in the past i also dun turn on lights. now turn on lights to let drivers noe that there is a bike.

I always on my lights... Because drivers use the excuse "I never see u." When they bang into u. So my lights are always on, be it stock headlights or hid lights, always on. Stock lights, they say they never see u when they sudden lane change and hit into u, traffic junction at midnight oncoming car turn right into your route when you're going straight, also say can't see. Now I use hid, they bang me from behind and say never see me. Lol. Power drivers in Singapore... At least hid got difference from stock headlight, brighter and lesser chances of drivers "not seeing u" in their mirrors... ;)

• Replies 25.1k

i encountered a similar situation few days ago. it was a two way road and a car tailgated me when i already signalled my intention (at least 3 secs in advance) of turning left into a minor road up ahead. as expected, the driver had to brake quite hard and i was praying that the car will not rear-end my bike

Phew...glad you're ok :D

I gave way to him in the end, because I was driving & he would be injured if I insisted my right of way.

he trying to "chi" with you mah. S4 also mah. haha.

Lol no la. I was driving not riding. He no need to "chi" with me. I sure lose him :D

http://i16.photobucket.com/albums/b7/ki113r/Mobile%20Uploads/20150407_203245_zpsvojubra6.jpg

2004 - 2005 FR1284A ~ NSR150SP (FILA Paintwork)

2012 - 2013 FS7810L ~ NSR150SP (Pure White)

2013 - 2015 FBE9955K ~ Spec 3 (Pearl White)

2015 - ???? Quit riding

Today I dropped my bike after i loss balance when almost hitting a pickup truck as he jammed brake. Luckily no vehicle was at the side. Now my bike can't start via electric start, although somehow it managed to start after much pressing of the button on the road. Few hours later it unable to start and i could only run the engine through push start. What could be the issue of this? Also the bike didn't drop from upright. I managed to control the fall of the bike to the left. Battery is working fine. Sorry if out of topic!

Get $10 off at www.iherb.com with coupon code SUP186 for first time customer!

Today I dropped my bike after i loss balance when almost hitting a pickup truck as he jammed brake. Luckily no vehicle was at the side. Now my bike can't start via electric start, although somehow it managed to start after much pressing of the button on the road. Few hours later it unable to start and i could only run the engine through push start. What could be the issue of this? Also the bike didn't drop from upright. I managed to control the fall of the bike to the left. Battery is working fine. Sorry if out of topic!
Many possibilities. One of them is high chance your carb is flooded. Perhaps you could help us to help you by providing the model of bike you riding? :D

Today twice a car coming out of carpark and making a right turn simply could care less about my safety and just drove out. I was on major road travelling straight. Best was the driver was looking at me approaching but can still just drive out. I had to slow down alot and swerved to avoid because the car had to stop behind a lorry in front which managed to make the exit of the carpark in time but stopped due to a jam. If I was driving I would have just collided into the car. But then again the car would not even have exited the carpark. :cool:

KRGT-1

I want to ride my bicycle I want to ride my bike..I want to ride my bicycle I want to ride it where I like..

Today twice a car coming out of carpark and making a right turn simply could care less about my safety and just drove out. I was on major road travelling straight. Best was the driver was looking at me approaching but can still just drive out. I had to slow down alot and swerved to avoid because the car had to stop behind a lorry in front which managed to make the exit of the carpark in time but stopped due to a jam. If I was driving I would have just collided into the car. But then again the car would not even have exited the carpark. :cool:
glad that you're fine. nv stare at the driver? haha. give him the "wtf you doing look?" hahaha.
Do keep in mind that not every bike comes with the hazard light function. Also that would be like misusing the hazard light like how taxi drivers are using them. As said in your sentence that even after you signalled 3secs before. A car still tailgated you and had to do hard braking to avoid colliding into you. That just goes to show the driver could care less what signals we display. :cool:

i understand that not every bike comes with the hazard light function. not to abuse it like how taxi drivers do but only use it while lane-splitting during night time in situations where traffic on expressways is very slow moving or at a stand still.

Turn on hazard light while driving or riding is dumb idea even in heavy rain condition. It is very miss leading and might cause confusion to other road users. And also how are you going to show other for changing direction?

not very misleading if use whereby it is raining heavily which results in poor visibility. the rider/driver can always turn off the hazard light 1st, followed by signalling their intention for changing direction. both suggestions/methods have its pros and cons. ultimately, to each his own.

