so far so gd..

bot 2nd hd r6-05 at new S....... branch, not the old one..

served by Ah K,

seems v.trans ah..

except spark plugs damn black leh after 2 months even thou say still clean, can use..can use..

like i said so far so gd!

.the Raven travels alone.
  • Replies 167

so far so gd..

bot 2nd hd r6-05 at new S....... branch, not the old one..

served by Ah K,

seems v.trans ah..

except spark plugs damn black leh after 2 months even thou say still clean, can use..can use..

i prefer to go bk to my regular service shop..rather den have sum unknown mech get his hands on my bike..

but still like i said so far so gd!

actualli thinkin of buying a bike there after some surveying...

but horror of all horrors..so many feedbacks!!

now maybe have to survey other shops liao..

Carving Up The Competition

http://i241.photobucket.com/albums/ff18/sTraZe/onepiecenakama1024gc6.png

well i got my cbr 400 fn plate at new southen.. entertained by ah koon.. hes not bad.. beri transparant.. chat wif me nicely.. attitude beri gd.. breakdwn to me everything.. gib me reasonable offer.. even told me 'if i chop u u go tell every1 else i also lose customer'.. even called me and told me iu unit need replace wif new cos warranty over which i tested be4 is spoilt and they say they try to service back.. but after sales service im not sure cos haben go back be4 yet.. be4 tt i go H_L and offer 5.8k for a FM plate.. ur can argar tink how much i save if the bike continue in gd cond.. up for u ah koon :thumb:

actually if you buy second hand bikes from there or any other shops, expect the bike to be 'ok-ok' condition. Immediately after you bought the bike, prepare another 800 dollars to fix any parts that needs fixing. I myself bought 2 bikes already from southern and i advise those who wana buy second hand bikes from there to get ready another 800+ on top of the OTR price of the bike. What i did was after taking out my bike from southern, i immediately went to HKL to ask them to see the condition of the bike and tell me what needs to be replace.. in that way, after leaving that bukit merah area, u go back with a piece of mind

When the game is over, the King and the Pawn go into the same box - Anonymous

Originally posted by ronaldinho@May 22, 2007 09:45 am

actually if you buy second hand bikes from there or any other shops, expect the bike to be 'ok-ok' condition. Immediately after you bought the bike, prepare another 800 dollars to fix any parts that needs fixing. I myself bought 2 bikes already from southern and i advise those who wana buy second hand bikes from there to get ready another 800+ on top of the OTR price of the bike. What i did was after taking out my bike from southern, i immediately went to HKL to ask them to see the condition of the bike and tell me what needs to be replace.. in that way, after leaving that bukit merah area, u go back with a piece of mind

like tat u r like wasting $. coz if u know wad problem u hab wif ur bike can ask em 2 retify it on e spot as in ite still under warranty on e shop. so everything will b free.

southern is not really so bad but that is if you are going to just get your old changed...........Thats all

I had been in the past supported them for years when i was staying in Alexandra Rd......they were good to me , or so i thought. I was introduced to Southern by my dad who was also at that time a biker.

They have helped me in the past to solve many problems related to my nighthawk 250, which ah lee and ah huat know i love very much. I used to get things cheap and good as well.

The sourness began when i decided that i wanna overhaul my nighthawk. The quotes same up to $1200 for a nighthawk....yes believe it or not. Well my baby was ten years old so i thought, what the hell. As she was burning oil badly, due to screwed piston rings, the cams started to get dry and started to eat their way into the cam housing....this is in the top block.

When they opened her up, the damage was obvious so i opted for a second hand header block. Work went on and i gave them all the time they needed to set my baby right.

Sad part was that when i collected the bike, and this being my first overhaul after like ten years of riding , i started her up and all was smooth. However, there was a ticking sound that refused to go away even as the bike got warmed up. I was then told that it was nothing. Its ok.....so i believed them.

Months went passed and the ticking sound became louder and louder. I knew something was not right. Moreover, one fine night i decided to rev at a traffic lights all alone and to my astonishment, there was a smoke coming out from the pipes. Visible white smoke. Then i knew, i was screwed again. Four stroke bikes, esp inline engines are not supposed to burn oil. In fact no bike is supposed to unless its a rocker engine or a big twin.

