[Archived - 2009] PK Official- Questions for Newbie

My bike skidded and fall last week. Now whenever after i ride and park my bike, the will be few drop of black liquid dripping from below my engine. I wondering is it my engine oil leaking or some screw is loose?

It's engine oil. You may have blown a gasket.

Only engine oil will be black...petrol is whatever colour the grade of petrol you pump happens to be (which is definately not black) and will evaporate, and rainwater don't think will be black...my phantom never wash for 1 year also won't generate black rain water xD

Postman Eating Inc*

http://i12.photobucket.com/albums/a208/murano04sfs/38y29ty14.gif

http://4gifs.com/gallery/d/155006-1/Mascot_scares_girl.gif

Squid defination: http://www.urbandictionary.com/define.php?term=squid

• Replies 7.2k

For Phantom, the rear brake is overpowered. Thats why if you jam rear brake, you will skid. Try to utilise more front brake. Slowly depress the front brake all the way in and i mean slowly! Then u can use less rear brake liao.

Phantom rear brake is not overpowered ...in the rain I press or don't press rear brake also no difference one. The main reason Phantoms are so prone to rear slides is coz most of the weight is centered on the rear. The rear sus and tires are already handling the strain from the bike's weight, the rider and pillion, the box(es), the additional strain on the rear upon acceleration...and the suspension is lousy, and the tire choices we have are crappy. So during a wet day, especially downslope, when you tap your rear brake, the additional strain on the crappy tire/sus setup + lesser grip available means ..whoopa...fishtail. And especially since when you tap rear brake in the wet, you feel less braking power so you are more likely than not to press a bit harder. When that happens, wheel lock.

Nothing to do with overpowered brakes ^_^ You see bigger bikes have 2 huge brake rotors, 4-6 pot calipers in the front...but the rear has a mini brake rotor with a single pot caliper..the rear also locks up far more easily than the front :)

Postman Eating Inc*

http://i12.photobucket.com/albums/a208/murano04sfs/38y29ty14.gif

http://4gifs.com/gallery/d/155006-1/Mascot_scares_girl.gif

Squid defination: http://www.urbandictionary.com/define.php?term=squid

Phantom rear brake is not overpowered ...in the rain I press or don't press rear brake also no difference one. The main reason Phantoms are so prone to rear slides is coz most of the weight is centered on the rear. The rear sus and tires are already handling the strain from the bike's weight, the rider and pillion, the box(es), the additional strain on the rear upon acceleration...and the suspension is lousy, and the tire choices we have are crappy. So during a wet day, especially downslope, when you tap your rear brake, the additional strain on the crappy tire/sus setup + lesser grip available means ..whoopa...fishtail. And especially since when you tap rear brake in the wet, you feel less braking power so you are more likely than not to press a bit harder. When that happens, wheel lock.

hmmm okie.. not overpowered then... for tyres, i think metzeler will be one of the best choice you can have... if downslope in multistorey carpark also have to be careful... dry is ok... but when raining and its wet or wad... better ride slowly ... i seldom use brake when going downslope... i use engine brake ...

It's engine oil. You may have blown a gasket.

Only engine oil will be black...petrol is whatever colour the grade of petrol you pump happens to be (which is definately not black) and will evaporate, and rainwater don't think will be black...my phantom never wash for 1 year also won't generate black rain water xD

Thanks for the info. Btw how much is to repair/replace a gasket?

Phantom rear brake is not overpowered ...in the rain I press or don't press rear brake also no difference one. The main reason Phantoms are so prone to rear slides is coz most of the weight is centered on the rear. The rear sus and tires are already handling the strain from the bike's weight, the rider and pillion, the box(es), the additional strain on the rear upon acceleration...and the suspension is lousy, and the tire choices we have are crappy.

I agree with the weight distribution. The engine is small and light, but the body looks like a middle size bike. So there is more weight on the rear than a normal bike.

In fact, most bike like this has a drum rear brake instead of disc. It will make it less possible to skid.

After the skid, I intentionally press hard on the front brake. 75% of the brake power should come from the front.

TA200 now.

Went to bike shop for my engine oil leak problem. Apparently its my gasket spoil and oil ring (?) worn out. Total cost plus oil change is $60 :(

Thanks for the advice given :)

Sorry mods, Ive to spam abit...

HELLO!! ANYMORE PEOPLE COMING FOR THE NBW & SBF ANNIVERSARY 08???

:bouncefire: :bouncefire: :bouncefire:

how much u think i weight :dot:

i am 90plus lei. :cool:

u pillion 100kg passenger for a while but i will have to pillion almost everytime..

how much my tire should be? 200 front 220 back?

i think my uncle is using bridgestone..

the stock suspension is tune to 3. i think i should tune to 4-5 right.. wonder will it wear out fast..

just change my rs shock at 750 dollar :cry:

your poor RS :weep:

I don't know your bridgestone tyre pressure, for my metzeler I use 235 nd 245 now ;)

poor poor RS :nono:

my phantom never wash for 1 year also won't generate black rain water xD

waseh! you wash your R or not? :giddy:

Its closing already??

