Ask a cop: Arizona doesn't allow riding motorcycles between cars

Special for The Republic

Nov. 30, 2007 07:47 AM

Question: Although dangerous, is it illegal to "white line," or ride between lanes of traffic on a motorcycle?

Answer: Some people also refer to this as "splitting traffic." It is both dangerous and illegal

It's kinda funny to know that once you zip into the neighbouring state of California on a 2-wheeler that lane-splitting becomes "allowed".

Excerpt from the California Highway Patrol

Q: Can motorcycle riders "split" lanes and ride between other vehicles?

A: Lane splitting by motorcycles is permissible but must be done in a safe and prudent manner.

Phenomenal congested traffic environment perhaps?

• Replies 25.1k

But then you got angry.....

You become green like Incredible Hulk, you felt...

So "feeling" for wat? Just change to 2 lor. Or even better, just go 1.5 and ride 10 or 20 above traffic flow. Relaxed and easy, right?

No need to feel ang-wy, go lane 2, go lane 1, pehhh-pehhh-pehhh.... go back lane 2, go back lane 1, peehhh-pehhh-pehhh....

Wah knn... like that my finger type until tired. You must have been exhausted shifting your weight around and twisting throttle...

haha... u guys relax lah... read until tak bole tahan liao.. but bro deus is right weneva thrs a vehicle start to tailgate or drive fasts behind u, its better to change lane or ride fast rather than u road hog the fast n furious. its meaningless to quarrel bout the issue.. hv to understand coz some really don't.. : )

well in the evening at 1800hrs while riding back home frm work along pioneer rd, i saw s4 rider doing the backfire while waiting for traffic light to turn green. in my thinking is this some kind of attitude wanna show off his stuff to some of the motorists at the junction???

Life is like a shooting star, it don't matter who you are,

If you only run for cover, it's just a waste of time.. :thumb:

http://i154.photobucket.com/albums/s271/warriorconp/MyRide2.jpg

But then you got angry.....

You become green like Incredible Hulk, you felt...

So "feeling" for wat? Just change to 2 lor. Or even better, just go 1.5 and ride 10 or 20 above traffic flow. Relaxed and easy, right?

No need to feel ang-wy, go lane 2, go lane 1, pehhh-pehhh-pehhh.... go back lane 2, go back lane 1, peehhh-pehhh-pehhh....

Wah knn... like that my finger type until tired. You must have been exhausted shifting your weight around and twisting throttle...

haha... u guys relax lah... read until tak bole tahan liao.. but bro deus is right weneva thrs a vehicle start to tailgate or drive fasts behind u, its better to change lane or ride fast rather than u road hog the fast n furious. its meaningless to quarrel bout the issue.. hv to understand coz some really don't.. : )

well in the evening at 1800hrs while riding back home frm work along pioneer rd, i saw s4 rider doing the backfire while waiting for traffic light to turn green. in my thinking is this some kind of attitude wanna show off his stuff to some of the motorists at the junction???

Life is like a shooting star, it don't matter who you are,

If you only run for cover, it's just a waste of time.. :thumb:

http://i154.photobucket.com/albums/s271/warriorconp/MyRide2.jpg

would like to ask, chinese rider on a white s4?

maybe is jb himself:cheeky:

P-plate should be an attitude to safety and riding. There's always more to learn.

10417710_10152885054228332_2597706433133321618_n.jpg?oh=a3e4c65165b15e5d659161c304211563&oe=54FB0965

eh.. ahh bro jb do u saw???

I didn't, I'm just thinking is it someone I know ;)

maybe is jb himself:cheeky:

naw, my bike is half of s4 and luminous in the day :D

2 hours ago, friend came over from ghim moh to get me along to 2nd link to pump.Waited downstairs for me while I finish up some revision.So he went around looking at other bikes where my bike is parked.So I went down and exiting the lift, saw my neighbour who rides as well on the phone and looking over the bike lot.

Then I went over to my bike and my friend, staring writing my white card and about to move off. A QX stopped by, parked behind my friend and stopped us.Routine screen I thought, lady cop told us someone called the cops.

Made me laugh, saying a guy in black jacket wondering around the bikes yada yada..Said its my friend who was doing so while waiting for me.Didn't bring my wallet(ic & licence oops) but only passport.So told her to wait with my passport while my sister throws my wallet down.

Then she said its another biker(neighbour I saw at lift lobby) who called in to report because he himself is riding, son riding and also daughter too.Then another rider came along and greeted me, asking me why I got stopped by police etc..She laughed it off too. The cops took up 15mins of my time and then cleared us.

Told them to come back often ;) my area needs more QX to wipe off pests!

Damn.

Kena rain for the first time after one year of riding here.

Temperature was 4 degrees C. Lucky I had brought the FrogTog raincoat to work.

Really worked as advertised. Kept me warm and dry.

