Advice needed for buying bike , Jus got my 2b :)

Guest alxfoo

Hi, wat advice would you give me when getting my first bike?

Should i buy a bike from the forum or go to a bike shop? i know nuts about bike condition, etc so i am abit afraid if i bought online i may get cheated. If getting a bike from a bike shop, which shop would u guys recommend?

• Replies 26

wah! congrats!

get a scram! easy for beginner to handle! :faint:

bro..firstly congrats that u had got ur 2B..

for buyin bike..i think go shop more easily get cheated than buyin in SBF..

for wat bike to buy is up to ur "taste" le..see which bike u perfer la...

gratz on getting ur 2b..

dun rush in getting a bike.. get from private seller is better.. go view n test b4 u make a decision..

http://i41.photobucket.com/albums/e296/Sephyer/av-334001.gif

http://i41.photobucket.com/albums/e296/Sephyer/TR_LOGO.jpg

in short, chances of getting cheated at a bike shop is higher.

http://pics.livejournal.com/itsnotmytime/pic/0000d38qhttp://pics.livejournal.com/itsnotmytime/pic/00009csy/s320x240

honda nsr150sp - FS1*1*G

yamaha 125z - FY5*7*E

I would say look around before making your decision. Sometimes the bikes sold in this forum are also overpriced, sometimes reasonable, sometimes underpriced. As for bike shops, almost all are overpriced, as they need to make a profit from buying from the sellers in this forum too.

And another thing to consider is the usage of the bike - cruiser, sports, transport etc. If you intend to carry bags/things in most of your trips, better to get one with box, and if you have even more things to carry, get one with a basket too like wave. Sports bikes in class 2b are more for the looks, if you like the skinny type of sports bike, as they can't carry much things, and they also lack the power to burst.

For bike condition, read up first before going to meet the seller, and you can only trust what you see, your instinct and lastly, the seller. Nevertheless, the older the bike, the more problems it would had encountered and the more problems you could expect from those wear and tear parts.

Guest alxfoo

If i get a bike from this forum, do i have aftersales service from the seller? What if the bike break down? If i get from shop, if breakdown i can go back to them rite. Do they offer any warranty/aftersales service for 2nd hand bikes?

private seller you wont know condition of bike. but i think u buy from shop they give 2 months or 3 warranty. but depends on shop. go to a reputable shop. im sure most sbf riders here can recommend shops for after sale service. for me i recommend S1 motoring. at ubi.

'07 - current - Yamaha Spark T135

well done on passing TP...

i'm guessing your next post is.. "how much is insurance.. "

next is.. "how much is road tax"

next is.. "how to transfer ownership"

next is... "how to check bike"

next is.. "how much is this bike... or that bike"

wah! good guess! :faint:

let me try to answer b4 he really ask.. lolx

insurance = depends on ur age n exp of riding n type of bike, u can try to get a quotation from ins company (NTUC,AXA,MITSUI,ETC...).. from there on u can agak agak noe hw much u payin for ins.

road tax = only can tell u last time my phantom150 is $80 p.a (dunno applicable to all 2B bikes bor)

transfer of ownership = juz needs the seller n buyer to b at the LTA when doin transfer (check wif LTA on wat documents needed), or pay ard $30 to bikeshop n they will settle for u..

how to check bike = u can do a search on tis forum.. i think there is 1 thread out there which teaches newbie wat to look out for when buyin 2nd hand bike...

how much is tis or tat bike = best thing is camp in the used bike section for a mth or 2 then u wil roughly noe the market price liao.. or u can juz browse thru frm the latest to the oldest thread available in used bike section, then u can do ur agaration...

Last but not least, congrats on ur 2B license:angel:

http://forum.geizhals.at/files/2455/Vfr_logo.jpg

Should i buy a bike from the forum or go to a bike shop? i know nuts about bike condition, etc so i am abit afraid if i bought online i may get cheated. If getting a bike from a bike shop, which shop would u guys recommend?

Bro, first and foremost, congrats for being in the league of 2B riders. I don't know if this makes sense.

Just like you, i have no knowledge or whatsoever about bikes so what i did was to buy a first hand bike. No need to worry about this problem that problem. Fill petrol, buy parking coupon, every 2000 km just change oil and plug then can ride liao. I bought my bike at BIKE production. Not sure if its a good shop or not. Forumers might want to advice on that.

If you are looking to save money on maintenance, buy 4 stroke bikes. No need to buy 2T and consume lesser petrol compared to 2 stroke bike but of course the downside is that 4 stroke bikes are less powerful.

Fyip, my insurance for CBR 150 is 493++. Road tax for all 2B bikes is $80/year.

As i'm considered noobie about bikes, you might want to hear more words of wisdom from lao jiao bikers.

To have a normal life, you work for what you need.

To have a great life, you work for what you want.

since u just pass n i am thinking of changing bike i can consider selling u my bike.its SP and FS plate.interested can call me at 92717415 to have a look cos talking too much without looking is useless

Buy something you like... believe in love at first sight.