The fate was told when one fine day, i went for an oil change in just 3000 km interval and found no more that 200-300ml of oil in the engine bay. The bike usually takes up 1800ml of oil to run fine.

I felt so cheated and felt so bad that i almost cried. another overhaul followed with another $1200 spent. Like i said, yes, i love that bike.

After the second overhaul, i started to hate southern very much and hated that mechanic, Pls beware of this sick looking middle aged mechanic who seems experienced but basically cant even overhaul a basic 250 honda. He always wears a cap. I mean basic cos its a simple, 250cc, carburator, in-line engine.....its a basic engine.

I even went down a down and gave ah huat and that mechanic a good dressing down when ah huat told me to chill down and relax.

Today i still go to them cos of the old time rapporrt i have with this mechanic i call ah pui and uncle who have been taking good care of my nighthawk for 13 years now.

Its simple, trust someone who can be trusted, and how you know is by asking. There are good mechanics there. But that capped bas***d, still gets it cold from me. Even when i buy drinks, i will personally hand out the sugarcane juice but never a packet for him.

Too bad, he doesnt deserve my sugar cane. He is really not worth the $1.

Kol me petty guys, but its my bike leh

Just my two cents worth, or more like 2 dollars, hahahha

Cheers all

Zac

There is no pain greater than not being able to ride a motorcycle....

There is no joy more worth mention when riding one,,,,,,,

Zac

Originally posted by ZzGaNgStErzZ@May 22, 2007 09:49 am

like tat u r like wasting $. coz if u know wad problem u hab wif ur bike can ask em 2 retify it on e spot as in ite still under warranty on e shop. so everything will b free.

haha..yap true, but there was a reason why i changed at HKL, after i paid for the deposit of my bike i saw ah Ben write down on a piece of paper:

change

1)engine oil

2) spark plug

3) clutch cable

As i could understand spoken mandarin, i even heard ah ben told the guy at the front southern shop to do all these things. As this was my first bike i was a super noob so i just let them do what they suppose to do then i went to eat. After i came back i happily ride my bike back home and met my friends. After just 1 round my friend said my bike 'not nice to ride', then together we went to AMK to have a look at my bike...found out that engine oil never change, spark plug was changed to a half-used and not new spark plug, clutch cable also changed to a half-used one. i know i could have stand there and see whether they change or not but after these experience, the second bike i bought i just send to HKL and change parts, there the area more open and not cramped unlike the front southern.

When the game is over, the King and the Pawn go into the same box - Anonymous

So far, not a single bikeshop in Singapore has meet my level of professionalism. That's why I always go to people and not shops. If the person change his work place, I go there to find him to fix/sell/buy my bike again.

With regards to 2nd hand bike, unless you can trust the sales man, my advice is go for the new ones. I have same experience with my first SP followed by my super4. Subsequently, my 929 and R1 came from trustworthy source and is ok.

I am a very technical based person. I will personally take leave and sit there to watch the mechanic fix my bike. If he screwed up, then I will correct him immediately.

For southern, there is only 1 mechanic I trust but he is good only up till the brakes and clutches, engine wise but risk it. People frequenting southern will know what and who I mean.

Ah Huat? I reserve my comments. You will find out his level of service once you visit Southern for your frst time.

Sometimes, I think to myself, bl***y hell, I study so much engineering and still needs other to fix my bike... Shame on me for not wanting to get my hands dirty...o_O

It is better to keep quiet and remain a fool than to open your mouth and remove all doubts...

sumtimes..shops sell the bike cheap..or meet ur budget..

den again, standard procedure la, find 2nd bikes less den 2 yr old..

exception for sp, tzm and other seasoned bikes..

tat u have to go to shops that u trust..:thumb:

anyone noe if they do reloans over there? what's the max amt can be borrowed, min downpayment, interest rate and any other fees like agreement fees, early settlement fees n suchs?? can pm me thanks urgently..

So far, not a single bikeshop in Singapore has meet my level of professionalism. That's why I always go to people and not shops. If the person change his work place, I go there to find him to fix/sell/buy my bike again.