Edited by xue ling

18/10/07 - 19/08/08 : Honda NSR150 SP

21/08/08 - 24/09/09 : Honda Wave S 125

02/10/09 - 22/02/12 : Yamaha X1-R

09/04/12 - 13/02/15 : Kawasaki Ninja 250R

24/12/14 - 24/02/16 : Honda Wave R 125

29/06/16 : Honda MSX 125

http://i150.photobucket.com/albums/s109/edalpha/DSC00291-1.jpg

glad that you're fine. nv stare at the driver? haha. give him the "wtf you doing look?" hahaha.
I might have but more focused on where I need to swerve away. If looks could kill we would have alot of dead drivers already. :D

i understand that not every bike comes with the hazard light function. not to abuse it like how taxi drivers do but only use it while lane-splitting during night time in situations where traffic on expressways is very slow moving or at a stand still.

not very misleading if use whereby it is raining heavily which results in poor visibility. the rider/driver can always turn off the hazard light 1st, followed by signalling their intention for changing direction. both suggestions/methods have its pros and cons. ultimately, to each his own.

Hence why bikes should have extra lighting for better visibility e.g. using LEDs but not too much like the chingay procession. Sadly the gahmen insists its considered illegal modifications to have these to enhance our visibility. Need to review their so called rules already. :cool:

KRGT-1

I want to ride my bicycle I want to ride my bike..I want to ride my bicycle I want to ride it where I like..

Skidded this morning today because want to siam a lorry infront for sudden jam brake.

Thankful, i'm wearing long sleeves/jeans/shoes/FF Helmet/Gloves.

21248_10151437757623722_1665299151_n.jpg

I don't agree with using the hazard lights when lane-splitting because it should be reserved for emergency vehicles, e.g. TP or SCDF firefighting bikes to get through heavy traffic to help someone in dire need. The rest of us should use our high beams sparingly to get vehicles in a gridlock to move aside. (In fact, I think sounding the horn at a vehicle blocking the "bike path" is tolerable in a heavy jam.)

On the other hand, I fully agree with using the hazard lights when riding through heavy rain. Our small bikes are not very visible to other road users under low visibility conditions, and the hazard lights help to make us more conspicuous. That said, if the rain is so heavy, you should try to find a rain shelter and wait it out. If you have no choice but ride through the storm, don't lane split. Your life is more precious that the few minutes (or tens of minutes) you save by riding fast through the storm. Hydroplaning is a very real possibility and you don't want to be between cars when your tyres start skidding over the water.

Skidded this morning today because want to siam a lorry infront for sudden jam brake.

[ATTACH=CONFIG]276497[/ATTACH]

Get well soon!

http://i16.photobucket.com/albums/b7/ki113r/Mobile%20Uploads/20150407_203245_zpsvojubra6.jpg

2015 - ???? Quit riding

Get well soon!

2015 - ???? Quit riding

take care and speedy recovery

u need to be young and reckless to become old and wise..... if u survive :angel:

http://i19.photobucket.com/albums/b169/gwzc_mk2/IMG_4576-1.jpg

Hence why bikes should have extra lighting for better visibility e.g. using LEDs but not too much like the chingay procession. Sadly the gahmen insists its considered illegal modifications to have these to enhance our visibility. Need to review their so called rules already. :cool:

no matter how bright or big a big is, drivers will always claim that they can't see. just like how the auntie driver claim that she can't see my fren's BMW GS1200 parked in a lot aft banging it

speedy recovery!

I don't agree with using the hazard lights when lane-splitting because it should be reserved for emergency vehicles, e.g. TP or SCDF firefighting bikes to get through heavy traffic to help someone in dire need. The rest of us should use our high beams sparingly to get vehicles in a gridlock to move aside. (In fact, I think sounding the horn at a vehicle blocking the "bike path" is tolerable in a heavy jam.)

