[Archived - 2009] PK Official- Questions for Newbie

No one rides around so long just to charge their battery. But a typical bike battery would require around 20-30 minutes of riding to be fully charged. Even if you charge your battery regularly, it doesnt change the fact that battery material deteriorates with time and usage; we're talking about highly reactive material. I have a friend who used to do what you did. After 2 plus years his battery leaked. Don't have to elaborate on the damage that did to his bike.

As with regards to my phantom, I could understand why you would want to take the risk. But with my r6...I'm not about to save a couple of bucks, taking on the risk that the aging battery may just go bust on me.

And oh yes, why is your battery a 'her'? Female battery lasts longer ah? HAHAHA.

Uh...I frequently go on rides more than an hour. At least 5 times each month. Does it counted as charging then?

http://photos.friendster.com/photos/53/44/27584435/1_410853473l.jpg
  • Replies 7.2k

Hey guys

Ever since i buang the bike, now everytime i stop at traffic light there is a large possibility that my bike will die during idle. Some times when i open the throttle just a little bit, engine also will die.

Today i reaching my office liao it died again at traffic, couldn't start it. starter motor like just crank abit abit but can't start. Push it to a down slope and managed to push start it. rev rev for a couple of mins its ok. Turn off the engine den couldn't start again liao.

Anyone knows the problem? battery? carb? btw i already increased the idle liao still like that. Also did a full servicing abt 2 weeks ago...

how much idle u increase? got check your EO?

it could be ur idling or spark plug, ever tried changing eo?

idling i increase abt 1/4 turn liao. EO, spark plug and air filter just changed 2 weeks ago..

http://farm5.static.flickr.com/4109/4974036153_c36bbcded6.jpg

Life isn't all about one's self...

wouldn't you like to have a mechanic look at it and tell you? sometimes it eases your worries and solves your solution much faster than waiting for an answer here ;)

Got a noob qns... went to koon dere last week and he told me my chain need to be changed... how to see when is it necessary to change the chain?

Class 2B - 23 Nov 2007

Class 2A - 24 Mar 2009

Class 2 - 19 Oct 2010

Class 3 - 20 Jul 2011

Guest @h_püi™

very slack, adjustment till the max already.. (at the end of swingarm you can see there actually a guide for you to adjust the wheel so that your chain will tighen)

wouldn't you like to have a mechanic look at it and tell you? sometimes it eases your worries and solves your solution much faster than waiting for an answer here ;)

Well i definitely like a mech to look at it, but the prob only got worse this morning. Did tell ah koon abt it on sat when he fix the damages due to the accident but maybe he was too busy and forgot. Today am working so can't go down to his shop... Hope he opens late tonight... He said that today is the last day he is open, then will close for CNY liao... ZZZZZzzzz

http://farm5.static.flickr.com/4109/4974036153_c36bbcded6.jpg

Life isn't all about one's self...

i was at k**n a while pass by ask him price of two fork seal change. 38 for one side, while somewhere else charges less than that ;)

well not everything is cheap at koon:cheeky:

The pain of discipline is nothing like the pain of disappointment

How do you adjust the fuel:air ratio for a TA200.

Opened all the chrome covers but cannot find a knod to adjust. :(

My bike recently backfires a lot.

Cleaned the air filter also like that. :faint:

turn ur idling higher lor...got chance i can tune for u...u going for CNY outing??if yes thats the time then....

Go as far as you can see; when you get there, you'll be able to see farther.

J. P. Morgan

Got a noob qns... went to koon dere last week and he told me my chain need to be changed... how to see when is it necessary to change the chain?

pull ur chain from ur rear sprocket towards ur no plate, if it moves more den 3-5mm its time to change a new chain.

J. P. Morgan

Uh...I frequently go on rides more than an hour. At least 5 times each month. Does it counted as charging then?

as long as ur riding, it'll charge minus idling ah...

J. P. Morgan

turn ur idling higher lor...got chance i can tune for u...u going for CNY outing??if yes thats the time then....

