I rarely fill Shell in my bike, but just to show my support for their initiative to improve safety, I will go there for my next tankful - and I will dismount.

Only Airheads need respond.

• Replies 268

Originally posted by vfrT@Mar 5 2005, 10:01 AM

I rarely fill Shell in my bike, but just to show my support for their initiative to improve safety, I will go there for my next tankful - and I will dismount.

Only Airheads need respond.

hello! =)

R6!!!!!!!!!!

Originally posted by MrLau@Feb 28 2005, 05:49 PM

Becoz of the stupid safety policy, we SBF 14,500 members going to boycott Shell.

Each bikes can pump 20L petrol, and SBF got 14,500 bikes.

Then, 20L x 14,500 = 290,000L

The petrol price now is $1.45,

290,000L x $1.45 = $420,500

Every week, we need to pump at least 1 time, 1 year got 52 weeks :

$420,500 x 52 = $21,866,000

Becoz of the stupid safety policy, Shell is going to have renevue loss $21,866,000 each year, just SBF alone.

So, no worry, the marketing director or maybe the CEO soon will lost his job.

To dismount or not is my own problem, why they stop the pump when I was pumping it half-way?

Happened yest, the attendant came over and was apologetic. I understand their difficult position. So juz paid for the half tank and left.

The problem is I pump at Shell not because I like the colour or what, but because it is near my home.

I suppose many bikers who are pissed wif the new ruling face the same predicament, to boycott and go to a further kiosk, or to L-L?

Not everybody will boycott one lar, because there are many others like me who agree with their safety policy.

Safety first for me. I apreciate the safety efforts. Though I never pump shell anway :D

I guess those of u who dun like the safety measure can just pump somewhere else lor. If u dun like it, dun go there lor, simple rite.

for sale :

rotax 122 clutch basket - very low wear, see to believe!

25 piece cdr - brand new $8

17" monitor - flickers when cold $10

castrol chain wax & chain spray - still a lot left $5

Originally posted by zod@Mar 5 2005, 02:39 AM

This also means if you are sitting on your bike and pumping petrol yourself, any static electricity buildup is immediately discharged through the pump and bike if you are touching the bike

because the discharge is an ongoing process, the discharged current will be very little

That plus the humid climate.

Safety is good. But trying to overdo safety to the point of being PITA.... hmmm... :p

Just like before turning at left filter. Check left blind spot, enter filter, stop at line, check right for oncoming traffic, Check left blind spot, check right for oncoming traffic again, Check left blind spot again, check right for oncoming traffic again, Check left blind spot again, check right for oncoming traffic again, Check left blind spot again, check right for oncoming traffic again, Check left blind spot again, check right for oncoming traffic again, Check left blind spot again, check right for oncoming traffic again, Check left blind spot again, check right for oncoming traffic again, Check left blind spot again, check right for oncoming traffic again, Check left blind spot again, check right for oncoming traffic again, Check left blind spot again, check right for oncoming traffic again, Check left blind spot again, ... etc etc

Originally posted by DeusExMachina@Mar 7 2005, 10:49 AM

Just like before turning at left filter. Check left blind spot, enter filter, stop at line, check right for oncoming traffic, Check left blind spot, check right for oncoming traffic again, Check left blind spot again, check right for oncoming traffic again, Check left blind spot again, check right for oncoming traffic again, Check left blind spot again, check right for oncoming traffic again, Check left blind spot again, check right for oncoming traffic again, Check left blind spot again, check right for oncoming traffic again, Check left blind spot again, check right for oncoming traffic again, Check left blind spot again, check right for oncoming traffic again, Check left blind spot again, check right for oncoming traffic again, Check left blind spot again, check right for oncoming traffic again, Check left blind spot again, ... etc etc

hahaha, they where got teach u lidat one

anyway, check right for traffic

den check IN FRONT for vehicle...

coz i kiss my fren's ass at the filter lane b4 :mad:

for sale :

Originally posted by fibre@Mar 7 2005, 11:57 PM

hahaha, they where got teach u lidat one

anyway, check right for traffic

den check IN FRONT for vehicle...

coz i kiss my fren's ass at the filter lane b4 :mad:

No need to check in front. Because of the various redundant safety checks on the blind spot.... you won't get a chance to advance forward.

Pretty similar here, in this case...

Imagine this, when a family goes to pump petrol in a car, does the whole family leaves the car when the petrol is being pumped? Well, if we must stand up to pump, we can suggest to them that cars need to be empty when petrol is pumped into it. What if accidents happen and family members trapped in cars?