On the other hand, I fully agree with using the hazard lights when riding through heavy rain. Our small bikes are not very visible to other road users under low visibility conditions, and the hazard lights help to make us more conspicuous. That said, if the rain is so heavy, you should try to find a rain shelter and wait it out. If you have no choice but ride through the storm, don't lane split. Your life is more precious that the few minutes (or tens of minutes) you save by riding fast through the storm. Hydroplaning is a very real possibility and you don't want to be between cars when your tyres start skidding over the water.

lane-splitting is a no-no under heavy rain conditions unless the traffic is very slow moving or at a stand still

18/10/07 - 19/08/08 : Honda NSR150 SP

21/08/08 - 24/09/09 : Honda Wave S 125

02/10/09 - 22/02/12 : Yamaha X1-R

09/04/12 - 13/02/15 : Kawasaki Ninja 250R

24/12/14 - 24/02/16 : Honda Wave R 125

29/06/16 : Honda MSX 125

http://i150.photobucket.com/albums/s109/edalpha/DSC00291-1.jpg

i encountered a similar situation few days ago. it was a two way road and a car tailgated me when i already signalled my intention (at least 3 secs in advance) of turning left into a minor road up ahead. as expected, the driver had to brake quite hard and i was praying that the car will not rear-end my bike

my fren suggested to turn on the hazard light while lane-splitting during night time. he said that this method works for him but i've yet to try.

the reason being our headlights will blend in with, or rather being covered by, the headlights of the surrounding vehicles.

with the hazard light turn on, at least there is a difference in the colour/light which will make it easier for drivers to notice our presence.

i encounter the tailgating thing everyday, especially at the u-turn after exiting PIE at toa payoh lorong 6 to turn into the hdb carpark. some motorists turning right like to accelerate out fast macam they racing and light turn green, but often people u-turning will slow down, then got accident chance. Already i witness 2 accidents there and multiple near misses. Saw a lorry kiss a car, and a car kiss a scooter. Heng only light peck and not french kiss... :cheeky:

As for hazard light, SP no hazard light arh, unless i left right left right, LOL! i thought of leaving right signal on also when lanesplitting, but afraid cause confusion. Although my instructor also told me that's Malaysian tactic.

RIDE.

2012 - 2015: Honda NSR150SP

2015 - current : Honda CBR600RR

Suggested by your instructor in army? Probably he was referring to those army bikes with miserable headlight and basically the "low beam" is equivalent to parking light, "high beam" equivalent to normal low beam.

So if your bike's headlight is in these condition, it doesn't matter to use high beam..

So I think this tactic is not applicable to all bikes.

As for me, I deliberately set my headlight to low level when in Singapore, and only set it back to high level when touring north.

Lane splitting is always dangerous. Motorway in Europe strictly ban bike for doing so.

But. I enjoy riding bike to work because I can do lane splitting..lol

No arh, not referring to army bikes. We were talking about our own bikes. He owns a VFR1200 and a Gixxer 1k and goes touring up north very often as well.

RIDE.

2012 - 2015: Honda NSR150SP

2015 - current : Honda CBR600RR

Get well soon!

take care and speedy recovery

no matter how bright or big a big is, drivers will always claim that they can't see. just like how the auntie driver claim that she can't see my fren's BMW GS1200 parked in a lot aft banging it

speedy recovery!

lane-splitting is a no-no under heavy rain conditions unless the traffic is very slow moving or at a stand still

thanks all.....

Luckily no broken bones... Get well soon ah...

Thankfully its just abrasions. Nevertheless speedy recovery. :D

That one cannot see is mainly because she did not even bother looking. Never look how to see? Cannot be the bike suddenly appear from thin air. Afterwards does not want to accept responsibility. :cool:

KRGT-1

I always on my lights... Because drivers use the excuse "I never see u." When they bang into u. So my lights are always on, be it stock headlights or hid lights, always on. Stock lights, they say they never see u when they sudden lane change and hit into u, traffic junction at midnight oncoming car turn right into your route when you're going straight, also say can't see. Now I use hid, they bang me from behind and say never see me. Lol. Power drivers in Singapore... At least hid got difference from stock headlight, brighter and lesser chances of drivers "not seeing u" in their mirrors... ;)

Maybe they thought that you're a car? So when they hit you, they're still looking for that car... :slapforehead:

Riders are magicians of some sort. Hence why drivers rarely can see us and always say they did not see us after hitting us. :cool:

KRGT-1

Riders are magicians of some sort. Hence why drivers rarely can see us and always say they did not see us after hitting us. :cool:

Maybe ah... Harry potter manufactured lots of invisibility cloaks and gave to us riders... HAHAHA

Stare for what, I'll just overtake him and ride super slow, he horn, I heck care.