Go for something you really want and enjoy.. for you gonna ride for the next couple of months.

Go for something affordable and go easy on the pockets, as second hand bikes you will not know what's coming up for you. Do abit of research on the bike you gonna aim for. Listen to other's opinion be it the advantages or disadvantages, assess according to what you want.

Good luck

Past Records

2002-2003: Yamaha WR200 F* 1036*

2003 : Honda S4 version R F* 3305*

2003-2004: Yamaha WR400 F* 75*

2004-2005: Yamaha X1 F* 75*

2005-2006: Suzuki GSXR600 F* 75*

2007: Piaggio Vespa PX200E F* 9518*

2007-2008: Yamaha Spark T135 LE F* 75*

2008-Current:

But buy first hand exp rite!

Yes. For the cash you COULD have bought a 2nd hand bike with enough left over for accessories... But you wont really get into the bike like the first owner did, all the quirks and stuff. You will take care of your own bike, your own way, and you will build up experience with the bike, like how it behaves in one situation and the next. Bike warranty for second hand would more likely than not be expired. Some bike dealerships only deal with warranty only if you are the FIRST rider for the bike... meaning first hand.

On the plus side for 2nd hand... it IS cheaper. Previous owner would have already ran the motor in so you can just blast and go. Thats all i can think off though. :/

Another thing. You will want to think about what you will be doing with your bike. Will you be a maniacal racer making sure that the TPs have some work to do? Will you be using your bike as a workhorse? Do you want a bike for simple transport? Or do you want a bike to bling up, giving a fine looking target for the hungry ghosts in JB to steal?

Bajaj Pulsar 180 - UG3 (2007 - )

Suzuki GSXR-400 (2008 - 2009)

Piaggio Vespa GT 200L (2009 - 2011)

Yamaha YBX 125 (2010 - )

Yamaha FZ S1 '05 (2011 - )

buy the cheapest , mechanically sound bike you can find...gain road experience...bike kena any minor mishap also won't heartpain. meanwhile acumulate your savings for your dream bike ( taking your time to decide wat that is ) by then, you may have got your 2A...repeat whole process...until finally got class2....

DO. Or DO NOT. There is no TRY.

i heard lot of comments saying buy from forum better than buy from shop ..

personally, i find that there are some souls out there that would gladly take advantage of this notion. therefore, cheating u by pricing the bike higher, concealing major probs of the bike.

i prefer to buy from bike shop.. true they are overpriced, but u can be assured that the bike shop wont 'run' away from u after the transaction. can still argue at the shop if not happy..

pvt seller can just change his phone number and u will never hear from him again; prob laughing to the bank with the money he get from u. i kana once so be careful.

conclusion: just get some one really experienced to follow u around to scout for a new bike, even if u have to pay him for his time.. its worth it.. (i emphasize on the word EXPERIENCED)

signature.gileraFXR180.signature.signature.signature.

signature.signature.signature.signature.signature.

signature.signature.hyusongCometGT125.signature.

signature.gileraDNA180.signature.signature.signature.

signature.signature.signature.gileraRunnerVXR200.

i heard lot of comments saying buy from forum better than buy from shop ..

personally, i find that there are some souls out there that would gladly take advantage of this notion. therefore, cheating u by pricing the bike higher, concealing major probs of the bike.

i prefer to buy from bike shop.. true they are overpriced, but u can be assured that the bike shop wont 'run' away from u after the transaction. can still argue at the shop if not happy..

pvt seller can just change his phone number and u will never hear from him again; prob laughing to the bank with the money he get from u. i kana once so be careful.

conclusion: just get some one really experienced to follow u around to scout for a new bike, even if u have to pay him for his time.. its worth it.. (i emphasize on the word EXPERIENCED)

True, private sellers can run away, but they are not obliged to do aftersales service.

Motor shops when they chop you, they don't care about you much because they sure have documents to back them out. So read before you sign!

hmm... well the thing abt pricing is, yeah, we can't help it there are some private sellers out there who are just out to chop u just like the shops as well... i mean, hey profit or rather LOTS of profit doesn't hurt. but i feel at times, some private sellers jackup the price also is justified considering the pristine condition of the bike and the amount of modifications that has been done to pimp it or rev it.

but then again, usually for prvt sellers, its standard ar, $$$ + C.O.I or just fullfcash if ur really loaded that is.

but trust me dude, since u just pass right. i advice u to get a first hand bike. go thru the process of running in with ur bike... i mean you really learn to bond with your bike. so in any case if anything goes wrong, you can't point elsewhere but yourself.

just my 2 cents worth.

Thrash? Don't mind if i do.

http://userserve-ak.last.fm/serve/126/59442677.gif

i would recommend you getting a 2nd hand bike for a start. look in the forums.

get someone who is experienced with bikes. if you really wanna view a bike but no one to help you with. SBF would be the place to look for.

The street is for show, the track is for go. Put up or shut up