Originally posted by Demon@Feb 28 2005, 06:11 PM

Your calculation is correct if you assume that :

- All 14500 SBF bikers patronise SHELL, and not other Brands

- All 14500 SBF bikers pump SHELL only in SINGAPORE.

- All 14500 SBF bikers disagree with that safety rule.

So it looks like SHELL CEO gets to keep his job. :bounce:

Ah but you're assuming that because I stopped filled my bike I didn't stop filling my car, So you have another $100 per week from me that will no longer go to Shell.

For the record, I stopped going to shell because they are rude! I don't fill my bike while seated.

As a side issue I'm now supporting SPC. good service, Singapore company right? let's support singapore companies, why should revenue go to dutch company? they now have a large number of converted stations almost everywhere.

It doesn't matter what the question is, the answer is more power!

juz sm geeky info 4 evry1... :giddy:

i tink all dat evry1 needs is juz btr education...

i tink if u guys tk e tym 2 watch tv n i mean educational tv(yah i noe, we love bikes more than tv), i tink u would come across dis issue abt petrol station fires on discovery channel... if im not wrong, i saw dis abt 2 mths ago on a programme called mythbusters... dey managed 2 prove dat e dumb handphone ruling juz is an unfounded claim (read on 1st b4 making a conclusion or slapping ur foreheads)... d hp is not able to discharge enuf heat or waves dat can trigger a fire ..

wat reali happens is dat given e condition of e surrounding area (climate, weather etc...), e clothes one wears (even undervaar) and oso one's movements r e causes of such fires...

in e mythbusters programme, dey tried triggering off a controlled exp whereby dey try using hp's 2 blast petrol fumes skyhigh in a containment area... it cant b done... anyways, dey substituted d hp wif a piece of cloth (wool, cotton or smting) n tried rigging off e petrol in e containment area (at least 10m radius i tink) using static electricity...

after much persuasion (really a lot of effort) n stronger forces did dey get e blast...

neways, dey did their research n realized dat most petrol station fires r caused by owners who pump petrol, return to sit in car, pump petrol, return 2 sit in car n so on, thus acquiring e much needed buildup of static electricity n transferring all dat energy to form a spark which mite ignite e petrol running from e nozzle... n most likely, these ppl get v kan cheong n end up spraying petrol all over e station's floor thus spreading e fire...

neways, petrol burns easily n is easier 2 put out, diesel takes longer 2 burn but is more difficult to put out... but wen a lot of petrol is involved, dun throw caution 2 e wind... but neways, d ruling could b due 2 fear of motorists pumping n running away.. cars cant run cos attendants r on hand ("V-Power for u sir?"), but motorbikes, well... u get my drift...

lets c.. (i'm adopting sm wacky calculations i've seen b4 here)

let's say SBF has 14,500 members n evry member pumps a min grade of shell95 for $10 a week. N due to sm really weird goings-on, out of 10 who pump, 1 goes mental n run off without paying... so, lets do our math...

10% * 14, 500 = 1450

1450 * $10 * 4 (weeks) * 12 (mths)= a WHOPPING $696,000!!! in e negative annually...

in any biznez, i reckon half a million of net loss is oredi a cause 4 concern thus justifying their no pump whilst sitting rule... im in no1's camp but believe me, i felt lyk i was being discriminated against n made me feel lyk i was a thief trying 2 steal petrol... but dis is juz my speculation n my 2cents worth of talk... btw, sorry 4 e long post...

http://i104.photobucket.com/albums/m188/essufrito/HPIM0050.jpg

bikes of a brother, fly together...

Originally posted by PJR@Mar 19 2005, 12:24 AM

Shell services never good and never smiles.....all macham we own them money....will not give them anymore hard earned money......was at a esso pump yesterday....the pump attendant even help wipe my seat and box.....coolllll....:smile:

hmm...Esso have been receiving quite good reviews here in SBF...maybe I should try it apart from my normal refills at JB..

http://i197.photobucket.com/albums/aa199/rahmatese/3dflags_fra0001-0001a.gif

Shell services never good and never smiles.....all macham we own them money....will not give them anymore hard earned money......was at a esso pump yesterday....the pump attendant even help wipe my seat and box.....coolllll....:smile:

wha...which station is dat?

na beh, i esso supporter but nobody wipe my seat b4

@#$$%!

for sale :

Guest Y()HJI

hehehe....if i din't see the post i really don't know shell have their own law..no wonder the staff ask me don't seat and pump petrol.....so are u all going to stop pump at shell???ok lah...let's pump at malaysia lah hahahah

Guest Y()HJI
Originally posted by fibre@Mar 26 2005, 01:04 AM

wha...which station is dat?

na beh, i esso supporter but nobody wipe my seat b4

@#$$%!

coz u never stand up hahaha how they going to wipe ur seat??:smile:

Originally posted by Y()HJI@Mar 26 2005, 01:24 AM

coz u never stand up hahaha how they going to wipe ur seat??:smile:

that's a good one.