In case the LIMITED orders for the SBF's anniversary pack are snapped up, therefore I've to push forward PK's register date to 1st Nov.

lawbah, tot u r doing for another grp?

i wanna leh... :D kev, will be bringing someone else, customer of mine along too.

will confirm later. going out now. no rain no rain!!!

mad: do rmber PK's deadline is 1st Nov. Dont wish to upset the guess missin out on the goodie bags...

Hi, a newbie question. have anyone tried the $5 4t EO 20w50 from planet motors?

In case the LIMITED orders for the SBF's anniversary pack are snapped up, therefore I've to push forward PK's register date to 1st Nov.

lawbah, tot u r doing for another grp?

WOI!! OMG! No one tell me OMGOMG!!! IM DEAD!! Ok i think i know who to call... omg ~!! No one tell me leh... cos this few weeks i very busy with work... so not much time for outing or meetups... omg siao liao~!!

hi guys i saw ah chong tune my air valve or smth. i wonder how he knows. Any tips on idling and the air intake thing? do u all go to the shop to do it or urself?

any bros ridding new ta200? there seem to be two version one is a normal version the other is the fire custom wan to ask got different or not?

does the new bike have any upgrade from previous version? other then fork and the exhaust. does the new version got the problem of the old version where the gear and engine easily damage?

wan to check the current price of the bike also pls state the price and which shop you bought from. thanks bros for helping....

guys how do u check the level of engine oil? I pull out the dipstick there is no marking of minimum an maximum. where should the level of oil be?? thanks.

First unscrew the dip stick.

Next clean the dip stick.

Third step, get on your bike and straighten the bike to keep the engine oil level.

Fourth step, reach down and insert the dip stick then take it out without tightening back the stick.

Lastly, look at the end of the dip stick, there should be a row of XXX

The oil should touch the XXX, but not go beyond.

If the oil touches up to the middle of the dip stick beyond the XXX that means there is too much oil.

If the oil did not touch the dip stick, it means there is not enough engine oil.

any bros ridding new ta200? there seem to be two version one is a normal version the other is the fire custom wan to ask got different or not?

does the new bike have any upgrade from previous version? other then fork and the exhaust. does the new version got the problem of the old version where the gear and engine easily damage?

wan to check the current price of the bike also pls state the price and which shop you bought from. thanks bros for helping....

Versions of Phantoms:

TA150

- 2-stroke

- Short, round exhaust

- Kick-start only

- Comes with radiator

- No 'low fuel' indicator

- Ignition keys located on the right

- Sounds "Zengg Zengg.."

TA200

- 4-stroke

- Long, flattened at the end exhaust

- Electronic start

- No radiator, but exhaust header

- No 'low fuel' indicator

- Ignition keys located on the left

- Sounds "Popopopo.."

TA200 Custom 4

- Long round exhaust

- Has chrome fork covers

- Handlebars are slightly wider and has a bit more pullback

- Has 'low fuel' indicator

- Ignition keys located on the top, at triple tree

- Stock colours are Purple, Tomato Red, Black, Grey.

- Others are the same as non-Custom4s

TA200 Custom 4 (Fire Edition)

- Has many matt black parts instead of chrome

- Stock tank has fire paintwork

- Others are the same as Custom4s

All TA200 engines are good at stock. How easily damaged gears and engines can get are based on riders' riding style, frequency of riding and whether or not it receives proper maintenance, old or new versions alike.

Bikes for sale by private sellers are located at Phantom Buy & Sell Thread. For prices from shops, you have to survey yourself.

I have the best signature.

Extracted from TA200 manual ( 03 model/ not custom 4 )

SPECIFICATIONS

DIMENSIONS

Overall length 2,260 mm (89,0 in)

o Overall width 730 mm (28,7 in)

Overall height 1,065 mm (41.8 in)

Wheelbase 1,505 mm (59.1 in)

Ground clearance 148 mm (5.8 in)

WEIGHT

Dry weight 140 kg (308 Ibs)

CAPACITIES 1.0L

Engine oil (After draining) 1.2L

11.2 L Fuel tank

2.68 L Fuel reserve

Passenger capacity Operator and one passenger

Maximum weight capacity 126 kg (277 Ibs)

Tyre size

90/90-1 7 49P Front

130/90-15 M/C 66P Rear

Driver only

Front 200 (2.00, 29)

Rear 200 (2.00, 29)

Driver and one passenger

Front

200 (2.00,29)

Cold tyre

Pressures kPa (kgf/cm2,psi)

Rear

200 (2.00,29)

Tyre brand: TUBELESS ONLY IRC

Front NF52/TL

Rear NR66/TL

http://i272.photobucket.com/albums/jj167/elkban/IMG0046A.jpg

Hi.

