguing with passengers, sneeze, etc.

and if you happen to be squeezing next to such a driver, then good luck to you.

best is stay in your own lane and keep a safe distance from the vehicle in front.

it's not worth your life to save a few mins of travel time.

to squeeze betw lane is all abt ur anticipation skill & hw comfortable you are on your bike control.

for me used to stay in lane till i kena CBD traffic. 1 week ltr its squeeze squeeze and more squeeze.. nvr looked back since.. haha

squeezing betw traffic common for daily commuting, just rem do it safely, gotta space den squeeze, no space dun be hero die die also wanna pass thru..

thr's always pple waiting at home for you to return to.

http://i475.photobucket.com/albums/rr120/rockytree/SERVER.jpg

don think its advisble with some many irresponsible drivers on the road... dun forget we do not have a shell to protect us unlike cars

Ride at a speed that will give you a chance to stop

or swerve if the need arises.

it's advisable to ride no more than 16kmh faster

than the speed on the traffic you're overtaking.

even when you think you are confident enough to lane squeeze with other bikers, still maintain a distance from the biker infront of you. that's what I do :cheeky:

22 August 2005 - August 2006 - Phantom TA 200

August 2006 - April 25 2007 - X9- Almafi

May 2007 - Feb 2008 - S4 Spec III

Feb 2008 - Dec 2012 - Silverwing Euro 400 (longest ride)

July 2009 - Oct 2012 OPC - Sold

Dec 2012 - Jun 2013- paggio x10

Jun 2013 -?????? - Silverwing SW-T400 ABS (Euro ver)

http://s46.photobucket.com/albums/f138/flamingangelz/th_DSC00702.jpg

just a reminder: if going pretty slow and hogging the "squeezing lane", please give way to faster bikes...cos everybody wants to get work fast during peak hour, so why not help yourself by helping others...everybody wins

http://i197.photobucket.com/albums/aa199/rahmatese/3dflags_fra0001-0001a.gif
to squeeze betw lane is all abt ur anticipation skill & hw comfortable you are on your bike control.

for me used to stay in lane till i kena CBD traffic. 1 week ltr its squeeze squeeze and more squeeze.. nvr looked back since.. haha

squeezing betw traffic common for daily commuting, just rem do it safely, gotta space den squeeze, no space dun be hero die die also wanna pass thru..

thr's always pple waiting at home for you to return to.

To squeeze between lanes is not about anticipation skill and comfort with bike control. Its about choices with risks and personal preferences with acceptable risk taking.

One does not need skill and good control to make a choice to lane split, although it takes those attributes to do so safely. At the end of the day, its about riding styles and choices with how much risk we choose to take.

Lane split=risk, faster speed=risk, ride bike=risk... Different people different choices... and different ways of risk management. End of the day when sh*t happens it doesn't matter how much skill and anticipation you have, it can all mean nothing.

I also lane split... Not too much, cause i recognise I'm not as skillful and experienced as many mature riders. I'm more likely to overlook something someone with more experience might have sensed. I can only make up for it with attentiveness. But each time all of us lane split, its equal risk, every ride, every squeeze

Good luck with your choices and have a safe ride :)

From my experience:

-in smooth traffic, ie lots of space ahead and on both sides, there is really no reason to stay between lanes. if encounter a hogger, just overtake safely ( signal, check back ) and get back on lane ( a safe distance ahead of the hogger ).

-approaching congested traffic, best to position oneself between lanes and go slow. once in-bewteen vehicles, i normally keep to lower gears and throttle abit then clutch-in, throttle abit, clutch-in...until clear the congested stretch of road. If its a big jam, dun give in to the urge to go fast becos "it looks like there's a clear path for you ahead between vehicles and they can't change lane aniway"....happened to me many years ago under this condition, 1 driver stick his "nose" out, i siam bueh hoo...wham...i flew...broken collarbone. Also, dun get pressurised to pick up speed becos got a whole string of bikes behind you...bikers are already making very good time compared to drivers in a traffic jam.

-caught in a jam. sometimes, its happens too abruptly and we get stuck in traffic jam while within a lane. when attempting to get between lanes, signal first, slowly position to the edge of the lane...if your view is blocked by the cars behind you or the bend of the road, dun squeeze out yet...squeeze out only when visually certain there's no on-coming "squeezer". This can be quite hazardous as you still need to watch your front while constantly checking back for opportunity to squeeze...so for the less experienced...it might be better to just stay in lane and endure the jam.

hope this helps :)

DO. Or DO NOT. There is no TRY.

just a reminder: if going pretty slow and hogging the "squeezing lane", please give way to faster bikes...cos everybody wants to get work fast during peak hour, so why not help yourself by helping others...everybody wins

I don't meant lane squeeze at a slow speed but I meant go fast but maintain atleast a 1.5 bike difference for any thing that might happen infront and also to give yourself time to react

22 August 2005 - August 2006 - Phantom TA 200

August 2006 - April 25 2007 - X9- Almafi

May 2007 - Feb 2008 - S4 Spec III

Feb 2008 - Dec 2012 - Silverwing Euro 400 (longest ride)

July 2009 - Oct 2012 OPC - Sold

Dec 2012 - Jun 2013- paggio x10

Jun 2013 -?????? - Silverwing SW-T400 ABS (Euro ver)

http://s46.photobucket.com/albums/f138/flamingangelz/th_DSC00702.jpg

IMHO, as long as your speed match the prevailing traffic condition, then its fine...fast or slow is a relative concept. and i'm abit kiasi, so i try to keep at least 1.5car length away from vehicles infront, especially when going 80-90kmh on expressway, and minimize between-lane riding.

Of cos its just a general guideline for myself. Traffic condition is always dynamic. Stay alert. Enjoy the ride. Arrive intact. Easier said than done. :)

DO. Or DO NOT. There is no TRY.