With regards to 2nd hand bike, unless you can trust the sales man, my advice is go for the new ones. I have same experience with my first SP followed by my super4. Subsequently, my 929 and R1 came from trustworthy source and is ok.

I am a very technical based person. I will personally take leave and sit there to watch the mechanic fix my bike. If he screwed up, then I will correct him immediately.

For southern, there is only 1 mechanic I trust but he is good only up till the brakes and clutches, engine wise but risk it. People frequenting southern will know what and who I mean.

Ah Huat? I reserve my comments. You will find out his level of service once you visit Southern for your frst time.

Sometimes, I think to myself, bl***y hell, I study so much engineering and still needs other to fix my bike... Shame on me for not wanting to get my hands dirty...o_O

well i don't blame u for not getting ur hands dirty...BCOZ SPORE law dont let us...we cant repair our bikes aniwhr....n the govt want us to be proactive????wth spore is a contradiction

sep 04- oct 05 : RXZ, Vespa excel

revoked for a year

dec 06- now : X1

now yearning for a 125z to lay out n used for track

well i don't blame u for not getting ur hands dirty...BCOZ SPORE law dont let us...we cant repair our bikes aniwhr....n the govt want us to be proactive????wth spore is a contradiction
bro... wat u mean by s'pore law dun let us repair our bikes?? is there a law stating tat i can't repair my bike when it breaks down in the middle of the road even though i know hw to fix the problem on the spot??? o_O

"去哪兒???" ("Go where???")

http://i242.photobucket.com/albums/ff190/aceboles/Girls%20and%20Bikes/pic31.jpg

Straight roads differentiate the rich and the poor

Corners differentiate the boys and the men

just when southern for mine 50'000km servicing. The service is acceptable and the charges were reasonable.

Items change >>>

>>> BT-014 tire front n rear at 330

>>> O-Ring Chain at 115

>>> Coollant + Tensioner + Timing Chain + new gaskets + Labour is 255

i was code 400 by dealer for changing just the (Tensioner + Timing Chain + new gaskets ) u can know how much i save by now.

Due to the confine working area at southern , you don't expect much for the good workmanship . dealer workmanship are better as you will pay higher for the service. BTW the Mech Hong jin Bao did a great job.

• 4 years later...

Recently got a ver s from them. The old one southern.

Ah Lee said he would service for me on the day i bring out bike. Before i paid talk so nicely say this and that. Inspection pass, pipe got cert etc.

After I deposited, came to collect bike, no service. Said alr service. No discount, no free gift, gave me key and ask me to ride away without even letting me know what was in the bike etc ( what eo, spark plug, filter etc ). Even forgot to give me the 'legal' cert for the pipe. When i came back next day, he said prev owner havent return to him.. Gave me only 2 weeks warranty.

After some checking, realized he used mineral oil for my s4, spark plug i have no idea, coolant was empty and filthy. not even washed. I asked him to check 1 by 1 this and that and he got angry. Said so many things i want to check. Of course, as a seller he did not even give me any assurance. No discount, no free gift, no spare key, no cert, bike not serviced properly and no assurance at all. Get money alr can go away.

Once warranty over I wont go there again..

http://i968.photobucket.com/albums/ae167/m0hs3n_2009/pulsar200ns.jpg

"The fool doth think he is wise, but the wise man knows himself to be a fool."

Recently got a ver s from them. The old one southern.

Ah Lee said he would service for me on the day i bring out bike. Before i paid talk so nicely say this and that. Inspection pass, pipe got cert etc.

After I deposited, came to collect bike, no service. Said alr service. No discount, no free gift, gave me key and ask me to ride away without even letting me know what was in the bike etc ( what eo, spark plug, filter etc ). Even forgot to give me the 'legal' cert for the pipe. When i came back next day, he said prev owner havent return to him.. Gave me only 2 weeks warranty.

After some checking, realized he used mineral oil for my s4, spark plug i have no idea, coolant was empty and filthy. not even washed. I asked him to check 1 by 1 this and that and he got angry. Said so many things i want to check. Of course, as a seller he did not even give me any assurance. No discount, no free gift, no spare key, no cert, bike not serviced properly and no assurance at all. Get money alr can go away.

Once warranty over I wont go there again..

Thanks for sharing ..

