[Archived - 2009] PK Official- Questions for Newbie

• Replies 7.2k

No guide, but this is what you need to do to remove your fuel tank for repainting. :smile:

1. Drain out your petrol first. (This step don't know how to do, PM me)

2. Unscrew the 2 screws holding the chrome cover which clams the speedo meter in place.

3. Remove the chrome cover, and turn the speedo meter upside down.

4. Unscrew the small metal bar below the meter that clams the wires in place.

5. Remove the light bulbs from the speedo meter.

6. Pull out the speedo cable that connects the wheel to the speedo meter.

7. Remove the seat cushion. There are 3 screws. Be careful not to scratch your bike when removing the seat.

8. Remove the Big screw under the seat that holds the fuel tank to the chassis.

9. Gently rock the fuel tank, and remove it.

TaDaaa Done! :clap:

wow thanks thats very detailed! so the tank cover is the tank itself? i thought there will be a tank cover and a tank, like 2 seperate piece!

The metal part of the bike where the 2 Silver Phantom logo (one left, one right) is the fuel tank itself.

It's not like the car fuel tank which is a big silver square container under the car boot. :lol:

Anyway, I think your question a bit misleading even old bird Yasman also confused liao.

See below.

Do you have a tank cover already installed? Or are you referring to the tank itself?

i mean the orignal tank itself :)

So to clear things up....

If you do have a tank cover, it will probably be a leather cover over the tank.

If you don't have that, you probably don't have a tank cover. (90% confirm)

UNLESS! The previous owner got one of those BIG plastic tank covers from madman.

So check, if your Phantom's fuel tank looks normal (same shape and size) like the other Phantoms in your neighbourhood, and has the 2 Phantom logos, you definately also don't have madman's BIG plastic tank cover.

After these 2 checks for tank cover, you are safe to follow the above procedure to remove the fuel tank. :)

i juz changed my chain cam tensioner(to get rid of the "tak tak" sound) and batt last wk, and i noticed that sometimes my engine idling sounds very weak and it'll juz stall on its own..

even when i'm riding and i stop @ the lights or if i do hard braking, it'll juz stall on me.. can anyone help me wif tis ?

Thanks !

Increase your idling speed. Small black knob on the right side of the bike at the carburator

Picture 2.jpg

http://farm5.static.flickr.com/4109/4974036153_c36bbcded6.jpg

Life isn't all about one's self...

Increase your idling speed. Small black knob on the right side of the bike at the carburator

Bad idea until u know what is wrong

If your bike was ok before you had the work done the stalling is likely not your idle speed.... unless it was adjusted by the mechanic without your knowledge.

You changed your battery check your battery connections are clean and they are tight (weak spark will cause engine to stall when you shut off and brake)...and also when you change the cam chain tensioner it can adjust your engine timing a couple of degrees.

Bad idea until u know what is wrong

If your bike was ok before you had the work done the stalling is likely not your idle speed.... unless it was adjusted by the mechanic without your knowledge.

You changed your battery check your battery connections are clean and they are tight (weak spark will cause engine to stall when you shut off and brake)...and also when you change the cam chain tensioner it can adjust your engine timing a couple of degrees.

.... Based on his report, that is the easiest and most harmless way to check and rectify the problem. You want him to go all the way to the mechanic just for him to turn the idle knob higher? come on man... Haven even check if the idling speed is too low you ask him to check battery connection, weak spark, engine timing... Step by step lah, jump the gun so fast for what. Unless you know exactly whats wrong. :angry:

thanks for all your replies, i guess i'll juz go bak to ah cheong to check out the problem.. i wont wanna risk fiddling wif my bike, later more things go wrong:giddy: haha

relac... heh heh... adjusting the idling is ok one...

runner, b4 you adjust, check and rem it's position, then turn it slowly and see the bike response, and take note of how much you've turned it.

incase you need to adjust it back to orignal position, you can still tune it back.