Made paying USD$58 for a raincoat worth every cent.

tis morning a car knocked into me at tampines ave 10, and my bike was thrown far..

thanks to a phantom rider, whom i duno who he is but though he looks alil familiar(not sure seen him during sbf outings or ard my work place giant tampines), he has stopped immediately though he was travelling from the bedok reservoir direction and me from the kaki bukit.

He has helped me lifted my bike and pushed to one side.. and rendered alot of help.. i didn't get his plate number, but the next time i see him i'll make sure i'll do that..

If you are the phantom rider, please pm me, i would like to thank you, and just fyi is the driver is going to pay for my full expenses spent to repair my bike.

Thanks once again! PK ROX :thumb:

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v601/juvenawu/13112006106.jpg

Dun be an idiot. You live your life and I live mine.

thanks.. no major injuries just tat some bruises and scratches..

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v601/juvenawu/13112006106.jpg

Dun be an idiot. You live your life and I live mine.

Almost got swiped by a truck at Bukit Timah Road today. Good thing about electric horns. Can warn others about my presence.

Also this morning, a car at Farrer Road was about to go up the Adam Road Flyover when the driver suddenly change lane. If I had been a bit faster, I would have hit him! The driver nonchantly drive away as if nothing happened. I think it's a foreigner that was lost or something....

Was travelling along PIE towards Tuas near to Toa Payoh. Riding behind this nice black/white camo-print K7 1000. The rider was riding in the second lane when a car cut into his lane from the third lane, without signalling.

The K7 rider rode to the side, came to the front of the car without signalling, right in the middle and slowed down to 60 - 70km/h. Lol. :thumb: FBB 89**T

For the certainty of death and the knowledge of life's fragility, makes it worth living.

tis morning a car knocked into me at tampines ave 10, and my bike was thrown far..

thanks to a phantom rider, whom i duno who he is but though he looks alil familiar(not sure seen him during sbf outings or ard my work place giant tampines), he has stopped immediately though he was travelling from the bedok reservoir direction and me from the kaki bukit.

He has helped me lifted my bike and pushed to one side.. and rendered alot of help.. i didn't get his plate number, but the next time i see him i'll make sure i'll do that..

If you are the phantom rider, please pm me, i would like to thank you, and just fyi is the driver is going to pay for my full expenses spent to repair my bike.

Thanks once again! PK ROX :thumb:

there are samaritans on phantoms ;) I named my phantom that :p

Was travelling along PIE towards Tuas near to Toa Payoh. Riding behind this nice black/white camo-print K7 1000. The rider was riding in the second lane when a car cut into his lane from the third lane, without signalling.

The K7 rider rode to the side, came to the front of the car without signalling, right in the middle and slowed down to 60 - 70km/h. Lol. :thumb: FBB 89**T

haah as long as he knows the risks involved then its okay :)

Get well soon PinKcHicK :cheer:

Phantom riders see you fall down sure help one mah!

Never heard of Phantom knights mare? :cheeky:

Appear mysteriously to help damsel in distress then disappear when the crisis is over. :smile:

Get well soon PinKcHicK :cheer:

Phantom riders see you fall down sure help one mah!

Never heard of Phantom knights mare? :cheeky:

Appear mysteriously to help damsel in distress then disappear when the crisis is over. :smile:

erm.. like robbin hood? zorro? spiderman all these ah?:cheeky:

http://i265.photobucket.com/albums/ii208/danielsin2/800_3108.jpg

lol... today first time saw a lady riding SP from around west side to east via PIE... finally saw a lady on the road.. ^_^ today morning is the worst day as it's raining pretty big... haix... but lucky no bike accident infront of me this morning...

Please proceed to this website/web link if you guys have any technical issues on Kawasaki Kips/KR150, I'll update the 1st POST as and when there's a new question. Newbies questions on the top as well. :)

Ahaha.. Silent Hunter, for one, is a knight who will help. I pmed him some time back asking for directions on mounting camera on bike. He was very helpful, although he could have easily ignored me since he didn't know me. :thumb:

P-plate should be an attitude to safety and riding. There's always more to learn.

10417710_10152885054228332_2597706433133321618_n.jpg?oh=a3e4c65165b15e5d659161c304211563&oe=54FB0965

Talk about the horror movie "The Mist" by Stephen King.

Had to go to work on this cold and muggy morning in this dense fog.

Temperature was 2 degrees C. A real experience riding in this peasoup.

http://i118.photobucket.com/albums/o104/angelo_neo/IMG_1374.jpg

raptor, didn't that fog up your camera lense too? lol take care of your lense dude, even the inside if its SLR ;)

Ya, I sure did coz the camera was in my jacket pocket and was warm when I took it out.

No standard for SLRs yet, this one is only a Canon Powershot SD600 which I bought for about USD$250 here.

This camera goes with me whenever I ride so its quite badly abused but seems to be standing up to it quite well.