Continued

So after he said prev owner havent return cert, (which in the first place he said legal with cert, THE CERT SHOULD BE WITH HIM ALREADY)

he asked to call next week.

Waited till next week, called.

He said oh prev owner lost the cert. Told me to call back tmr.

Next day, called.

He said, oh will try get another cert from xxxxxx(i duno where). 'But call back next week cause this week very busy'.

Ok so I called them today, and he said, 'Oh prev owner lost the cert.. I give u stock pipe lah.. Legal one..'

I was furious and demanded a cert for my pipe, or a new blueflame.

Now he's trying to call prev owner to find it again.... like there's a chance of getting...

This is the old Southern btw. Ah Lee is the guy.

Before money comes in, everything have everything can.

Money come alr, shoo shoo.

http://i968.photobucket.com/albums/ae167/m0hs3n_2009/pulsar200ns.jpg

"The fool doth think he is wise, but the wise man knows himself to be a fool."

Hi guys posting on my friend behalf.

He is thinking of overhaul his engine for gsx1000 there. Will like to find out if anyone knows anyone about the mechanic xiao dong. Is he reliable?

would like to know more about abt the new southern beside albert. is it reliable? how's the overall like? is it a recommended shop? i just paid deposit for a spark 135.

I tried hard to have a father but instead i got a dad.

bought a FZ16 from New southern, price is the lowest that i have asked form 3-4 shop include Excel, Bike production and some shop intro by frenz...serve by Ben, quite friendly and easy going, no hidden cost unless u taking loan with a 150-200 admin fees...service find it not bad but maybe i only go there straight never go to any other shop less thru phone call...

Hi everyone. I've just downpayment 2nd Spark at the Old Southern. But now i can't bring out my bike because they need me to find 2 gerentor(might be wrong spelling) , one can be a parent and another one must be a singaporean(except NS,PR) age 21 - 55. Both gerentor pay must be at least 1.5k (with Payslip) . Need to sign here sign there. Wah jialat. What if the other gerentor don't have payslip? (Like Freelance Job etc)

This type of policy got practice at other motorbike shops?

Thanks bros/sis.

i bought my sp from southern the one at the corner de.. it was total f up.. i donno how da hell he charged my insurance til 800+! it was second aprty anyway.. i was eager on getting the bike so nv asked much.. he only showed me the price i down n the installement so on bla bla.. den i was like ok lor... after weeks my insurance letter came n shocked me.. on riding the bike out, they told me they had done full service. i reached there to see my head light both dif colours.. brake lights no light.. most important the petrol inside gt ****ing "alot" petrol.. ride out only.. like 2 bus stop dead... lucky my friend ride his bike to a near by kiosk n bought some for me.. first nite only.. my footrest dropped due to they nv tighted it. few days later i bought to another bike shop n check .. know wad? 1 side fork slant.. both side fork seal broken -.- cost me some money to fix.. another thing i wan pt out is.. on sat i went to sign gurantor with my mum.. tt ah lee asked me wan P plate anot he say he fix it up for me.. i was like free one anyway den ok lor.. den monday i collet bike he ask me wan anot.. i said u told me u fix it for me free.. den he said no no where gt free one.. $8.. i discount for u.. i was like ^%$$# n he sold me a cocked up KISS helmt for $20.. visor starting turned yellow le.. i bo bian no helmt must take... advise to pple out there.. NV EVER VISIT THEM

comment removed upon request

Edited by guangwei

17 Nov 2011 - April 2013, NSR150 SP

12 June 2013 - 23 Jan 2015, CBR400RRR

23 February 2015 - 29 February 2016, YZF R6 2006

12 March 2016 - 12 May 2017, CBR1000RR05

July 2017 - Jan 2019, YZF R1 2008/CBF150

Aug 2019 - Current SYM Joyride 200

another reason could be the bike. nsr sp is a problematic old bike. even if you were to buy this bike from other shops, chances are the bike will have problems too.

Edited by Fried Rice

Getting an old bike demands lots and lots of advise from old bird.. Just your luck I guess?

Just some kinda experience I suppose? I do have bad exp from dealers themselves who bring in the bike, let alone retailer? Haha...

http://www.danasoft.com/sig/Foxin489130.jpg