The metal part of the bike where the 2 Silver Phantom logo (one left, one right) is the fuel tank itself.

It's not like the car fuel tank which is a big silver square container under the car boot. :lol:

Anyway, I think your question a bit misleading even old bird Yasman also confused liao.

Btw bro, how's the 20litrs tank coming, Fixed?

http://i42.tinypic.com/wqslfr.gif

relac... heh heh... adjusting the idling is ok one...

runner, b4 you adjust, check and rem it's position, then turn it slowly and see the bike response, and take note of how much you've turned it.

incase you need to adjust it back to orignal position, you can still tune it back.

ya runner , its very important to take note adjust the idling dont too much and also must remember how much you turn it... during rainy days i turn it anti-clockwise by 1/2 turn only ..after rain must turn it back again to preserve FC. Took me quite a while to turn the idling to zhun zhun steady thump...my TA200 FC now is 43km/L :cheeky:

12 Jun 2008 - Class 2B

28 Jun 2008 - Honda Phantom TA 200 (COE 11/3/17)

17 Jan 2009 - Class 3

27 Oct 2009 - Class 2A

28 May 2016 - Yamaha Fino 115 (COE 04/8/24)

9 June 2017 - Honda CB400 Spec 2 (COE 02/1/23)

how come adjusting the idling reduce the FC by so much? it only affects how much petrol u "pump" into the engine when not moving mah...

Liverpool revival has started....

There shouldnt be such drastic improvement on FC just by adjusting the idling.

His one probably got something to do with the carb settings.

On a side note, FC too high also not good. Best is around 35+- because too high means you combust less fuel etc etc...

Not too sure about the idling thingy cos i have not adjusted it ever since i took over my bike and good thing is, no problems whatsoever for 1 year plus liao...

I do believe adjusting the idling will affect the FC, but definitely not so much...

35+? but depend alot on ur riding style mah.. if FC improvement is the main objective then juz keep rpm as low as possible.. minimise acceleration & avoid traffic lights..

yep... my phantom for normal riding is at around 33 - 35km/l +- i think if i ride agressively then about 28km/l +-

Reducing your idling speed does not result in noticeable improvemnts in FC. Unless you spend hours on end behind cars in jams. Zhi Ming congrats on achieving a good FC but you got to know the pros and cons. Some areas in improving your fuel consumption you can try adjusting are tyre pressure, loaded weight, air-fuel ratio, type of engine oil.

Increase tyre pressure, less rolling resistance, better FC. But lesser grip esp in wet.

Increase Air-Fuel ratio (more air to fuel) - Leaner mixture, less fuel burnt per stroke, better FC. But reduced pick up performance and too lean causes engine over heating.

Synthetic engine oil, less resistance to moving parts in the engine, better lubrication, better FC. But spend more $, more vibrations (esp for thinner oils - w40 as to w50)

Reduce weight, less energy needed to move as fast, better FC. But cannot carry many things.

Some times the FC that we calculate may be inaccurate due to errors on the phantom speedo and odometers. Like if your speedo shows yr speed faster by 10km (actual speed only 90 but show 100), your odo is also adding more distance to the actual distance traveled (travel only 30 km but odo show +40). So you will be traveling "further" before hitting reserve -> better FC. So gotta take a pinch of salt when comparing FC. One guy FC only 35 but mine 40+ may actually be the same. All because of this stupid inaccurate speedo on the phantom. zzz

Reducing your idling speed does not result in noticeable improvemnts in FC. Unless you spend hours on end behind cars in jams. Zhi Ming congrats on achieving a good FC but you got to know the pros and cons. Some areas in improving your fuel consumption you can try adjusting are tyre pressure, loaded weight, air-fuel ratio, type of engine oil.

Increase tyre pressure, less rolling resistance, better FC. But lesser grip esp in wet.

Increase Air-Fuel ratio (more air to fuel) - Leaner mixture, less fuel burnt per stroke, better FC. But reduced pick up performance and too lean causes engine over heating.

