[Archived - 2009] PK Official- Questions for Newbie

Guest @h_püi™

Question:

i went for my first inspection on the last week of may.. any roadtax expiring on the july 27... but till now haven;t receive the roadtax renewal letter.. about when will they send to us?

• Replies 7.2k

Guest @h_püi™

anyone know the nut size for the wheel? wanna adjust the chain myself...

but dun have the correct size for the spanner.. need to buy.. but dunno the size.. thanks

guys... how long do u warm up before riding ?

how long would u recommend ?

sometimes, i need to rush and ride off, and feel like not very smooth when open throttle...

anyone know the nut size for the wheel? wanna adjust the chain myself...

but dun have the correct size for the spanner.. need to buy.. but dunno the size.. thanks

if im not wrong, there is a tool kit pouch under your seats. got the tools to adjust the chain bah.. :cheeky:

"Respect All Others Until They Disrespect You."

guys... how long do u warm up before riding ?

how long would u recommend ?

sometimes, i need to rush and ride off, and feel like not very smooth when open throttle...

hmm.. for me i start my engine 1st then slowly wear my helmet then go off. :cheeky:

"Respect All Others Until They Disrespect You."

i wait 3-5mins each time.

even when im dead late, die die must idle for 3 mins minimum.

my friend's retired mech uncle told me once that if the engine oil hasnt circulated enough, it will/may cause serious engine problems. Anyone can elaborate the mechanics of it?

I have the best signature.

yes, warm up 1st better.

if no warm up just ride off, it's like you just wokeup in the morning, and drink cold water...shiok, but will affect your organs somehow sooner or later...

hahaa, dunno like that say tio bo...

haha.. usually the same here, dragonLee...

thanks yas and madman, i'll try to warm up... coz riding is really not smooth if i rush off...

The explanation is simple. Leaving your bike in the carpark overnight allows the engine oil to cool down and settle in the lower reaches of your engine and gearbox. As it cools down, the engine oil becomes somewhat more viscous and hence, when you start your bike 1st thing in the morning, the engine seems a little reluntant to get started. It takes time for the engine oil to heat up, become more liquid and start circulating as normal. If you engage gear and move off without this warm up time, the higher areas in the engine and gearbox which don't have any or much engine oil will experience a higher rate of wear and tear as there is insufficient lubrication there. Which is why your bike feels rough at first, but gets better after a long while riding it.

Postman Eating Inc*

http://i12.photobucket.com/albums/a208/murano04sfs/38y29ty14.gif

http://4gifs.com/gallery/d/155006-1/Mascot_scares_girl.gif

Squid defination: http://www.urbandictionary.com/define.php?term=squid

Guest Valarie

The minimum time for warming up my Valerie is 30 secs at least.

after i came out from rochor exit i was curious to try backblast from my bike ..

so i tried as one of the PKs told me, clutch in while running, switch off engine, switch back on, and revvv the throttle..

tried 3 times,

1st time - big pok! sound.i think i saw some flames coming out from exhaust.

2nd time - softer but also got flames.

3rd time - no flames but got sound..

not bad man .. but also not sure whether will damage bike or not..

http://i33.tinypic.com/2h3ok5w.jpg

Need some help here! :confused:

How to read the mileage on Phantom 200? Thanks! I just want to make sure that I'm checking it the correct way.

E.g. On my meter... it reads 665787. If let's say I need to change engine oil every 2000 km. Should I wait for the meter to read 667787 or 685787 to change the engine oil?

Hope someone can help me on this...

Biking is something that everyone can learn and enjoy! :goodluck:

http://i426.photobucket.com/albums/pp344/s4dreamer/Laos%20n%20Cambodia%20Trip%2011%20to%2028%20May%202009/Poipet-Cambodia1.jpg

Can i ask if this is normal...whenever i start my bike in the morning, my engine dies within seconds if i do not open throttle and 'ram' my engine? So i dun really start my bike and let it warm up but drive off after a min of opening my throttle. Is this ok?

LIVE FREE NOT FLEE

thatone1: It affects your engine terribly. Do somemore and your pockets will have flame without sound.

s4^dreamer: 685787. The last digit (7) is per 100m.

Lost Tourist: Perhaps bringing it to a mech to get the air/fuel tuning ratio adjusted can help. Yours might be lower than average.

I have the best signature.

s4^dreamer: 685787. The last digit (7) is per 100m.

Thanks for your help! Really appreciate that! :thumb:

Biking is something that everyone can learn and enjoy! :goodluck:

http://i426.photobucket.com/albums/pp344/s4dreamer/Laos%20n%20Cambodia%20Trip%2011%20to%2028%20May%202009/Poipet-Cambodia1.jpg

after i came out from rochor exit i was curious to try backblast from my bike ..

so i tried as one of the PKs told me, clutch in while running, switch off engine, switch back on, and revvv the throttle..

tried 3 times,

1st time - big pok! sound.i think i saw some flames coming out from exhaust.

2nd time - softer but also got flames.

3rd time - no flames but got sound..

not bad man .. but also not sure whether will damage bike or not..

Actually i gt a fren that always love to "BACKFIRE" on his BANDIT 400. Was told that it would affect the rectifier. Engine also can PENGZ. so better sayang your bike before it BACKFIREs on you..:p

If I go Forward, Follow me

If I hesitate, Push me

If they kill me, Avenge me

If I'm a traitor, Kill me

I wonder who suggested backfiring??? & even to the extend of process of doing it!!

If its natural 'pop', its is consider ok as the fuel is too rich when combustioning(Am I right?)

If its deliberately 'farted', then I'll say be prepared to save money for some operation on the bike.

Tk care of the bike & it'll tk care of you in return. ;)

i think natural or un-natural backfiring is not a good thing for phantom.....

my 4 months of ridding phantom , never had any natural backfiring . all happen bcos of my thumb playing the kill switch :p

STOC#6175

29-03-2010 nouvo lc ......

29-10-2010 CBX 250 ......... 10-03-2012

10-03-2012 Tmax ...

01-04-2014 stx1300

backfiring is sth that keeps your mind fresh when you feel sleepy lol..come to think of it, I believe I was the one saying how my friend told me how its done lol..oops taught sth bad here.. I did leave a warning and disclaimer behind :p ..

Hi can someone tell me roughly how much is it to change a new ta200 chain and how much it cost to spray a bike. any recommendation?