For you O Lord, will bless the righteous; with favor You shall surround him as with a shield. Psalm 5:12

didnt know esso provide that service.. I regular leh... Maybe when i go pay money, they wipe? hahah

A relationship is like a rose, How long it lasts, no one knows; Love can erase an awful past, Love can be yours, you'll see at last; To feel that love, it makes you sigh, To have it leave, you'd rather die; You hope you've found that special rose, 'Cause you love and care for the one you chose.

now esso oso hav the same policy as shell muz get off bike to pump petrol ... aft the pump attandant told me it the new company policy i moved off n end up pumping my petrol at spc.

http://i210.photobucket.com/albums/bb248/rastyblade/sbf_400.jpg
Originally posted by Lonewolf@Feb 23 2005, 10:48 AM

That day I went to top up at shell, but as i press the handle no fuel came out, so I asked the attandant why' he said must get off the bike then only will they allow you to top up, I then ask is it a new Singapore Law he said no its just something which only shell has, after that I just rode off to Esso and top up their.

1: Shell thinks that they are the only petrol station in Spore, so proud that they come up with a regulation which is NOT A SPORE LAW but all bikers must follow if we want to buy their petrol.

2: I find it more dangerous to standup and topup then to sit down, because I am nearer the oil tank and more steady, if we were to standup the bike will be on the side stand and therefore the tank will be tilted and we cannot pump full. thereby risking rust on the inside of the tank.

3: obvously came up from someone who is very well educated and high placed in shell but does not ride a bike.

4: I personaly have never heard of any bike catching fire when topping up. they said that incase the fuel touchs the hot engine and catch fire. Even if fuel touchs a

hot engine, no matter how hot it will not catch fire u still need a naked flame or spark plug to do that or if the engine block is red hot until glowing by which time the seat will have melted already.

From now on i will boycott shell I still have Esso, SPC, Mobil and JB to go to top up, some more they are cheaper.

Relax relax..

jus lik every other petrol station.. some basic rules r lik cant smoke or light lighter n cant call on mobile phone, switch off engine when toppin petrol.. rite?

well.. so y cant sit on the bike when topping petrol?

reason being, 'sway sway' a spark occur n the petrol catch fire, its easier for u to run away from ur bike rather than swinging ur leg across the bike then run away from bike.. its more for safety by askin riders to pump pertol off bike..

:smile: tink abt it.. any comments guys??

<u>PASSION</u> : Strong emotion, Great enthusiasm.

Riders' passion is to ride.

Its NOT from point A to point B that a rider enjoy,

its DURING point A to point B that he enjoy..

http://www.hondahornet.co.uk/images/cb9001.jpg

SMS from MPeX...

"Zaihan from TNP called me (MPeX) already, Will be presenting our opinions over coffee."

Anyone interested? Haha... Me CONFIRM will be there with MPeX

Guest motofreak

Hey any updates yet. And recently the Newpaper came out with this article recently. Wat u guys think bout that?

Originally posted by Ravon11@Apr 11 2005, 12:01 PM

Relax relax..

jus lik every other petrol station.. some basic rules r lik cant smoke or light lighter n cant call on mobile phone, switch off engine when toppin petrol.. rite?

well.. so y cant sit on the bike when topping petrol?

reason being, 'sway sway' a spark occur n the petrol catch fire, its easier for u to run away from ur bike rather than swinging ur leg across the bike then run away from bike.. its more for safety by askin riders to pump pertol off bike..

:smile: tink abt it.. any comments guys??

i thot sumbody brought dis up b4? standing up to refuel, u are now standing btw de pump and bike and de pump nozzle in front of u... so de only way to escape is to run backwards... skali u fall backwards and ur face kena de exhaust can, lagi jialat... haha... isnt it easier to juz be straddling and den juz buang de bike if got fire? at least u got more angles to escape from... i dun buy dis ting abt needing to swing ur legs or jump off de bike which will take time... i tink if really it came to a fire, ur response time will still be de same... juz my two cents worth

The secret of success is to know something nobody else knows...