Synthetic engine oil, less resistance to moving parts in the engine, better lubrication, better FC. But spend more $, more vibrations (esp for thinner oils - w40 as to w50)

Reduce weight, less energy needed to move as fast, better FC. But cannot carry many things.

Some times the FC that we calculate may be inaccurate due to errors on the phantom speedo and odometers. Like if your speedo shows yr speed faster by 10km (actual speed only 90 but show 100), your odo is also adding more distance to the actual distance traveled (travel only 30 km but odo show +40). So you will be traveling "further" before hitting reserve -> better FC. So gotta take a pinch of salt when comparing FC. One guy FC only 35 but mine 40+ may actually be the same. All because of this stupid inaccurate speedo on the phantom. zzz

Hmmm very true... some points i also never thought of it... hmmzz..

oic, ya i find my bike pick-up not fast, most of other bikes can overtake me so most likely my bike setting is leaner? I dun pillion and normally go 70-80 only so also got help on the FC i think.

Is there a more accurate speedo ah? If ours stock might be wrong, then the mileage will be higher also not fair for us who wants to sell in the future...:cry:

12 Jun 2008 - Class 2B

28 Jun 2008 - Honda Phantom TA 200 (COE 11/3/17)

17 Jan 2009 - Class 3

27 Oct 2009 - Class 2A

28 May 2016 - Yamaha Fino 115 (COE 04/8/24)

9 June 2017 - Honda CB400 Spec 2 (COE 02/1/23)

well said. :p

Wah Zhi Ming, u only ride 70-80 only? I always have to get ahead of those trucks doing 100 on 3 lanes of the BKE/KJE... no choice.. otherwise, sand/dust all over.. in the eyes as well...

Very informative post SNapEl, for me, the most diff in FC was when I started to pump my tyre regularly.. previous only did it every 3-4 mths...

btw, how come most of u say u all ride relakz relakz when even at 100-110, got many phantoms especially the TA150s zoomed past me??

Wah Zhi Ming, u only ride 70-80 only? I always have to get ahead of those trucks doing 100 on 3 lanes of the BKE/KJE... no choice.. otherwise, sand/dust all over.. in the eyes as well...

Very informative post SNapEl, for me, the most diff in FC was when I started to pump my tyre regularly.. previous only did it every 3-4 mths...

btw, how come most of u say u all ride relakz relakz when even at 100-110, got many phantoms especially the TA150s zoomed past me??

I think you should make it a habit to pump tyres every second time you pump petrol...

100 - 110 really is relac... those zoom past you one not relac liao lor... sommore 150 is meant to be faster than 200 ma.... haha... their relac speed might be abit faster than our 200 relac speed :p

oic, ya i find my bike pick-up not fast, most of other bikes can overtake me so most likely my bike setting is leaner? I dun pillion and normally go 70-80 only so also got help on the FC i think.

Is there a more accurate speedo ah? If ours stock might be wrong, then the mileage will be higher also not fair for us who wants to sell in the future...:cry:

It could be leaner but it also could be riding habit. Those drag gear and zua all the way to red line then kick up one will not have good FC. Riding slower on yr highest gear also helps improve FC. The amount of power required to attain a certain speed exponentially increases as the speed increases. So you should see an improvement if you cruise at 80 instead of 100.

Kicking up your gears early and not staying too long on lower gears can also help reduce fuel consumption. Simple logic. 100 power strokes travel 100m on gear 1 or 100 power strokes travel 1000m on gear 6 which one more efficient. But changing gears too early (the engine like knocking) can cause undue stress within your engine and gears.

So... moral of the story is do everything in moderation.

Very good points. Might I suggest they be inserted into the Newbie's Guide To Bikes sticky? Mods or Metalfyre can put it in?

http://i511.photobucket.com/albums/s351/thenation_bucket/whowatches.jpg