Have some qustions with regard to K & N air filter. Currently there's this SBF MO Promo on it going for $55.60.

And then there's this Cleaning Kit at $19.70. Another cleaning kit (946ml) at $18.80.

Questions,... Is the kit essesntial or is there alternatives / cheaper stuffs u buy to do filter cleaning?

Is it really a good thing to hav for you Ta200? You guys aren't getting them? Saw only 3 requests fro Ta200 owners... And they don't order the cleaning kit, how come?

In my LTA Transfer Doc. BIke is Phantom 200M, its the name for custom 4, yes? Paid 3.3K w/o insur. for a feb 06, FBA bike. Mileage at 7.1K. Some rust here and there. Mostly still shines pretty good. FC at 32.5 km / ltr.

Its been 3 wks now. Done almost 1k km. At first hard trouble dropping gears to first. Was somehow stuck at #rd and refuse to go lower. Had to inch on #rd then knock down to 2nd then mov on. Got me scared for a while. Wondered if i really got myself a shitty bad deal. NOt sure if i paid too much for it too... Bike comes wif E45 GIvi top box. Anyways somewhere after doing some 400km, i went for oil and spark plug change. Yet to do the Air filter change, but i did open up and vacuum clean the filter. After 4-5 days, that down-shift trouble i had went away. All in all i think it's now a great bike. Really. Sometimes i got neutral getting to 2nd,.. kick too soft. Not the bike's fault.

You fellas hav a great community here. If i'm younger i'd be wif u guys in a jiffy... Those Pulsar guys is another great group. Keepup guys... I'll appear here once awhile to seek advise if you don't mind.

Peace and thanks,

joh

http://i272.photobucket.com/albums/jj167/elkban/IMG0046A.jpg
Hi.

Have some qustions with regard to K & N air filter. Currently there's this SBF MO Promo on it going for $55.60.

And then there's this Cleaning Kit at $19.70. Another cleaning kit (946ml) at $18.80.

Questions,... Is the kit essesntial or is there alternatives / cheaper stuffs u buy to do filter cleaning?

Is it really a good thing to hav for you Ta200? You guys aren't getting them? Saw only 3 requests fro Ta200 owners... And they don't order the cleaning kit, how come?

only 3 names as some of phantom riders have already bought K&N filter

and it can last for long long time. no need to buy again.

i had K&N on my ex-phantom, but never bought the cleaning kit. u can request at ur regular workshop to clean for u. (there might be a fee or FOC)

so not essential for cleaning kit.

does it help having K&N, i think "yes it does".

more technical details, u can read on

air filter discussion

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/showthread.php?t=82664

K&N discussion

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/showthread.php?t=143965

In my LTA Transfer Doc. BIke is Phantom 200M, its the name for custom 4, yes? Paid 3.3K w/o insur. for a feb 06, FBA bike. Mileage at 7.1K. Some rust here and there. Mostly still shines pretty good. FC at 32.5 km / ltr.

i think the guy "Meat Eater" is selling about 2.5k for custom 4.

how come ur mileage is only 7.1k ??? so little ?

FC 32.5 is average for phantom.

Its been 3 wks now. Done almost 1k km. At first hard trouble dropping gears to first. Was somehow stuck at #rd and refuse to go lower. Had to inch on #rd then knock down to 2nd then mov on. Got me scared for a while.

difficult to change gear can be due to engine oil.

try synthetic grade EO and u might notice the difference.

if problem persists, i suggest u check with ah cheong (planet motor) to inspect for clutch plate and gearing prob.

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/showthread.php?t=83442

Wondered if i really got myself a shitty bad deal. NOt sure if i paid too much for it too... Bike comes wif E45 GIvi top box. Anyways somewhere after doing some 400km, i went for oil and spark plug change. Yet to do the Air filter change, but i did open up and vacuum clean the filter. After 4-5 days, that down-shift trouble i had went away. All in all i think it's now a great bike. Really. Sometimes i got neutral getting to 2nd,.. kick too soft. Not the bike's fault.

:thumb: don't worry, u'll get used to it.

You fellas hav a great community here. If i'm younger i'd be wif u guys in a jiffy... Those Pulsar guys is another great group. Keepup guys... I'll appear here once awhile to seek advise if you don't mind.

Peace and thanks,

joh

well..welcome to PK (if i may say so on behalf of the rest)

Guys. Is there any shop or way to get signal condensers which/to blink(s) at that specific frequency that you want? ie. i want mine to blink faster.

I have the best signature.