CNY outing is when sia?:cheeky:

CNY BBQ at DOWNTOWN EAST on 7 to 9 Feb 2008.

Hi guys/ladies i know is too early to post this up but just to inform u guys i have book a room at down town east on those date. Those interested can drop by to enjoy the hoildays, BBQ food and drinks will be provided.....

LINK===> http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/showthread.php?t=170817

oh erm who invited ah? coz i dunno anyone sia.

Bro need to ask a question.

Recently I changed the air pump at planet and the mech adjusted the idling quite high from previous. It felt real power fast and strong but a let down is that heats fast too. I lowered the idling a bit but I miss the power a bit too. Any info would greatly appreciate

I just love the looks, feel and sound of an old good Guzzi, though it has been around since the time of my Grandfather. I guess "they" don't do things like that anymore! Well it's not true.

"They" still do URALS

well not everything is cheap at koon:cheeky:

since when its cheap there? even EO he charge S$3 more than planet.

erm.. its ON the carb. on the left side.. one small screw, MINUS head one..

oh erm who invited ah? coz i dunno anyone sia.

all are invited. but i didn't invite myself.. :faint:

Recently I changed the air pump at planet and the mech adjusted the idling quite high from previous. It felt real power fast and strong but a let down is that heats fast too. I lowered the idling a bit but I miss the power a bit too. Any info would greatly appreciate

erm, what is your qn? i only see your story... :faint:

http://www.weather.gov.sg/wip/pp/rndops/web/ship/gif/rad70.gif

Chong seems to recommend higher idle. lower if u prefer. But then hor, the idle usually is tune together with the air-fuel ratio, not sure if u need to retune the overall if u want to lower your idle drastically.

personally, "overheating" is usually becos u always start stop start stop then very little cool air to take heat away from the engine. Just like that lor.

another reason that comes to mind is when your ratio is too lean. Engine will scream, and get rather hot.

2 cts worth.

hi guys. recently come to a problem with my engine. I can start my engine easily in mscp but when gt raining, i can nv start my engine. Must see heng suay =D .. Went to koon, he said might be short circuit. Any one encountering such problem? Furthermore, i can start my engine using push start when raining just that i cant use electric start.

Safety come First

hi guys. recently come to a problem with my engine. I can start my engine easily in mscp but when gt raining, i can nv start my engine. Must see heng suay =D .. Went to koon, he said might be short circuit. Any one encountering such problem? Furthermore, i can start my engine using push start when raining just that i cant use electric start.

ur spark plug cable has water inside...silicone it and u shall be saved!

J. P. Morgan

erm.. its ON the carb. on the left side.. one small screw, MINUS head one..

QUOTE]

Thanks Replay, I will go and dismantle my bike later.

Just one more thing, turn which way clockwise or counter-clockwise to lower the fuel ratio?

Thanks Replay, I will go and dismantle my bike later.

Just one more thing, turn which way clockwise or counter-clockwise to lower the fuel ratio?

wah seh.. no nid dismantle la... :faint: its just like any other screw on your bike. :) anti to loosen. ;)

http://www.weather.gov.sg/wip/pp/rndops/web/ship/gif/rad70.gif
Chong seems to recommend higher idle. lower if u prefer. But then hor, the idle usually is tune together with the air-fuel ratio, not sure if u need to retune the overall if u want to lower your idle drastically.

personally, "overheating" is usually becos u always start stop start stop then very little cool air to take heat away from the engine. Just like that lor.

another reason that comes to mind is when your ratio is too lean. Engine will scream, and get rather hot.

2 cts worth.

Thanks Bro

During short trips in Sg it heats up, but long trips to Kota tingi was fine.

Ca we adjust the idling alone coz I have no idea about air ratio and how to affect it?

I just love the looks, feel and sound of an old good Guzzi, though it has been around since the time of my Grandfather. I guess "they" don't do things like that anymore! Well it's not true.

"They" still do URALS